Harmon applies to give up American citizenship: “I believe there is a certain quality which I have that can help the President in running this country in a proper way”.

Foreign Minister, Carl Greenidge and President David Granger.

Joseph Harmon, who resigned earlier this year from his position as Minister of State because he is the holder of dual nationalities, says he has already applied to give up his United States (US) citizenship.

He told reporters on the sidelines of a People’s National Congress Reform 62nd anniversary rally in Linden that he more than one month ago finished all the paperwork and paid a hefty sum of cash to relinquish his American citizenship.

Harmon, who was appointed Director-General of the Ministry of the Presidency soon after he had resigned as Minister of State and as a lawmaker, said he was awaiting word from the US State Department to inform him that they have received his affidavits and other documents. “All that has been done and I expect anytime now that I’ll get a feedback from them because the fact that I haven’t heard anything as yet seems to me to say that the procedures and all the paperwork are in order so by the time, we are getting ready to go on the list, I’ll be ready to go on the list,” he said.

The former State Minister said the US Consular Officer informed him that the renunciation process could take about two months “so it’s about time I’ll hear from them soon” and “long before March” 2, 2020 when Guyanese are slated to go to the polls to elect a government of their choice.

Harmon, Rupert Roopnaraine, Dominic Gaskin and Carl Greenidge resigned on April 2, 2019 after Guyana’s High Court and Court of Appeal ruled that it was unconstitutional for holders of dual citizenship to be candidates more so parliamentarians. They were all rehired to serve the government in the same ministries that they had once headed politically.

For his part, Harmon says he is looking forward to be back in Parliament so that he can serve Guyana through the David Granger-led administration. “I’m excited because I want to continue to serve the people of this country; that I believe there is a certain quality which I have that can help the President in running this country in a proper way and that I believe that I have something to offer the people of Guyana,” he said.

President David Granger and Minister of State Joseph Harmon.

Harmon’s move to give up his American citizenship came the same day – Saturday – that Greenidge issued a statement announcing that he had been no longer a British citizen.

He signaled that he was ready to once again be a candidate for the governing coalition of a A Partnership for National Unity+ Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC). “I have informed President Granger accordingly and therefore look forward to being included on the list of candidates from which the Party will make its selection of MPs following the holding of the Regional and General Elections in 2020,” said Greenidge.

Even as he parted ways with his decades-long British citizenship, he said that status assisted him in his educational and professional pursuits. “UK citizenship and residence enabled me to take advantage, largely free of cost to my parents, of wide-ranging educational opportunities which I would not have been in a position to access or finance had I remained in Guyana. I was subsequently able to gain invaluable employment and vocational experience in the employ of UK Government agencies before returning to Guyana to serve. I am grateful to have had that privilege and through it to have attained the goals to which my relatives and many Guyanese aspire,” said Greenidge, a former Finance Minister, Caribbean trade negotiator and former Deputy Secretary-General of the 77-nation African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) Group of former European colonies.

Or, he waiting to see how the results of the election turn out???

Why dont the Granger government investigate his role during the narco terrorism time...and what was revealed in Wikileaks???

Did Ramsammy sleep with you last night and whisper he’s a MP. 

Why dont the Granger government investigate his role during the narco terrorism time...and what was revealed in Wikileaks???

Why don't you mind your Kiss mi ass business??How much Daddy you want, Granger nah good enough?

Knucklehead, former minister of Health....he should lead by example....still a keep player in the rag rag PPP....

Why don't you mind your Kiss mi ass business??How much Daddy you want, Granger nah good enough?

Like you “VEX”....when we expose dem conniving, unprofessional, and self-serving leeches who live in expensive mansions, eh??

The reason the PNC bwoys are giving up their citizenship is the PNC has assured them that the election is rigged and they will win. Else you would have seen the rats jumping a sinking ship.

Suh....if you know this at this stage in the game....you have a game plan?

Or, you gon wait for the hammer to drop then cry “we wuz robbed”

You know, the TV series Roots had a character they called him dummy. His name was Kunta. You fit that profile. If I was in Guyana, I would have done something.

You full of it...the entire PPP is in GUYANA

And....why cant this dude act presidential? Look like he working at the Exxon gas station.

Images (3)
  • mceclip0
  • mceclip2
  • mceclip1

And....why cant this dude act presidential? Look like he working at the Exxon gas station.

Stick to the subject dummy. The same damn thing I just said. You prappa sthupit you know.

Yuh Daddy Granger is watching and learn from the Master, When a man fat he can loose weight, but Granger has a dutty mind and cancer, that will kill him.

For a boy with big Goadie you doing lots of work for the PNC, even fetching the Slop can.

You guys don't get FOOLED by this Vishmahabir guy. He is direct from Congress Place working for free hopefully them black boys will see and give he lil messenger job. Fetching the slop can give him Big Balls/GOADIE, he said that himself. He is turning out to be worst than Caribj, Rawan etal.

Knucklehead, former minister of Health....he should lead by example....still a keep player in the rag rag PPP....

Why does Ramsammy have to give up his citizenship?  He is not an MP or a Minister.  Or you making up you own constitution like Granger?

All a dem rass lying. Take a look at the timing of their announcements.

Yuh Daddy Granger is watching and learn from the Master, When a man fat he can loose weight, but Granger has a dutty mind and cancer, that will kill him.

For a boy with big Goadie you doing lots of work for the PNC, even fetching the Slop can.

President looking good...and this is after 13 rounds of chemo....

Maybe he’s pumping Gas in your Arss hole 

I hope Amral and Ray listening....

Like you want gas from them boys. You Free for all!!

You have a nasty way of knocking people down, due  their disability or illness.

I sincerely hope you do not get sick in your old age, with no one to look after you.

But what Karma says, most times comes through.

So keep on truckin', because life is irreversible.  

Last edited by Tola
Tola posted:
kp posted.

I sincerely hope you do not get sick in your old age, with no one to look after you.

Dat banna aint playin with a full deck of cards....he think he is de joker.

Tola posted:

I didn't ask for your opinion, you stick with the suicide tingie. This is not Bible class or whatever religious thing you believe. I didn't ask how you are doing, cause I don't care a damn.

Tola posted:
kp posted.

Like you katch frend.

There is no evidence that any of these fools have given up anything. The PNC has always been a dishonest bunch and should neve be trusted.

Looks are deceiving. That c-unt in the green shirt has CANCER. Nothing good looking about cancer.

Tola posted:
kp posted.

What I wrote is NOT taking political sides. It is RESPECT for those we disagree. 

Animosity has its consequences, most time its ours to bear.  

Tola posted:
kp post

I didn't ask for your opinion, you stick with the suicide tingie. This is not Bible class or whatever religious thing you believe. I didn't ask how you are doing, cause I don't care a damn.

Like I said, keep on truckin'.  

Some people should mind their own blasted business, where was he all this time while Granger sitting illegally in office. Guess that's ok with Tola.

Dem mouth was in dem batty!

Some people should mind their own blasted business, where was he all this time while Granger sitting illegally in office. Guess that's ok with Tola.

What is political with  what I wrote, or siding with any political party ? 

Tola posted:

Hay Tolabai, we still remember all the horrible shit you used to write about the PPP and their members back in 2011 and 2012. In fact, it is all archived right here. Why you pretending to be so decent now?

Tola posted:

It was ok for the dunce school boy to post and comment about porky the pot belly, referring to Mr. Ali, but as soon as someone stated the facts of the Blackman wearing the green shirt, you jump up from your long slumber. 

Dem mouth was in dem batty!

Dem mouth still in dem batty because I haven't seen Tola comment on how the Coalition is violating the constitution as how all the international agencies have rebuked Granger.

Tola posted:

It was ok for the dunce school boy to post and comment about porky the pot belly, referring to Mr. Ali, but as soon as someone stated the facts of the Blackman wearing the green shirt, you jump up from your long slumber. 

Tola is a hypocrite.

Tola posted:

The herd mentality working overtime.  

Yuh see how just a lil nudge brought yuh back tuh yuh nasty self? Yuh no less than anyone else when it comes to nastiness so don't pretend tuh be bai.

Tola posted:

Yuh see how just a lil nudge brought yuh back tuh yuh nasty self? Yuh no less than anyone else when it comes to nastiness so don't pretend tuh be bai.

He na gat good in am.

Tola posted:

So what are you doing here? looking for "road kill". Hope you see a Qualified Doctor, you have a mental problem.

That comeback really shows how Africans will always come out better than Indians in Guyana.

You act like you know, but all you do is make a fool of yourself.