This happened a few days ago. 

Caribbean Airlines flight experiences technical issues after takeoff; passengers upset at lack of info

" />
" />

Caribbean Airlines

(TRINIDAD GUARDIAN) — Trinida­di­an pas­sen­gers who were on board Caribbean Air­lines’ flight BW601 have ex­pressed dis­ap­point­ment at the air­line’s lack of com­mu­ni­ca­tion about why the flight had to re­turn to the Pear­son In­ter­na­tion­al Air­port (YYZ) on Fri­day morn­ing, one hour af­ter take-off from Cana­da des­tined for the Pi­ar­co In­ter­na­tion­al Air­port.

The pas­sen­gers fi­nal­ly re­turned home around 9.55 pm on Sat­ur­day but ex­pressed frus­tra­tion and anger af­ter the resched­uled flight was again de­layed to 4.15 pm that day af­ter they were told they had to check in at noon for a 3 pm de­par­ture.

“No an­nounce­ment made to us. No ex­pla­na­tion giv­en to usâ€Ķfor so many hours we were kept in the dark and still kept in the dark at the time the flight fi­nal­ly left Toron­to,” one irate pas­sen­ger said.

An­oth­er pas­sen­ger said those who were on board the full flight and des­tined for George­town, Guyana, were al­so an­gry be­cause they missed their con­nect­ing flights be­cause of the de­lay Sat­ur­day.

The T&T Guardian was told that the air­craft sud­den­ly be­gan ex­pe­ri­enc­ing tech­ni­cal dif­fi­cul­ties on its first jour­ney to Pi­ar­co on Fri­day, hence its forced re­turn to Cana­da. The Boe­ing 737-800 air­craft land­ed back at Pear­son at 12.01 am on Sat­ur­day af­ter be­ing forced to turn around in midair when the pi­lots re­port­ed­ly ex­pe­ri­enced an is­sue in the cock­pit.

An­oth­er pas­sen­ger, who is orig­i­nal­ly from Trinidad but re­sides in Toron­to, ex­plained the hor­ror that tran­spired when the pi­lot an­nounced that the plane had to be turned around “be­cause of a prob­lem in the cock­pit.”

“At first every­one thought it was a joke but then we soon re­alised af­ter that it wasn’t. Peo­ple, in­clud­ing my­self, be­gan to pan­ic and some of us start­ed pray­ing loud­ly and hop­ing that we get back to YYZ alive,” the pas­sen­ger said.

“It was a hor­ri­ble land­ing, very rough and fast. I was very ner­vous and scared. It is ap­palling that no in­for­ma­tion was giv­en to us. No an­nounce­ment made. The plane didn’t get to the gate at 3.05 pm (yes­ter­day) and up to that time no an­nounce­ment made as to whyâ€Ķevery­one was ag­i­tat­edâ€Ķare we, not peo­ple too?”

Af­ter more than one hour seat­ed in the warm air­craft af­ter its re­turn to Pear­son, the pas­sen­gers were in­struct­ed by the crew to dis­em­bark at 1.17 am and wait at the gate. Af­ter wait­ing close to an­oth­er hour at Gate B37, the pas­sen­gers were told the air­line would of­fer lim­ou­sine/taxi ser­vice to those wish­ing to re­turn to their re­spec­tive homes and ho­tel stay at the Hol­i­day Inn Toron­to un­til 12 noon Sat­ur­day.

This arrange­ment too was fraught with mishaps.

One T&T cou­ple ex­plained: “First off, we did not get back our re­spec­tive pieces of lug­gage so we were left with­out fresh clothes and toi­letries. Al­so, some pas­sen­gers were shut­tled to the wrong ho­tel and had to be shut­tled again to the cor­rect oneâ€Ķall this added to the frus­tra­tion and still no ex­pla­na­tion what­so­ev­er giv­en for the in­con­ve­nience.”

The flight ini­tial­ly de­part­ed from Pear­son In­ter­na­tion­al at 10.53 pm on Fri­day from Ter­mi­nal 3 and up­on its emer­gency re­turn land­ed at 12.01 am. In an im­me­di­ate re­sponse then, CAL’s head of cor­po­rate com­mu­ni­ca­tions Dionne Ligoure said af­ter take-off from Toron­to there was a mi­nor tech­ni­cal is­sue with BW 601.

“How­ev­er, in keep­ing with stan­dard op­er­at­ing pro­ce­dure, the air­craft had to re­turn to the gate for the is­sue to be checked by an air­craft en­gi­neer,” Ligoure said.

“BW 601 re­turned to YYZ and land­ed safe­ly at mid­night. There was noth­ing re­port­ed to be un­usu­al with the land­ing. The air­craft was po­si­tioned at the gate at 12.07 am.”

Ligoure said pas­sen­gers were served meals while the en­gi­neers worked on the mat­ter.

How­ev­er, Ligoure did not re­spond to sub­se­quent en­quir­ing about what was the is­sue en­coun­tered with the air­craft that caused the forced re­turn to Cana­da and why the en­gi­neers need­ed sev­er­al hours to rec­ti­fy it.

Credit should be given to the ppp for extending the runway that the PNc/afc voted against.

Give it a rest, Bgurd. This is not the time.

Is he incorrect?  Hope you show the same compassion when the tables are turned.

Hip..hip..hooray  give credit to the PPP for having the foresight to upgrade the Cheddi Jagan Airport.

At the least one is successful and saving lives.

You happy now ?

Credit should be given to the ppp for extending the runway that the PNc/afc voted against.

Why are u politicizing an almost fatal event?. U should praise the great work by the pilots instead of an extended runway.

The PPP has visionaries the PNC and Namakaram Crabdaag, ass kisser/Batty washer are FILTH HEADS and so are their GNI supporters!!!

I'm not fond of either party, but if the PPP had so many visionaries ( according to u ). How come they didn't envision they were going to lose the election.

Dat is not a real question. I said visionaries not Houdini's or Miss Cleo

The PPP has visionaries the PNC and Namakaram Crabdaag, ass kisser/Batty washer are FILTH HEADS and so are their GNI supporters!!!

I'm not fond of either party, but if the PPP had so many visionaries ( according to u ). How come they didn't envision they were going to lose the election.

PPP lost election, dude do some research.

Unless you mean the “ envision” is the part US plays in ousting the PPP .. then my apologies Dearest Shiek .

Hip..hip..hooray  give credit to the PPP for having the foresight to upgrade the Cheddi Jagan Airport.

At the least one is successful and saving lives.

You happy now ?

But that's a fact even if one life was saved it served it's purpose. 

Y'all is a nasty bunch of people. A plane crashes, and in this almost fatal scenario all some of you can babble about is the greatness of the PPP. Not a word of commendation to the pilot and crew or expression of gratitude for the safety of the passengers. I have NEVER seen such crass, heartless behavior from people of any other country when their own nation/people face a disaster.

What a bunch of lowlife clowns! Truly a bunch of shithole people from a shithole country. 

When nagamootoo was having heart surgery, did you miss Nehru dancing in he doti fuh Nagamootoo dead? Y'all got no class. None whatsoever.

Y'all is a nasty bunch of people. A plane crashes, and in this almost fatal scenario all some of you can babble about is the greatness of the PPP. Not a word of commendation to the pilot and crew or expression of gratitude for the safety of the passengers. I have NEVER seen such crass, heartless behavior from people of any other country when their own nation/people face a disaster.

What a bunch of lowlife clowns! Truly a bunch of shithole people from a shithole country. 

Ok teacher son you get your minute of attention, stay quiet. 

When nagamootoo was having heart surgery, did you miss Nehru dancing in he doti fuh Nagamootoo dead? Y'all got no class. None whatsoever.

HJey *******, did you shit with your mouth and that is how you got that Info!! I know waht an ASS you ARE BUT I never realised you ARE a mixture of a Donkey and a Rat!!!!

HEHEHE Please someone explain to that IDIOT and SHIT HEAD.

No, YOU explain what you wrote. Leh we see here

did you shit with your mouth and that is how you got that Info!!

So someone "shits thru their mouth" and this magically translates into that person getting "info". Is this the kind of kaka you peddle to students at York?

Even wuss, is that you stand back admiring your incoherence as if it is genius, pointing to yuh sycophants on the sidelines, telling dem to "explain it". You are a friggin' retard.

Ok teacher son you get your minute of attention, stay quiet. 

This Royston dude is no better, coming out swing with his usual self and he did not offer praise and Thanks for the passengers. 

So you get Info from your Kakahole?/ Cause you have a habit of writing LIES and imagination, so you see why it is necessary to assume you are nothing but a DUMMY!!!

Leh we see de genius of wha dis YAWK professa of youtube sehing hay dis marnin'.

a. So you get Info from your Kakahole?/

Stunned by my point that INFORMATION is not gleaned from "shit" that comes thru the "mouth", the idiot now asks if INFORMATION comes from the other end (kakahole). Banna, you're not interested in coversiong. You're just interested in mentioning kaak, batty, ass, kakahole as much as possible in a post, stringing the same words together in as many combinations as you can. There is something seriously wrong with you.

Cause you have a habit of writing LIES and imagination, so you see why it is necessary to assume you are nothing but a DUMMY!!!

Lies and imagination gat nothing to do with people being dumb you clown! Very smart people use imagination and lies. You know a few - Jagdeo, Anil, Moses, Ramotar, Goat man and suh on.

Ah tek de time fuh deconstruct the pure SHIT yuh write hay in post after post to fulfill dat sick inclination you have to talk about bodily orifices and long cylindrical objects.

You are a sick bastard from the day you dropped out on the floor of Gaumont.

Shut yuh backside, if not for the extended runway we would be counting fatalities. Y'all rass got nothing good to say about PPP but rush to diminish their every accomplishment. Meanwhile you give the jackasses in the pnc/arc a free pass.

Take it easy......

So that is why you are a CERTIFIED CLOWN and a DUMB ASS???  LYING and being a habitual LIAR plus being a CLOWN and a DUMB ASS has elevated your status. Keep working hard and you can be elevated even further!!!

CLAP, CLAP, CLAP. Ray, can we pin this post to the top? Fuss time Nehru mek a post without batty, batty washer, kaak, prick and suh on.

HOWEVER, the post still mek no sense bai. But keep wukking. Yuh gon mek sense one day. wan wan dutty build dam.

Shut yuh backside, if not for the extended runway we would be counting fatalities. Y'all rass got nothing good to say about PPP but rush to diminish their every accomplishment. Meanwhile you give the jackasses in the pnc/arc a free pass.

Bgurd,. Correct me if I'm wrong. On july 30th. 2011 as i remember it, a CAL jet overshot the runway and crashed. This aircraft broke in two. No deaths. PPP in power and the runway was not extended then.  that project i believed started in 2013. Now we have another crash. No fatalities but somehow this runway extention seems to be the star of the show. Why?

Dearest Shiek, too much janjat in the house... nah so. 

A commercial passenger airplane crashes and in a time where more often than not there are fatalities, there are none. Instead of people being grateful, the aircraft's mechanical problems are overlooked and the crash politicized. I don't care who their family is or what qualifications people profess to have. That is just low and speaks volumes about their mentality. Ask any of the people who walked away from that crash if they care whether it was a PPP built runway or PNC "bad luck". By the way, the runway could have been extended all the way to Georgetown, if the hydraulics fail, the plane will crash.

Well put.

The PNC did NOT vote against the runway extension and in fact were quite vocal about supporting it.  They voted against the lavish terminal building with EIGHT airbridges. At no time are there ever 8 jets on the ground.  They are in the process of extending the runway and installing airbridges more consistent with the needs of GEO.

Given that you scream that Guyana is a crime ridden muddy place and that no tourist would ever go there why did the PPP want 8 airbridges?

Btw CAL had a similar incident and also the passengers were saved even though the plane was a write off.  The runway had NOT been completed at the time.

Were there fatalities with the CAL crash? No. 

In fact the pilot had to swerve onto a taxiway to prevent the plane from being more severely damaged. So no the runway wasn't a factor and I am not even sure if it is fully completed.

Now twiddle your toes and ask yourself if GEO will ever have 8 jets on the ground  simultaneously.  The answer is obvious and yet your PPP wanted another white elephant, so that they could pocket the bribes that the Chinese gave them.  Chat about the fact that 70% of the money allocated had been spent when the PPP left office even though little work had been done. Meaning that most had to be completed with the remaining 30%.

Yes your PPP would have landed Guyana with a $300 million airport EMPTY 90% of the time!

. By the way, the runway could have been extended all the way to Georgetown, if the hydraulics fail, the plane will crash.

Exactly.  Its the sand bank that stopped the plane, not the length of the runway.

Druggie would have been rushing out to the traumatized passengers screaming that they should thank the PPP.  Given that it was a Toronto flight, and we can guess what the ethnic composition of the passengers might have been even they might have told him to haul his so and so.

Really low class.

Plane crashes and crash-landings happen often. Let's be thankful that it was not serious to cause fatalities. This is the second incident we have seen in the past two years or so. Drugb, please shut up. This is not about the government or politics. The iron bird that flies with people in the air is made by men and people lives are entrusted on the pilot and his skills to make a split-second decision to save the souls onboard.  

Thank you, Django. Credits go to the pilot.  

Do you have blame me for bringing up the runway extension.

â€œWhere the aircraft veered off is about the exact same place the Caribbean Airlines (plane did)â€Ķ so fortunately for us on this occasion, the extension (of the runway) was there so they were able to utilise the extension,” Patterson added.

Plane crashes and crash-landings happen often. Let's be thankful that it was not serious to cause fatalities. This is the second incident we have seen in the past two years or so. Drugb, please shut up. This is not about the government or politics. The iron bird that flies with people in the air is made by men and people lives are entrusted on the pilot and his skills to make a split-second decision to save the souls onboard.  

Thank you, Django. Credits go to the pilot.  

Shut yuh kakahole for a mouth, see below.

â€œWhere the aircraft veered off is about the exact same place the Caribbean Airlines (plane did)â€Ķ so fortunately for us on this occasion, the extension (of the runway) was there so they were able to utilise the extension,” Patterson added.

. By the way, the runway could have been extended all the way to Georgetown, if the hydraulics fail, the plane will crash.

Exactly.  Its the sand bank that stopped the plane, not the length of the runway.

Druggie would have been rushing out to the traumatized passengers screaming that they should thank the PPP.  Given that it was a Toronto flight, and we can guess what the ethnic composition of the passengers might have been even they might have told him to haul his so and so.

Really low class.

Without the extension to slow down the plane you really think sand bank would have been effective? I should send you and the others a bill for the amount of schooling I am sharing out today.

The PNC did NOT vote against the runway extension and in fact were quite vocal about supporting it.  They voted against the lavish terminal building with EIGHT airbridges. At no time are there ever 8 jets on the ground.  They are in the process of extending the runway and installing airbridges more consistent with the needs of GEO.

Given that you scream that Guyana is a crime ridden muddy place and that no tourist would ever go there why did the PPP want 8 airbridges?

Btw CAL had a similar incident and also the passengers were saved even though the plane was a write off.  The runway had NOT been completed at the time.

You lie!

Opposition votes to block airport expansion project

Government early Wednesday morning blasted the political opposition for voting down the entire transport section budgetary allocation of Gy$ 5.6 billion for the Public Works Ministry.

You lie!

Government early Wednesday morning blasted the political opposition for voting down the entire transport section budgetary allocation of Gy$ 5.6 billion for the Public Works Ministry.

Caribny is correct. 

You lie!

Caribny is correct. 

Caribny is correct. The then opposition had no objection to extending the runway. They objected to other aspects of the project. 

This is from PPP mouthpiece inewsguyana - 

https://www.inewsguyana.com/ap...with-modified-plans/

While in Opposition, the APNU+AFC had always agreed that there is a need for an extended runway and better facilities at the CJIA but criticized the then PPP government for lack of transparency in the execution of the project.

Really low class.

Without the extension to slow down the plane you really think sand bank would have been effective? I should send you and the others a bill for the amount of schooling I am sharing out today.

You couldn't afford to pay what you owe US.

FIREMEN SUSPECTED OF STEALING FROM CRASHED JET

http://demerarawaves.com/2018/...ng-from-crashed-jet/

What is wrong with these people? Is everyone a thief? Is there no honor in the system? Disgraceful...fine them and then fire them....

Aah...shaddup, how do you fire ðŸ”Ĩ a fireman, eh!!!!

Take away his hose.

yuh see what I tell yuh? shithole country bai. If dead bodies were in the plane they would be stripping them of valuables.

Guana Banna, Neeru is a Brahmin's son.

Not surprised. Typical of the "religious". Dat's why I doan believe in religion.

yuh doan believe in gad too? Coincedental or what.

What yuh want? You rolling down de aisles on Sunday and den telling me about meh skont on Monday. Den we resident bramin is one of de WUSS people pon dis site. Now we got son of bramin who runnin' around askin' men if dem gat "kaak". What example alyuh setting fuh me?

PNc GUYANA, I hope you are not surprise/shock Bhai

Not so fast my fine feathered friend. When that CAL plane overshot the runway and ended up in our life saving sandbank, a female passenger said that a taxi driver appeared from nowhere and charged her $20. US to take her to the terminal. PPP in charge. The point here, is not the Govt. as you're trying to suggest but the people. Not all, but some. They just dont have a conscience.

What is wrong with these people? Is everyone a thief? Is there no honor in the system? Disgraceful...fine them and then fire them....

There are the people you support into power to rape the nation. PNC thiefman getting their christmas bonus. Remember the pnc gave their ministers 50% raise and left these guys high and dry.

Amazing. You were able to ascertain their party affiliation how?

Yet the result was the same. No fatalities. Injured passengers. Plane written off.

The real issue with this is that both CAL and Fly Jam pilots use that airport frequently and so know what to do if they get into trouble.  An AA pilot mightn't have been as lucky, lacking familiarity with what he should be doing.

Y'all rass got nothing good to say about PPP but rush to diminish their every accomplishment.

Marnin' Dalit, you do the same with black man, day in and day out. Pot meet Kettle.

Yes druggie has unique problems. When someone posts the fine accomplishments of an Afro Guyanese even Indo KKK people like yuji sometimes offer their congratulations.

Not druggie.  He becomes enraged and combs the internet looking for some evidence that they are losers.  The notion that millions of blacks accomplish more than he has in his trivial life really drives him to insanity.  After all his self esteem is based solely on that fact that he isn't black.

Here is druggie screaming that Trinidadian pilots are better than Guyanese.  I suspect that the plane was flown by people who have been landing at that airport for the past 30-40 years and so know it as well as they do their driveways.

And this is why they knew where to drive the plane.

They voted down the project as presented because it consisted of a terminal with 8 air bridges and a completely new terminal.  CAL has about 4 planes daily and the other airlines have no more than a daily flight.  The most planes that would be on the ground at a particular time would be 3-4.  For vast swathes of the day the airport is EMPTY!

BOTH APNU and the AFC endorsed the runway extension but thought that the huge terminal that the PPP presented was a white elephant.  But then with Marriott, the Berbice Bridge, Skeldon factory and other PPP projects, this is no surprise.

You are the one screaming that Guyana will never interest tourists so why do we need an airport as big as that which Antigua has with their almost 300k tourist arrivals?

If ministers (both in the PPP and now in APNU/AFC) are/were thieves, then why will an underpaid semi starved fireman do better?  The fish rots from the head.

What yuh want? You rolling down de aisles on Sunday and den telling me about meh skont on Monday. Den we resident bramin is one of de WUSS people pon dis site. Now we got son of bramin who runnin' around askin' men if dem gat "kaak". What example alyuh setting fuh me?

You have a very colorful way of expressing yourself.  You really paint a picture of what goes on here.  Hilarious.  I can actually see what you say.

D2's style is very different.  Yet people think that the two of you are the same!!!

PPP ministers didn't care about their salaries because they knew full well that most of their income would be from theft.

When Cheddi saw how ruthlessly capitalistic his former communist comrades were the man had an instant heart attack and fled to the USA for treatment.

Even you used to wail that your family's revenue sharing arrangements were more expensive under the PPP because blacks are less ambitious so demand less. 

Amazing. You were able to ascertain their party affiliation how?

Under pnc, 100% of firemen are black, who by default vote pnc, ask cribby, hence pnc thiefman. 

You have a very colorful way of expressing yourself.  You really paint a picture of what goes on here.  Hilarious.  I can actually see what you say.

D2's style is very different.  Yet people think that the two of you are the same!!!

Like d2 recruit you with two watermelon to plant doubt in people's mind about his duplicate handle?

PPP ministers didn't care about their salaries because they knew full well that most of their income would be from theft.

When Cheddi saw how ruthlessly capitalistic his former communist comrades were the man had an instant heart attack and fled to the USA for treatment.

Even you used to wail that your family's revenue sharing arrangements were more expensive under the PPP because blacks are less ambitious so demand less. 

Look how you sold your soul to the devil, making excuses for the pnc/afc hustling the nation and robbing its coffers for the high life. After umpteen forensic audits and investigations by saru/clive thomas, not one ppp jailed for thievery.

Yet the result was the same. No fatalities. Injured passengers. Plane written off.

The real issue with this is that both CAL and Fly Jam pilots use that airport frequently and so know what to do if they get into trouble.  An AA pilot mightn't have been as lucky, lacking familiarity with what he should be doing.

Today I was speaking to my neighbor who is a captain for Air Canada and he said all major airport landing strip has a certain distance ,pilots have that information in their log and that help determine which airport is best suited for which aircraft.  My friend also said many years ago he worked for UN and he delivered aid to several African countries many of the airports was his first. A qualified pilot is trained to land his aircraft successful.  The problem is when there is an emergency it takes an experienced pilot to make the right decision. 

They are pack of Chammars.