May 14, 2017 Source

Endeavour is on the eastern end of the island of Leguan in the Essequibo River and home to less than 200 residents, most of whom farm for a living.

To get to Leguan once you arrive at Parika, you could either use the ferry, MV Makouria, or take a speedboat, which gets you to the island in 15 minutes. I chose the latter and found myself seated next to a worker employed on the Makouria, who had missed the vessel by half an hour. The speedboat had no shed, so the operator gave each passenger a piece of leatherette to cover with, which we held tightly in our hands, to protect us from the fury of the Essequibo pelting in at us. Over the noise of the outboard engine, the Makouria worker loudly explained that when travelling to Leguan via speedboat, one should sit on the left hand side of the boat as water would come into the boat on the right and do the reverse on the return journey. I was, unfortunately, already seated on the wrong side.

At the Leguan Stelling taxis wait to take passengers to their respective villages. Five minutes later, I was in Endeavour and the first sight was a pair of hefty-looking oxen walking through a dam. Farm animals roaming the village is common. A quick browse reveals that people do not care for fences and the few who do have fences, see no need for gates.

A horse drawn cart parked at the side of the road attracted a few customers. One of them was Annette Ragnauth, who had left her home in Canefield (the last village on the eastern side) 13 years ago after getting married. She lives with her husband and three sons in Endeavour.

The carts and mobile vans, Ragnauth said, usually pass through to provide the villagers with necessities, but there isn’t much need since many persons have their own farms or kitchen gardens.

“Here you can plant your own greens,” she said. “My husband would get fish in the backdam: hassa, hurri, patwa, sunfish and shrimp.” In August, when the crabs are marching they make the most of them.

While we talked, her sons returned home from school having had only half-day sessions and sat inside watching the television. They access 12 television channels. Her youngest son attends the Eastern Leguan Primary and her two older sons, the community high.

Though it was the start of the rainy season, the sun shone brightly, but breezes kept the place cool. Endeavour, Ragnauth said, would flood if there are heavy downpours but the water doesn’t remain on land for long. When it rains heavily, she explained, drivers find it difficult to get in and out of the village, and in dry weather the road still poses a problem as it makes it easier for the wind to pick up the red dust and deposit it wherever, like on her nicely cleaned louvres. But she said Endeavour is a lovely place to live and she hopes the road can be upgraded to make life easier.

“Long ago the old people had mud houses according to my grandparents,” Anita Sankar, Ragnauth’s next door neighbour began. “Some of the houses had bamboo for foundation which they paste mud on and around and they use the troolie for the roof.

“When I was little, life was so good. My parents use to plant a lot of rice. We use to go with them when they had to harvest it and use to help them cut the rice, go-around the bulls to mash the straws….long ago we didn’t had combine and tractor. After we would go swimming and have bush cook. Life was hard but still good. We use the flambeau lamp to get light and use to daub the bottom house. People still daub today but they don’t use them hands like we used to long time; they use mop stick.”

She added that horse carts were the mode of transportation then; either that or you walked, the most common mode. Residents today usually call a taxi, though most persons prefer to use their bicycles to get around; school children would ride or walk to their respective schools. There is one bus, the woman explained, that passes through the village three times a day (6 am, 10 am and 2 pm) to take persons to catch the Makouria or to transport persons getting off. Often, the bus is only half full; it sometimes remains empty on some of its runs.

Nearby, Sankar’s eight-year-old daughter Kelly, home after a half-day session as  well and her mother-in-law Shakila Mahase eavesdropped on our conversation. Mahase, who lives in a flat downstairs, pointed to some of the boards on the house, which lend character to the structure. She said they were taken from a logie. According to the older woman, 58 years ago when she married her husband and he took her to Endeavour to live with him and his family, she met a four-room logee with a gallery (a narrow hallway passage) attached, which they used as a kitchen.

Both women agreed that living in Endeavour is a privilege as they are able to farm and do not have to buy everything they need. Another advantage they boasted about was living in a crime-free and peaceful environment where neighbours are always on the lookout for each other.

Rice farmers, Sankar said, are still trying to keep things afloat. Though there is always a demand for rice, the price paid for paddy is measly. “When the previous government was in power we got $4,000 for a bag paddy…. But now we get only $1,500 a bag. I’m appealing to the government to raise the price for paddy ’cause we still have to find money to take care of our expenses: buy fertilizers, medicine, purchase paddy and pay workmanship. When the paddy sell so cheap, you ain’t making anything.”

Leaving the family, we found Patsy Reedon seated outside her yard on a bench. In 1962 when she married, she left her home in Aurora on the Essequibo Coast for the island.

“In those days it was similar to life on the coast so it was easy to adjust,” Reedon said. The only adjustment she found a bit difficult was missing her family, but there was nothing to be done except for writing letters and even the letters came and went seldom. Those were the days of the telegram, but according to Reedon, telegrams weren’t sent unless there was an emergency or the matter was urgent. “You use to go to the post office, you tell them to send the telegram, tell them who you sending to and what happened; if the person sick or dead. By the time you send it, they get it only a few minutes later. People never really send telegram just so, you usually had a cause….like say anybody sick and not them kinda plaything sick,” she stated.

Whenever the rare opportunity arrived for her to visit her relatives, she took the steamer, paying a return fare of $2.65 from Leguan to Adventure.

The 72-year-old widow recalled never having to work in the fields before but arriving on Leguan and finding herself working side by side with her husband, planting and cutting rice.

Speaking about how different it is today, she said, “The earlier days had more open [minded] people who socialized more. The older people used to be more loving and kind. Nowadays generation ain’t got that; number one they ain’t got manners.”

Over the years, Reedon has seen Endeavour develop to having a road, potable water and electricity. Asking whether she saw need for further development, she replied, “If any other developments come, I welcome it but if it doesn’t, it’s still okay.”

Eighty-two-year-old Basdeo is the oldest in the village and has only one name. He was born in Amsterdam, Leguan, the neighbouring village. Now retired, he reminisced about backdam life.

“Long time backdam life was very nice,” he said. “You work hard but you use to get everything for yourself. Nowadays you work hard and you not getting anything. Long time even them lady work in the backdam. Them work backdam today and tonight they get baby and a week later they back in the backdam working again.”

Basdeo said his work day started at five in the morning and ran until seven at night. When it was time to harvest, the houses were empty as men, women, and children were all in the backdam working together. They were no combines, so they cut the rice with grass knives. At the end of the crop, he found other work around the backdam and village to do but according to the man, no matter how hard you worked, you lived a life of abundance.

He remembers well, going with his bull cart to Enterprise, another village three miles away, to draw water from the well to drink. This wasn’t the norm as they normally used rain water; it was during the dry season that he made such trips. He said he had grown up hearing his father talk about the dry seasons before there were any wells, when they depended on a vessel called the Bazra to bring black water from Bartica for the people on the island.

Speaking of long ago, he shared that the men used to wear a piece of stretchy clothing called ‘singlets’ which their put around their necks and went all the way to their ankles. He laughed as he remembered wearing them himself.

This led him to talking about the young girls back then, who, after school, learnt sewing; he lamented that this does not happen anymore.

Another distressing thing for Basdeo, although he doesn’t farm anymore, is the way the rice industry has declined. “People just stop planting rice. It got guys with more than 80 acres of rice but because they barely making a profit, they just stop planting,” he lamented.

Villagers buying items from horse drawn cart vendor.

Anita Sankar

Anita Sankar's daughter Kelly purchasing chicken patty from pastry vendor.

Anita's mother-in-law Shakila Mahase watering plants.

Shakila Mahase house has boards from the logie she lived in when she moved here after getting married 58 yrs ago.

Anette Ragnauth

A pair of hefty looking oxen walking through a dam.

Farm animals roaming the village is common.

A villager throws his net from the stelling.

Bicycles are main mode of transportation in Endeavour.

Basdeo

Basdeo daughter cleaning blue crabs,commonly known as "bundari"

Traps used to catch crabs.

Gilly, working on phone systems all day....when me wuk...de las ting me wan to do at home, is fix annada phone. So cut Django som slak na man, de bai  serving modda day breakfast. You no how much dem chillren eat too...

Plus, de world hacking mus catch up wid he computa. Good excuse fa fall down pan de job.

Django, me second de man, get u ass in gear na bai and show abie de pictcha.  Me na no double crassa and not even a double dressa.

Tola posted:

Gilly, working on phone systems all day....when me wuk...de las ting me wan to do at home, is fix annada phone. So cut Django som slak na man, de bai  serving modda day breakfast. You no how much dem chillren eat too...

Plus, de world hacking mus catch up wid he computa. Good excuse fa fall down pan de job.

Django, me second de man, get u ass in gear na bai and show abie de pictcha.  Me na no double crassa and not even a double dressa.

Tola bai, you think the man wood computah got hacked?

Life in those days was simple. No phones, radio, or any electronics. A bicycle was all you needed. Those good days are gone forever.

Tola posted:

Life in those days was simple. No phones, radio, or any electronics. A bicycle was all you needed. Those good days are gone forever.

Skelly, Django might be too high tech for a wooden computa, but the electronics that matters.

Me rememba how critical some were of Gerhard's wooden computa case. I jus Google it and discovered lots of people doing the same, including a university prof hea, who is mass producing dem.

Albion and other sugar estate telephone system in the 1960s were manual. The fibre systems here is recently manufactured.

Forty years ago, tel switching and billing equipment covered five floors of a large building, serving 40,000 people. We were given ear muffs to enter the room with Strowger switches, due to  the noise.  The round mag billing tapes were eighteen inches  across. Today a more efficient system doing  a better job, covers less than half of one floor. But the huge battery packs were not able to be made smaller. With the demand of the space program, in time, I believe smaller affordable batteries will be available.

Tola posted:

Skelly, Django might be too high tech for a wooden computa, but the electronics that matters.

Me rememba how critical some were of Gerhard's wooden computa case. I jus Google it and discovered lots of people doing the same, including a university prof hea, who is mass producing dem.

Albion and other sugar estate telephone system in the 1960s were manual. The fibre systems here is recently manufactured.

Forty years ago, tel switching and billing equipment covered five floors of a large building, serving 40,000 people. We were given ear muffs to enter the room with Strowger switches, due to  the noise.  The round mag billing tapes were eighteen inches  across. Today a more efficient system doing  a better job, covers less than half of one floor. But the huge battery packs were not able to be made smaller. With the demand of the space program, in time, I believe smaller affordable batteries will be available.

Seeing you are now the resident expert on wooden computers and all things tech, why don't you ask Massa Granger for a grant to build wooden computers.  That's exactly what the PNC needs to lift the "nose" up.  Wooden computers with fibre system.

Now, WTF does that have to do with the Space program, does Guyana have a space program??

I have to admit, this mission looks like it stand a better chance than the now defunct Suicide Missions!  After all, Guyana is a very "woody" country!

Mi amigo Djanjo. Que los images no foundo? Usted electronics/computer maestro, no es verdad? Show the blasted images, man.

Sorry bro,i can see the images with Firefox Browser [which i used mostly with security settings] cant see the pics with Google Browser,

ok i will repost images.

Jackass Granger bring $1500 a bag down on their heads when he buse down Maduro:

Rice farmers, Sankar said, are still trying to keep things afloat. Though there is always a demand for rice, the price paid for paddy is measly. “When the previous government was in power we got $4,000 for a bag paddy…. But now we get only $1,500 a bag. I’m appealing to the government to raise the price for paddy ’cause we still have to find money to take care of our expenses: buy fertilizers, medicine, purchase paddy and pay workmanship. When the paddy sell so cheap, you ain’t making anything.”

Jagdeo cowered while in the presence of Maduro...Granger on the other hand put the madman in his place.

And the collie man pay the price with 1500 a bag for paddie. It is all good to have fat talk at the expense of farmers. 

Villagers buying items from horse drawn cart vendor.

Anita Sankar's daughter Kelly purchasing chicken patty from pastry vendor.

Anita Sankar

Anita's mother-in-law Shakila Mahase watering plants.

Shakila Mahase house has boards from the logie she lived in when she moved here after getting married 58 yrs ago.

Anette Ragnauth

Basdeo

Basdeo daughter cleaning blue crabs,commonly known as "bundari"

Bicycles are main mode of transportation in Endeavour.

A villager throws his net from the stelling.

A pair of hefty looking oxen walking through a dam.

Farm animals roaming the village is common.

Traps used to catch crabs.

Alyuh need to pull your head out of the sand and understand the reasons for the termination of the Petro Caribe rice deal,the most high prices paid for Guyana's rice.

Baseman,  since when is your name Skelly, .... AssWipe.

Like you turn  antiman stalking people on GNI, by sniffing the odour from their backside.  Things must not  be well at home.
Be careful  Bai, before you have another repeat personal episode.  You know how  painful that could be.
When  are you going to apologise to the people at Bangalore for screwing up their lives and  recommend to your East Coast board to return Granger grant money.  Or better yet, as a board member, will you recommend how the money is used. Do you live in mansions, like hogs in a trough ?
You condemn  and criticise  the PNC, yet you take their money... Hypocrite !!

Does your family know that you are looking for some antiman action ? When are you going to tell them ?
I hope you don't talk to your kids the way you write on GNI, because they will turn out just like you : A very angry and depressed person.

Quit stalking  people on GNI by sniffing their ass. Like you looking for some manly action.          I am not into your lifestyle, so look elsewhere.

Let me know when I can stop telling GNI what a great humanless piece of shit  you are, in a two dollar suit, standing alone on a pedestal.

Don't go blow a seal now, because your heart might not handle it.

Django, I am sorry for spoiling this beautiful topic and photographs, but this needs to be said.

I visited Leguan  a few times  in the 1960's and remember the long straight road with the horse cart vendor.

It would seem the old ramp at the stelling was there at that time.   

Tola posted:

I had a pocket radio in the early 70's,

walking on Waterloo St from Middle St,heading to home at Durban and Smyth St at 11.30 pm,two afro fellas on a bicycle heading the opposite direction, one shouted give me that radio,i stopped turn to their direction and said come for it,they never did,they went along their way.

Tola posted:

I had a pocket radio in the early 70's,

walking on Waterloo St from Middle St,heading to home at Durban and Smyth St at 11.30 pm,two afro fellas on a bicycle heading the opposite direction, one shouted give me that radio,i stopped turn to their direction and said come for it,they never did,they went along their way.

I had a similar experience after seeing the movie Ben Hur in GT. While walking home, a guy demanded my money, just a few coins, but when I raised my voice and said 'come and get am na', he walked away.

I also had a transistor radio in the 1960's and while working nights at Albion, when there is seldom traffic on the radio/transmitter. I would attach the radio antenna to my transistor antenna  and listen to foreign stations, including Dutch fishermen in the Atlantic. But I was fascinated by the unknown Morse code, that later became another language after school in Canada and on ships.    

Si Este hombre no entiende ingles, como puede entender espanol!

smh

Is alright bai. She was replying to me, not to you. She seh if da man Django na know prappa English, how de rass he go know Spanish. I hope nothing was lost in translation.

Si Este hombre no entiende ingles, como puede entender espanol!

smh

Is alright bai. She was replying to me, not to you. She seh if da man Django na know prappa English, how de rass he go know Spanish. I hope nothing was lost in translation.

Este hombre trae la basura de mierda para la PNC, tu ultimo empleo. 

Señor Drugb, estás provocando al hombre Django. Nah badda wid me "last wuk", me happy right now.

Amral posted:

I have only been to leguan once. School trip

Been there a few times. Beautiful island. I saw my first and only Kerosene Refrigerator, and got my first bird cage from a family friend, there.

Amral posted:

Been there a few times. Beautiful island. I saw my first and only Kerosene Refrigerator, and got my first bird cage from a family friend, there.

GT, your post reminds me of some good memories about our kerosene   refrigerator  and the many custard ice-blocks  we had as kids. We also had a kerosene stove with bake-oven.

The kerosene clothes-iron, that had to be pumped with air every now and again like a gas lamp,  would sometimes flare-up and we had to be careful that the clothes is not set on fire.

Similar to a wood burning fireplace chimney, the kerosene fridge chimney had to be cleaned  often, with  a long brush.  

Amral posted:

Cain she has a husband and 3 sons. They will kill yuh rass

Me hope cain appreciate he frens, who have to constantly look afta he backside, or he might run outta bail money. 

All I said was the woman lookin good and now yall got me gettin chop up, hehehe

Dem Leguan people like Port Mourant people, dem chop first, den ask what you lookin at.  

Be careful Bro, Guyana wan dangerous place, even fa jus lokin at someting nice.

De island name Leg-uan, so don't even think ah lokin at legs, or you kak duk.   

Tola posted:
Amral posted:

GT, your post reminds me of some good memories about our kerosene   refrigerator  and the many custard ice-blocks  we had as kids. We also had a kerosene stove with bake-oven.

The kerosene clothes-iron, that had to be pumped with air every now and again like a gas lamp,  would sometimes flare-up and we had to be careful that the clothes is not set on fire.

Similar to a wood burning fireplace chimney, the kerosene fridge chimney had to be cleaned  often, with  a long brush.  

That was the only time I ever saw a kerosene refrigerator. When my parents got married they had a kerosene stove with the inverted bottle and a kerosene oven. Lose your memories and you lose your identity.

Cain, you will piss your pants when you see the man sharpening his cutlass. Two broadside on your ass and you might even sh*t your pants too. Be careful what you wished for.

Something about dat cutlish does frighten the rass outta me. I'd sooner go up against a gun. Gun might miss. Dem cane cutter gat pelting chop down to a science.

Alyuh need to pull your head out of the sand and understand the reasons for the termination of the Petro Caribe rice deal,the most high prices paid for Guyana's rice.

HAHAHA You head permanently stuck in YUh kakahole!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!