alena06 posted:

Rass vvp put the slopster to shame. Ah was waiting fuh de sloppy one to come up with the answer but he seem to lack analytical ability and can only google and cut and paste. 

I think he still checking his Lotus Notes.

Lotus 123. 😀😀

Gyal you talking about 1912 now.

I actually thought you were going to be the first to give the correct answer. 

Instead of mockery of the product, read  HERE

Afraid of the challenge !!!

Bai Django relax yourself, leave ignorance alone!  Lotus Notes vs Excel. Which came first? 

BTW Lotus Notes still around.  Great email and documents management system. 

Lotus 123 was a great package.  It had features superior to Excel but the MS office suite package did them in along with WordPerfect!

alena06 posted:

Rass vvp put the slopster to shame. Ah was waiting fuh de sloppy one to come up with the answer but he seem to lack analytical ability and can only google and cut and paste. 

I think he still checking his Lotus Notes.

Lotus 123. 😀😀

Gyal you talking about 1912 now.

I actually thought you were going to be the first to give the correct answer. 

Bai Django relax yourself, leave ignorance alone!  Lotus Notes vs Excel. Which came first? 

Lotus 123 was a great package.  It had features superior to Excel but the MS office suite package did them in along with WordPerfect!

IBM selling Lotus Notes/Domino business to HCL for $1.8B

IBM announced last night that it is selling the final components from its 1995 acquisition of Lotus to Indian firm HCL for $1.8 billion.

6 months ago

https://techcrunch.com/2018/12...ess-to-hcl-for-1-8b/

Amral posted:

I still have Lotus 123 loaded on my backup computer. Used it mostly for creating invoices which was work related. I found it simpler to use and have used it still.

Come on, Boss, fess up, you created this whole rigmarole to drum up some action on GNI.   TGIF.

He probably has a computer from 1812!😁

I do appreciate having to use Lotus back in the days as it forced us to understand basic computer commands. Like how we used to write our bat files to execute functions. Later, we added wysiwyg to make our presentations look nicer. When one needed charts and graphs, one had to use software like Harvard Graphics. That is why Microsoft Office click so much. In includes all the office tools in one suite. Even emails through Outlook.

And each MS tool is interactive with the other.  You can do all your calculations in Excel and export your charts and tables to PowerPoint for presentations.  Even the kids can do it quickly.  

I agree. Interestingly, I kinda resisted Excel for a whole decade. When I bought my PC in 1991, it came with excel and word and maybe access but I didn't care to use it as I liked Lotus and Quattro much more. Even after I moved from Los Angeles and was working in Fort Lauderdale, I still insisted in them buying Lotus for me as others were beginning to use Office more widely. It wasn't until around 2002 that I finally allowed the owner to convince me to switch to Office. I like the versatility of Office but am very appreciative of having to use the earlier applications as we really learn how they worked back then. Like creating a database file using dBase+ or writing a command in DOS. I remember being happy that they didn't really got rid of the DOS prompt as I still liked writing commands on the black screen. That was all early 90s.  

Amral posted:

My first experience on using computers was on the commodore 64. Then my mother bought a Tandy from Radio Shack. Probably had 2gig hard drive and came with Lotus I think and WordPerfect. 

Whah 2 gig hard drive bai?   My clone PC from 1991 probably had 20 megs. I remember spending one grand to upgrade to 210 megs and 1 meg memory. Bought that PC from Price Club for around 2 grands. But before that, we used the ones where you put in the 5.25 disks. One for the OS and the other for the application. 

Amral posted:

I can't remember the details I might be way off with my specs. I was playing hangman on it most times anyway 

Back in the days when I didn't have GNI to waste time, I used to waste my time playing Solitaire.  Does Solitaire still exist. Back in the early 90's our manager used to play Solitaire all day while me and the other accountants did all the work. Me wuz Coolie and de adda bai wuz Filipino while de bossman wuz white suh I guess everyting wus in orda. 

I still liked writing commands on the black screen.

You start using Ubuntu OS based on Linux.

I dumped Windows for personal use about 4 yrs ago.

Bai, I aint a techie. I was talking about writing on the DOS black screen writing commands like copy *.* or delete *.* for instance. Nowadays, yuh just have to click de delete or big X. 

Amral posted:
Solitaire still around along with many others i started now playing backgammon

Our son had the backgammon game and we used to play it with him when he was really small. Damn. I didn't know Solitaire still around. I have been too busy on GNI. 

Check  Here

how to install on windows 10

So since I still have my Windows XP software, I should be able to just pop the cd in my cd drive and copy those two files onto my C drive. Cool. 

Amral posted:

Our son had the backgammon game and we used to play it with him when he was really small. Damn. I didn't know Solitaire still around. I have been too busy on GNI. 

Check  Here

Yuh rass. It didn't work. These are the files I copies over. Maybe I need to unzip them. Not sure. I am bad at computer as I am at accounting.

• mceclip0
Amral posted:

Check  Here

Yuh rass. It didn't work. These are the files I copies over. Maybe I need to unzip them. Not sure. I am bad at computer as I am at accounting.

The second file should say "sol" not SOL.EX_

Files have to be copied from windows xp running on a computer.

I just copied place in a desktop folder on Windows 7, clicked on "sol"  and it works.

Amral posted:

Check  Here

The second file should say "sol" not SOL.EX_

Files have to be copied from windows xp running on a computer.

I just copied place in a desktop folder on Windows 7, clicked on "sol"  and it works.

Banna, I don't have any computers that run XP. 

VVP posted:
antabanta posted:

=((A2*0.05)*1.13)

Yes, this is a more concise way.  Sometimes I prefer to put the long formulas to show the components involved so when you come back 2 years from now you can figure what you were trying to do LOL.

Actually, the right way is to declare all the constants  at the beginning of the spreadsheet ie rates of interest....taxes...local state....associated fees etc in their special cell. These cell references are to be used in calculations. The only numbers to be inputed are the variables.

To make the work readable and informative one must have a beginning, a middle and an end as in any "story line".  Amral's request while seeking parsimony is not the right way. No number should enter into a spread sheet formula only cell references ( absolute or relative). If you have to input a number you  are "hiding" some detail. A spreadsheet should be a document readable to any idiot...even bibi. 

Amral posted:

Maybe spreadsheet was the wrong term I used. I was just running some numbers to see the effect of different sale prices. 

It is a spreadsheet. You are using it for its intended purpose. Your way is what matters in this instance since you know what it means. I am simply stating the right way to do it if you are creating a work for presentation and/or posterity. In those instances, readability, is  a premium

This is an amusing thread.  Glad Amral got his answer.  At least we know there are two people on GNI who can actually use Excel.

See why I make fun of you when I so feel inclined? You take everything as a measure against your superior intellect. Everyone who provided a formula did it correctly.

Additionally, the basic spreadsheet is are self explanatory, If  you know basic arithmetic you can create a basic spreadsheet.  No one individual can claim they "mastered" a spreadsheet program. They can claim to master it for their particular discipline.

There are some 500 functions in Excel and every discipline can use theset to perform some specific analytic  function. They can even use the result as input controls to external programs or devices and vice-versa  

VVP posted:
antabanta posted:

=((A2*0.05)*1.13)

Yes, this is a more concise way.  Sometimes I prefer to put the long formulas to show the components involved so when you come back 2 years from now you can figure what you were trying to do LOL.

Actually, the right way is to declare all the constants  at the beginning of the spreadsheet ie rates of interest....taxes...local state....associated fees etc in their special cell. These cell references are to be used in calculations. The only numbers to be inputed are the variables.

To make the work readable and informative one must have a beginning, a middle and an end as in any "story line".  Amral's request while seeking parsimony is not the right way. No number should enter into a spread sheet formula only cell references ( absolute or relative). If you have to input a number you  are "hiding" some detail. A spreadsheet should be a document readable to any idiot...even bibi. 

That was what I was referring to in the spreadsheet design. The formula is correct in this instance however, if one variable changes, say commission rate, then fragmenting the formula per VVP is easier to adapt. 

Yes I agree, in the spreadsheet design I would not embed values in the formula.  It’s more “idiot proof” as you stated and also, for long term storage and audit they would be converted to PDF, which then loses all visibility into formulas!  You need all assumptions on the face of the document!

Oh, and while you’re at it, for us GNI “duncified goats” please tell us the difference and similarities between Excel, Lotus Notes and Lotus 123!   Django needs help😁!

lotus was good for its day and its macro functions was the first truly flexible and accessible  application of solving complex  mathematics problems  in a computer. Today we have lots of GUI doing what it did back wen it was king. You can do even more with excel since under excel is an advance form of Microsoft basic and it easily merges with Access where the possibilities are endless.

Hey Stormy. How can I unzip those two files for Solitaire?

"If you're using an old computer or virtual machine running Windows XP,  download the files  cards.dll, sol.exe on to a USB drive"

You still trying to do it the hard way, don't think it will work copying from XP Disk.

Bai, yuh know I never learn. 😀

Hey Stormy. How can I unzip those two files for Solitaire?

"If you're using an old computer or virtual machine running Windows XP,  download the files  cards.dll, sol.exe on to a USB drive"

You still trying to do it the hard way, don't think it will work copying from XP Disk.

He rass hard headed!