Enterprise businessman brutally attacked

An Enterprise, East Coast Demerara businessman was on Wednesday evening brutally attacked and robbed of over $1 million by four armed bandits at his grocery store in Lyken Street, Enterprise.

The incident occurred around 18:00h when the businessman, 52-year-old Hardat Kishore, was about to close up his shop for the day. According to the man, three bandits barged into the compound while another stood as the lookout by the gate. One was armed with a firearm, another with a cutlass, and the other was unarmed.

Kishore explained that the two men with the weapons began beating him and demanding money while the other bandit ransacked the shop in search for valuables.

After bagging the cash, the four men made good their escape in a getaway vehicle that was parked one corner away. The Police were immediately summoned by concerned neighbours and the businessman was taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital for medical treatment. The Police responded immediately after they were summoned.

Kishore told Guyana Times that although the incident was terrifying, he was thankful that his life was spared. He explained that the bandits carted off the money he was saving to restock his store, in addition to some US currency he was saving for other purposes. β€œThey took away in excess of $200,000 that we made in sales today, $500,000 I had to pay for stock and I had some US dollars – US$1530 to be exact,” he stated. Kishore explained that the two employees caught in the ordeal were not severely injured, but they were still shaken up by the incident as they too were beaten and threatened by the bandits.

the bandit culture has taken Guyana, band aid is not the solution, time for amputation, Granger has to be like Desmond Hoyte, fight fire with fire, we need some immediate actions to be put in place while we wait for the tv cameras which by the way will not stop crime in Guyana, Rohee was right when he said "horse and pony show" will not stop crime.

These criminal acts seem to be more directed and prevalent against businesses out of the Georgetown area. They have increased with the new government. Something smells fishy. However, to curb these acts depend on a lot of support from residents providing information - this can be difficult. However, they will be caught and an example should be made with severe penalties. Is mischief afoot to belittle the new Govt? Anyway, crime has to be nipped in the bud. Police to be equipped soonest with communication equipment and adequate transportation vehicles; the force to be also adequately staffed and trained. Some good news emanated from Minister Ramjattan.

Originally Posted by Dharamdeo Sawh:

These criminal acts seem to be more directed and prevalent against businesses out of the Georgetown area. They have increased with the new government. Something smells fishy. However, to curb these acts depend on a lot of support from residents providing information - this can be difficult. However, they will be caught and an example should be made with severe penalties. Is mischief afoot to belittle the new Govt? Anyway, crime has to be nipped in the bud. Police to be equipped soonest with communication equipment and adequate transportation vehicles; the force to be also adequately staffed and trained. Some good news emanated from Minister Ramjattan.

An ardent PPP supporter here posted in May / June that things would get worse, that karma was a bytch and that there would be a backlash. He certainly was prescient, perhaps being well informed by his masters.

I was encouraged to see President Granger meeting with Colonel Khemraj Persaud, COP Seelall Persaud and Ramjattan a month or so ago re crime. I am not in favor of unleashing the army on the citizenry but IF we have paramilitary forces hell bent on unleashing fury on poor old indian ladies and businessmen in order to stain the administration,  then they need to be dealt with by the army. The citizenry are worth much more than the cane punts being sabotaged. Granger better deal with these criminals, and soon, regardless of how much they cry about "ethnic cleansing".

Originally Posted by Itaname:

An ardent PPP supporter here posted in May / June that things would get worse, that karma was a bytch and that there would be a backlash. He certainly was prescient, perhaps being well informed by his masters.

I was encouraged to see President Granger meeting with Colonel Khemraj Persaud, COP Seelall Persaud and Ramjattan a month or so ago re crime. I am not in favor of unleashing the army on the citizenry but IF we have paramilitary forces hell bent on unleashing fury on poor old indian ladies and businessmen in order to stain the administration,  then they need to be dealt with by the army. The citizenry are worth much more than the cane punts being sabotaged. Granger better deal with these criminals, and soon, regardless of how much they cry about "ethnic cleansing".

If shit were sugar, you will be stirring in in your tea. Nothing to prove such a group exists or that there is a systematic approach by criminals to destabilize the govt.

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:

If shit were sugar, you will be stirring in in your tea. Nothing to prove such a group exists or that there is a systematic approach by criminals to destabilize the govt.

How do you explain the escalation of crime immediately after the PPP lost the election ?

It is common knowledge, when some people don't have  their way, they can make it uncomfortable for others, they dislike.

Originally Posted by Tola:

How do you explain the escalation of crime immediately after the PPP lost the election ?

It is common knowledge, when some people don't have  their way, they can make it uncomfortable for others, they dislike.

What you postulated might be correct, but there is no evidence of the existence of such a group or plan. There are many explanations posited by those who post here, many of them just wild guesses and not evidence based.the coalition has criticized the previous government on the crime situation. There has been no reduction in crime, but in all fairness to them, they have been in power for just a short time. This does not console those who have been victims of those crimes.

Z

...nope, nothing to see here. Run along. However, much much ethnic cleansing going on, eh? Never seen you ask your clown cousins here to furnish proof of their claims of ethnic cleansing. Listen fool, gwan dah side with your childish pretense of objectivity.

Please provide the evidence if you have any. All the other stuff you had in your post is what you stir in your tea/coffee. 

Z

Please provide the evidence if you have any. All the other stuff you had in your post is what you stir in your tea/coffee. 

I already exposed your dumb arse for what you are - a poser (look it iup like your ignorant arse had to look up "barefoot"). And if you get offended at being called that then you can thank me!

Name calling proves that you have no argument or evidence. Go stir what you posted in your tea. 

Z
Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Crime affect Indians and Chinese more than Africans in Guyana. Crime hurts the support base of the PPP and not the PNC. Hurt a criminal and he/she becomes a victim in the eyes of the PNC. Basil Williams and Nigel Hughes are quickly on the scene to stir up more racial and political tensions.

TRUE DAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!   GUYANA WILL BE THE NEXT SOMALIA!!!!!!!!!!!

Enterprise businessman robbed by recently released convict

August 21, 2015 | By | Filed Under News

Police on the East Coast of Demerara are on the hunt for a bandit who masterminded a robbery on an Enterprise businessman who is well known.

Hardat Kishore indicates where the bandit gun butted him during Wednesday’s robbery.

The bandit, whose name was given as β€˜Mervin’ or β€˜Buckman’, along with two other men held up businessman Hardat Kishore and his employees at his grocery store on Lincoln Street, Enterprise, and robbed them of cash and other valuables totaling in excess of $1M around 17: 50 hours on Wednesday. The ordeal lasted for about 15 minutes during which Kishore was gun-butted several times, resulting in him sustain injuries to his face. It was the second time within two years that the businessman was robbed, and Wednesday’s incident has left him in a state of frustration, especially since the main perpetrator is someone he is very familiar with, an individual who lives in the adjoining village of Bare Roots. Speaking to this newspaper yesterday, Kishore recalled that it was about ten minutes to six o’clock Wednesday afternoon and he was about to close his business when he saw two strange men coming into the premises. He said that from the men’s appearance, he became a bit suspicious and asked his two employees if they had ever seen them before. The men were unfamiliar to the employees. Nevertheless he entertained the two strange men who requested to purchase a bag of chicken feed. The men were aware that Kishore would have to open the gate at the side of the store to deliver the feed. At the time the businessman did not know that the bandit who is known to him had secreted himself in a position where he could not see him. Since he was closing up at the time, Kishore told one of his employees to sell the men β€œquickly”. According to the businessman, as soon as his employee opened the gate to deliver the bag of feed, the β€œfamiliar” bandit, with gun in hand, pounced on him. Kishore said that he was doing his checking off at the time and when he looked up, β€œa man got a gun to me head, β€˜Mervin’.” While β€˜Mervin’ was holding the businessman at gunpoint, his two accomplices, one of whom was carrying a cutlass, were each controlling an employee. β€œHe say, β€˜don’t move. Whey de f…ing money deh?’ ah tell he look de money deh hey. Mervin was high, like he smoke…was not liquor because I would’a smell it. When he tek de money he say, β€˜dat nah all. Whey de gun? You got a long gun. Whey it deh?’” the businessman recalled. The gun the bandit was referring to happens to belong to the businessman’s brother who presently resides overseas. It is lodged with the police. β€œMe tell he me nah gat gun…de gun ah me buddy one, and me tell he β€˜you know he deh overseas’.” But the bandit began tumbling up the furniture, insisting that the businessman tell him where the gun was. The bandit then turned his attention to the businessman’s brief case which contained another set of cash and some other important documents. β€œMe had stock money…money I had to use to buy stocks; I had about $250,000 in phone cards, he tell de other one, β€˜collect duh’ then he say β€˜whey mo deh?’ and he start fuh pull out all the drawers. I had to tell that that was all I had,” the businessman explained. He said that while demanding the cash the bandit with the gun kept hitting him in his head. β€œMe get two buss head and a boungee,” Kishore stated. He said that the bandits also fetched away a bucket of coins. They then took him and his employees to the front of the shop and then made good their escape in a waiting silver grey Toyota. The businessman told this newspaper that from all indications, someone who had managed to observe what was taking place, must have contacted the police, since the lawmen arrived on the scene within minutes of the robbery. But by then the bandits had disappeared. β€œBy the time I call the police station, they tell me that the police were already there. They collect me and we made a spin for the bandits, but the car de done gone,” the businessman said. Kishore and his family have had his fair share of bandit attacks. Apart from being robbed twice, Kishore and his family had to endure the heart-rending kidnapping of his nephew, Vivekanand Nandalall, which occurred at the beginning of the 2002-2008 crime wave. β€œI feel like me want come off dis business…me ain’t know wha fuh seh. Like it ain’t worth it,” Kishore said. He stated that he is very surprised that someone who is so well known to him would carry out such a brazen attack on him. β€œMe never expect dat from he…and knowing dat like from small me know he. Me used to tek he to school sometimes, when me had bus. Me know he’s a known character, but me nah expect dem fuh do dat to me,” Kishore stated.

Evidence for what? Listen you dullard there is nothing in my post requiring evidence, no declarative statement, no accusation. There is a big bold IF - an open speculation, a thought. No evidence required. So quit prancing around thumping your chest like an idiot!

And since we talking about "evidence", how come you didn't ask your barefoot cousins running around hay accusing the govt of "ethnic cleansing" to supply you with evidence? Yet you come asking me for evidence on my speculative statement. Look, buzz off fool!

Wake up and recognize Granger's agenda.

I would want to believe that when the President came out with his edict of releasing convicted prisoners, he was of the opinion that these persons would have rehabilitate themselves, well no one expected that it would come to this.

Originally Posted by asj:

And so one might assumed that the President Grainger's human face, of releasing dozens of convicted criminals, has certainly backfired it has backfired in the sense that one can maybe now call it ethnic cleansing.

Convicted criminals has been released on the President's

Is this bandit one of the convicts released by Granger? I don't see anything in this article which states that.
Originally Posted by Mars:

And so one might assumed that the President Grainger's human face, of releasing dozens of convicted criminals, has certainly backfired it has backfired in the sense that one can maybe now call it ethnic cleansing.

Is this bandit one of the convicts released by Granger? I don't see anything in this article which states that.

Enterprise businessman robbed by recently released convict

August 21, 2015 | By | Filed Under News

Because of the KN Headline, quote I stated that "one might assumed."

Maybe following trends of the kind of robbery and murders that we are having, maybe we should find out the names of those criminals that were released.........and then look at the trend of  those being robbed and murdered. 

And maybe we can judge whether it is ethnic cleansing or not.

Originally Posted by gogo:

the bandit culture has taken Guyana, band aid is not the solution, time for amputation, Granger has to be like Desmond Hoyte, fight fire with fire, we need some immediate actions to be put in place while we wait for the tv cameras which by the way will not stop crime in Guyana, Rohee was right when he said "horse and pony show" will not stop crime.

It is  not a bandit culture. It is a junkie apocalypse. Having permitted the society to be flooded by drugs by turning a blind eye, the result is an infestation of junkies in every village and town and city. These  are literally dead men and women walking.

They have to get a daily fix. That costs. They fill the financial gap by doing stickup jobs, petty theft and simple cons. That is how they get by. The fellow who attacked this man is a family friend, known to him and not someone he expected to harm him. But then he did not factor in the junkie effect.

We cannot come out of this for another year or so. We have no treatment centers and have just begun to attack the supply conduits. A drug mercantile culture is not easily uprooted since it is embedded in "legitimate" business. Removing it will demand some "upstanding citizens" get their comeuppance for being underground drug lords.

Evidence for what? Listen you dullard there is nothing in my post requiring evidence, no declarative statement, no accusation. There is a big bold IF - an open speculation, a thought. No evidence required. So quit prancing around thumping your chest like an idiot!

And since we talking about "evidence", how come you didn't ask your barefoot cousins running around hay accusing the govt of "ethnic cleansing" to supply you with evidence? Yet you come asking me for evidence on my speculative statement. Look, buzz off fool!

Hey, I Did recognize your IF and made the satement about shit. My other response was that there was no evidence. It seems that you want to take issue with that. Please read my previous posts on other topics regarding some of the stuff posted in this site. Furthermore, might want to enlighten me as to my barefoot cousins on this site. Again, you calling names just depreciates you. I was going to respond that it takes a fool to know one, but since I am not a fool, I will leave you to figure out yourself. Carry on!

Z

Quit being a hyperventilation ass and focus on what is real and not what you imaging. There is not evidence that this fellow came from the lot pardoned by President Granger. One can have problems with the manner and mode of his pardon but do not mix oranges with your grapes. This individual is just another normal recidivist who are, if one is to speculate, would represent a statistics be even greater than here in the US. The ethnic cleansing rant makes you even more clownish than serious.

I would want to believe that when the President came out with his edict of releasing convicted prisoners, he was of the opinion that these persons would have rehabilitate themselves, well no one expected that it would come to this.

I suspected he had an ulterior motive when he said that 60 convicted criminals will be released each year. Early release of criminals was tried in NY for decades. It never worked. Longer jail sentences and stricter supervision of those released worked in New York. We are now one of the safest city in America. Who could have believed it?

you speak from a position of high ignorance . . . but why should anybady be surprised

What evidence do you have that this bandit is one of the released convicts?

Prison does not work. It has become a model that has failed badly. It is a puritanical penitentiary model that unfortunately the world has copied to their detriment. We speak of these things as though they were always part of t he fabric of how communities dealt with wrong doers.

Granger is right that one should not jail kids for petty crimes. It makes them into lifelong criminals. He however needed professionals to select those to be released ( and I do not know that he did not), and that the release should be conditioned on no re offending and counseling plus  good behavior plus self improvement benchmarks to be met for  the release meaningful.

Warehousing people in lockups should not be the default model for prisoners. Many nations are attempting different models and with sound results. We need to try newer approaches as well that rehabilitates citizens and make punishment for crimes be contingent with victim restitution and victimizer actually confronting the social consequences of his/her actions. The Prison model as it exist is a university for criminals.

[Mervin was high, like he smoke…was not liquor because I would’a smell it. When he tek de money he say, β€˜dat nah all. Whey de gun? You got a long gun. Whey it deh?’” the businessman recalled. The gun the bandit was referring to happens to belong to the businessman’s brother who presently resides overseas. It is lodged with the police.]

[β€œMe never expect dat from he…and knowing dat like from small me know he. Me used to tek he to school sometimes, when me had bus. Me know he’s a known character, but me nah expect dem fuh do dat to me,”]

This is a crime committed by a druggie,he need to be

arrested prosecuted and get in to rehab.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Prison does not work. It has become a model that has failed badly. It is a puritanical penitentiary model that unfortunately the world has copied to their detriment. We speak of these things as though they were always part of t he fabric of how communities dealt with wrong doers.

Granger is right that one should not jail kids for petty crimes. It makes them into lifelong criminals. He however needed professionals to select those to be released ( and I do not know that he did not), and that the release should be conditioned on no re offending and counseling plus  good behavior plus self improvement benchmarks to be met for  the release meaningful.

Warehousing people in lockups should not be the default model for prisoners. Many nations are attempting different models and with sound results. We need to try newer approaches as well that rehabilitates citizens and make punishment for crimes be contingent with victim restitution and victimizer actually confronting the social consequences of his/her actions. The Prison model as it exist is a university for criminals.

There is no evidence that this crime was committed by one of the persons released by the new government. Jails are rarely successful in rehabilitating criminals so it makes sense for persons in jail for petty crimes be released with proper supervision and support for them to transition to a more productive life. The transition process must be effectively managed. We need to examine new ways of approaching petty crimes. Think about restorative justice.  We need to increase the number of jobs got youths leaving the education system. We need to critically look at the transition from school to work so that it is seamless.

regardingthe release of the 60 inmates, much of the debate would have been reduced if there was transparency, if the government had at least, without giving names, categorized the types of crimes those released had committed.

Z

More than 80% of criminals are not even apprehended and those who are apprehended rarely every get convicted. Releasing those convicted and serving time is only adding to a problem that devastating our society. If the gov't is serious about fighting crime they should be focusing on making more arrests, vigorous prosecution, and longer jail sentences. Releasing criminals only serves the PNC politically.

Can you extrapolate,how this will benefit the sitting gov't.

Releasing people convicted for petty crimes helps rather than hurt society. A young pregnant woman ( 21 years)  was sent to jail for 3 years for possession of a few grams of weed. She has no right being in jail since the consequence of prison means her child gets handed of to a relative increasing the chances of it being neglected and she wastes three years of her young life where probation and benchmarks ie going to school could make her a better person.

If there is poor crime solving and bad evidence collection and case creation by prosecutors that is another problem.