It is not fair to keep bashing the US. While nowhere is perfect, the systems in place here try to give everyone equal opportunity and protection under the law. As much as some aspect of life here does not conform to our acceptance, we are still better off here in almost every aspect than anywhere else in the world. No one can accuse me of being a soup drinker but to constantly bash this country is irresponsible. Thanks. Now I have to run to a janazaa for one of my closest friends.

Originally posted by ksazma:
It is not fair to keep bashing the US. While nowhere is perfect, the systems in place here try to give everyone equal opportunity and protection under the law. As much as some aspect of life here does not conform to our acceptance, we are still better off here in almost every aspect than anywhere else in the world. No one can accuse me of being a soup drinker but to constantly bash this country is irresponsible. Thanks. Now I have to run to a janazaa for one of my closest friends.

ditto flag
It always surprise me to see some Guyanese, including some who support the PPP but choose to live in the US,say some rotten things about the US.
They also have some strong Muslim anti-American opinions, when many in the US are trying to work things out with this huge issue, to create harmony.

You do not see many Guyanese doing the same to Canada.
Some Guyanese in the US need to create an atmosphere of appreciation, or go back to live in Guyana.
Originally posted by Chief:
Originally posted by Rahmah bin Jabr:
Well said Kazama. flag

It takes a very "special" kind of person to bit the hand that feeds him.

Don't get over borad now!!
America foreign policy stinks and President Obama is on record saying that he will like to correct same.

As Kazama said, USA is not perfect but there is no other place on earth that is better.
Well said Kazama. flag

America foreign policy stinks and President Obama is on record saying that he will like to correct same.
I agree Chief.

Yes, the US is the first choice of most Guyanese. However, the greatness of the US is in no small part based on unethical behaviour of its multinational corporations, big stick foreign policy over many decades that has keep many countries of the world underdeveloped (plus wars and instability), with the irony being that those citizens almost invariably seek to migrate to the US, not to mention widespread environmental destruction, decimation of the native peoples, and most of all, slavery.

The US therefore, did not just become great from ethical activities confined within its borders. That said, we must recognise the US as among the few countries in the world in which institutions, largely, function. This is because there has been an effective separation of powers, and it is something we must aspire to in Guyana.
Originally posted by Tola:
It always surprise me to see some Guyanese, including some who support the PPP but choose to live in the US,say some rotten things about the US.
They also have some strong Muslim anti-American opinions, when many in the US are trying to work things out with this huge issue, to create harmony.

Some Guyanese in the US need to create an atmosphere of appreciation, or go back to live in Guyana.

Smile US ambassador made mention of the hypocrisy of the old guard PPP members, who while decrying the west, still sent their children to study there.
Well said Kazama. flag

As Kazama said, USA is not perfect but there is no other place on earth that is better.

Hey buster watch it. I love Canada and I prefer it over USA. Smile
Originally posted by kwaku:

Smile US ambassador made mention of the hypocrisy of the old guard PPP members, who while decrying the west, still sent their children to study there.

As my parents always said, be ware of those who talk and point their fingers the most, they are the worst offenders. Is weh CBJ sent his kids to study and live?
Originally posted by ksazma:

Why stop the bashing? Pakistan is a far greater country than America, and many are heading that way as we speak. Who wants to join them?
Originally posted by kwaku:

or their wives to have anchor babies
Pointblank