OK Folks!

The topic today is SWEET GUYANA MEMORIES.

Speaking of memories, you folks ever notice how as human beings we all hang on to our memories ? You know why ?

You see folks--memories are the only things we as humans have that absolutely never change---husbands change, wives change, friends change, people change, places change, but memories don't change.

You ever have those flashbacks---those random memories that bring a smile to your face no matter what is going on in your life ?

SWEET MEMORIES LAST FOREVER!

In this thread please feel free to share some of your sweet Guyana memories.

EASTER MONDAY

Remember how you anxiously looked forward to Easter Monday---your Mom would buy you a new shirt or pants or dress---just to wear on Easter Monday---and you would head off to the sea wall with the colorful kite---the singing engine--- Uncle CP made for you ?lol

EASTER MONDAY---THE NEW CLOTHES---THE KITES---THE FESTIVITY---THE CROWDS ALL ALONG THE GUYANA SEAWALL---SWEET MEMORIES

LEMONADE & PURI

How many of you remember that lemonade they use to sell in the little green bottle in Guyana----lemonade and puri used to be 25 cents back in the days.

That lemonade was the best----not like that sour/bitter crap we get here in America and Canada.

HOW MANY OF YOU REMEMBER THE LEMONADE IN THE GREEN BOTTLE ?

Boy I got so much memories, yes to everything you wrote above. Every holiday I will be celebrating, from dig dutty days and thiefing the pennies out from the hole when the pandit them move off to rubbing powder down them gyal blouse and get a lil free feel up, smoking rolled up graphic newspaper in the outhouse, teking pointer broom and crawling under the donkey cart and tickle the donkey thing, until one day the damn donkey piss pun me, the list goes on

Amral
Came in Pink and I think yellow, not sure about the yellow though, was a short stocky bottle

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

PUMA PUNCH

How many of you remember PUMA PUNCH!

This was back in the 1970s---hated it when it first came out---but then acquired the taste for puma---and then they stopped making it.

BUT HOW MANY OF YOU REMEMBER PUMA PUNCH ?

Amral

FISH & BREAD AT MAHAICA TRAIN STOP

Only the oldies will remember this---but when I was a young boy---I remember my grandmother taking me on the train to Rosignol----then we'd take the ferry over to New Amsterdam where my aunt lived.

Anyway---the memory is---at the Mahaica train stop---you had these ladies selling fish and bread out of these big baskets.

How many of you remember the trains in Guyana---and how many recall that stop at Mahaica---fish and bread ?

Originally Posted by Amral:

how many of you remember getting yuh first glimpse at a skin magazine   Playboy was modest those days

HA HA HA HA HA

That is what the Rev calls SWEET MEMORIES.

Who can ever forget that ? I was 10 years old in common entrance when my friend Gautam introduced me and others to the mystery of the female body---porno magazines----it was mesmerizing.hahahahahaha

BRISTOL & BROADWAY CIGARETTE

I noticed amral mentioned smoking the rolled up graphic newspaper in the outhouse---quite resourcefullol---how many of you remember the first time you smoked a cigarette ?

Well, the Rev was late---I didn't get around to experimenting with smoking until after O'levels---I went to Astor cinema---bought a pack a Bristol---dad used to smoke Bristol----then bought a ticket to house---back in those days you had pit, house and balcony.

Anyway, I smoked the whole pack----it was a terrible experience---went home brushed my teeth a hundred times but couldn't get rid of the cigarette taste.

NEVER SMOKED AGAIN.hahahaha

I used to go to Guyana Stores and look through every issue of Playboy after School and claim to miss the Train.

ha ha ha ha 

There was a guy named PADDO in Bourda market---he was a St Lucian guy and he used to call everybody PADDO.

Anyway, I was a teenager back then and used to buy old copies of Time magazine and newsweek from him.

Then oneday he said to me, "Paddo you ever read Penthouse magazine ?"hahahaha

Lemme say this. The Rev spent a lot of Satudays "researching" at Paddo's stall in bourda market.hahahahahaha

Nehru, no wonder you're wutliss till today.  

The Fish and Bread:  Mahaica was a major stopping point in the 70s for buses doing the Berbice to Georgetown route. Everyone looked forward to the stop just for this food. While sitting in the bus, they purchased the food from the large baskets on the ladies' heads. The fish was just caught from the Mahica Creek and fried; the bread was freshly baked; that food was heavenly. Those ladies did good business and made a good profit.       

WHEN DID YOU DRINK YOUR FIRST BEER ?

The first time I ever had a beer was after A levels---I was 18 and figured it was time to try something manly.lol

I was home all alone---went to Iris cake shop and paid 35 cents for a banks beer.

THAT SHYT WAS BITTER---HATED IT.

But then I started teaching after A'levels---taught for a year before emigrating to the US and starting Uni.

But anyway, that year teaching at Indians---that's where I developed my beer taste buds.lol

Originally Posted by Observer:

Nehru, no wonder you're wutliss till today.  

The Fish and Bread:  Mahaica was a major stopping point in the 70s for buses doing the Berbice to Georgetown route. Everyone looked forward to the stop just for this food. While sitting in the bus, they purchased the food from the large baskets on the ladies' heads. The fish was just caught from the Mahica Creek and fried; the bread was freshly baked; that food was heavenly. Those ladies did good business and made a good profit.       

I used to order my Fish and Bread just as the Train about to pull out of the SDtation. This way the seller cant collect, unless he/she can run as fast as the Train.

The first time I ever had a beer was after A levels---I was 18 and figured it was time to try something manly.lol

I was home all alone---went to Iris cake shop and paid 35 cents for a banks beer.

But then I started teaching after A'levels---taught for a year before emigrating to the US and starting Uni.

But anyway, that year teaching at Indians---that's where I developed my beer taste buds.lol

Rico and Rabbies opposite Big Hospital was the Place for a COLD BEERS and watch Binnies passing.

Bhai Rev, Yuh mek tears coming from my eyes. Tears of Joy Bhai. Abee Guyana too SWEET.

Nehri bhai:

Remember the subject is SWEET MEMORIES.

There is an old saying:

"Life brings tears, smiles, and memories. The tears dry--the smiles fade--but the memories last forever."

We all have sweet, wonderful, cherished memories of good old Guyana---memories that will never change.

GOOD TIMES--GOOD MUSIC--GOOD MEMORIES = HAPPY LIFE.

What says you Nehru bhai--simple philosophy in life, right ?

Rico and Rabbies opposite Big Hospital was the Place for a COLD BEERS and watch Binnies passing.

The Ramkerat Brothers took you drinking or was it Popedeo Persaud??

That's right Observer---SWEET MEMORIES----I am glad someone here remembers that fish and bread experience at the Mahaica train stop.

==============

ha ha ha ha ha

Nehru--it looks like we might know each other.

Actually Subhas(Ramkerat) was deputy principal at Indians in the late 70s---Ganesh---"Big Singh" was Principal---he used to ride a big Harley I believe.

But the drinking gang was a bunch of young teachers---like myself---just completed A-levels---and waiting for green card to come to America and start Uni.

We used to get pay once a month---and sometimes ended up at Rico and Robby's.

==============

ha ha ha ha ha

Nehru--it looks like we might know each other.

Actually Subhas(Ramkerat) was deputy principal at Indians in the late 70s---Ganesh---"Big Singh" was Principal---he used to ride a big Harley I believe.

But the drinking gang was a bunch of young teachers---like myself---just completed A-levels---and waiting for green card to come to America and start Uni.

We used to get pay once a month---and sometimes ended up at Rico and Robby's.

Mad Singh brother taught me Math and another Geography. A nice, hot young lady by the name of Persaud cant remember her first name taught me english.

Originally Posted by alena06:

SHANTA'S DHALL PURI ON CAMP STREET

Moi!  Rev you from GT?  Shanta's had the softest puri.

aleana:

* Shanta's was down the street from the school both you and the Rev attended.

* Did A levels(phys/chem/bio) at QC.

* Lived in Prashad Nagar---same street as the Russian embassy when it was in Prashad Nagar---that was the safest street in nagar.

HOW ABOUT SHARING SOME OF YOUR GUYANA MEMORIES LENA.

Surely you must have had a little teenaged boyfriend you held hands with and toured Promenade gardenslol---that was close to QC.

===

Is that Gautam from Annnadale who lives in Miami now. He is my BIL's friend.

Lena:

The 10 year old Gautam who who stole his dad's girlie magazines---and introduced the 10 yr old Rev to nude photos was my common entrance classmate Gautam Samlall---he lived in Kitty---we both attended Rama Krishna school in Barr street, Kitty.

Nehru was an extremely wicked chap. 

Still IS Bhai.

Is observer a bhai or bahin ?

I had the observer handle down as a bahin.

A bhai won't call you wicked---he would praise your memories.

Thanks for the Info. Bhai Alena was a church going Gal. Straight to School and when bell ring, straight Home.

===========

Thanks for the Info. Bhai Alena was a church going Gal. Straight to School and when bell ring, straight Home.

ha ha ha

Hmmmm! Really ? Alena was a church going girl ?

Nehru! As you know--church going girls are among the most adventurous.hahahahaha

I'm sure our friend alena is a woman of impeccable character---but surely she must have had some cherished adventures and memories.

===

Is that Gautam from Annnadale who lives in Miami now. He is my BIL's friend.

Lena:

The 10 year old Gautam who who stole his dad's girlie magazines---and introduced the 10 yr old Rev to nude photos was my common entrance classmate Gautam Samlall---he lived in Kitty---we both attended Rama Krishna school in Barr street, Kitty.

Okay then it is not him.

Nehru was an extremely wicked chap. 

Still IS Bhai.

Is observer a bhai or bahin ?

I had the observer handle down as a bahin.

A bhai won't call you wicked---he would praise your memories.

I wonder where u get your false info from.

REv, Was that one of the Samlalls who had a Snackett next to Empire Cinema???

No it wasn't!

But I remember Empire cinema---the first movie I ever saw there was with my Mom---she took me to the doctor----then we went to Empire and checked out "Night In London" with Biswajeet and Mala Sinha.lol

Originally Posted by Amral:

my first beer when i was about 12,thief a 10 dollar bill and hit roxy cinema with friends,got caught later and got a good cut rass

Alcohol and me don't really jive...when I was in sixth form at QC (aged 17)  My friends and I used to go to lessons on Saturday mornings.  And then we would go dancing at the Dark on Main street for a few hours (after lunch party).. One day I tried to sip a beer and vomitted for the rest of the day!! 

rev you donot go to shanta and eat puri and eggball with lamonade you drink peanut punch you know mad singh that use to teach at indians

You are 100% correct warrior---how could I forget about the peanut punch.

RE: SINGH

Ganesh Singh(Big Singh) was headmaster at Indians the year I taught there---1979.

Nehru asked about his brother----there were a few Singh brothers---Himanchal Singh I know.

====

So you might know the Rambihars. My eldest sister wrote A levels with the youngest Rambihar.  I wrote 'A' levels in 1988.

Brian and I were classmates---he re-wrote A levels in 1979 and received the Guyana scholarship---heard he is a medical doctor in England.

Very bright family---the Rambihars---Vivian was Guyana scholar in 69---Brian in 79---and I believe one of the girls was a Guyana scholar.

You did A levels in 1988 ?

That means you are 10 years younger than the Rev.

Did you do the sciences or art ?

Used to hide and smoke benson and Hedges and Rothmans now and then. After High School, never had a cigarette again.

U used to steal those from your dad's store?   My BIL said u guys were the only ones in the village with a telephone back in those days...and his parents used to call them from Canada at your #..Talk about growing up with a 'golden spoon'..lol

rev you donot go to shanta and eat puri and eggball with lamonade you drink peanut punch you know mad singh that use to teach at indians

You are 100% correct warrior---how could I forget about the peanut punch.

RE: SINGH

Ganesh Singh(Big Singh) was headmaster at Indians the year I taught there---1979.

Nehru asked about his brother----there were a few Singh brothers---Himanchal Singh I know.

I had my Puri and aloo ball with strawberry milk a few days and then move to the Shop opposite the Train Station and have Sardine and Bread with Strawberry Milk. 

Used to hide and smoke benson and Hedges and Rothmans now and then. After High School, never had a cigarette again.

U used to steal those from your dad's store?   My BIL said u guys were the only ones in the village with a telephone back in those days...and his parents used to call them from Canada at your #..Talk about growing up with a 'golden spoon'..lol

Not stole, tek.

===

I had my Puri and aloo ball with strawberry milk a few days and then move to theShop opposite the Train Station and have Sardine and Bread with Strawberry Milk. 

That shop opposite the train station had the best mauby and pine drink in Guyana.

I remember having pine drink and salara there.

Originally Posted by Riya:

Some sweet memories indeed

the trains were long gone by the time I came along but I remember traveling with the huge Tata buses and cars from GT to Rosignol. We would stop for fruits at Mahaica/Mahaicony market. The best fish and bread came from the stelling. Then a sno cone as a treat.

Yeah, I missed out on the trains too, I heard it was much better than the buses...I wore white sneakers to school and by the time I got home they were black from people stepping on my feet.  Darn, all that whitening stuff went to waste.  lol

Did you do the sciences or art ?

alena: Mine was a weird combination..I did Chem/Bio/Math...physics and me were not best friends, got a 'B' at 'O" Levels. 

Strange combination, indeed.

In my days the Phys/chem/bio students were all in one class and the Phys/chem/math or Phys/pure&applied math/futher math/higher math students were in another class.

RE: HEALTH MINISTER BHERI RAMSARAN

We were A'level classmates---phys/chem/bio---he was always sharing out PYO literature---the man was a hardcore Jaganite---we used to make fun of his politics----anyway he went to Russia and got his doctorate there---his loyalty to Jagan and the PPP paid off----Bheri is now health Minister.

Some sweet memories indeed

the trains were long gone by the time I came along but I remember traveling with the huge Tata buses and cars from GT to Rosignol. We would stop for fruits at Mahaica/Mahaicony market. The best fish and bread came from the stelling.

Then a sno cone as a treat.

You ever tried condensed milk on your sno cone ?

CUSTARD BLOCK & FLUTEE

How many of you remember when custard block was a penny(2 cents) and flutee was a cent in Guyana ?

Lemme say this. I live in the US and have had the best of ice cream and whatever---but I still have sweet memories of that custard block and flutee Aunty Noreen used to sell at Rama Krishna school----and yes---back then---the custard block was a penny(remember that penny in Guyana---it was 2 cents); flutee was a cent.hahahaha

SWEET SWEET MEMORIES!

Black Pudding and souce was deh Bomb Bhai. 

Here is my Black Pudding memory!

* From Buxton my parents moved to Mon Repos then to Prashad Nagar.

* While at Mon Repos there was a black lady who used to come all the way from Buxton to sell black pudding---she used to carry her black pudding---all coiled up--- in one of those big white buckets that you used to store drinking water in---you guys remember those white buckets ?

* Anyway, the lady used to sell black pudding 5 cents a slice---5 cents was big money in dem days---25 cents and you got 5 cuts---and the best thing was that sauce she used to put on the black pudding.

* But here is my sweet memory---I had a 5 year old cousin---and I buy her black pudding one day---and she said to me---Rev "black puddin more sweet than fowl".hahahaha

* Onto this day--decades later--when my cousin and I see each other---we always have a good laugh about "black pudding more sweet than fowl."lol

SWEET MEMORIES ALWAYS STAY WITH YOU.

FISH & BREAD AT MAHAICA TRAIN STOP

Only the oldies will remember this---but when I was a young boy---I remember my grandmother taking me on the train to Rosignol----then we'd take the ferry over to New Amsterdam where my aunt lived.

Anyway---the memory is---at the Mahaica train stop---you had these ladies selling fish and bread out of these big baskets.

How many of you remember the trains in Guyana---and how many recall that stop at Mahaica---fish and bread ?

If u that old, then bai, life has passed u by. U din larn much.

====

If u that old, then bai, life has passed u by. U din larn much.

Seigy:

What's with the negativity ? Why the sucky attitude ?

This is a lovely thread---the subject is SWEET MEMORIES----why not put aside whatever animosity you harbor against the Rev and post some joyful memories you have from your days in Guyana ?

LOOKS LIKE YOU ARE THROWING MUD AT THE REV INORDER TO MAKE YOURSELF LOOK GOOD SEIGNET.

The Rev forgives you seigy---now will you please share some sweet memories from Guyana. Thanks.

CUSTARD BLOCK & FLUTEE

How many of you remember when custard block was a penny(2 cents) and flutee was a cent in Guyana ?

Lemme say this. I live in the US and have had the best of ice cream and whatever---but I still have sweet memories of that custard block and flutee Aunty Noreen used to sell at Rama Krishna school----and yes---back then---the custard block was a penny(remember that penny in Guyana---it was 2 cents); flutee was a cent.hahahaha

SWEET SWEET MEMORIES!

Omg, I went to Rama Krishna primary too and remember a flutee lady, don't remember her name though. Flutee was 5c at that time.

remember the shaved ice? That would melt so quickly that you have to lick all the way up to your elbows

CUSTARD BLOCK & FLUTEE

SWEET SWEET MEMORIES!

Senor Rev, you iz ooooolllllldddd

All kidding aside, I don't recall buying anything for 1 cent, except a fudge on my very first day of primary school.

======

Omg, I went to Rama Krishna primary too and remember a flutee lady, don't remember her name though. Flutee was 5c at that time.

remember the shaved ice? That would melt so quickly that you have to lick all the way up to your elbows

ha ha ha ha

Riya:

It's a small world my dear! Since you went to Rama Krishna also--that means you and the Rev are like family.lol

That's the nice thing about interacting with fellow Guyanese---you always know somebody in common or have something in common.

RE: RAMA KRISHNA

I wrote common entrance in 1971----I was not even 10----started high school later that year at 10.

WHAT YEAR DID YOU WRITE COMMON ENTRANCE RIYA ?

I'm glad you remember the flutee lady---Aunty Noreen----there was also a lady who used to sell sliced mango and other stuff--I forgot her name.

Anyway in my time(1971) the flutee was 1 cent---but I guess with inflation---around your time flutee was 5 cents.

RE: CHARLIE

Opposite Rama Krishna was Charlie cake shop---I used to buy chocolate milk and channa from him----his channa was full of geera.

RE: THE BETTENCOURTS

Next to Rama Krishna was Mr. and Ms Bettencourt----were they still there when you attended Rama Krishna ?

The Bettencourts made the best channa and the best sauce to go with that channa that I ever had----I also remember their chocolate icicles.

SMALL WORLD & SWEET MEMORIES RIYA.

Riya and the Rev went to Rama Krishna and alena and the Rev went to QC.lol

Originally Posted by Miraver:

======

All kidding aside, I don't recall buying anything for 1 cent, except a fudge on my very first day of primary school.

ha ha ha ha

The Rev was 9 1/2 when he wrote common entrance in 71 and 10 years old when he started high school---do the math---and Rev has some sweet, sweet  memories----and memories are never old Miraver.

And by the way---the flutee was 1 cent in my time---Riya remembers the flutee lady---but by Riya's time the flutee went up to 5 cents---inflation.

======

ha ha ha ha

The Rev was 9 1/2 when I wrote common entrance in 71 and 10 years old when I started high school---do the math---and Rev has some sweet, sweet  memories----and memories are never old Miraver.

And by the way---the flutee was 1 cent in my time---Riya remembers the flutee lady---but by Riya's time the flutee went up to 5 cents---inflation.

Oh Senor Revvy, my humble apologies to you. You are indeed a young man, not even in your second spring Yes, inflation happens.

===

Oh Senor Revvy, my humble apologies to you.

Mira:

We're having fun in this thread---sweet memories--no need for apologies---and regarding age---guys like the Rev and Nehru believe age is a matter of feelings not of years---we feel eternally youthful.hahahahaha

LISTEN. WHEN YUH STOP HAVING FUN---TIME TO DROP DEAD----REV WILL NEVER STOP HAVING FUN---AND WILL NEVER GROW OLD IN THE HEART & SOUL.

Okay.

I had a wonderful time growing up in B.G and everything was sweet sweet. And before hardships came upon British Guiana, the good Lord moved me out to Canada-the land of snow, milk and honey.

Seigy:

Thanks for that sober response!

Listen! The good Lord moved 90% of the posters on this forum from Guyana to lands over-flowing with snow, milk and honey.

But today--2013--the good Lord loves what he is seeing from our fellow Guyanese in Guyana---and while many of Guyanese are freezing their balls off in lands of snow, milk and honey---the good Lord is beginning to bless warm and sunny Guyana with progress and positivity.

Okay.

I had a wonderful time growing up in B.G and everything was sweet sweet. And before hardships came upon British Guiana, the good Lord moved me out to Canada-the land of snow, milk and honey.

Seigy:

Thanks for that sober response!

Listen! The good Lord moved 90% of the posters on this forum from Guyana to lands over-flowing with snow, milk and honey.

But today--2013--the good Lord loves what he is seeing from our fellow Guyanese in Guyana---and while many of Guyanese are freezing their balls off in lands of snow, milk and honey---the good Lord is beginning to bless warm and sunny Guyana with progress and positivity.

As JESUS RISE ON Monday HE WILL SHOWER HIS bLESSINGS ON OUR DEAR GUYANA. Happy Easter, remember God gave his beloved son so that we can live. Give yourself to Jesus or go to HELL.  Happy Easter everyone.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Sheik: Rev, let me test your skills. Do you know what these things are?

Sheiky:

Do you really believe the man of sweet memories, the inimitable Rev, would not remember a cashew tree ?hahahaha

The joke's on you, Rev. that's not a cashew tree. It's an akee tree. Found it growing in my friend's front yard in South R\veldt.
Now, I'm off to visit my farm.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

====

The joke's on you, Rev. that's not a cashew tree. It's an akee tree. Found it growing in my friend's front yard in South R\veldt.
Now, I'm off to visit my farm.

It just goes to show one is never too old to learn something new.

I never knew there were akee trees in Guyana---thought it was a Jamaican thing.

Thanks for the enlightenment Sheik---and enjoy your day at the farm.

Rev, I never heard of akee in Guyana either, Naturally, the Sheik had to delve deeper in order to be convinced. And I was. I thought it was a Jamaican thing as well. until one of these fruits, if it should be called that was cut open in front of me revealing three black seeds inside.
It's not a cashew nut tree either. I know what they look like. As is plain to see, there are no nuts hanging from the outside.