'Ethnic' babies outnumber whites in U.S.

Hispanic, African-American and Asian births in the majority for the first time after seismic shift in America's demographic make-up. Pictured, a Chinese man feeds his baby in a file photo.

Photograph by: David Gray , Reuters

For the first time in the history of the United States, more children were born to ethnic minorities last year than to white families, new data has shown, highlighting a seismic shift in the demographic complexion of America.

The passing of the long-anticipated milestone marks a tipping point for a country that was founded by white European settlers, wrestled with slavery and civil rights, but is now looking at a future where prosperity will lie increasingly in the hands of young Hispanics, African-Americans and Asians.

The data from the U.S. Census Bureau starkly illustrated the social, racial and economic divisions that wrack modern America, as an aging band of white baby-boomers is asked to pay taxes to fund the education and welfare of an ethnically diverse younger population.

The figures showed that in the year to July 2011, 50.4 per cent of babies born in the U.S. were born to non-whites - 26 per cent for Hispanics, 15 per cent African-Americans, 5 per cent Asian and the remaining 4.5 per cent in mixed marriages.

And while whites - currently 63.4 per cent - are projected to remain a majority of the U.S. population until 2050, they will form a dramatically shrinking part of the working-age population who will pay taxes and sustain economic growth.

Although a weak U.S. economy has slowed Hispanic immigration in recent years, the demographic momentum is firmly with minorities, with white U.S. women now having a median age of 42, compared with just 27 for Hispanics, the peak age for fertility.

"These babies are soon to be filling up our schools, and in a generation filling up our labour force and transforming the U.S. population as a whole," said Mark Mather, a demographer with the Population Reference Bureau in Washington. "It's really children who are at the forefront of racial and ethnic change in the United States. There's a huge gap in the racial-ethnic composition of the children in the U.S. compared with older adults, who are mostly white."

Sociologists warn that failure to invest in the education of minorities - who are more likely to drop out of school and less likely to get a university degree than whites - could have a catastrophic effect on the competitiveness of a workforce already under pressure from the emerging Asian economies of China and India.

However, Roderick Harrison, a sociologist at Howard University and former chief racial statistician at the U.S. Census Bureau, said that the deep polarization of U.S. politics was making it almost impossible to address issues that were of increasingly importance to the U.S..

"The country is close to ungovernable and this is something that is just getting to be beyond us," he said, "There are more benefits for political parties to exploit these divisions for short-term gain than to work for an overall solution that would require compromises, but would put the country on the right course. I don't see very much hope."

Political analysts said the U.S. faced the challenge of sketching out a "social compact" that could lay the foundations for prosperity and would require both demographic elements - older whites, younger ethnic minorities - to invest in each other.

Jamal Simmons, a Democratic political consultant and race-relations expert, said: "In years to come, those younger, browner people are going to have to pay for the retirement costs of those older, white ones. There is a social compact here - that both groups need to look out for each other. It will be impossible for that younger, browner generation to provide for their elders if they don't have the education and economic ability to generate a growing economy."

The use of vouchers to opt out of the public education system and the row over the Obama health care reforms, Mr Simmons added, were both examples of where the ethnic and socio-economic battle for America is being joined.

Conquering such challenges will test America's ability to renew itself, said Professor William Frey, a senior fellow at the Brookings Institution. He said it would take political and civic leadership "so that you don't just get fanning of the flames and resentment of immigrants to win votes".

He added: "The argument can be made - we are a nation of immigrants after all."

Historic Census Marks Changing Face Of America

Matt Pressberg
May 17, 2012 | 5:21 p.m. PDT
Executive Producer

For the first time in United States history, non-Hispanic whites did not make up the majority of children younger than 1, according to the United States Census Bureau.

The Census Bureau defines a minority as "anyone who is not single-race white and not Hispanic." The data just released by the Census Bureau, which was compiled as of July 1, 2011, puts the minority population at 36.6 percent overall and 49.7 percent of children under 5 years old, up 0.5 and 0.7 percent, respectively, from 2010.

These numbers underline the rapidly shifting demographics of the United States, a which is celebrated by some and feared by others. The Washington Post reports:

"The census has forecast that non-Hispanic whites will be outnumbered in the United States by 2042, and social scientists consider that current status among infants a harbinger of the change.

'This is a watershed moment,' said Andrew Cherlin, a sociologist at Johns Hopkins University who specializes in family issues. 'It shows us how multicultural we’ve become.'"

Some political opportunists have been known to use reports like this to play to xenophobic elements. As the Associated Press reports:

"The report comes as the Supreme Court prepares to rule on the legality of Arizona's strict immigration law, with many states weighing similar get-tough measures.

'We remain in a dangerous period where those appealing to anti-immigration elements are fueling a divisiveness and hostility that might take decades to overcome,' Harrison [a former chief of racial statistics at the Census Bureau] said."

Concerns about a nonwhite population with out-of-control, economically threatening birthrates appear to be unfounded at best, and often motivated by something other than empirical facts. In the comment section of the Washington Post article cited above, the author added supplementary data from a political scientist:

"He has analyzed the 2008 census statistics, and found that birth rates for naturalized citizens are almost identical to the birth rates for native-born Americans. It's 55.1 births per 1,000 mothers for native-born citizens, vs. 54.8 births per 1,000 mothers for naturalized citizens. His point is that while the birth rates for recent immigrants are relatively high, the children and grandchildren will likely conform to the norm for everyone."

While the United States remains a white-majority country, five states, including Texas and California, have already passed the demographic tipping point without fanfare.

Reach Executive Producer Matt Pressberg.
Originally Posted by sachin_05:
Originally Posted by Sledgehammer:

Dah good news, soon abie blackman an' coolies gon tek ova dem wite man country and mek am abie own k.untry.

Wen we tek ova  the fus ting we gat to do is create wan NAHCEL to give out praperty to we boys suh we can create wan Prado ville 3 round the white house dung deh..

Dah good, alyuh shud tank abie fuh teeching alyuh up deh how fuh run tings.  Coolies smaaat no ass.  Abie pon tap bai.

Dah good news, soon abie blackman an' coolies gon tek ova dem wite man country and mek am abie own k.untry.

Wen we tek ova  the fus ting we gat to do is create wan NAHCEL to give out praperty to we boys suh we can create wan Prado ville 3 round the white house dung deh..

Dah good, alyuh shud tank abie fuh teeching alyuh up deh how fuh run tings.  Coolies smaaat no ass.  Abie pon tap bai.

Fuh sure we guh need a smaat man with PPP style  bizness acumen like Brazzy to do them transfer...yuh tink he gon get time to help out?

Yea yea bai, nah mek worries, wenn alyuh reddy, juss caall, abie gon gah nuff nuff mo fuh gi.  Brazzy 1, 2, 3...100, Jagdo 1, 2, 3...100 and nuff nuff moo.  Wah alyuh tink, abie wate fuh alyuh.  Gwan soa.  Bu fuh naow, senn dah lil remittance, abie still in trainin.

The facts behind this historical change is simply because white people love oral and anal sex over vaginal sex. The sperm eventually get into places that cannot reproduce. Facts number two: White people believe in 1 or 2 kids. Hispanic or other mix race in America still remember God's commandments to go forth, multiply and fill the earth. White people still don't understand who should be breast fed. Them big hairy ass men ah suck the women bubby and them children have to suck bottle. There is a big debate about the exposure of a woman's breast when feeding her baby in public, but never about topless in clubs, beaches and other nudity rights. You see my point? 

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:

The facts behind this historical change is simply because white people love oral and anal sex over vaginal sex. The sperm eventually get into places that cannot reproduce. Facts number two: White people believe in 1 or 2 kids. Hispanic or other mix race in America still remember God's commandments to go forth, multiply and fill the earth. White people still don't understand who should be breast fed. Them big hairy ass men ah suck the women bubby and them children have to suck bottle. There is a big debate about the exposure of a woman's breast when feeding her baby in public, but never about topless in clubs, beaches and other nudity rights. You see my point? 

You seem to know a lot about reproducing so you might be well compensated if you could use this knowledge to explain procreation to Jagdeo the "oral and anal sex over vaginal sex"he may need your professional help....

Yeh, you may be still feeling Jagdeo buggery sensation.

If you gona help the dude don't recomend buggery, its not only illegal but he is not capable..why yuh think he lock out a fat punanny out his bedroom after two weeks....