May 12, 2012 3:13 AM

THE OBSERVER … Straight out of the horse’s mouth as AFC Region Six councillor reveals ...

Corruption in the AFC

- MP allegedly rips off supporters of millions $$$$

- As wolves devour wolves in sheep’s clothing

Source - Guyana Chronicle

NO less than a member of the AFC executive, councillor of the party’s Region 6 branch, Haseef Yusuf, has brought to public scrutiny the lack of transparency, accountability, and cronyism in that party’s hierarchy, which he highlighted in a letter to the Chronicle on Tuesday 8th May 2012.

Yusuf wrote, inter alia, “It is with profound thought and extreme deliberation that I have finally made this decision to let the public know, especially the Alliance For Change (AFC) members and supporters in Berbice, of the corrupt and fraudulent practices of certain AFC members in Berbice, more specifically a Member of Parliament (MP).

He has been on DTV 8 for the past few years where he hosted a programme called ‘Issues of the People’, where he vehemently lashed out at the government, the PPP/C, GPL, GWI and the Guyana Police Force, Guysuco, et cetera.

Ramjattan was promised leadership of the party on a rotational basis, but Trotman has never relinquished that position, so Ramjattan is just a bitter, venomous mouthy nothing who can make no decisions, but is left to do the dirty work of the puppeteers who are drawing his strings. Moses Nagamootoo wanted the presidency and the final rejection of his candidacy by the PPP/C sent the self-appointed deliverer into the embrace of the AFC with the promise of “a high place” and a Vice-presidency.  Both aspiring presidents are today holding “larwah”.

He proclaimed himself as the ‘champion’ of transparency, justice and accountability. He entertained anyone who claims to have a grievance and he would lash out without any supporting evidence. He also claimed on numerous occasions that he would ‘singlehandedly’ deliver Berbicians from oppression and corruption, even if the AFC fails to do so.

“However, certain post-election events greatly contradicted this image he is trying so hard to portray on TV. I will deal chronologically with these events and you be the judge.”

Among the accusations of this erstwhile messiah of the Guyanese people is his failure to submit financial reports of monetary transactions without supporting documents, of his using members’ donations to fill his pockets under the allegedly false claims that he spent $4.5 million in excess of campaign funds that he was provided, despite not providing any supporting documentation.

According to Yusuf, this fraudster was not authorised by the executive or the Campaign Manager to spend in excess of the funds that were given to him through the party or by way of donations; and he provided no documentary evidence to support his claim.

Also, for funds collected toward the AFC’s elections campaign, the MP issued no receipts but he instead merely had the maid deposit all the monies collected in a box kept in his home over which he had sole control.

Yusuf further wrote: “On February 1 this year, he convened a meeting at his Whim office where 51 members were present. At this meeting, he emphasised that the party owed him $4.5M and he tried to solicit funds through donations and fund-raising activities in order to recoup his claim of $4.5M ‘owed’ to him. He then convened an election to form a Regional Management Committee and to establish an AFC Office at his Office at Whim. One of the functions of this RMC would be fund-raising through which he would get ‘his money back.’”

Yusuf claims that he was unanimously elected by all 51 members present at that meeting as the Chairman, Mr. Lionel Howell as the Vice- Chairman and Ms. Donna Mathoo as the Secretary.

However, that MP also suggested that a certain female be selected and employed to work at the AFC office to be opened at Whim, to which blatant attempt at cronyism Yusuf said he strongly objected, suggesting instead that the appointments be made through applications to enure fairness and transparency in the elections process.

However, no heed was taken of Yusuf’s suggestion as the MP proceeded to high-handedly and unilaterally install his lady friend in the disputed position – and this was a man who condemned Henry Greene for using his office to pursue his personal relationship. Yusuf asked “Can you imagine a fledgling party behaving in this undemocratic manner?

On April 16, 2012 this new MP, flexing his new-found political muscles, as the collective opposition has been doing with its one vote/one seat majority in Parliament, disregarding Yusuf and Donna Mathoo, the AFC Regional Councillor and Secretary, respectively, convened another election meeting to re-elect office bearers to the Regional Management Committee.

Yusuf peevishly complained, “Donna and I were never officially or unofficially informed that the election held on February 1 was null and void and that we were no longer the Chairman and Secretary, respectively, and that the office will become vacant”; that they were not invited to present themselves for nomination or otherwise; and that a public announcement was not made about the election meeting.

According to Yusuf this was in breach of the AFC’s Constitution,  Article, Section 8, which has made it clear that all groups in the region should be invited for any such meeting, but he contended that less than 20 selected members were present and asked why the MP did not make a public announcement on DTV 8 the week before so that members could take notice and why only a selected handful of members were invited. ‘Is this not rigging? Is this not fraudulent?” Yusuf agonized.

Yusuf has taken the AFC leadership to task for hypocrisy, stating that they are taking the government to task in Parliament on charges that they cannot proves, whereas their own actions cannot bear scrutiny, and he advised “It is time to take out the ‘beam from thine own eyes’ Mr. MP! This is a shame and disgrace to the very principles which the AFC claims to stand for!”   Yusuf asks ‘”Where is the accountability within the AFC? Where is the transparency in the electoral process? Isn’t there cronyism within the AFC? Afraid of another defection if you drop the hammer?”

He expressed doubts whether Ramjattan has the courage to act decisively in these matters since the AFC Chairman has brushed off his concerns as he is “too busy”; so if he is too busy to deal with corruption in his own party how will he run a country with a myriad agencies where corruption had become endemic since PNC days, and which has become so entrenched that it has become near-impossible to root out.

As Yusuf noted, in any other country the misuse and abuse of campaign funds are dealt with criminally, especially where a person is making unsubstantiated claims in order to enrich himself or herself, whereas in Guyana such a person will be promoted to high office.

It is a well-known fact that troublemakers in the society who aspired to the hallowed halls of the National Assembly, or higher offices, were bribed with parliamentary seats, a vice-presidency, or a co-leadership position to join the AFC.  The Gaumattie Singh imbroglio should have warned wannabes like Yusuf what to expect from the AFC.

The AFC is another arm to break up the PPP support base and give the PNC power once more, and they have certainly succeeded.  Persons like Yusuf should not complain, because Guyana’s history is there for the reading, but they have chosen to join the wolves in sheep’s clothing.  But today the wolves are devouring each other in order to gain the spoils.

Ramjattan was promised leadership of the party on a rotational basis, but Trotman has never relinquished that position, so Ramjattan is just a bitter, venomous mouthy nothing who can make no decisions, but is left to do the dirty work of the puppeteers who are drawing his strings. Moses Nagamootoo wanted the presidency and the final rejection of his candidacy by the PPP/C sent the self-appointed deliverer into the embrace of the AFC with the promise of “a high place” and a Vice-presidency.  Both aspiring presidents are today holding “larwah”.  He was not even given the Speakership position to which he aspired because Trotman had allegedly cut a secret deal with the PNC to reject him in return for AFC support.

However, PPP defectors to the AFC have to be blind not to recognise the trend.  Gaumattie Singh was denied a parliamentary seat because Trotman chose Chantal Smith instead, Trotman has always been leader of the AFC since inception, despite the co-leadership premise on which it was founded, with Ramjattan always having been left floundering in the cold, and Nagamootoo was denied the Speaker’s position.  Guess who holds both positions coveted by Ramjattan and Nagamootoo?  Trotman, of course, because he has been revealed to have been holding secret talks with the hierarchy of the PNC, the beast out of whose belly he emerged; and ironically, it is the PPP/C support base that is being eroded to ultimately empower the PNC, and former PPP supporters in the diaspora and the business world whom are funding them. Michael Forde, Bholanauth Parmanand and Jagan Ramessar must be turning in their graves.

Maybe there would be many more like Gaumattie Singh and Yusuf who would realize the colossal mistake they have made in trying to deliver this nation into the jaws of the wolves in sheep’s clothing, because the wolves are already devouring each other, merely waiting for the day when the treasury is delivered to them before they begin swallowing the spoils.

The Berbician AFC MP under scrutiny is already selling duty-free vehicles he acquired through his parliamentary concession. Today, it is dog eat dog in the AFC camp – or wolf eats wolf.

Last Updated on Friday, 11 May 2012 21:36

Yugi22 is a political prostitute.

and he feel a 50% Woman must be worshiped daily.

yugi  is a member of the batty boy party kwame main squeeze 

I will ask the AFC to officially address these revelations. I will NEVER blindly donate my money to the AFC.

Will you ?

You are a political prostitute and a wimp. You intermingle with bugga batty peeps. There is a saying about birds of a feather. Go ahead and put me on ignore. You are morally bankrupt so shut yuh rass.

I will ask the AFC to officially address these revelations. I will NEVER blindly donate my money to the AFC.

Will you ?

You are morally bankrupt. You intermingle with homsexuals. Remember the saying about birds of a feather.

Dear Friend,

As the New Year approaches the Alliance For Change gives thanks for all the   blessings and support we have received from the people of Guyana and will   continue to work

towards creating a more prosperous Guyana – one that all her citizens would   be proud to call home. This past year has been a challenging one for most   Guyanese with alarmingly high levels of domestic violence, affecting mainly   our women and the high incidence of road fatalities, which have taken many   valuable lives, including our youngest and brightest minds.

In 2013 the AFC waged a fight against corruption and advocated the need for   good governance. We focused on demanding accountability and transparency in   the day to day running of our dear country Guyana. In this area our shouts   have been loud and resounding resulting in the many revelations of corruption   in the management of our national assets by our Government that seemed to   plague the entire year yet again. This fight was vindicated with the   pronouncements we heard from Transparency

International, in US State Department reports, from our diplomatic missions   and our own Auditor General as we continue to strive to establish a true   democracy.

Our stance in Parliament has been based on these principles as we sought to   bring the Government to account to Parliament as should be. To this end we   have taken up issues that dealt with this – including the need for the   establishment of a Public Procurement Commission, and amendments to the   Fiscal Management and Accountable Act to ensure financial accountability of   the Judiciary and Parliament. We have taken strong positions on the need for   state funds held by NICIL to be deposited and accounted for in our consolidate   fund, and that both the Integrity and the Ethnic Relations Commissions should   be fully operationalized.

The Alliance For Change has also advocated that the position of Chancellor   and Chief Justice be filled and most importantly have been consistent over   the years with calls for the holding of Local Government Elections which we   know will open up a new vista for peoples participation. These are the   hallmarks of what the AFC has done to enhance our democracy in 2013.

In 2014 our still incomplete agenda will continue as we fervently hope that   Local government Elections will be held. We will continue the fight for a   living wage, and that monies voted for increases in wages will be   specifically quantified in the next budget. It is our hope that greater respect   for collective bargaining and consultation with the Unions on the welfare of   their members and without government making arbitrary awards will take place.

We will continue to advance the issues you have asked us to raise on your   behalf – a reduction in the economic pressures placed on your pockets,   garbage free communities for your children to grow up in, jobs for our young   people and a livable wage for all.

In 2014 we will lobby hard to ensure that the state media will be opened up   to give us and other organizations access to this “national” resources as   happens in most democracies across the globe and that coverage of   parliamentary proceedings will be carried live better informing the people of   Guyana and eliminating the cloak and dagger approach.

We in the Alliance for Change know that more can be achieved when we accept   that every Guyanese has a valuable contribution to make. We recommit to   ensuring that the spirit of working together amongst our major political   parties is put back firmly on the national agenda recognizing that   constructive dialogue is the only way to ensure we move this country of ours   forward, for the benefit of all.

In closing we salute our gallant fighters in all ten regions of Guyana and in   the diaspora who have kept the Alliance For Change going under difficult   circumstance and note the passing of several of our members and close friends   who have all contributed to making the AFC a national institution for change.   May your new year be filled with peace, good health and prosperity.

Happy New Year to all Guyana.
  Alliance For Change

Will you ?

Same old shit, just the second year of retreading them as though they will gain traction and overwhelmingly detract from what is a culture of corruption in the PPP.

Will you ?

They may not want your money, by your posts no telling, it could be dirty

Economic development means bad news for the AFC.

To date NONE of the Katahar AFC MP's have been able to prove anything in a court of law. They only post TOILET PAPER reporting.

Deliver or Shut up. Guyanese are no longer falling for AFC and their TOILET PAPER. 2014 will see the AFC in the Trash Bin.

AFC is the MOST CORRUPT party. 

Economic development means bad news for the AFC.

To date NONE of the Katahar AFC MP's have been able to prove anything in a court of law. The only post TOILET PAPER reporting.

Deliver or Shut up. Guyanese are no longer falling for AFC and their TOILET PAPER. 2014 will see the AFC in the Trash Bin.

AFC is the MOST CORRUPT party. 

barely literate hysterics of a sad ole antiman even a confused 14-year old girl would be embarrassed to own

yuji does not respond the Dogpile redux. I will never contaminate myself by responding to this piece of trash and filth redux. Stop contaminating my posts.

hmmm . . . de "block" feature not workin bai??

what a hapless antiman

har de har har har har har harrr

Will you ?

Hon. Yuji22 Executive Member of the Kwame Buggering Group....keep your thiefing money, AFC doing fine without help, assistance or Contribution from any of you'll Infected B@tty Boys.

AFC fighting Corruption .....how can they take money from you fool.