@Ramakant-P posted:

Are you saying that they shouldn't building anything? Should they become like the PNC coalition and do nothing?

Once, I tried selling the idea of micro-hydro power to Sam Hinds. I did not get anywhere. He preferred Solar panels.

I provide parts for those micro-hydro units, thought it be a good idea for the hinterlands.

Glad to see the PPP moving in that direction. Perhaps, I will return and see if Phillips will go overboard with the idea.

@seignet posted:

Once, I tried selling the idea of micro-hydro power to Sam Hinds. I did not get anywhere. He preferred Solar panels.

I provide parts for those micro-hydro units, thought it be a good idea for the hinterlands.

Glad to see the PPP moving in that direction. Perhaps, I will return and see if Phillips will go overboard with the idea.

That's nothing new about small hydro ,Dem Guy can tell about some that was built.

@seignet posted:

In those days, Guyana couldn't afford it.  Like in the days of Burnham/Jagan we could afford to build a hydro plant and paper manufacturing plant. Now we can. I would have supported any improvement to the economy if the PNC had initiated them.

When I listened to Burham's speeches about his development plans which he stole from the PPP, I was exceeding glad, but he was more interested in getting rid of the PPP than fulfil his promises.

@Ramakant-P posted:

In those days, Guyana couldn't afford it.  Like in the days of Burnham/Jagan we could afford to build a hydro plant and paper manufacturing plant. Now we can. I would have supported any improvement to the economy if the PNC had initiated them.

When I listened to Burham's speeches about his development plans which he stole from the PPP, I was exceeding glad, but he was more interested in getting rid of the PPP than fulfil his promises.

how can ideas be stolen when it is necessay for upliftment.

@seignet posted:

@Django posted:

That's nothing new about small hydro ,Dem Guy can tell about some that was built.

A number of small hydro-power projects are and continued-to-be built in Guyana.

There are about 70 potential sites for the development of hydro-power projects.

The current 2021-government is focused to add within the next 5-years about 400 MW to the grid; noting that there are about 70 potential sites for hydro-electric development.

One of the noted is the potential Amaila Hydro-power project.

A number of small hydro-power projects are and continued-to-be built in Guyana.

There are about 70 potential sites for the development of hydro-power projects.

The current 2021-government is focused to add within the next 5-years about 400 MW to the grid; noting that there are about 70 potential sites for hydro-electric development.

One of the noted is the potential Amaila Hydro-power project.

You will, perhaps, pardon my ignorance, DG, but because of my ignorance, and that of others', I am once more forced to ask again, where is Amaila Falls?

@seignet posted:

27 million Guyanese is a very small ting you know. Building is one ting, operating is another. In Guyana maintanence is real big problem, PNC or PPP doan matter.

Just what do you mean by '27 million Guyanese is a very small ting you know'? That is, IF YOU know what you're talking about? The present Guyanese population is less than 0.8 million!

You will, perhaps, pardon my ignorance, DG, but because of my ignorance, and that of others', I am once more forced to ask again, where is Amaila Falls?

Shallyv ...

Amaila Falls can be found at the Kuribrong River which is a tributary of the Potaro river.

The Amaila Falls The Amaila Falls

Amaila Falls hydro back on agenda – Jagdeo

Sithe Global commits to public consultation on impacts of hydro project

Mar 23, 2011 News, Source - Kaieteur News Online - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...ts-of-hydro-project/

Thanks, D of G! But why so far from Guyana's 'civilization'? Besides, I was informed the Potato dries up occasionally! Surely other nearby rivers could be affected as well! I don't know if this is true! There are also Falls on the ol' man Demerara Ribber closer to Linden! Or so I had been informed!

Thanks, D of G!

But why so far from Guyana's 'civilization'? Besides, I was informed the Potato dries up occasionally!  Surely other nearby rivers could be affected as well! I don't know if this is true!

There are also Falls on the ol' man Demerara Ribber closer to Linden! Or so I had been informed!

Shallyv ...

1. Major hydroelectric power sites are located in the far interior of Guyana. Indeed the flow for the  Amaila project site does dry up at times. The proposal involves the diversion of flows from another river body to augment what is needed for the Amaila project.

This proposal is similar to others built world-wide where flows from another source is diverted to augment what is needed for the project. My relevant work experience involved working on the design and construction for a few such projects.

2. The sites on the Demerara River and numerous others locations indeed have the potential to develop hydroelectric power projects --- generally run-of-the-river types of operation. The energy generated from these localized small sites will only serve the needs for the immediate areas.

And why all these Amerindian names for places in bush country?

How about shallyv or Django or D of G or Kapalluh Woodhead or Mitsville or even Dekantown or Dawgsvile or whuhevur yuh lyk! But nat Cain! Too fratricidul or incistual!

Guyana ....

Guiana/Guyana is an Amerindian word/name, meaning ...

"Land of Many Waters."

Shallyv ...

1. Major hydroelectric power sites are located in the far interior of Guyana. Indeed the flow for the  Amaila project site does dry up at times. The proposal involves the diversion of flows from another river body to augment what is needed for the Amaila project.

This proposal is similar to others built world-wide where flows from another source is diverted to augment what is needed for the project. My relevant work experience involved working on the design and construction for a few such projects.

2. The sites on the Demerara River and numerous others locations indeed have the potential to develop hydroelectric power projects --- generally run-of-the-river types of operation. The energy generated from these localized small sites will only serve the needs for the immediate areas.

Thanks, D of G! How about a reservoir? I hope they intend building one! It is a requirement and I need reassuring! Can't rely on Mother Nature! And what about the falls on the Demerara Ribber? I'm sure there are many other Falls undiscovered in the forests back of Demerara and Barbice! I dreamed of one day coming back and exploring those Dutch estates of Cofi's 'infamy'! Especially those abandoned when French privateers attacked them!

@seignet posted:

how can ideas be stolen when it is necessay for upliftment.

The PNC stole all the PPP's development plans in 1964. They were brilliant and very creative plans, but they were executed with prolific incompetence.  The PNC had a great infrastructure to start with, but they decide to abandon the projects started by the PPP which led to the suffering of the Guyanese people.

Thanks, D of G! How about a reservoir? I hope they intend building one! It is a requirement and I need reassuring! Can't rely on Mother Nature! And what about the falls on the Demerara Ribber? I'm sure there are many other Falls undiscovered in the forests back of Demerara and Barbice! I dreamed of one day coming back and exploring those Dutch estates of Cofi's 'infamy'! Especially those abandoned when French privateers attacked them!

Shallyv ---

After your complete your visit to Guyana, perhaps you can publish your findings for us on GNI/GCDF.

Shallyv ---

After your complete your visit to Guyana, perhaps you can publish your findings for us on GNI/GCDF.

I'd be looking for artifacts for selling to collectors of same! Buried treasure! Perhaps, someone might now get the idea! I wouldn't mind! All matter is dirt in one form or another!