Mo FIAH SLO FIAH would spread all over GT. WHY??   Even Racist Caribj can answer

Like a thief in the night’ : -Bourda market vendors say APNU+AFC betrayed them

Related Articles

THE vendors at the Bourda Market who were asked by the city authorities to remove their stalls to allow for the demolition of an age-old building are now fuming since their stalls were demolished by the City Council.
Those affected have lambasted the Council as very unreasonable.

Some of the materials which once formed part of the structures that vendors had up as their stalls.Some of the materials which once formed part of the structures that vendors had up as their stalls.

This morning the vendors who spoke with Citizens’ Report stated that they were informed by Town Clerk Royston King of his intentions to facilitate their removal and the transporting of their materials to the new location.
However, this morning, several of the vendors disclosed that they received calls early to hurry down to the market place and secure their belonging as the Council was on the ground with heavy machinery breaking the stalls.
Many of the vendors, in tears, reported that the move was unreasonable as the stalls were all broken down while items including stocks and other material were still stalls.

The vendors reported too that close to elections there were “dozens of politicians” who visited the location and pleaded with them to vote for a Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC), but now they have betray

Benn, Jagdeo, Rohee and other PPP hacks were doing that and more for 23 years. They destroyed hundreds of poor people homes and business.

Fact!!!

Originally Posted by Gupta:

Benn, Jagdeo, Rohee and other PPP hacks were doing that and more for 23 years. They destroyed hundreds of poor people homes and business.

Fact!!!

HEHEHEHE  Bright student, good answer.

Nagamootoo is the prime minister. 

He is supposed to head any team. 

How stupid are you people?. 

Rama....Na Ness up Nehru

HEHEHE.

Dem Bannas did not expect a House Slave to be head of any Team!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now....Look... Jagdeo ...

begging Granger

fuh be a House Slave...

Bhaaa..Rat is a.....

Soviet Trained

Expert Economist....

Rat promise Granger

to help Moses & Ramjattan

Recover...and Lock up

all them PPP Thieves...

who ....Stole Billions

from Guyana Govt

in the last 23 Years...

Rat-on-de-job

Ratting out everyone.... in Freedom House

Starting with these 3

Nuff files..Nuff Thiefing

There should be no encroaching on government property or easement or parapet or parking area or green spaces. Where it occurs it should be removed after due notice of 30 days. It is just a matter for preventing crowding, garbage problems etc.

DC have some of the most onerous street vending laws. No cart ( limited to 7 feet by 4 and a half feet) can remain on the street overnight. It has to be moved to an offsite storage place. There is also a limit to the available street vending license. One can only park on side walk of a specific width. Without this there would be mayhem. One remembers the chaos on 14 street NYC before regulation and now. Street vending has to concur with specific rules not anything anyplace goes.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

There should be no encroaching on government property or easement or parapet or parking area or green spaces. Where it occurs it should be removed after due notice of 30 days. It is just a matter for preventing crowding, garbage problems etc.

DC have some of the most onerous street vending laws. No cart ( limited to 7 feet by 4 and a half feet) can remain on the street overnight. It has to be moved to an offsite storage place. There is also a limit to the available street vending license. One can only park on side walk of a specific width. Without this there would be mayhem. One remembers the chaos on 14 street NYC before regulation and now. Street vending has to concur with specific rules not anything anyplace goes.

Such a policy is not as simple as you might think. There are certain imperatives that operate in Guyana generally and Georgetown specifically. 

Z

There should be no encroaching on government property or easement or parapet or parking area or green spaces.

While I certainly sympathize with your sentiments, these people were encouraged to vend, because of Guyana's high unemployment rate.

How much warning was given to these people, and was alternative space made available to these people PRIOR to the destruction of their stalls.

And yes Benn was destroying vendor stalls and pulling down people's homes so the Indo KKK should rest.  Then they thought it was just blackman being harassed so they didn't care.

Let me get this straight: the vendors were informed by the city authorities and the work to remove the stalls was done by the city council. Why party is running the city council? Is it the national government or the local government?

There should be no encroaching on government property or easement or parapet or parking area or green spaces.

While I certainly sympathize with your sentiments, these people were encouraged to vend, because of Guyana's high unemployment rate.

How much warning was given to these people, and was alternative space made available to these people PRIOR to the destruction of their stalls.

And yes Benn was destroying vendor stalls and pulling down people's homes so the Indo KKK should rest.  Then they thought it was just blackman being harassed so they didn't care.

They should not be allowed to do as I Said regardless of need for work. I say the same thing for gold miners destroying our rivers for that yellow metal that once found evaporates and does the society no good. Instead it leaves a desert environment.

So what would you have these people do?  Send their sons to rob people?

I do not condone lawlessness, but over the years vendors were tolerated, and so a more humane way of moving them to a HIGH TRAFFICKED site, should have been explored.

APNU had better watch itself, because these are some of the hard core people who got them into power.

"How much warning was given to these people, and was alternative space made available to these people PRIOR to the destruction of their stalls."

Notices was given and alternative location was provided,

it's tough call for the vendors,it had to be done the PPP

didn't care this gov't is trying to clean up the city.

So what would you have these people do?  Send their sons to rob people?

I do not condone lawlessness, but over the years vendors were tolerated, and so a more humane way of moving them to a HIGH TRAFFICKED site, should have been explored.

APNU had better watch itself, because these are some of the hard core people who got them into power.

Mediocrity and lack of creativity is not an excuse to pollute, desecrate and destroy. The vending on parapets and in front of established businesses etc is a form of criminal behavior. Everywhere else vendors innovate and re create to facilitate their new dispensations. These can too.

I would further like to see any roadside vending establishment be quite strict with hand washing rules, garbage disposal among other basic hygienic processes.

We are creatures of rules and when a few are able to break t hem on evocation of a the presumptive greater right to make a living the rule should always win. Making a living is never easy.  these rules are not onerous but seeking after the greater good of good hygiene and sanitation.

Originally Posted by Django:

"How much warning was given to these people, and was alternative space made available to these people PRIOR to the destruction of their stalls."

Notices was given and alternative location was provided,

it's tough call for the vendors,it had to be done the PPP

didn't care this gov't is trying to clean up the city.

And was this venue in a decently trafficked area, with proper facilities?  Last time City Council did this, they pushed them in some behind Gods back area. 

Many of these women are single parents, with limited alternative options, aside from sending their sons to steal.  Do people want this?

Granger chats a lot of rhetoric, but I do not see solid plans to deal with poverty.

or. Everywhere else vendors innovate and re create to facilitate their new dispensations. These can too.

I

Every where else like where? What do "innovative" vendors do?  

Looking forward to your ideas, as I am sure that the vendors themselves, and others in Guyana, Trinidad, Jamaica, Haiti, and elsewhere would love to know.

And yes of course there needs to be sanitary facilities. Did the City Council identify a location, in consultation with the vendors?  Or do you expect half starved people to find a location, and set up the infrastructure with no help?

Here is the reality of life.  In the Caribbean there are few jobs for uneducated people, who must then resort to the alternate economy, such as vending, or engage in crime.

or. Everywhere else vendors innovate and re create to facilitate their new dispensations. These can too.

I

Looking forward to your ideas, as I am sure that the vendors themselves, and others in Guyana, Trinidad, Jamaica, Haiti, and elsewhere would love to know.

And yes of course there needs to be sanitary facilities. Did the City Council identify a location, in consultation with the vendors?  Or do you expect half starved people to find a location, and set up the infrastructure with no help?

Here is the reality of life.  In the Caribbean there are few jobs for uneducated people, who must then resort to the alternate economy, such as vending, or engage in crime.

Someone needs to teach them to build movable carts. Another need to develop where houses for carts. There can be renting deals for carts etc. They cannot be allowed to do as they please making shantytowns of our city squares. 

Casting the problem in light of this kind of unregulated, irresponsible vending or crime is not all together a prudent thing. Crime happens because of opportunities for crime and what they do here is criminal.

Someone needs to teach them to build movable carts. Another need to develop where houses for carts. There can be renting deals for carts etc. They cannot be allowed to do as they please making shantytowns of our city squares. 

Casting the problem in light of this kind of unregulated, irresponsible vending or crime is not all together a prudent thing. Crime happens because of opportunities for crime and what they do here is criminal.

You live a lofty life bereft of how many urban Caribbean people live.  The vast majority of people have no access to formal employment. They lack the capital to run proper business.  They survive by living off their whits at the margins of society, where they experience nothing but the scorn of the elites.

If City Council had respect for these people, they would have sat down with them, and developed the concept of a mall, full with all the amenities needed to maintain cleanliness. This mall would be located in a well trafficked area, and would have been marketed as a shopping destination for those who normal buy merchandise from these vendors.  The vendors would gave been licensed, and made to adhere to certain standards, which would gave entailed keeping their stalls clean and ensuring that the mall remained presentable.

But this is too much work for an urban elite who see these people, as scum, except when they want their votes, and then they pander to their insecurities in order to gain their support.

The Ministry of Business would be sitting down with these people to help them structure this, and provide them with the training and the access to small sums of capital that would enable them to succeed.

But here is the nonsense.  City Council says that maybe the people can return after they demolish some dilapidated building and clean out the drains.  

This is complete madness and evidence that this government doesn't know what they are doing!

Mo FIAH SLO FIAH would spread all over GT. WHY??   Even Racist Caribj can answer

Like a thief in the night’ : -Bourda market vendors say APNU+AFC betrayed them

Related Articles

THE vendors at the Bourda Market who were asked by the city authorities to remove their stalls to allow for the demolition of an age-old building are now fuming since their stalls were demolished by the City Council.
Those affected have lambasted the Council as very unreasonable.

Some of the materials which once formed part of the structures that vendors had up as their stalls.Some of the materials which once formed part of the structures that vendors had up as their stalls.

This morning the vendors who spoke with Citizens’ Report stated that they were informed by Town Clerk Royston King of his intentions to facilitate their removal and the transporting of their materials to the new location.
However, this morning, several of the vendors disclosed that they received calls early to hurry down to the market place and secure their belonging as the Council was on the ground with heavy machinery breaking the stalls.
Many of the vendors, in tears, reported that the move was unreasonable as the stalls were all broken down while items including stocks and other material were still stalls.

The vendors reported too that close to elections there were “dozens of politicians” who visited the location and pleaded with them to vote for a Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance for Change (APNU+AFC), but now they have betray

Good for the vendors, Green gave them a big Katahar. They voted for change, let them deal with it.

So they just found out that APNU exploits them just as the PPP exploits cane cutters and rice farmers.

You live a lofty life bereft of how many urban Caribbean people live.  The vast majority of people have no access to formal employment. They lack the capital to run proper business.  They survive by living off their whits at the margins of society, where they experience nothing but the scorn of the elites.

If City Council had respect for these people, they would have sat down with them, and developed the concept of a mall, full with all the amenities needed to maintain cleanliness. This mall would be located in a well trafficked area, and would have been marketed as a shopping destination for those who normal buy merchandise from these vendors.  The vendors would gave been licensed, and made to adhere to certain standards, which would gave entailed keeping their stalls clean and ensuring that the mall remained presentable.

But this is too much work for an urban elite who see these people, as scum, except when they want their votes, and then they pander to their insecurities in order to gain their support.

The Ministry of Business would be sitting down with these people to help them structure this, and provide them with the training and the access to small sums of capital that would enable them to succeed.

But here is the nonsense.  City Council says that maybe the people can return after they demolish some dilapidated building and clean out the drains.  

This is complete madness and evidence that this government doesn't know what they are doing!

They can be poor as can be that is not a qualification to appropriate a parapet of squat anywhere. Rules are to be complied with. Economics and politics are directly reliant on the kinds of institutions that serve the people. It cannot be one that is haphazardly disrespected. A cleaner better kept, crime free, friendly people means more business as more people visit from the countryside or abroad.

!

They can be poor as can be that is not a qualification to appropriate a parapet of squat anywhere. Rules are to be complied with. Economics and politics are directly reliant on the kinds of institutions that serve the people. It cannot be one that is haphazardly disrespected. A cleaner better kept, crime free, friendly people means more business as more people visit from the countryside or abroad.

Lost in your Ivory Tower as usual.  Didn't even notice that City Council doesn't even have a long term plan, and might allow them back later.  So what is this exercise supposed to achieve?

I offered ways where the needs of these people could have been assisted in a humane way, and yet allowing the rules to be obeyed WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT?  Isnt the role of government to help the poor?

Danyael why are you demanding that poor people must obey rules when they wealthiest people don't? 

APNU/AFC remain unfocused and come LGE THEY WILL PAY THE PRICE!  The gold rush is over so cash in G/twn is dwindling, and I am hearing this from hard core APNU supporters who whisper this.

!

Lost in your Ivory Tower as usual.  Didn't even notice that City Council doesn't even have a long term plan, and might allow them back later.  So what is this exercise supposed to achieve?

I offered ways where the needs of these people could have been assisted in a humane way, and yet allowing the rules to be obeyed WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT?  Isnt the role of government to help the poor?

Danyael why are you demanding that poor people must obey rules when they wealthiest people don't? 

APNU/AFC remain unfocused and come LGE THEY WILL PAY THE PRICE!  The gold rush is over so cash in G/twn is dwindling, and I am hearing this from hard core APNU supporters who whisper this.

Since when is it about ivory tower to be speaking of obeying the law, facilitate cleanliness rather than a ramshackle, shanty town assemblage from pieces of tin and cardboard.

Rich, Poor and even those that dropped out cannot be permitted to fabricate their own rules.

I am not a fan of gold. I do not think it is a productive enterprise. It ruins the environment, destroy cultures ruin the water shed and leads to desertification since areas where miners have been through is environmentally dead and laden with heavy metals and other toxic chemicals. I do hope the price makes it a prohibitive enterprise.

It is abject nonsense that these people are so straight jacked by their circumstance that they cannot think their way into productive enterprise. I can name a hundred ways any with an interest, desire and motivation can be productive in their environment. Guyanese at home are too bloody lazy.

I

I was in India recently and noticed the use of these carts. some are very innovative to block out the sun and equipped with solar lamps. Some are made out of PVC; Wood is heavier. Then there are compartments to separate the vegetables.

Danny, I am with you on this one.

Since when is it about ivory tower to be speaking of obeying the law, facilitate cleanliness rather than a ramshackle, shanty town assemblage from pieces of tin and cardboard.

Rich, Poor and even those that dropped out cannot be permitted to fabricate their own rules.

I am not a fan of gold. I do not think it is a productive enterprise. It ruins the environment, destroy cultures ruin the water shed and leads to desertification since areas where miners have been through is environmentally dead and laden with heavy metals and other toxic chemicals. I do hope the price makes it a prohibitive enterprise.

It is abject nonsense that these people are so straight jacked by their circumstance that they cannot think their way into productive enterprise. I can name a hundred ways any with an interest, desire and motivation can be productive in their environment. Guyanese at home are too bloody lazy.

Do you know that, aside from gold, Linden would be like Haiti, and in fact so would have been G/town.  NOT every one has overseas relatives who support them.

This is you in your Ivory Tower existence.

So in a lawless land where wealthy people have private armies and OPENLY break the law, what do you expect the poor to do?  How many of the lawless oligarchs, some of whom are engaged in paying for contract killings, have been brought in front of the courts.

Guyana is the most rotten CARICOM nation, aside from Haiti, because its ELITES are the most rotten, and can do what they want with impunity.

They say fish rots from the head first.  If the political and business elites are lawless, what do you expect the poor, who have fewer options to be.

Here you are accusing people of being lazy, and yet you condemn their efforts (gold and vending) to earn a living? 

So to prove that you aren't Ivory Tower what would you have these people do? 

Like most LIBERALS you love the CONCEPT of the poor, but you really resent the ACTUAL poor.