http://www.ted.com/talks/sally...nal_correctness.html

I looked at this video recently and I like it, so I want to share it with my fellow GNIers. Please don't get caught up in the lifestyle the speaker has chosen. Listen to her message. We can all benefit from it. I encourage all posters to be circumspect on this thread. If you wish to say something inappropriate to another poster, please, please start your own thread

Here is an excerpt from the transcript:

Emotional correctness is the tone, the feeling, how we say what we say, the respect and compassion we show one another. 

We spend so much time talking past each other and not enough time talking through our disagreements, and if we can start to find compassion for one another, then we have a shot at building common ground. It actually sounds really hokey to say it standing up here, but when you try to put it in practice, it's really powerful.

Our challenge is to find the compassion for others that we want them to have for us. That is emotional correctness.

Originally Posted by Miraver:

Can someone please post the video for me? I tried. All I got is that empty space between my text and the excerpt.

Mira:

Regarding disagreements, insults, etc, etc---It's human nature.

* When people don't agree with you---especially your political or religious views---they will pelt all the smears and insults and false accusations in your face---they will slander you and call you names.

* Over in POLITICAL the Rev is probably the only Republican and I also support the PPP---so I get cussed repeatedly---and I have a good laugh at the personal attacks----detractors can be very creative in their insults.

* Of course the Rev is no angel or Pope Francis---Rev coined the phrase CUFFY LOVER over in political----dem PNC/AFC boys would disembowel me if they had a chance.hahahaha

* My peeve is with folks who bring their nastiness from political to the threads here in SOCIAL.

* I believe there should be a ZERO TOLERANCE for personal insults and attacks in SOCIAL.

* SOCIAL is where we should come to laugh and have fun and be light hearted.

* By the way, Republican(Conservative) Rev is like Sean Hannity---COOL, CALM AND COLLECTED.  Kind, sweet, loving, thoughtful, empathetic, etc, etc, etc---Oh! And a good LISTENER too.

* NICE VIDEO ABOVE---Sally is 100% right---Us CONSERVATIVES are, indeed, cut from a different cloth.hahahaha

Originally Posted by chameli:

[] I encourage all posters to be circumspect on this thread. If you wish to say something inappropriate to another poster, please, please start your own thread[]

now that i have quoted and highlighted the above, i will read the rest of the post

hecklers pay heed

Cham, you'll like the presentation. Enjoy!

[] I encourage all posters to be circumspect on this thread. If you wish to say something inappropriate to another poster, please, please start your own thread[]

now that i have quoted and highlighted the above, i will read the rest of the post

hecklers pay heed

I am sitting here with my pop corn. Interesting talk!

Mira:

Regarding disagreements, insults, etc, etc---It's human nature.

NICE VIDEO ABOVE---Sally is 100% right---Us CONSERVATIVES are, indeed, cut from a different cloth.hahahaha

Rev, I'm glad you find the video nice. It is also human nature to be polite and thoughtful. However, at times we seem to chuck our values and behave in a manner that doesn't consider the feelings of others at all. We are all a work in progress.

hecklers pay heed

Mit, TED talks offer a wide variety of interesting videos. Enjoy!

hecklers pay heed

Mit, TED talks offer a wide variety of interesting videos. Enjoy!

Thanks! Will view them.

That is an excellent topic that you raised there, Miraver.
The lady raises an important point not only in building relationships but by honestly using empathy as a tool in emotional correctness as she calls it. Good CEOs have mastered this concept to their advantage. I recommend a book that I had to read years ago in management classes....Crucial Conversations". By Kerry Patterson and others. Stephen Covey gives a great foreword in the book.

But back to your video....excellent! We can learn so much from that...especially here on GNI!

TI

Rev, It is also human nature to be polite and thoughtful.

* Of course it's human to be polite and thoughtful.

* But unless you are the POPE or a Mother Teresa type--someone filled with perennial empathy, warmth, compassion and understanding----your EGO will get the better of you sometimes.

* And when your EGO rules---that's when you find yourself being arrogant, judgmental and egotistical.

* I see nothing wrong with folks flying off the handle when discussing contentious topics like politics and religion---it's par for the course.

* But over here in SOCIAL---it would be nice if some folks refrain from the personal attacks and insults----and be kind, polite, thoughtful and respectful.

* For the most part 90% of the posters in SOCIAL are nice and sweet.

Originally Posted by TI:

I recommend a book that I had to read years ago in management classes....Crucial Conversations". By Kerry Patterson and others.

TI:

* You can recommend the New York public library.

* Reading is the easy part.

* But how many people put the knowledge and theory they acquire from books, etc into practice ? Things like knowledge and theory are valueless---useless--unless or until you put them into practice.

* Obviously CEO's do---but most people don't.

* That's why you have slaves(most people) and slave masters(CEO's), who put into practice the theories and knowledge they acquire.

* Most people have read the bible, the Koran, the gita, etc----they all teach how to live good lives----how many people put into practice the teachings of those great books ?

I beg to differ on people flying off the handle when others do not agree with them. Emotions don't just happen. Others don't make you mad, you make yourself mad. You can either act on your emotions, or be acted on my them. 

You saw the Congressman threatening to throw the reporter off the balcony? Today he is eating humble pie

TI
Originally Posted by TI:

That is an excellent topic that you raised there, Miraver.
The lady raises an important point not only in building relationships but by honestly using empathy as a tool in emotional correctness as she calls it. Good CEOs have mastered this concept to their advantage. I recommend a book that I had to read years ago in management classes....Crucial Conversations". By Kerry Patterson and others. Stephen Covey gives a great foreword in the book.

But back to your video....excellent! We can learn so much from that...especially here on GNI!

TI, as I said earlier, we are all a WIP and yes, we can learn a lot from the video. Covey and his seven habits...good read. I have here on my desk a calendar from 2009 (from 7 habits) and on January 29th, the quote is this: Our behavior is a function of our decisions, not our conditions. 

Rev,

Yes, wars have been fought over religion by readers of the good books, but I think that's the whole point of the video. People who matter will step back and think.

Not everyone can attain emotional correctness, but I can tell you it works great in building relationships, and developing a charismatic personality.

TI
Originally Posted by TI:

I beg to differ on people flying off the handle when others do not agree with them. Emotions don't just happen. Others don't make you mad, you make yourself mad. You can either act on your emotions, or be acted on by them. 

You saw the Congressman threatening to throw the reporter off the balcony? Today he is eating humble pie

TI:

* I agree with what you're saying.

* As the old saying goes, "it's not he who reviles or strikes you who insults you, but your opinion that these things are insulting."

* People who are easily insulted take things personally.

* You'll also find that insults are arguments used by those in the wrong.

* Why do you believe those PNC/AFC folks in POLITICAL are always verbally attacking us PPP supporters----they are mostly in the WRONG.hahahaha

* Anyway, I maintain that in SOCIAL----a few posters should endeavor to be more respectful---no name callings and personal attacks in SOCIAL.

Originally Posted by TI:

Rev,

Not everyone can attain emotional correctness, but I can tell you it works great in building relationships, and developing a charismatic personality.

TI:

* Emotional correctness doesn't just happen.

* You gotta have self assurance, self confidence, self-respect, empathy, compassion, kindness, etc, before you acquire emotional correctness.

* And by the way, a man knows he has arrived when the lady or ladies in his life are enamored by his charm and charisma.hahahaha

Rev, your posts show that you have implicit bias and structural racism baked into your  genes. Why do you mask the N-word? Why do you race bait to promote your political bias? I think you are emotionally vacuous; other wise you would not have made those insensitive posts about the woman jumping off the building and getting a high from her nudity.

Who vex, vex!

Last edited by Mitwah

I looked at this video recently and I like it, so I want to share it with my fellow GNIers. Please don't get caught up in the lifestyle the speaker has chosen. Listen to her message. We can all benefit from it. I encourage all posters to be circumspect on this thread. If you wish to say something inappropriate to another poster, please, please start your own thread

Emotional correctness is the tone, the feeling, how we say what we say, the respect and compassion we show one another. 

We spend so much time talking past each other and not enough time talking through our disagreements, and if we can start to find compassion for one another, then we have a shot at building common ground. It actually sounds really hokey to say it standing up here, but when you try to put it in practice, it's really powerful.

Our challenge is to find the compassion for others that we want them to have for us. That is emotional correctness.

Some people are waste people. I cannot lose precious time trying to make an emotional connection to them. It is immediately implicit and explicit that I cannot connect to them. I would feel violated or corrupted or dirty if I try and want to head for a sanitizing shower. I cannot extend an empathic ear to the Rev, Yugi, or Drugb. Those are people I would have to sterilized my mind against. I am completely disinterested in any connecting here.

I would willingly use choice expletives like pu..y mothe..er, ass.wh...e, and doucheb.gs. as my  tools with them. I have exactly zero regards for any emotional bonding with racists, or sententious punks. The good lady misses the significance of emotional detachment in the face of vile scumbags.

I do not want her therapy but respect her tolerance for bulls.hit. I do not have it so I cannot try and be a fake. I want to feel alive and have the sense of revulsion I should rightfully have for revolting things.

I think Jesus screwed it up for the rest of us with this other cheek bull. I say the mf who wants my coat is going to get my fist or a rock or any available hard and abrasive ( better if it cuts or go pop pop pop) object I can find. I am into the brothers keeper thing as long as he is not a lunatic then to the mad house he goes. There is futility in trying to emotionally connect to a reptilian brain

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Some people are waste people. I cannot lose precious time trying to make an emotional connection to them. It is immediately implicit and explicit that I cannot connect to them. I would feel violated or corrupted or dirty if I try and want to head for a sanitizing shower. I cannot extend an empathic ear to the Rev, Yugi, or Drugb. Those are people I would have to sterilized my mind against. I am completely disinterested in any connecting here.

I would willingly use choice expletives like pu..y mothe..er, ass.wh...e, and doucheb.gs. as my  tools with them. I have exactly zero regards for any emotional bonding with racists, or sententious punks. The good lady misses the significance of emotional detachment in the face of vile scumbags.

I do not want her therapy but respect her tolerance for bulls.hit. I do not have it so I cannot try and be a fake. I want to feel alive and have the sense of revulsion I should rightfully have for revolting things.

I think Jesus screwed it up for the rest of us with this other cheek bull. I say the mf who wants my coat is going to get my fist or a rock or any available hard and abrasive ( better if it cuts or go pop pop pop) object I can find. I am into the brothers keeper thing as long as he is not a lunatic then to the mad house he goes. There is futility in trying to emotionally connect to a reptilian brain

Very good posts here.

Thanks for your perspective there, Rev!

Mira:

* What do you think about Danyael's post above ?

* Danyael says Jesus was wimpy----if someone slapped Jesus on the right face---he would offer his left face for another slap.

* Danyael says poppycock---he is the MOSES type----as you know---if someone slapped Moses---he would slap them back/maybe bludgeon them with interest.lol

Thanks for your perspective there, Rev!

Mira:

* What do you think about Danyael's post above ?

* Danyael says Jesus was wimpy----if someone slapped Jesus on the right face---he would offer his left face for another slap.

* Danyael says poppycock---he is the MOSES type----as you know---if someone slapped Moses---he would slap them back/maybe bludgeon them with interest.lol

REV, if someone drop one slap pon you, I don't think you will turn the other cheek. I think you will run faster than Mr. Bolt.

Anyway, here is Jesus and emotional correctness.

MATTHEW 21:12-16 And Jesus entered the temple and drove out all those who were buying and selling in the temple, and overturned the tables of the money changers and the seats of those who were selling doves.

And He said to them, "It is written My House shall be called a House of prayer but you are making it robbers den."

Last edited by Mitwah
Originally Posted by Danyael:

====

I cannot extend an empathic ear to the Rev, Yugi, or Drugb. Those are people I would have to sterilized my mind against. I am completely disinterested in any connecting here.

Danyael

* It looks like posters like Rev, yuji, and BGurd_see have psychologically maimed you over in Political.hahahaha

* Stay angry and keep bloviating my bwoy.

* Listen! It's fun reading your rambling and long-winded diatribe.

* Now that should you keep you going on this thread.