Empty goals, unrealistic promises will lead to nowhere

Dear Editor, There were lofty and exciting promises made by the APNU/AFC coalition when in opposition, promises that would cause anyone to want to vote for them. They promised the electorate the sun the moon and the stars, nice, giddying promises to keep anyone in an all time high. As a result we would have reached the state of nirvana where there is only perfect peace and happiness.

They spoke of a Utopian society where the young would get jobs almost overnight – that is within the first 100 days of taking office. The old would receive pensions that are so comfortable that they can take overseas trips and bask in retired splendour.

The Berbice Bridge toll would be lowered, in fact all taxes would be lowered. The value added tax would have been lowered to nothingness and prices kept at a minimum. And last but by no means least, wages and salaries would rise significantly placing us on par with the best of the Caribbean. But that was all said when they were in the opposition and things suited their aspirations to office. Now that they are in office when the truth hits home, they have realized that these goals are unrealistic to say the least and unattainable at best.

They have backpedaled, gone back on those words of a Utopian lifestyle to statements to the effect that “we would have to review our position”. We are also burdened with excuses such “millions are missing” as well as “the treasury is empty”.  But like I said before these things had no real significance when on the campaign trail, it has now.

You would understand that all of the above factors they lavishly promised represent monies flowing out of the public coffers which would result in a drastic rise in inflation. This the opposition, now turn government, did not envisage.

On the other hand commonsense dictates that more emphasis should be placed on income generating programmes whereby there would be less dependence on the national treasury.

A wise government would increase production in sectors such as forestry, fishing, mining and agriculture, consolidating traditional ones, while broadening the scope of others on the international market.

Have value added to our already burgeoning agricultural export products. Seeing rice is doing tremendously well we can have rice cereals among other products.

Diversify some of the traditional agro-based industries and bring in newer projects such as the cut flower industry – this is a huge income earner on the European market. It has the potential to generate lots of income. We have the land we have the agricultural expertise the only thing left is the political will to launch out.

Then there is tourism still in its infancy and has huge potential on the economic success stage. All the Caribbean Islands depend on it, without it they will not survive.

With the country opening up to investors construction industry will boom, we will see builders and construction workers getting jobs as well as the new commercial entities opening up even more avenues for employment.

These are some of the plans and projections already started by the PPP/C which should have seen a continued trend in the developmental goals of the new administration.  But these are not the objectives of the new government.

All of those plans policies and what have you came to a screeching halt with  APNU’s accession to office.  At present we see a party stuck with the difficult task of rewarding party cronies for the dirty work they did in bringing them to power. There is not an inkling of development wise, income gathering programmes.

Hence, I will sum up the whole affair by repeating what I’ve said earlier, that none of the promises made during the election campaign would come to fruition.

Finally, the road we have embarked on would certainly bring this country to ruin, we are in for some bitter days.

Neil Adams

We will be waiting forever for these:

'They spoke of a Utopian society where the young would get jobs almost overnight – that is within the first 100 days of taking office. The old would receive pensions that are so comfortable that they can take overseas trips and bask in retired splendour.

The Berbice Bridge toll would be lowered, in fact all taxes would be lowered. The value added tax would have been lowered to nothingness and prices kept at a minimum. And last but by no means least, wages and salaries would rise significantly placing us on par with the best of the Caribbean. But that was all said when they were in the opposition and things suited their aspirations to office. Now that they are in office when the truth hits home, they have realized that these goals are unrealistic to say the least and unattainable at best'

Originally Posted by alena06:

How many of these are work in progress?  NONE.

Then your PPP/C is to be blamed. A low breed like you is too stupid to understand that.

Careful now bai. She might get really nasty and call you "black skin"

We all know that being Black is the worst thing possible to happen to anyone. One must be born white skinned in order to have value as a human being

Originally Posted by alena06:

How many of these are work in progress?  NONE.

Then your PPP/C is to be blamed. A low breed like you is too stupid to understand that.

Careful now bai. She might get really nasty and call you "black skin"

We all know that being Black is the worst thing possible to happen to anyone. One must be born white skinned in order to have value as a human being

If her face was on fire, I would stomped it out, and that would be an improvement. You would think she is in perpetual WIP.

Here's something to go wid dah can of condense milk fuh throw pon yuh ugly face gyal:

Shaitaan, If Alena is ugly then I will stay 1000 yard away from you!!  You open your senseless mouth because you can. Alena is better than you in every way possible, she just dont talk about it.

Rome was not built in a day?

Patience.

100 days first.

HAHAHA  I never thought Uncle Nehru slogan will continue on GNI.  Same man go out, same man comw in. POOR GUYANA.

GUYANA GONE FUH CHANNA!!!

Here's something to go wid dah can of condense milk fuh throw pon yuh ugly face gyal:

Shaitaan, If Alena is ugly then I will stay 1000 yard away from you!!  You open your senseless mouth because you can. Alena is better than you in every way possible, she just dont talk about it.

Well I expect all white women like Alena to be better than me

After all I'm just some "Black skin" aloo peeler

The Coalition will do much better than the PPP.

They will shoot themselves in the foot when they become too Afrocentric and ignore half of the people.  They keep repeating the lack of diversity mistakes.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

They will shoot themselves in the foot when they become too Afrocentric and ignore half of the people.  They keep repeating the lack of diversity mistakes.

YOU SEEM TO HAVE ZERO KNOWLEDGE OF THE PNC.  It is the most undemocratic, Violent, hostile and brutal Organization in the World. "Coolies" like Al YUh being very NAIVE can fall for any CRAP.  Wait and see!!!

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

Let me explain some hard truths to you.

The APNU+AFC Coalition contingent of qualified competent people is largely Black/Mixed. These people worked hard to produce the victory. They have to be accommodated. That's how parties work. Patronage is just a reality. One has to be in it to win it. Also be on the right side.

If your AFC Mosaic types have candidates for various positions, then what in God's name is stopping ya'll from demanding that your competent qualified people get some patronage too? I suspect I know the answer. The answer is quite simple that ya'll are an endogamous clique that have not the will to expand so you don't really have anyone even if ya'll were so inclined to recommend to Granger alternatives.

Rome was not built in a day?

Patience.

100 days first.

Every Guyanese has been saying that since the beginning of time.

'Rome was not built in a day' is a  cop out.