Django is a lucky chap.

My family serve the PPP from day one of its inception and we bought ours and paid for our university education while others were shipped out on scholarship paid for by the government.

What yuh deh pun really , i didn't get any handouts from no one .

My mother got that piece of land which was owned by GUYSUCO.

Not picking on you, but get serious. Who owns GUYSUCO owns the land. Serious question - did the fact that you know Irfaan’s family have anything to do with your mom getting title to her land?

Z

You should be anointing Irfaan feet instead of cussing him.  I have always wondered about people like you who hate for the sake of hating. You are an ungrateful man who clearly don’t have a conscience.  

Maam i don't worship humans . If you read my statement, you will notice my mother and the neighbor was at his office every day to get the squatting area regularized.

Please keep the low talk for others.

Emperor Irfaan.  They own Guyana and oblige your mom a piece of land.

The PPP handed out 100,000 house lots. (This number has not been challenged as far as I know) and since the average family is four, it means that the housing programme positively affected approximately 400,000 Guyanese. This is about half of the Guyanese population!

Z
Totaram posted:

My great grandfather was a senior employee of a sugar estate.  He bought his land. No loans. Worked hard and saved his money to buy it.  Now I see why you are so obsessed with Jagdeo house that he built after serving as President of Guyana.

If PPP supporters are so confident that their party is clean they should support a disproportionate wealth bill.  We'll then see if people with public sector salaries could buy the properties held by some politicians.  Many countries have disproportionate wealth legislation, e.g., India, Nepal, UK.

Is it your position that any country that does not have a disproportionate wealth tax is rife with corrupt politicians? What about Canada, US, Sweden, France, Norway, etc?

Z
Totaram posted:

My great grandfather was a senior employee of a sugar estate.  He bought his land. No loans. Worked hard and saved his money to buy it.  Now I see why you are so obsessed with Jagdeo house that he built after serving as President of Guyana.

If PPP supporters are so confident that their party is clean they should support a disproportionate wealth bill.  We'll then see if people with public sector salaries could buy the properties held by some politicians.  Many countries have disproportionate wealth legislation, e.g., India, Nepal, UK.

Get real banna.  Thievery in Guyana is normalized.  The PNC will not apply that standard, neither will the PPP.  They both serve and protect each other in the partnership of thievery.

It could happen if the people demand it.  The Coalition is more likely to favour such legislation.  Moreover, there is independent evidence that corruption in the public sector is less prevalent under the coalition.  Have a look at the 2109 Transparency International report on corruption.  You'll see that Guyana is among three countries identified as having significantly improved.  

This is a perception index, not evidence, nor is the Guyana group independent. How much have they said about the excesses by this govt? Very little! How many ministers of this govt. have not filed their financial report to the Integrity Commission? How many reports did Granger file any for the past four years? He has filed None!

Z
Totaram posted:

The picture tells a thousands word. Under the hapless PNC brother Django mother could not own a tile. It was under PPPC she was able to get that title from the hand of Dr Irfaan Ali.

Ayo look at the big picture hay guys. Most house lots was given out under the PPPC government. PPPC for a Better  Tomorrow. 

This is true. I don't remember anyone getting land from the PNC government up to when I left Guyana. If anything, I have heard a lot of people fearing the PNC would take away their lands.

Burnham took away Hope Estate from Sankar. Belfield from Kissoon Dyal. And Letter T estate from the estate of Sophia Mustard.

True about Burnham but has Granger taken away anybody's land?

According to media reports and the PPP, he has been giving away land that belongs to the Guyanese people to his friends. It this not taking away land that belongs to all Guyanese?

Z

The picture tells a thousands word. Under the hapless PNC brother Django mother could not own a tile. It was under PPPC she was able to get that title from the hand of Dr Irfaan Ali.

Ayo look at the big picture hay guys. Most house lots was given out under the PPPC government. PPPC for a Better  Tomorrow. 

This is true. I don't remember anyone getting land from the PNC government up to when I left Guyana. If anything, I have heard a lot of people fearing the PNC would take away their lands.

Burnham took away Hope Estate from Sankar. Belfield from Kissoon Dyal. And Letter T estate from the estate of Sophia Mustard.

Did Burnham family inherit any of the property ? Burnham didn't own a house ,he was a poor ass President of Guyana.

He owned the house in Belfield.  Poor ass President don’t wear Rolex watches and get chauffeured around in luxury cars.  Burnham had a thing for the nicer things of life paid for by someone else.

Jagdeo gave the Burnham family the stretch of land behind Botanic Gardens.

The land they sold for big bucks! 

Z

Did Burnham family inherit any of the property ? Burnham didn't own a house ,he was a poor ass President of Guyana.

He owned the house in Belfield.  

Poor ass President don’t wear Rolex watches and get chauffeured around in luxury cars.  Burnham had a thing for the nicer things of life paid for by someone else.

Jagdeo gave the Burnham family the stretch of land behind Botanic Gardens.

There was a discussion about that property ,me thinks there was a tussle for ownership of the property few years ago.

Read here about the Botanical Gardens Land

The right to filing for prescriptive rights over land was not abolished by Jagdeo.  Read the Official Gazette where they are advertised weekly.

Z
Zed posted:

The right to filing for prescriptive rights over land was not abolished by Jagdeo.  Read the Official Gazette where they are advertised weekly.

In 2010, the Jagdeo regime abolished prescriptive rights,

Zed posted:
Totaram posted:

True about Burnham but has Granger taken away anybody's land?

According to media reports and the PPP, he has been giving away land that belongs to the Guyanese people to his friends. It this not taking away land that belongs to all Guyanese?

The PPP is a biased source and what media reports suggest that Granger is giving away land to his friends?  The PPP has made some sensational allegations about land distribution that have proven to be sensationally false. 

Zed posted:
Totaram posted:

Get real banna.  Thievery in Guyana is normalized.  The PNC will not apply that standard, neither will the PPP.  They both serve and protect each other in the partnership of thievery.

It could happen if the people demand it.  The Coalition is more likely to favour such legislation.  Moreover, there is independent evidence that corruption in the public sector is less prevalent under the coalition.  Have a look at the 2109 Transparency International report on corruption.  You'll see that Guyana is among three countries identified as having significantly improved.  

This is a perception index, not evidence, nor is the Guyana group independent. How much have they said about the excesses by this govt? Very little! How many ministers of this govt. have not filed their financial report to the Integrity Commission? How many reports did Granger file any for the past four years? He has filed None!

TI is highly respected and there is corroborating evidence for its findings.  The Integrity Commission can do little to fight corruption as the assets reported to it are not made public and no one has ever been prosecuted based on those assets being disproportionate to income.  It may be just window dressing.

Image may contain: one or more people, possible text that says 'Rob, know know personally of LFSB's actions because my father was the official of the company who was forced over the property at Bellfield on behalf of the Kissondyal brothers who not only owned the Bellfield estates, they owned land land in Mahaicony Creek and they also owned Woodlands Hospital For your information they were faced with a file that indicated they owed the Guyana Treasury 5 million dollars in for 1969-1970. Mrs. Viola Burnham with her husband living Stolen properity.'

This is 100% correct.  Burnham used the same strategy to take over all the lands.  He sends you a bill of things you never knew you owed the government and if you didn’t pay he took over your land.  Many wealthy Indians were targeted.

in the case of Hope Estate, he had a feud with Sankar because he never paid for a brand new car he bought from Sankar Bros. Garage.  They imported the car at his request.  The car was eventually repossessed by Sankar.  Next thing you know Sankar lost Hope Estate to Burnham.

Today his daughter Lila Kissoon is in bed with the PNC.  She and Django suffer from the same PNC syndrome.

Totaram posted:

It could mean that corruption zoomed real high in numerous countries making Guyana look better even though corruption there has increased but not proportionate to other nations. Judge between the PPP era and PNC era is better way of gauging corruption.

Zed posted:
Totaram posted:

Is it your position that any country that does not have a disproportionate wealth tax is rife with corrupt politicians? What about Canada, US, Sweden, France, Norway, etc?

No, it is my position that  disproportionate wealth legislation is an effective tool to fight corruption.  

Image may contain: one or more people, possible text that says 'Rob, know know personally of LFSB's actions because my father was the official of the company who was forced over the property at Bellfield on behalf of the Kissondyal brothers who not only owned the Bellfield estates, they owned land land in Mahaicony Creek and they also owned Woodlands Hospital For your information they were faced with a file that indicated they owed the Guyana Treasury 5 million dollars in for 1969-1970. Mrs. Viola Burnham with her husband living Stolen properity.'

This is 100% correct.  Burnham used the same strategy to take over all the lands.  He sends you a bill of things you never knew you owed the government and if you didn’t pay he took over your land.  Many wealthy Indians were targeted.

in the case of Hope Estate, he had a feud with Sankar because he never paid for a brand new car he bought from Sankar Bros. Garage.  They imported the car at his request.  The car was eventually repossessed by Sankar.  Next thing you know Sankar lost Hope Estate to Burnham.

Today his daughter Lila Kissoon is in bed with the PNC.  She and Django suffer from the same PNC syndrome.

Maybe you know what you know and you don’t know what you don’t know.  You sound more vex than than the daughter of the man who was supposedly “robbed”.

And what syndrome would that be?

Burnham wasted Guyana's money on National Service, Co-operatives, and plenty freeness for his cronies. The country was not not properly run.  The private sector was controlled and never allowed to grow freely.  Too much control by the regime led to stagnation, frustration, and emigration of valuable people. 

Zed posted:

Django is a lucky chap.

My family serve the PPP from day one of its inception and we bought ours and paid for our university education while others were shipped out on scholarship paid for by the government.

What yuh deh pun really , i didn't get any handouts from no one .

My mother got that piece of land which was owned by GUYSUCO.

Not picking on you, but get serious. Who owns GUYSUCO owns the land.

Serious question - did the fact that you know Irfaan’s family have anything to do with your mom getting title to her land?

Ask any little child ,they will give you the answer. I am aware it's not owned by any political party appointed Minister ,while they are in government.

My mother squatted,like many other sugar workers in 1965 on the piece of land.  I wasn't there had no contact with any one, in the then government. I was told,  the neighbor  and herself ,will go to Irffaan Office in Georgetown ,traveling from the WCD ,to get attention, for the squatting area to regularize.

Totaram posted:

It could mean that corruption zoomed real high in numerous countries making Guyana look better even though corruption there has increased but not proportionate to other nations. Judge between the PPP era and PNC era is better way of gauging corruption.

Read the report and you will see that what you are suggesting is certainly not the case.  And , since you brought it up, Guyana's score improved steadily under the current government.  The report is online--have a look.

Zed posted:

You should be anointing Irfaan feet instead of cussing him.  I have always wondered about people like you who hate for the sake of hating. You are an ungrateful man who clearly don’t have a conscience.  

Maam i don't worship humans . If you read my statement, you will notice my mother and the neighbor was at his office every day to get the squatting area regularized.

Please keep the low talk for others.

Emperor Irfaan.  They own Guyana and oblige your mom a piece of land.

The PPP handed out 100,000 house lots. (This number has not been challenged as far as I know) and since the average family is four, it means that the housing programme positively affected approximately 400,000 Guyanese. This is about half of the Guyanese population!

Any idea where the Housing Schemes are located ? I have some data ,i can crunch to prove the veracity, will take time to do such.

House lot allocations 4 times less annually than under PPP

The distribution of house lots has reduced significantly since the change of Government in 2015 despite the fact that the demand has not decreased. This is evident in the 2017 Annual Report of the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CH&PA) which was recently laid in the National Assembly.

The report shows that a total of only 1131 house lots were allocated in that year for qualified applicants. In fact, the report states that the original target of allocations for that year was merely 1000.

This does not compare favourably with the previous year, which according to the report, 2020 house lots were allocated in 2016, an improvement on its original target of 1100. This includes 625 low to moderate income house lots and 1395 middle to high-income house lots.

But both of these years’ figures pale in comparison to the number of house lots distributed in previous years under the former People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Administration. In the CH&PA’s 2013 annual report, its programme performance assessment had indicated that 4417 house lots were allocated, just shy of the 5900 target.

In the area of conveyance of transports and titles, the authority was able to achieve its targets for successive years. The report shows that in 2017, 2076 titles were processed and 3498 were distributed. A target of 2000 was set for both activities. It is, however, a reduction from 2016, when 2212 titles were processed and 4874 allocated.

An example of the Turn-Key Houses under the former Administration

Again, however, 2017’s figures are unable to stand up to CH&PA’s performance under the former Administration. In 2013, the PPP planned to process 5000 titles and exceeded that target to process 5326 titles. In addition, it distributed 3643 titles that year.

The backlog of applicants waiting for a house lot has been a consistent problem that CH&PA has been faced with. Last year, CH&PA had announced that nine new housing areas would be developed in 2019.

But the house lots being distributed are in stark contrast to times when in excess of 4000 house lots were once distributed by the authority, when former Housing Minister, Irfaan Ali was at the helm.

Under the previous Administration, over 100,000 house lots were distributed and over 200 core houses were made available to underprivileged families, while a programme for professional groups provided 200 teachers, nurses and Policemen with fast-track access to loans for home construction.

There is also the 1000 Homes Project that was launched in June of 2013 by the CH&PA to expand the Ministry’s Turn-Key Houses programme that recommenced in 2011.

Construction began in May of 2014 and by December of 2014, one hundred Buttercup Cottages were completed. Apart from the houses themselves, this project provided employment opportunities for over 300 skilled and semi-skilled workers in the construction industry.

Now, it is understood that there are approximately 25,000 applications still piled up at the CH&PA’s office.

In an interview earlier this year, the agency’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Lelon Saul had said that at least 5000 solutions are required annually for the next five years to reduce the backlog.

While this may be the case, the CEO told the media that just about 3000 housing solutions were made over the past two years in the form of houses and house lots. According to him, the agency plans to develop a number of areas soon to tackle the backlog; however, undertaking the project to develop the lands will be costly.

He pointed out that its costs at least $4 million to have one house lot developed, which would require a vast sum being allotted for this purpose only.

Given that the number of applications would have mounted to the huge figure, Saul had explained that while it will be important to distribute house lots based on the date of the application, consideration will also be given to those in “dire need”.

If my mom was living on a piece of land and my supporting government couldn't give her a title, boy i would embrace that government who give her that title, especially sitting for two plus days... that one house lot will be like a million house lots ... so grateful i will be.     

Not really ,it's the government of the day duty to govern and make sure the needs of the people are met to satisfactions.

I agree bai. But the PNC ‘government’ from 1965 to 1992 did not see it fit to meet that need. It finally got realized under the generous auspices of Dr. Ali. 😀

Bhai ,your views are unrealistic ,lots of good things was done under the PNC government during the period from 1964 to 1992. The questions are was the good masked by the bad.

Totaram posted:

HEHEHe  " The Coalition is more likely to favour such legislation. "

EHEHEH  Naive, dumbfounded, blind, deaf, illiterate or all of the above??  The fus thing dem did was take a 500% raise, increase the Travel and Subsistence Budget from 5 M to 120 Million I wonder about the quality of some humans, where there no school, no neighba to teach these people?? Laad Ah Mercy even people in Bihar not that naive and stupid!!

Bhai ,your views are unrealistic ,lots of good things was done under the PNC government during the period from 1964 to 1992. The questions are was the good masked by the bad.

The bad far outweighed any good but we not talking about that. We talking about how it was under Ali’s ministry that your dear mom was finally given her land title. 😀

More than 120,000 house lots were distributed and almost 100,000 homes were built during those terms in government.
A great part of that success story happened during Bharrat Jagdeo’s terms as President and Irfaan Ali’s terms as Minister of Housing. The sprawling communities of Diamond, Eccles, Mon Repos, Parfaite Harmonie, Tuschen, Charity New Housing Scheme, Reliance and Henrietta Housing Schemes, Glossow, Hope, Waterloo, Foulis, Amelia Wards, and many, many others are testimony to these new house lots that were developed and that allowed many working-class Guyanese to have the pride of their own homes.
Many Guyanese who had become squatters during the PNC years in Government, pre-1992, for the first time owned their lands after 1992 when the PPP regularised those lands and provided titles. These included the largest residential squatting area in Caricom – Sophia. In the case of Cow Dam, another large squatting community, most persons could not get titles, even though the PPP government approved titles. The reason is that a PNC-backed cooperative obtained a court injunction, claiming the land was given to them by the PNC Government prior to 1992. This is even as the cooperative has less than a handful of members.

https://guyanatimesgy.com/apnu...sing-total-disgrace/

The bad far outweighed any good but we not talking about that. We talking about how it was under Ali’s ministry that your dear mom was finally given her land title. 😀

Well my mom and others got their title , that's is good. There are others who says bad things about Irfaan, regarding house lots distribution.

More than 120,000 house lots were distributed and almost 100,000 homes were built during those terms in government.
A great part of that success story happened during Bharrat Jagdeo’s terms as President and Irfaan Ali’s terms as Minister of Housing. The sprawling communities of Diamond, Eccles, Mon Repos, Parfaite Harmonie, Tuschen, Charity New Housing Scheme, Reliance and Henrietta Housing Schemes, Glossow, Hope, Waterloo, Foulis, Amelia Wards, and many, many others are testimony to these new house lots that were developed and that allowed many working-class Guyanese to have the pride of their own homes.
Many Guyanese who had become squatters during the PNC years in Government, pre-1992, for the first time owned their lands after 1992 when the PPP regularised those lands and provided titles. These included the largest residential squatting area in Caricom – Sophia. In the case of Cow Dam, another large squatting community, most persons could not get titles, even though the PPP government approved titles. The reason is that a PNC-backed cooperative obtained a court injunction, claiming the land was given to them by the PNC Government prior to 1992. This is even as the cooperative has less than a handful of members.

Will have to get a lots of grains of salt , to digest the article from the PPP mouth piece.

You are entitle to your opinion, but the facts are there to prove PPPC achievement. Now if you wants to challenge the amount distributed, please show your facts. 

PPP gave the land. Yes. She even had a certificate of Title handed by Irfaan. Are you ungreatful now ?

PNC didn't give dem squat and you still cuss down the PPP for doing good ?

SMH.

Well my mom and others got their title , that's is good. There are others who says bad things about Irfaan, regarding house lots distribution.

Everyone will have good and bad things to say. Now your mom received her title from Irfan, did she had a bad experience or did you had  a bad experience Django? 

DDon’t listen to the haters Bhai. 😀

Bai, na you said dat PPP gave land to your mammy ?

You contradicting yourself.

Banna read ,my post again ,did the PPP give the land, squatted on since 1965 ?

Living on a squatted land and then turning this land into something positive is two different subject. You are not been grateful or ashamed to accept the truth, because you are a supporter of APNU and you dear mom receive her title from Dr Irfaan.

Now DJ, i am sure your mom add you on her will, wasn't you part of the inheritance. 

I am shocked at the ungratefulness and shamelessness at those who curse the hand which gave them land to live on and while PNC gave them dog shyte and hungry belly food lines, cooking gas lines, toilet paper lines, kero lines, gasoline line, flour line, dhall line etc etc. Add blackout, kick down the door thief, rigging, etc etc.

SMH

You are entitle to your opinion, but the facts are there to prove PPPC achievement. Now if you wants to challenge the amount distributed, please show your facts. 

Did i mention i have some data ,that will take some time ,at a glance it's no plausible .Unfortunately i am not the gullible type.