Jan.21,2018

– identifies 10 acres of land from Ogle Airport Inc.

ExxonMobil will soon begin developing 10 acres of land under the control of Ogle Airport Inc (OAI), the company that operates the Eugene F. Correia International Airport.
Reports are that the oil company is looking to erect its headquarters there. ExxonMobil also wants to build a training center and a helipad. One source said, “I am also being told that they will throw up a ‘living quarters’ which can be considered a hotel.”
Yesterday, OAI’s Public Relations Officer, Kit Nascimento confirmed that the oil giant is looking to get lands at Ogle. He did not specify amount.
The veteran PR consultation told this newspaper, “The airport is in discussion with ExxonMobil with regard to the possibility of leasing some land to ExxonMobil.”
Kaieteur News enquired of Nascimento the purpose for which ExxonMobil proposes to use the land. However, Nascimento said that he was unable to answer such a question because discussions are still quite young.
He said, “I am not in a position where any further disclosure can be made because the discussion has not reached that point.”
Despite such claims by Nascimento, this newspaper has been able to source a copy of a “land use plan” prepared by Chairman of the OAI’s Land Committee, Marcel Gaskin. That document tells a completely different story. The plan has a clearly demarcated area for ExxonMobil and even specifies the proposed 10 acres.

Ogle Airport PRO, Kit Nascimento

Kaieteur News has been made aware that the OAI is ready to sublease the land to ExxonMobil. The only stall is the approval that had to come from Lands and Surveys. It is apparent that officials at Lands and Surveys want to cover all grounds before approving lease of the land. It would be illegal for OAI to sublease without the requisite approval from Lands and Surveys. A well informed source said, “Just now, pressure will be brought on Lands and Surveys to make the approval with haste.”

ALIEN AT HOME?
ExxonMobil has been given prompt and favorable response from OAI but there are local aircraft operators who are not even given respect by the OAI, more over lands. This newspaper learnt of one small operator who has two aircrafts. The young pilot and entrepreneur applied for a simple 100 square feet with the intended purpose of building a hanger. His application was not even acknowledged by OAI. “It is like we are aliens in our own country.”
The applicants request for 100 square feet is equivalent to 0.00229568 acre. ExxonMobil’s request for 10 acres is equal to 435,600 square feet.
Ogle International Airport, recently renamed Eugene F. Correia International Airport, is not owned by the Government of Guyana. Ogle International Airport is owned by the Private Sector Company OAI, by virtue of a lease issued by the Lands and Survey Department for 441 acres.
The land lease to OAI is bound by specific conditions agreed to between the government and OAI.
The lease secured by OAI International Airport company specifies that it must first cater to the needs of those in the aviation sector. Yet, locals in the aviation industry are being bypassed are “Our small applications have been ignored but the great ExxonMobil has been able to secure over 10 acres.”

OAI’s official land use plan

The Lease Agreement provides for the Airport to be “developed and operated as a public aviation facility in accordance with the Civil Aviation Laws of Guyana and compliant with all other applicable laws, statute, regulations and international agreements that pertain to the operations of an international airport, including those promulgated by the International Civil Aviation Organisation, the International Air Transport Association and other international bodies having jurisdiction.”

WHAT LOCAL CONTENT?
One businessman told this newspaper, “This situation has got us asking if there will be local content in the oil industry indeed. It seems like Guyanese will be left in the cold.”

An overhead view of the area allocated for ExxonMobil

He told Kaieteur News that the government cannot be serious about advocating for local businesses if it is allowing ExxonMobil to erect all its own facilities. “When they put a living quarters you are taking revenue from the Marriott, Pegasus, Grand Coastal and all the other local hotels. Come on, Guyana has many buildings that can be used for a headquarters. None are up to scratch for the big ExxonMobil? Why they cannot rent a building from one of our businessmen? Why they cannot use the facilities of the many training centers?”
Reference was made to the Business Minister, Dominic Gaskin who said last week that the Government of Guyana does not intend to make the same mistakes of other countries in the building of the oil industry. “The minister does not have to go very far to see the mistakes that they are already making.”
Efforts to contact several top officials of OAI proved futile.
Efforts were also made to contact ExxonMobil’s Legal Officer and Media liaison, Kimberly Brassington.

Clearly, OAI is practising discrimination against small local airline operators. And, as one person in the report suspects, Lands and Surveys will be pressured to approve sub-leasing to ExxonMobil. So it goes in that green land.

Jan.21,2018

ExxonMobil will soon begin developing 10 acres of land under the control of Ogle Airport Inc (OAI), the company that operates the Eugene F. Correia International Airport.
Reports are that the oil company is looking to erect its headquarters there. ExxonMobil also wants to build a training center and a helipad. One source said, “I am also being told that they will throw up a ‘living quarters’ which can be considered a hotel.”
Yesterday, OAI’s Public Relations Officer, Kit Nascimento confirmed that the oil giant is looking to get lands at Ogle. He did not specify amount.
The veteran PR consultation told this newspaper, “The airport is in discussion with ExxonMobil with regard to the possibility of leasing some land to ExxonMobil.”
Kaieteur News enquired of Nascimento the purpose for which ExxonMobil proposes to use the land. However, Nascimento said that he was unable to answer such a question because discussions are still quite young.
He said, “I am not in a position where any further disclosure can be made because the discussion has not reached that point.”
Despite such claims by Nascimento, this newspaper has been able to source a copy of a “land use plan” prepared by Chairman of the OAI’s Land Committee, Marcel Gaskin. That document tells a completely different story. The plan has a clearly demarcated area for ExxonMobil and even specifies the proposed 10 acres.

Kaieteur News has been made aware that the OAI is ready to sublease the land to ExxonMobil. The only stall is the approval that had to come from Lands and Surveys. It is apparent that officials at Lands and Surveys want to cover all grounds before approving lease of the land. It would be illegal for OAI to sublease without the requisite approval from Lands and Surveys. A well informed source said, “Just now, pressure will be brought on Lands and Surveys to make the approval with haste.”

ALIEN AT HOME?
ExxonMobil has been given prompt and favorable response from OAI but there are local aircraft operators who are not even given respect by the OAI, more over lands. This newspaper learnt of one small operator who has two aircrafts. The young pilot and entrepreneur applied for a simple 100 square feet with the intended purpose of building a hanger. His application was not even acknowledged by OAI. “It is like we are aliens in our own country.”
The applicants request for 100 square feet is equivalent to 0.00229568 acre. ExxonMobil’s request for 10 acres is equal to 435,600 square feet.
Ogle International Airport, recently renamed Eugene F. Correia International Airport, is not owned by the Government of Guyana. Ogle International Airport is owned by the Private Sector Company OAI, by virtue of a lease issued by the Lands and Survey Department for 441 acres.
The land lease to OAI is bound by specific conditions agreed to between the government and OAI.
The lease secured by OAI International Airport company specifies that it must first cater to the needs of those in the aviation sector. Yet, locals in the aviation industry are being bypassed are “Our small applications have been ignored but the great ExxonMobil has been able to secure over 10 acres.”

OAI’s official land use plan

The Lease Agreement provides for the Airport to be “developed and operated as a public aviation facility in accordance with the Civil Aviation Laws of Guyana and compliant with all other applicable laws, statute, regulations and international agreements that pertain to the operations of an international airport, including those promulgated by the International Civil Aviation Organisation, the International Air Transport Association and other international bodies having jurisdiction.”

WHAT LOCAL CONTENT?
One businessman told this newspaper, “This situation has got us asking if there will be local content in the oil industry indeed. It seems like Guyanese will be left in the cold.”

An overhead view of the area allocated for ExxonMobil

He told Kaieteur News that the government cannot be serious about advocating for local businesses if it is allowing ExxonMobil to erect all its own facilities. “When they put a living quarters you are taking revenue from the Marriott, Pegasus, Grand Coastal and all the other local hotels. Come on, Guyana has many buildings that can be used for a headquarters. None are up to scratch for the big ExxonMobil? Why they cannot rent a building from one of our businessmen? Why they cannot use the facilities of the many training centers?”
Reference was made to the Business Minister, Dominic Gaskin who said last week that the Government of Guyana does not intend to make the same mistakes of other countries in the building of the oil industry. “The minister does not have to go very far to see the mistakes that they are already making.”
Efforts to contact several top officials of OAI proved futile.
Efforts were also made to contact ExxonMobil’s Legal Officer and Media liaison, Kimberly Brassington.

Same ole, same ole PNC tactics.

Jan.21,2018

Bhai,

a bunch of recycled individuals are still holding office,some of these old fellas should do the right thing and refuse when appointed.Make way for the younger people.

Don't tell they are they only ones have the know how.

Clearly, OAI is practising discrimination against small local airline operators. And, as one person in the report suspects, Lands and Surveys will be pressured to approve sub-leasing to ExxonMobil. So it goes in that green land.

Not sure if you can call it "discrimination", most big corporation/businesses and even private people like Opra and Michael Jordan in the united states have their own air transport from lear jets to choppers and are given access to airports runways and helipads at a cost of course.

Even hotels like Marriot and Sandals  in the Caribbean has their own land, sea and air transport.

Bhai,

a bunch of recycled individuals are still holding office,some of these old fellas should do the right thing and refuse when appointed.Make way for the younger people.

Guyana does need some new faces on the political scene. New faces, new ideas, new solutions.

Jan.21,2018

Bhai,

Do you want to hallow our the PNC leadership circle?  Kit is in the middle of the bell curve!

And BTW, Exxon will get what Exxon wants, end of story!  Alyuh pout and frown all alyuh want, get over it!

I don't why some of these fellas getting bassidy over Exxon...it is what it is....

Riff posted:

And BTW, Exxon will get what Exxon wants, end of story!  Alyuh pout and frown all alyuh want, get over it!

I don't why some of these fellas getting bassidy over Exxon...it is what it is....

Dem bhais bitter cause PPP ain't get fuh tief de bonus money. 

You woulda hear a different story if PPP bin pon tap. 

Riff posted:

We are still waiting to see where Harmon hid the $5 mil(USD). Did you realize that if PNC wasn't caught, $18 mil(USD) would have been stolen? Dem boys would be laughing all the way to the bank and retiring like an Arab Sheik.

Riff posted:

We are still waiting to see where Harmon hid the $5 mil(USD). Did you realize that if PNC wasn't caught, $18 mil(USD) would have been stolen? Dem boys would be laughing all the way to the bank and retiring like an Arab Sheik.

You still with this $5 million bullshit? The $5 million disappeared under the PPP. Harmon went trying to recover it but the debtors do not want to pay up, claiming that they had an arrangement with the PPP to forgo the payment. The $18 mil is in a secured bank account. Anything else is wild speculation like your $5 million Brer Anansi story.

Riff posted:

You still with this $5 million bullshit? The $5 million disappeared under the PPP. Harmon went trying to recover it but the debtors do not want to pay up, claiming that they had an arrangement with the PPP to forgo the payment. The 18 mil is in a secured bank account. Anything else is wild speculation like your $5 million Brer Anansi story.

You must have had ganja cookies for breakfast this morning. Good spin trying to deflect the blame by saying that Harmon TRIED to recover the money he already stole.
Isn't trying to recover the money you stole a vain attempt?

Riff posted:

You still with this $5 million bullshit? The $5 million disappeared under the PPP. Harmon went trying to recover it but the debtors do not want to pay up, claiming that they had an arrangement with the PPP to forgo the payment. The 18 mil is in a secured bank account. Anything else is wild speculation like your $5 million Brer Anansi story.

You must have had ganja cookies for breakfast this morning. Good spin trying to deflect the blame by saying that Harmon TRIED to recover the money he already stole.

I guess the cheap white rum you had with the Minnesota losers last night is still in your system. How could he steal the money when the debtors admit that they never paid it? Man y'all come up with the stupidest things on this site. That why I don't even bother with you numpties anymore. It's a waste of time trying to argue with stupid people.

Riff posted:

I guess the cheap white rum you had with the Minnesota losers last night is still in your system. How could he steal the money when the debtors admit that they never paid it? Man y'all come up with the stupidest things on this site. That why I don't even bother with you numpties anymore. It's a waste of time trying to argue with stupid people.

You can't defend PNC theft, so you resort to personal and immature insults. You must be really tired from carrying the PNC slop cans during the weekend.

This Chap really from Mars, Stupid and Naive all in one!!!

Another drunk ass moron. Try to say something intelligent for a change.

You DUMB, ILLITERATE JACKASS. You need help to pull your head out of your Kakahole?? Were you born that way or you ran into a tree thinking you will be cured?!!!

You can't defend PNC theft, so you resort to personal and immature insults. You must be really tired from carrying the PNC slop cans during the weekend.

There are many real issues that are affecting the Guyanese people and which need to be seriously addressed. You fools do not have a clue about what goes on in Guyana and you read the newspapers and make up all kinds of shyte. Typical for a drunken Piss Pot Porter. In your drunken stupor, you don't even realize that you are the one who started with the personal insults. Run along and look for those black men hustling with your obese white women.

This Chap really from Mars, Stupid and Naive all in one!!!

Another drunk ass moron. Try to say something intelligent for a change.

You DUMB, ILLITERATE JACKASS. You need help to pull your head out of your Kakahole?? Were you born that way or you ran into a tree thinking you will be cured?!!!

Brilliant ANALysis. Freud would be proud of the progress you're showing from your humble beginnings at Gaumont. 

My beginning at Gaumont makes me your father!!!

The cheap rum still acting up or was it methylated spirits you had last night? Being spawned at Gaumont doesn't make you a father. You're too ugly to be my father anyway.

Ask yuh Mama for the real story!!!

Go search for your daddy. I know mine and it ain't no ugly ass drunken porter like you who was spawned and educated at Gaumont.

Skelly, this ILLITERATE, EGG SUCKING FOOL too stupid to know the Govt blatantly tried to steal 18 MILLION US. This FOOL lucky Jim Jones did not get to him. STUPID as STUPID gets!!!!

Mr Neroo yuh so ignorant and stoopid. Yuh mek abee indos look backward just likka yu. 

Go search for your daddy. I know mine and it ain't no ugly ass drunken porter like you who was spawned and educated at Gaumont.

You want go to ask or you rather DNA??  Come to Papa!!!!

Skelly, this ILLITERATE, EGG SUCKING FOOL too stupid to know the Govt blatantly tried to steal 18 MILLION US. This FOOL lucky Jim Jones did not get to him. STUPID as STUPID gets!!!!

Mr Neroo yuh so ignorant and stoopid. Yuh mek abee indos look backward just likka yu. 

Welcome aboard Labba. Hope you are not Princess Di reincarnated. You seem to be bold as a newbie.

You want go to ask or you rather DNA??  Come to Papa!!!!

You better check the offspring you supported all these years.

There are many real issues that are affecting the Guyanese people and which need to be seriously addressed. You fools do not have a clue about what goes on in Guyana and you read the newspapers and make up all kinds of shyte. Typical for a drunken Piss Pot Porter. In your drunken stupor, you don't even realize that you are the one who started with the personal insults. Run along and look for those black men hustling with your obese white women.

I noticed you running behind a 400 pounder. Where did you leave your dentures?

Labba you more stupid than a Goat. Congrats. You head is empty. Go buy seed to grow yuh brain.

Yuh is a big man in yu 50s...yet yuh behave ignorant.

50's? that ole jackass is almost ready to retire.

Labba you more stupid than a Goat. Congrats. You head is empty. Go buy seed to grow yuh brain.

Yuh is a big man in yu 50s...yet yuh behave ignorant.

50's? that ole jackass is almost ready to retire.

And the young dumb and stupid Jackass braying like a young Donkey!!!

I noticed you running behind a 400 pounder. Where did you leave your dentures?

I leave that for you. You like them obese ole white women. I like them naturally tanned, not pale.