Cuban shoppers helping to keep Guyana’s economy afloat

by Abigail Semple

These Cuban women are seen at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport with a large quantity of items she purchased from stores in Georgetown.

The steady flow of nearly 1,000 Cubans coming to Guyana every week to shop mainly clothing is being widely hailed as good for this South American country’s economy at a time when there is much talk about sluggishness and over-reliance on gold to prop up revenues.

While cambio (foreign exchange) dealers experience mixed fortunes as far as how much United States dollars the Cubans change, one of them says the Spanish-speakers are helping to keep many businesses in Guyana afloat.

Some estimates are that they will account for almost GYD$400 million annually in the purchase of goods alone.

This is according to one cambio dealer from a popular cambio on Regent St., could be good for Guyana’s economy. Speaking with Demerara Waves Online News, the dealer stated that the Cubans are “helping out a lot of businesses here”. He revealed that, “it’s about 200 and something Cubans on each flight…nearly a 1000 people coming a week from Cuba…so you could understand the amount of money that’s coming in. And they are buying from all the businesses and so on…if it weren’t for the Cubans, the businesses would have been very slow, I don’t know what would’ve happened here.” This dealer was of the view that if the number of Cubans in Guyana were to dwindle, Guyana would be in a bad shape.

Not only are some cambios benefitting from the Cubans’ heavy presence in Guyana, but according to the commerce house owner, hotels, food establishments, taxis and other businesses are also reaping the benefits.

Despite the vast number of these Hispanic visitors, some cambios do not experience a large number of them seeking to exchange currency. This is according to dealers from Martina’s Cambio and R. Sookraj and Sons Cambio. They explained that the Cubans would mainly purchase their goods in stores using the US currency, instead of visiting a cambio to make the exchange. Martina’s Cambio dealer, who also declined to have her name mentioned, stated that the Spanish-speaking foreigners would only make use of a cambio if they saw one in the store.  “You will find most of the time they will change their currency in the store where they’re buying their goods from…they change a lot of money in the stores. When they purchase, they don’t purchase with Guyana dollars, they purchase with US. Most of the time, when they buy their goods, they would pay in US. They come, they purchase, but when they see this cambio here they would change their currency and then purchase. But I know of a lot of stores where they would purchase goods with US dollars,” she said.

Contrary to the other cambio dealer on Regent St; she is of the opinion that the cambios would not be considerably affected if the number of Cuban visitors to Guyana dwindled.

The Cubans can be seen in large numbers on a daily basis, buying a sizeable amount of goods from stores along Regent St. Both the dealer from Martina’s and the popular cambio owner, revealed that the Cubans come to Guyana to purchase goods for trading purposes. However, when Demerara Waves approached and interviewed some of the Cubans, only one female, Sandra Torres-Suarez, admitted to making purchases to resell in Cuba. When questioned, she stated, “bueno, para mi casa y para fines de negocios (well, for my home as well as for trade)”. Torres-Suarez, along with five of the six others approached, are all in agreement that shopping in Guyana is more beneficial than other places for two reasons; very low prices and there’s no need for a visa to enter the country.

Cubans shopping at one of the stores on Regent Street, the commercial heart of Georgetown.

Here are some of their responses: “Guyana, porque tiene buen ofertas y variedades…me gusta mas Guyana (Guyana, because there are good offers and varieties…I like Guyana more)”- Mislei Aquino Roaina; “Los precios son muchos más baratos que en Cuba (prices are much cheaper than in Cuba)” – Ariel Rodrigues; “Escojí Guyana…porque es facil acceso…precios módicos (I chose Guyana…because there’s easy access…reasonable prices)” – Alexis; “Porque, bueno hay muchas mas mercancías…de diferentes precios de diferentes modelos…en Cuba no hay nada. En Cuba, todo esta caso no hay nada…todo esta caro (Because, well there are a lot of goods…of different prices, of different models…in Cuba there is nothing. In Cuba this is not the case…everything is expensive)” – Sandra Torres-Suarez.

Executive Member of the Private Sector Commission (PSC), Gerry Gouveia is convinced that it is Guyana’s turn to reap the rewards from bad economic times in another country as was the case when Guyanese had flocked Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Suriname and Venezuela to bring back basic food items and other necessities in the 1980s when Guyana had experienced severe shortages. “The Cubans are coming to Guyana to shop…Guyana is now a haven for them and it is really good for the Guyanese economy and the only thing is that it is dependent on the bad times in Cuba… The minute Cuba opens up like Guyana opened, it means that will stop,” he said.

It is understood that prices for goods are far cheaper in Guyana than Panama, and we sought to find out from the Cuban shoppers what their opinion was on this and whether or not they went to or were thinking of visiting Panama to shop. According to Mislei, clothes are cheap in Guyana but other goods such as musical equipment are much cheaper in Panama. So, she would generally purchase clothing items for her family here in Guyana and then travel to Panama to shop. “Aparte de aquí en Guyana, yo voy a Panama y compro telivisor, aire acondicionado… (Apart from here in Guyana, I go to Panama and I buy television, air conditioner…),” she told Demerara Waves.

Rolejio Miranda stated that he never visited Panama, and while in Guyana no visa is necessary, you have to have a visa to travel to Panama. “Nunca iba a Panama…pero Panama no es libre visado. Y Guyana es libre visado, no tenemos que hacer nada, presentamos pasaporte…no tenemos que hacer visado (I’ve never been to Panama, but Panama is not visa free. And Guyana is visa free, we don’t have to do anything, just present our passports…we don’t have to have visa),” he said.cubans_shopping3jpg

When asked their opinions on the crime rate in Guyana and whether they harboured any fear on the streets of Georgetown, most of the Cubans we spoke with had either never heard about Guyana’s crime rate or didn’t care. The all stated that the people in Guyana are “muchas tranquillas (very peaceful)” and so far no harm has come to them. They were also all in agreement that the experience in Guyana is very good (buena) and agreeable (agradable). The anonymous commerce house dealer opined that the Guyana government should set up a system to protect the Cuban visitors from the criminally inclined. “We should even get police to protect the Cubans because the Cubans doing a lot of business,” he stated.

Considered a major shopping destination by Cubans, airlines are also following the money. First it was COPA and soon Fly Jamaica may join the Honduras-headquartered Easy Sky in offerin four flights between Havana. “All the flights are coming in full and going out full with Cubans,” said Gouveia who is responsible locally for Easy Sky.

Cubans shopping in Guyana, hear this, hear this, a breakthrough in innovative Commerce.  Laad Ah Mercy

This will all come to a halt when they start returning home in body bags.

Cubans shopping in Guyana, hear this, hear this, a breakthrough in innovative Commerce.  Laad Ah Mercy

This will all come to a halt when they start returning home in body bags.

At least read the article before you open you mouth ans spew shyte

Pointblank

Why would Cubans fly 2,000 miles to Guyana to shop for frivolous items, when they can travel 90 miles to Miami and get cheaper items at better quality?  And just when Obama is closing down the economic embargo against Cuba and allowing access to trade and tourism.  Can somebody check the facts of this article and get back to me?  Pleeeeeezze!!!

Why would Cubans fly 2,000 miles to Guyana to shop for frivolous items, when they can travel 90 miles to Miami and get cheaper items at better quality?  And just when Obama is closing down the economic embargo against Cuba and allowing access to trade and tourism. Can somebody check the facts of this article and get back to me?  Pleeeeeezze!!!

http://demerarawaves.com/2016/...anas-economy-afloat/

Oii Bibs,when it doesn't suit your taste proof is needed,the media source is on the ground of Guyana,so why will they report what is not true??

Why would Cubans fly 2,000 miles to Guyana to shop for frivolous items, when they can travel 90 miles to Miami and get cheaper items at better quality?  And just when Obama is closing down the economic embargo against Cuba and allowing access to trade and tourism.  Can somebody check the facts of this article and get back to me?  Pleeeeeezze!!!

They need visas to go to Miami. They don't need to go to Guyana.

Take note that this is what communism does to a country.

Why would Cubans fly 2,000 miles to Guyana to shop for frivolous items, when they can travel 90 miles to Miami and get cheaper items at better quality?  And just when Obama is closing down the economic embargo against Cuba and allowing access to trade and tourism. Can somebody check the facts of this article and get back to me?  Pleeeeeezze!!!

http://demerarawaves.com/2016/...anas-economy-afloat/

Oii Bibs,when it doesn't suit your taste proof is needed,the media source is on the ground of Guyana,so why will they report what is not true??

The Cubans say that Guyanese are quite mild and nice and they have no idea what all this chatter about crime is all about.  They go to Panama, which is probably more dangerous than Guyana.

since when it's easy for Cubans to fly to Miami???? jeez...ah thought you were smarter than this

RiffRaff posted:

since when it's easy for Cubans to fly to Miami???? jeez...ah thought you were smarter than this

Haha

If it was that easy for them to fly to Miami, they would all be living here in the US with the wet feet dry feet policy.

RiffRaff posted:

Animals in a Jungle always feel safe. That is Guyana and GNI PNC supporters for real!!!!!

why yuh calling Guyanese animals?

Read again, only those who ARE!!!

RiffRaff posted:

Haha

If it was that easy for them to fly to Miami, they would all be living here in the US with the wet foot dry foot policy.

Bibi's hormone's have in fact impacted how her brain functions.

Of the countries where the cost of living is low Guyana is the only place where they can enter without visas.  They used to go to Ecuador but then that country slapped visa requirements on them.

RiffRaff posted:

Animals in a Jungle always feel safe. That is Guyana and GNI PNC supporters for real!!!!!

why yuh calling Guyanese animals?

Read again, only those who ARE!!!

looks like yuh callin all ah dem animals....the Cubans did not specify who they speak to....yuh just conclude that whomever they speak to is an animal

RiffRaff posted:

Haha

If it was that easy for them to fly to Miami, they would all be living here in the US with the wet feet dry feet policy.

Lord have mercy. These people are too funny.  Self appointed experts that know "Jack shit" like the rest of the PPPites on this board. In time they expose themselves for what they are. Idiots and buffoons.

RiffRaff posted:

Haha

They do live in the US by the hundreds of thousands.  There are large Cuban communities in Florida.  Couple of their children like Ted Cruz and Liddle Marco even want to run for President of the United States.    And if it wasn't for the mighty Trump it would have happened in the next two weeks.  

RiffRaff posted:

Haha

They do live in the US by the hundreds of thousands.  There are large Cuban communities in Florida.  Couple of their children like Ted Cruz and Liddle Marco even want to run for President of the United States.    And if it wasn't for the mighty Trump it would have happened in the next two weeks.  

I'm well aware of the fact that there are large Cuban communities in Florida. However, those are not the people we are speaking about. We are discussing Cubans who live in Cuba and who are travelling to Guyana to buy goods which they will resell in Cuba at a profit. You also know that we are discussing Cubans who live in Cuba since you stated that "they can travel 90 miles to Miami and get cheaper items at better quality". No, they cannot travel 90 miles to Miami because they need a visa to Miami which is difficult to obtain. If it were easy for Cuban residents to get a visa to Miami, they would be flooding into the US and be able to stay since there is a special "dry feet, wet feet" policy for Cubans who are able to land on US soil.

Bibi before you write why not think.  The Cubans who shop in Guyana aren't those who live in the USA.  They live in Cuba.  They need visas to be allowed to visit the USA. Most of these applications are denied. For a Cuban to be allowed to live in the USA they need to actually reach the US, and the immigration authorities know this, which is why they turn down most visa applications.

Listen if you are too DUMB to understand the issue say NOTHING!

Well look who is our resident Cuban Immigration Expert.  So tell me who gave the hundreds of thousands of Cubans who currently live in the US visas.  Or did they all sail on those log rafts to reach Miami?  Do the math.  Does it make any economic sense for Low income merchants to fly to Guyana to buy products to re-sell in Cuba.  Cuba is way ahead of Guyana in economics, healthcare, education, and almost everything else.  How many Cubans who are small merchants speak English and can afford to commute to Guyana to shop?  I bet these pics were a few vacationers and the journalist was having a slow news day.  

Well look who is our resident Cuban Immigration Expert.  So tell me who gave the hundreds of thousands of Cubans who currently live in the US visas.

Bibi quit while you are ahead.  You are looking quite foolish now.

Cubans are in Guyana shopping. Had the PPP been in power you would have been screaming that this is evidence of progress. Because the PPP was dumped unceremoniously by Guyanese TWICE, and the last time losing office, you are enraged that this is happening.

So tell me who gave t Does it make any economic sense for Low income merchants to fly to Guyana to buy products to re-sell in Cuba.  

Yes. Guyanese used to go all over to buy stuff for resale, so why the shock that Cubans will do it when Cuban stores are EMPTY!

The Cuban stores are not empty.  Despite the economic embargo that the US imposed on Cuba, they have maintained trade relations with other countries.  Canada being one of them.  And those Made in China products you all buy in the US can be found in the stores in Cuba.

Does it make any economic sense for Low income merchants to fly to Guyana to buy products to re-sell in Cuba.  Cuba is way ahead of Guyana in economics, healthcare, education, and almost everything else. 

Things are changing; have been changing since the 1990s. I have been following TRANSLATING CUBA and HAVANA TIMES for a few years. Their archives have articles showing how badly many Cubans are suffering. These pieces are written by journalists who are denied access to the official Cuban press.

The Cuban stores are not empty. .

They aren't because Cubans travel overseas to buy goods to stock them.  In fact not every one wants cheap Chinese products, hence they go to Panama, and Guyana to get more variety.

Bibi Cubans are coming to Guyana to shop.  Now I know that these angers you but this is a fact. Gouveia says so and he handles the airlines which are bringing them in. COPA in fact doubled their flights into Guyana and the biggest source consist of Cubans going to Guyana.  Colombians, Panamanians, Costa Ricans and Peruvians do NOT visit Guyana.

COPA has over 500 seats per week into Guyana.

Does it make any economic sense for Low income merchants to fly to Guyana to buy products to re-sell in Cuba.  Cuba is way ahead of Guyana in economics, healthcare, education, and almost everything else. 

Things are changing; have been changing since the 1990s. I have been following TRANSLATING CUBA and HAVANA TIMES for a few years. Their archives have articles showing how badly many Cubans are suffering. These pieces are written by journalists who are denied access to the official Cuban press.

Forgive Bibi. She is an old time PPP communist so believes all that propaganda. I will concede that Cuba has an excellent tertiary level system.  The rest is pure nonsense.

What Bibi will never admit is that Cuba is a class based society. Those hospitals that she boasts of are only available to the Cuban elite and foreigners who HAVE HEALTH INSURANCE. They receive payments in US dollars.

The free Cuban hospitals are cesspits of nastiness with no medication, over flowing toilets, no medications, broken equipment, and angry doctors who are upset that they make less than do hotel clerks. They get paid in pesos and have to moonlight as taxi drivers to be able to pay the bills.  The Cuban peso stores are empty. 

Those full stores that she boasts of only accept CUCs and US dollars. If Bibi is a Cuba expert she knows what a CUC is, and she will know that the vast majority of Cubans lack access to this.