Fewer Black Males in Med School, STEM Studies a Solution

Published August 20, 2015

By Sheryl Estrada

Photo by Shutterstock.

Photo by Shutterstock

With the predicted shortage of between 46,000 and 90,000 physicians by the year 2025 and a greater number of Black males attending medical school in 1978 than in 2014, doctors in the U.S. will not be as diverse as the patients they serve.

According to the report, “Altering the Course: Black Males in Medicine,” the number of Black male applicants to medical schools dropped to 1,337 in 2014 from 1,410 in 1978, despite an overall increase in the number of Black male college graduates over the past three decades. In 1978 there were 542 Black males who matriculated to M.D.-granting institutions, and in 2014 there were 515.

“No other minority group has experienced such a decline in applications to medical school,” said Marc Nivet, chief diversity officer at The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and author of the report. “The inability to find, engage and develop candidates for careers in medicine from all members of our society limits our ability to improve health for all.”

The report, released by the AAMC on Aug. 3, captures major themes from interviews with Black premedical students, physicians, researchers and leaders and incorporates research and data from various sources to find broad-based solutions.

Percentages of U.S. Medical School Applicants in 2014

MenWomen
Black37.862.2
Latino49.550.5
Asian52.048.0
White57.043.0

(Source: “Altering the Course: Black Males in Medicine&rdquo

The percentage of medical school applicants was low for Black males in comparison to other races. And the almost 2-to-1 gender gap between Black female and male applicants was the largest gender disparity of any racial group.

According to a National Science Foundation report, among males earning science and engineering bachelor’s degrees in 2002 and 2012, Black males have earned a low percentage.

Science and Engineering Bachelor’s Degrees Awarded to Men in the U.S. 2002 and 2012

White139,672183,473
Asian19,39527,951
Black12,48418,102
Latino13,17225,487

(Source: National Science Foundation Completions Survey, 2002-12)

In May, a group of Black male STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) professionals spoke with Congressional staffers and representatives in Washington, D.C., to address the challenges young Black men encounter.

“The lack of African American men in STEM is a byproduct of a failing system for African Americans in the overall school system,” Karl Reid, executive director of the National Society of Black Engineers, said. “If you’re trying to survive in the educational process and you don’t have access to the [rigorous] courses … it really doesn’t bode well that you’ll be on the pathway to a STEM degree.”

“Altering the Course” emphasizes the trend of low participation rates and gender differences in STEM pervades into the applicant pool for medical school.

According to the report, the top 10 colleges that produced the most Black male applicants to medical schools between 2010 and 2014 are: Morehouse College (148); University of Florida in Gainesville (129); Howard University in Washington, D.C. (92); Xavier University in New Orleans, La., (90); University of Maryland in College Park (81); Rutgers University-New Brunswick (78); University of South Florida (71); Florida State University (70); Oakwood University (67); University of Texas at Austin (63).

Four of these institutions are a Historically Black College or University.

In an opinion piece for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, physician Valerie Montgomery Rice, president and dean of Morehouse School of Medicine, addresses the new report. She discusses the “enormous” value placed on MCAT scores, which could also be a factor in discouraging Black males from applying to medical school.

“At Morehouse School of Medicine, we purposefully accept students with a range of MCAT scores because we value cognitive diversity and see each day the limitations of the MCAT score in predicting success,” Rice said. “And despite accepting some students with MCAT scores below the national average, our students’ USMLE Step 1 first-time taker board pass rates and scores consistently meet or exceed the national average.”

She also suggests “funding and strategic collaborations in K-12 pipeline programs to attract and sustain more young Black males to STEM disciplines as we fiercely address stunning drop out, jobless and incarceration rates.”

In March, President Obama announced $240 million in new pledges to his initiatives toward STEM education, with $90 million allocated to enhance opportunities for underrepresented young people.

Rice’s perspective is in agreement with the solutions the report offers, which is greater access to information for scholarships and grants, pre-medical education programs, updates to medical school admission policies and practices and support networks.

Come in Carib J , what's going on here?

I suggest that you look out for Indo Guyanese males, who are dropping out of school in large numbers.  Vishnu can fill you in with the details.  I never see him painting a rosy picture when it comes to that.

Guyanese kids are more likely to drop out of school than Jamaican, Trinidadian, and even Haitian kids.  Unless Afro Guyanese kids way under perform their Afro Caribbean counterparts, this suggests an Indo Guyanese problem.  Given that Afro Guyanese youth in NY are socialized among other Afro Caribbean kids, I do not see why they will do worse.

I suggest to you that Indo Guyanese spend too much time feeling superior to blacks, and not enough time focusing on the fact that there exists similar problems among your youth in RH.  Do not live vicariously through Asian Indians, as they are a very different population.

I suggest that you look out for Indo Guyanese males, who are dropping out of school in large numbers.  Vishnu can fill you in with the details.  I never see him painting a rosy picture when it comes to that.

Guyanese kids are more likely to drop out of school than Jamaican, Trinidadian, and even Haitian kids.  Unless Afro Guyanese kids way under perform their Afro Caribbean counterparts, this suggests an Indo Guyanese problem.

I suggest to you that Indo Guyanese spend too much time feeling superior to blacks, and not enough time focusing on the fact that there exists similar problems among your youth in RH.  Do not live vicariously through Asian Indians, as they are a very different population.

Your problem is you are too focused on Indo Guyanese whilst the black population in general in America are not making it to Medical School.

Originally Posted by TK:

Indo Guyanese males are struggling indeed.

Where are you guys getting your information.

Here I presented a detail document about blacks not making it to medical school as they used to  and you and CaribJ just barge in without any real proof about Indo male being failures.

Your problem is you are too focused on Indo Guyanese whilst the black population in general in America are not making it to Medical School.

You started a post to pretend to care about the plight of blacks.  So why are you frustrated that I am telling you to wet your own house before pretending to care that the house two doors down is on fire?

Indo Guyanese play a very important role in Guyana, and in fact 100% dominated that country until May, so their attitudes had a very strong impact on blacks.  In addition, they sell a lie about Afro Guyanese, and use that to justify the rampant racism that they displayed between 1992-2015.  If you get in my business, I will get in yours.  If you tell me that I am lazy, violent, savage, and of no use, I will grind your head in the dirt.

So deal with Indo Guyanese racism towards Afro Guyanese, if you do not want me to comment on Indo Guyanese.

And get it into your head.  Indo Caribbean kids have teh SAME problems that Afro Caribbean kids have, so why your "concern" for blacks when you should be concerned about Indo Caribbean people, or should be suggesting that Indo and Afro Caribbean people join forces to resolve the very similar problems which their kids face?

There are MORE attempts within the African American population to deal with its problems because they admit that there is a problem.  Indo Caribbean people prefer to ignore their problems, and pretend as if they do as well as Asian Indians.  So the problems faced by Indo Guyanese kids fester.

Originally Posted by TK:

Here I presented a detail document about blacks not making it to medical school as they used to  and you and CaribJ just barge in without any real proof about Indo male being failures.

Because WE know that there is a problem among Indo Caribbean youth, and in fact Vishnu has been veryu vocal about this.

So quit trying to feel "sorry" for blacks.  Indo Caribbean kids find themselves in the same vortex of the US inner city as do Afro Caribbean kids, and share many of the same issues of the African American and Latino youth.

You have sinister motives, and have been busted.

Originally Posted by TK:

Because WE know that there is a problem among Indo Caribbean youth, and in fact Vishnu has been veryu vocal about this.

So quit trying to feel "sorry" for blacks.  Indo Caribbean kids find themselves in the same vortex of the US inner city as do Afro Caribbean kids, and share many of the same issues of the African American and Latino youth.

You are a typical stupid racist!

Sinister motive? Did I write this article? You are the author of destruction to the black community!

So now you are a fortune reader?

You started a post to pretend to care about the plight of blacks. 

So given that Indo Caribbean youth have many problems, tell us what really was your motive?

You would have looked less silly if you said that Indo Caribbean kids find themselves in the same environment as do their black and Hispanic peers, and are NOT as well placed as are Asian Indian kids.

But you refuse to as this removes your ability to play superior, and want to be "charitable" to this problem plagued group, and the fact that you called out my name is evidence of this.

Guyanese kids are more likely to drop out of school than Jamaican, Trinidadian, and even Haitian kids.  Unless Afro Guyanese kids way under perform their Afro Caribbean counterparts, this suggests an Indo Guyanese problem.

Bro...you also need to read some more and focus on the reality that more black men end up in jail than are in college in general and for asinine reasons.

Guyanese of all races in the US are in the same boat.Black Guyanese are actually having better higher education completion rates.  Bur for both, the university completion rates are dismal. The young indian men self identify with black and are part of the hip hop culture because the ill effects of being a minority in poor areas of the nation is also their lot.

Originally Posted by TK:

I also have a house in Queens and spend substantial amount of time there.

Originally Posted by TK:

You are a typical stupid racist!

Sinister motive? Did I write this article? You are the author of destruction to the black community!

Aaah, the usual scream.  Caribj the racist, when he raises a response taht you cannot intelligently react to.  That is old and is lack water off a duck's back.

You want to project blacks as a group inferior to Indians, and when I deprive you of this, you scream I am a racist.

I am telling you that Indo Caribbean kids have a problem. I suspect the Guyanese more than the Trinis, given that Guyana's educational system is more of a disaster, so their parents are less equipped to help them.

You cannot extend your analysis to absorb that fact.

Maybe you could have said, "hey wait a minute, maybe Indo Carib, Afro Carib, and other under reprsented minorities should strategize".

But no.  Better to play superior to blacks.

Were you Asian Indian my response would bhe different, but Indo Carib kids have way too many problems for you to play superior.

Originally Posted by TK:

I also have a house in Queens and spend substantial amount of time there.

Vishnu plays a very good role in highlighting the problems of the Indo Carib youth, and the seniors, and the problems seem little different than those faced by Afro Carib people.

So when chief tries to be slick by posting about the black problem, and then pretending as if Indo Caribs are problem free, he is exposing some plot.

He is BUSTED.

Here is teh deal Chief.  As with Afro Caribs, many Indo Carib parents work long hours and are ill equipped and ill prepared to shield their kids from the pitfalls that await non white kids from working class back grounds.  The result being substantial levels of failure, especially among the males.

Indo Carib kids are on a DIFFERENT track from their Asian Indian counterparts, because their parents have a lower educational background, and are in more menial occupations.

CaribJ you are a bankrupt racist!!

You are a RACIST Bro, yuh just cant comprehend it. In fact, studies show a RACIST is no different from a recovering Drug Addict!!!!

I see too dumb to be intelligent so you now descend to the Nehru and Jalil level screams.

Last edited by Nehru

CaribJ

IS THIS YOUR REACTION TO THE ARTICLE ?

My motive is sinister to repost it and Indo males are doing worse than black males?

You wanted a reaction from me, and you got one, so just cease sibbing because it wasnt the one taht you expected.

Indo Caribbean males have tons of problems, so why do you wish to pretend that this is a solely black problem?

If you wanted an intelligent discussion, you would have placed it within a broader context, where you would have admitted that this isnt a uniquely black problem, but one also ahared with other under represented minorities like Hispanics and Indo Caribbean males.

But no, you wanted to dwell on the plight of blacks, when Indo Caribbeans have several plights of their own.

I s Carib J an irresponsible black male  and do not care for thge plight of his fellow blacks? Or is he in denial that so many black men are in jail? Further is he in denial that black women have more children fathers that any other ethnic group?

Is CaribJ afraid or too ashamed to be  a blackkman hence he compare everything to Indians?

Is CaribJ for real?

Chief you just got busted in your plot, so admit it and depart with your tail between your legs.

Did I publish the above article?

I s Carib J an irresponsible black male  and do not care for thge plight of his fellow blacks? Or is he in denial that so many black men are in jail? Further is he in denial that black women have more children fathers that any other ethnic group?

Is CaribJ afraid or too ashamed to be  a blackkman hence he compare everything to Indians?

I see Cheif still wishes to peddle a myth of the superior Indo Guyanese.

It isnt working, and indeed you are

1.  Ashamed to discover that Indo Guyanese are not superior to blacks

2. Clearly too disconnected from working class Indo Caribs to understand and admit taht there is a problem.

I am saying that African Americans, Afro Caribbean, Hispanics and Indo Caribbean youth have a problem.

Listen you are too stupid to argue with me, and every reponse makes that poi8nt even more clear!

You were BUSTED in your plot.  Now depart!

Is CaribJ for real?

Chief you just got busted in your plot, so admit it and depart with your tail between your legs.

Did I publish the above article?

Chief what is your motive when BOTH TK and I are telling you that Indo Carib males in NYC suffer from similar problems.  Vishnu comes here talking about loads of problems that these youth face, and they are quite similar to that faced by blacks.

So depart humbled that your plot to pretend that blacks have a problem not also shared with other under represented groups has been BUSTED!

Carib J wake up!! This article about black males and not Indos!!

So what is your motive.  Do you really think that I am unaware of the problems cited in this article.

YOU have now learned that Indo Carib males have a similar problem.  How is denying that fact HELPING THEM?

This article is about African American males and not Indos!!

Instead of you adding your piece to the discussion on hand you resorted to your racist brush and painted Indo men as failures.

This is an Indo supremacist racist site and the fact that you weren't interested in a serious discussion of this topic is very apparent by your refusal to engage with the fact that Indo Carib males have many of the same problems that Afro Carib males have.

What you wanted was to have another thread bashing black people.

This is NOT the place to have any serious discussion of blacks (either Caribbean or American) because the VAST majority of the posters here are only intent in engaging or in condoning racist bashing of blacks.  YOU are included in this, because you REFUSE to admit that Indo Carib you have similar problems.

So you can engage in racist bashing of blacks, as we have been long accustomed to seeing on GNI.  Don't expect me to assist you with this. 

You do NOT want a discussion.  You simply wish to pretend that Indo Caribs are better, even though you are unable to furnish proof of this.

Chief of the immigrants 17-24 from the non Hispanic Caribbean, Guyanese have the highest drop out rates, followed by Trinis, then Jamaicans, with Haitians the lowest of all.

Now unless you want to say that blacks from Guyana and T&T are much more likely to drop out than are their peers from Jamaica and Haiti, that suggests to you that you need to worry about Indo Carib males, before you worry about blacks. 

By the way Guyanese were the only group of the major non Hispanic Caribbean immigrants where this drop out rate exceeded 10%.  Haitians was around 7% and Jamaican marginally higher.  I some how doubt that Guyanese blacks are more likely to drop out than are Jamaicans.

So rather than worrying about the state of the black male, worry about the fact that it does appear as if , in NYC, Indo Carib drop out rates are higher than Afro Carib.  These are from the NYC planning department. 

Given the history of how blacks in this country are treated, and that Caribbean blacks are not insulated from thatm to the degree that Caribbean Indians are, sit down and ponder the reason for this.

This is an Indo supremacist racist site and the fact that you weren't interested in a serious discussion of this topic is very apparent by your refusal to engage with the fact that Indo Carib males have many of the same problems that Afro Carib males have.

What you wanted was to have another thread bashing black people.

This is NOT the place to have any serious discussion of blacks (either Caribbean or American) because the VAST majority of the posters here are only intent in engaging or in condoning racist bashing of blacks.  YOU are included in this, because you REFUSE to admit that Indo Carib you have similar problems.

So you can engage in racist bashing of blacks, as we have been long accustomed to seeing on GNI.  Don't expect me to assist you with this. 

You do NOT want a discussion.  You simply wish to pretend that Indo Caribs are better, even though you are unable to furnish proof of this.

This is an Indo supremacist racist site and the fact that you weren't interested in a serious discussion of this topic is very apparent by your refusal to engage with the fact that Indo Carib males have many of the same problems that Afro Carib males have.        I did not know that,so why you are allowed to post on this site???

Chief, you posted the article to bait CaribNY and then you have the nerve to turn around and pretend to be shocked that he took the bait . . . your first 2 comments after posting the article were thus:

"Come in Carib J , what's going on here?"

and then,

"Your problem is you are too focused on Indo Guyanese whilst the black population in general in America are not making it to Medical School."

i doubt that you actually give a rat's ass about the low rate of African Americans graduating in STEM disciplines . . . a discussion you are stunningly unqualified to lead in any case

I hope this turns around, the black doctors I know make good doctors like anyone else.  Carson for president!!

u doan know any Black doctors . . . and the last thing Black doctors need is the approbation of an ignorant mediocrity like u

I hope this turns around, the black doctors I know make good doctors like anyone else.  Carson for president!!

u doan know any Black doctors . . . and the last thing Black doctors need is the approbation of an ignorant mediocrity like u

Hmm, you don't know baseman.  But glad you not a doctor!!

why on god's good earth would i want to "know" an ignorant cockroach like you?