VVP posted:

This is a dangerous precedence.  From the content of the article there appears to be no arrest warrant provided by any judge. Socu seems to be  endowed with authority that circumvents the court system.

So the police needs an arrest warrant before they could charge anyone?

Before they arrest these prominent citizens. Yes. Charging and arresting are two different things. 

An arrest warrant is acquired in a court of law by presenting a judge with probable cause for arresting the suspect. ... Arrest warrants are most commonly required when a crime is committed out of view of a police officer. If a felony is committed in view of a police officer then an arrest can be made without a warrant.

VVP posted:

This is a dangerous precedence.  From the content of the article there appears to be no arrest warrant provided by any judge. Socu seems to be  endowed with authority that circumvents the court system.

Before they arrest these prominent citizens. Yes. Charging and arresting are two different things. 

Their lawyers were there.  They didn't oppose the "arrest."

VVP posted:
VVP posted:

Their lawyers were there.  They didn't oppose the "arrest."

Maybe this is just Guyana's laws, that one can be arrested without a warrant. Or maybe they did have a warrant even thought it was not mentioned in the article. 

Watch a difference a day makes. Yesterday was celebration for Ramayya  crossing the floor. Today PPP leaders are being arrested  now how attractive would it be for others on the Fence wanting to join a party headed by criminals. A sad day for Guyanese this is the convenient time for a third major political party. 

Already you became judge and jury. I would be interested to see the evidence and their rational in formulating these charges. Or whether this is just political grandstanding to take the focus away from the failing economy and parking meter scandal. 

Watch a difference a day makes. Yesterday was celebration for Ramayya  crossing the floor. Today PPP leaders are being arrested  now how attractive would it be for others on the Fence wanting to join a party headed by criminals. A sad day for Guyanese this is the convenient time for a third major political party. 

Already you became judge and jury. I would be interested to see the evidence and their rational in formulating these charges. Or whether this is just political grandstanding to take the focus away from the failing economy and parking meter scandal. 

The evidence are the massive structures at Pradoville  that you can see from the International space station .

It might be political grandstanding as you said, but the arrest was based on findings of the forensic audit. I don't think anybody will be going to jail on this; most likely they will have to pay the fair value of the property cost.  I think it will be very hard for them to prove that it was deliberate corruption.  If they do, many one fall guy will be jailed.

you ppp ass should be happy the government is cleaning up the ppp party now you guys can start with a clean slate  

Jagdeo shelters under presidential immunity during SOCU interrogation about Pradoville 2

March 7, 2017 Source

Former President, Bharrat Jagdeo on Tuesday said he invoked presidential immunity when he was questioned by investigators of the Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU) in connection with his acquisition of seaside house lots at Ogle-Sparendaam, East Coast Demerara (PradoVille 2) below market value.

“They asked me several questions relating to the Pradoville transaction and I made a short statement because they asked me questions in my official capacity and I have immunities on those and so I refused to answer those questions,” Jagdeo, who served as President from 1999 to 2011, told reporters shortly after spending less than two hours in custody.

Guyana’s constitutional provision on the immunity of current and former presidents states “The holder of the office of President shall not be personally answerable to any court for the performance of the
function of his or her office or for any act done in the performance of those functions and no proceedings whether criminal or civil, shall be instituted against him or her in his or her personal capacity in respect thereof either during his or her term of office or thereafter.”

read more

The evidence are the massive structures at Pradoville  that you can see from the International space station .

Stop counting other people's money.  Don't take people's accomplishment and make it your sadness.  You will die a miserable soul.  Coolie sickness is jealousy.

The third major political party is the AFC.  Pay attention!

Stop counting other people's money.  Don't take people's accomplishment and make it your sadness.  You will die a miserable soul.  Coolie sickness is jealousy.

Bibi,

These are the Carbs. They are envious of those who have achieved. No wonder they drank Adam Harris and Glen Lall Pee.

beneficiaries of  cheap house lots.

Jagdeo paid three times less than what ordinary citizens in the Diamond and Grove Housing Schemes, East Bank Demerara, would have been required to fork out.
Jagdeo’s payment for the Pradoville Two parcels translated to $5M per acre which works out at $114 per square foot; the ordinary man pays $317 per square foot for his plot.

Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), Shalimar Ali-Hack, and former Head of the Private Sector Commission (PSC), Ramesh Dookhoo.
The DPP has sweeping powers and holds an independent office.
Former Public Service Minister, Dr. Jennifer Westford; former Natural Resources Minister, Robert Persaud; Compton Bourne, former Head of the Caribbean Development Bank and UG Chancellor; Ghansham Singh and Kamini Parag-Singh and Florrie Loretta Ramnauth also received house lots.
Singh is said to be the son of former Labour Minister, Dr. Nanda Gopaul. They also paid just over $1.5M.
Ali-Hack and her husband, Moeen ul Hack, a top figure in the Central Islamic Organisation of Guyana (CIOG), paid $1,488,744 for a piece of land. The Certificates of Title were prepared in 2011.
Dookhoo, a Banks DIH executive, was a former Chairman of Private Sector Commission as well as the Guyana Water Inc. (GWI). He reportedly paid $1,502,500 for his plot with his title prepared in 2010.
Also benefitting was Lisaveta Ramotar, daughter of former President Donald Ramotar. She paid $1,515,000.
Former Home Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee; former GWI boss, Shaik Baksh and former Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand, also received lots, paying just over $1.5M each.
So too did former Army Chief, Rear Admiral Gary Best and sacked Chief Executive Officer of the embattled Guyana Sugar Corporation, Dr. Rajendra Singh.
Also named in the list were Andrew Bishop, a Presidential Advisor in the former administration and former Chief Executive Officer of the Guyana Lands and Surveys Commission.
Safraaz Khan and George Hallaq, said to be the country’s former Middle East envoy, and a company called Future Developers International Guyana Inc., were also among the other names on the list

Bibi,

These are the Carbs. They are envious of those who have achieved. No wonder they drank Adam Harris and Glen Lall Pee.

Of all the people they could have gone after, they went after Roger Luncheon?   Give me a frigid break!  Desperation and witch hunting taking over after they piss away millions on forensic audits.  

Jagdeo paid three times less than what ordinary citizens in the Diamond and Grove Housing Schemes, East Bank Demerara, would have been required to fork out.
Jagdeo’s payment for the Pradoville Two parcels translated to $5M per acre which works out at $114 per square foot; the ordinary man pays $317 per square foot for his plot.

Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), Shalimar Ali-Hack, and former Head of the Private Sector Commission (PSC), Ramesh Dookhoo.
Former Public Service Minister, Dr. Jennifer Westford; former Natural Resources Minister, Robert Persaud; Compton Bourne, former Head of the Caribbean Development Bank and UG Chancellor; Ghansham Singh and Kamini Parag-Singh and Florrie Loretta Ramnauth also received house lots.
Singh is said to be the son of former Labour Minister, Dr. Nanda Gopaul. They also paid just over $1.5M.
Ali-Hack and her husband, Moeen ul Hack, a top figure in the Central Islamic Organisation of Guyana (CIOG), paid $1,488,744 for a piece of land. The Certificates of Title were prepared in 2011.
Dookhoo, a Banks DIH executive, was a former Chairman of Private Sector Commission as well as the Guyana Water Inc. (GWI). He reportedly paid $1,502,500 for his plot with his title prepared in 2010.
Also benefitting was Lisaveta Ramotar, daughter of former President Donald Ramotar. She paid $1,515,000.
Former Home Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee; former GWI boss, Shaik Baksh and former Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand, also received lots, paying just over $1.5M each.
So too did former Army Chief, Rear Admiral Gary Best and sacked Chief Executive Officer of the embattled Guyana Sugar Corporation, Dr. Rajendra Singh.
Also named in the list were Andrew Bishop, a Presidential Advisor in the former administration and former Chief Executive Officer of the Guyana Lands and Surveys Commission.
Safraaz Khan and George Hallaq, said to be the country’s former Middle East envoy, and a company called Future Developers International Guyana Inc., were also among the other names on the list

Show me Roger Luncheon's name!!!!!!  And who determines the price of a piece of land - the PNC???????

What happen to the one billion dollar gold that was smuggled out of Guyana under Granger's administration? Who is going to investigate that and send Granger to jail? In less than two years in office and the country is already cash strapped? 

Show me Roger Luncheon's name!!!!!!  And who determines the price of a piece of land - the PNC???????

His name is missing,maybe it was forgotten to be listed,

that land belongs to the State and not because you are elected to rule, you can tek um fuh next to nothing,na only dah the amount of money spend to develop the area,where it come from ??

"THERE ARE PROCEDURES TO OWN STATE LANDS"

What is the source of this article?  And how is the appraisal value of house lots calculated?  What was the appraised value of these lots at the time of sale?    I betcha you would have bought one of those lots if you had the opportunity too.

alena06 posted:

What is the source of this article?  And how is the appraisal value of house lots calculated?  What was the appraised value of these lots at the time of sale?    I betcha you would have bought one of those lots if you had the opportunity too.

Alena

You are too intelligent and beautiful to waste your time with Django. Watch these AFC/PNC fools fall apart in court.

alena06 posted:

The Waterfalls paper,

talking bout buying fuh that price i could have bought all the house lots cash 1yr $$ when money was flowing.

I agree KP BUT what is good for the goose is also good for the gander.

That is why I say ,once you are in Politics there must be FULL disclosure and transparency. A country with less than 700,000 people what is there to hide. Look I know of two people who exploited the system and built/thief huge wealth such large houses over looking the Atlantic Ocean with swimming Pool also owned Palm Court and other businesses in and out of Guyana. with the salary as documented it would take the average person their entire life to get. Their assets out weighed their accumulated life salary. Infran Ali and Mannieram Prashad , two dunces that were tight with Jagdeo, one was boyfriend and the other wes something??? They milked the cow dry.

One trait that Guyanese possess is their mastery of the 'rumor mill'. Anyone who has ACTUALLY seen Irfan Ali's house will tell you that there is nothing fanciful or special about it. Many of us have read so much about the 'pool house'; it is in fact quite basic; material, fittings and fixtures are nothing to scream about. I can list numerous other homes in Guyana that make Ali's look quite ordinary. 

Those CRIMINALS in Govt. I hope all of Burnham families who got Hope Estate, Roxanne Burnham Gardem, Ray hometown and others are Prosecuted!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nehrubhai, do not get your hopes up too high. Burnham's dunce son-in-law was brought back a to head up the provision and distribution of potable water and the first point of his attention was Sophia.....a slum area in which PNC goons and thugs live. These shitheads do not pay a penny in property or income taxes but they are prioritized ...at the top of the list for dumb-ass Van West Charles to make happy !!  Talk about progress ......