Irfaan Ali

Irfaan Ali

October 24 2015

People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) presidential candidate Irfaan Ali says he is not fazed by the formation of new parties  and their possible impact on his chances at the upcoming general elections.

“I don’t think the small parties will contribute to the splitting of the PPP/C vote,” Ali, who has been criticized for a low public profile, said on Sunday.

The PPP/C presidential candidate did not say if the PPP/C was open to coalescing with any of the smaller parties but said that the members of those parties are welcome to join the PPP/C and work towards his party’s goals.

“The PPP/C has made it very clear that we are open to all Guyanese; to anyone that wants to come on board. What we are open to though, is coming on board to join a programme… of policies and principles and objectives that the PPP would embrace in the next government. Not coming on board to negotiate positions prior to elections and that sort of behaviour we are seeing now,” Ali said.

“We are more interested in policies and crafting measures that will take our country forward and would create opportunities for every Guyanese and that would make sure we create jobs and ensure that we improve the standard of living, that we reduce crime, stimulate our economy and grow our economy. That is what we are focused on. The policies and measures we will announce in our manifesto will speak to every level of development in our country,” he added.

Since the December 21st 2018 No- Confidence Motion which saw the fall of  the APNU+AFC government and the naming of March 2nd as General Elections day, a number of smaller parties have signalled their intention to contest. They are A New and United Guyana (ANUG), Liberty and Justice Party (LJP), Federal United Party (Fed-Up), and more recently the Citizenship Initiative (CI) and the soon-to-be-launch-ed Change Guyana Party (CGP). Change Guyana is headed by businessman and Pegasus Hotel proprietor, Robert Badal.

Launched in January of this year against the background that there is the need for a change in the governance system to encompass the main political forces, ANUG was formed. It has since announced that 73-year-old, two-term House Speaker and former PPP executive Ralph Ramkarran will be its presidential candidate for the March 2020 elections. ANUG has promised that it will not coalesce with either of the two main parties to secure a role in government.

January also saw the formation and launch of the FED-UP party, whose leaders Ryan Crawford, Chandra Sohan and Horatio Edmonson said that they would be campaigning for reforms to Guyana’s electoral system to ensure that parliamentary representatives are directly elected by voters, and the creation of a federal system of government.

And while it has bemoaned the governance of both the PPP/C and APNU+AFC, the party has not enunciated a position on if it would join with either of the two.

LJP presidential candidate Lenox Shuman has had discussions with APNU about a possible coalescing but says that no decision has yet been made as he is still to do  “a final analysis”.

At the launch of the party last week, Citizen-ship Initiative (CI) founder Ruel Johnson also promis-ed to never coalesce with either APNU+AFC or the PPP/C which he called political “giants”.

And while the PPP/C Presidential Candidate does not believe that the smaller parties will have a negative impact on votes for his party, ANUG’s Henry Jeffrey said that he believes that given the distrust of Guyana’s citizenry at the rule of the larger parties since independence in 1966 coupled with APNU+AFC’s 2015 elections win with less than 5000 votes, smaller parties  will play a great role in the upcoming elections.

“Smaller parties read that given the small margin (less than 5,000 votes) that now exists between winning and losing, the smaller parties could garner sufficient votes to prevent either of the large parties from gaining an overall majority and taking both the executive and legislature,” he said.

Worse consequences

“In this context, if they coalesce with one of the larger parties to give it a working parliamentary majority, this will be leaving out one of the larger ethnic groups, much as is happening today with similar if not worse consequences,” he added.

Ali said that the new parties’ impact is not of worry for the PPP as “the party has been attracting more and more support across the country.”

“The PPP is a national party and embraces all the citizens in our country and this is the way the PPP has been working,” he added.

He pointed to Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo’s role in galvanizing support across the country saying that Jagdeo has taken personal responsibility for mobilizing more supporters for the party.

“The General Secretary himself said that over the last four years, one of the most important roles of him as General Secretary in the PPP was to make the PPP more open to all Guyanese so that all Guyanese can feel comfortable embracing the PPP… based on the polices and principles that the PPP would be pursuing in government,” he said.

Ali said that some of the new parties might not make it to E-Day.

“Saying you are launching a party is different from forming a party and getting a party together. It is far too early to say if these parties will contest the elections because there is a lot of things they have to get done; institutional arrangements that have to be done. You also have to gain national support and a national buy-in. It is far too early to judge any of them, but their announcing they will launch a party is different from forming a party,” he said.

“I see a lot of writing on social media about other parties coming. I don’t know if it will materialize or if some of these parties will make it to the elections, given what is required to contest at a national level. The better way we could have judged was if they would have contested the local government elections a year and half ago,” he added.

All dem small parties like empty barrels making noise. Look at dat clown Ralph. He shake he Battie in Linden and buss a fart on he panda. Dave posted a picture of that massive event. 

I see Shuman show up naked and begging Grainjaw fuh tek he in. He is annada clown mekkin noise 

Guyanese people na learn from what AFC did to Guyana. Dem rass want another third party who going to bow to dicktata GrAnger. 

Me seh for now, let PPP and PNC go toe to toe. PPP going knock out the PNC flat on dem BT. Dat is why PNC is scared Shyte of fACing the electorate. People in Guyana hollering for pressure under PNC. Coolie, Blackman, Buckman, Putagee and mix man all rass suffering under de PNC. 

Guyanese can’t tek it anymore under the PNC. 

All dem small parties like empty barrels making noise. Look at dat clown Ralph. He shake he Battie in Linden and buss a fart on he panda. Dave posted a picture of that massive event. 

I see Shuman show up naked and begging Grainjaw fuh tek he in. He is annada clown mekkin noise 

Guyanese people [ Indo-Guyanese] na learn from what AFC did to Guyana. Dem rass want another third party who going to bow to dicktata GrAnger. 

Me seh for now, let PPP and PNC go toe to toe. PPP going knock out the PNC flat on dem BT. Dat is why PNC is scared Shyte of fACing the electorate.

People in Guyana hollering for pressure under PNC. Coolie, Blackman, Buckman, Putagee and mix man all rass suffering under de PNC. [False]
Guyanese can’t tek it anymore under the PNC. [False]

Same old Yugidisguiseski !!!

Sean mekkin some of y’all bassidy. Who de rass is Yujie ? Who give you rass the right to edit me comments and speculating ?

You better start defending PNC cause dem rass going into extinction now. King ALI going to send dem into exile for another 25 years. Another Gajraj will emerge in 2020 to clean up and exterminate PNC terror and the unbearable level of crime in Guyana.

Just sit back and watch banna. 

Sean mekkin some of y’all bassidy. Who de rass is Yujie ? Who give you rass the right to edit me comments and speculating ?

You better start defending PNC cause dem rass

going into extinction now.

King ALI going to send dem into exile for another 25 years.

Another Gajraj will emerge in 2020 to clean up and exterminate PNC terror and the unbearable level of crime in Guyana.

Just sit back and watch banna. 

You mean he and the puppeteer along with the party, heading there , you doan see the writing on the wall ?

Listen na, PPP will expand on the lead of 50,000 votes that the buss up PNC at LGE. Inside polls now put dat margin at some 63,000 votes victory. 

PPP beating PNC solo. Sit back relax and have you VCR handy. 

Listen na, PPP will expand on the lead of 50,000 votes that the buss up PNC at LGE. Inside polls now put dat margin at some 63,000 votes victory. 

You rass bettah doan start counting yuh fowl dem before dem chicken hatch!

Rememba wuh happan to “Bring it on” man!!

Jagdeo ain’t no Bring it on man. He is de one who buss up de AFC Moses and PNC in one shot. 

Me see de internal polling numbers. It looking real bad fuh de PNC. Unless Moses can bring back the AFC from the dead, PNC cork duck. 

Me already get me cup full. Is PPP soup inside. 

Jagdeo ain’t no Bring it on man. He is de one who buss up de AFC Moses and PNC in one shot. 

Me see de internal polling numbers. It looking real bad fuh de PNC. Unless Moses can bring back the AFC from the dead, PNC cork duck. 

Me already get me cup full. Is PPP soup inside. 

I don’t think even an elephant dose of Horse 🐎 Viagra will raise AFC from the dead!!

Is true. Dat AFC banna Mithun gone into hiding. That’s how bad it is. 
Imagine dat idiot Ralph already passing gas and Shuman strip naked !

AFC killed any chance of Guyanese trusting their votes to a third party. It’s all out PPP and PNC now. 

Day dreaming by the lake !!!

The country's economy is in a mess.  Thousands have lost their jobs and crime has increased as a result.  People are getting desperate. Both Africans and Indians are hustling to get out of Guyana. Only the blacks who are connected to the PNC and have good jobs are ones boasting about this government.  Life has gotten harder for the average man and even worse for the Africans. Granger has done a poor job as president. 

Try spinning a new vinyl !!

You are one bold political prostitute. I don't know why the PNC continues  use this old strategy of employing Indian political prostitutes to garner support. It never worked!  Why continue to use a political strategy that has failed?

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

You are one bold political prostitute.

I don't know why the PNC continues  use this old strategy of employing Indian political prostitutes to garner support. It never worked!

Why continue to use a political strategy that has failed?

Them whore is like ayuh ,you know what i mean.

I man so excited bout a massive PPP victory, I will personally attend de PPP celebrations. 

I respect your love for the PNC.

The Coalition of Political Parties , will whip the PPP the margin will increase more than 5000 votes come 2020 elections.

I don't know why the PNC continues  use this old strategy of employing Indian political prostitutes to garner support. It never worked!

Yo Bro! Tell you leader, Granger that he should stay away from corrupted clowns like Harripaul who drank dhaal bellyful and now want soup. Encouraging people to join political party in exchange for jobs and contracts is a horrible for the nation. Time to shed your dirty ways.

I man so excited bout a massive PPP victory, I will personally attend de PPP celebrations. 

I respect your love for the PNC.

The Coalition of Political Parties , will whip the PPP the margin will increase more than 5000 votes come 2020 elections.

Why would that be when the coalition parties got whipped badly in the local government elections?

Sean,

All the AFC backers on GNI have fled. Dem boys are quiet these days. 

They all fled for cover. They are so messed up that they are accusing me of being multiple persons. They are now seeing jumbie.

This will be one of PPP's biggest victories yet. The question though is whether the PPP will repeat their mistakes of the past ? I honestly think that they learnt form their mistakes and their time in wilderness will ensure that they govern effectively.

Granger treatment of the AFC, lack of regard for the constitution, an attempt to manipulate GECOM and his haplessness will drive the PNC into extinction.

All this talk of a third party is dead and a side show. Its PNC vs PPP with a PPP landslide. PNC and Granger are clinging to straws. The longer he clings on, the worse it for the PNC. People are suffering and combine that with runaway crime makes it impossible for Guyanese to show any sympathy for the PNC.

Moses and Ramjattan are just waiting to see their political career end after they lacked balls to stand up to the PNC.

Well, there is Django clinging on to straws like Granger.

Yo Bro! Tell you leader, Granger that he should stay away from corrupted clowns like Harripaul who drank dhaal bellyful and now want soup.

Encouraging people to join political party in exchange for jobs and contracts is a horrible for the nation.

Time to shed your dirty ways.

That bhai is a good fella , never mind he jumping from ship to ship after PPP fired him.

My ways are clean as whistle , dirty is not around.

Sean,

Even Gerhard fled to Germany while Josef Mengele fled to Guyana!

Amen. PNC missed the best opportunity to unite Guyana and move it forward. Dem too big eye.

Sean,

Granger is the man , whipping for the puppet and puppeteer !!!  margin will be increased more than 5000 votes.

Yo Bro! Tell you leader, Granger that he should stay away from corrupted clowns like Harripaul who drank dhaal bellyful and now want soup. Encouraging people to join political party in exchange for jobs and contracts is a horrible for the nation. Time to shed your dirty ways.

Granger is an incarnation of Burnham.

He is a ruthless politician minus Burnham's violence. He lacked the smarts to use the AFC to swing the Indo votes away from the PPP. His big eye greed brought his downfall.

I saw a video clip of AFC Indo supporters in Berbice asking Ramjattan to help their community. Ramjattan, that SOB, told them with a straight face that it's not possible at this time and if they do it would break the economy. I guess it won't break the economy to allocate US$30 million to Sophia and $US 55 million to GDF.  It would not break the economy to give away millions to revelers at Buju Banton concert!. 

This government has betrayed the people who crossed party line and voted for them.  

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Sean,

Granger is the man , whipping for the puppet and puppeteer !!!  margin will be increased more than 5000 votes.

Prappa festy today

Yo Bro! Tell you leader, Granger that he should stay away from corrupted clowns like Harripaul who drank dhaal bellyful and now want soup.

Encouraging people to join political party in exchange for jobs and contracts is a horrible for the nation.

That bhai is a good fella , never mind he jumping from ship to ship after PPP fired him.

Absolute Rubbish!!

The AFC cork ducked after they lacked the balls to standup to the PNC. 

Jagdeo outsmarted them and the NCV was the straw that broke the camel's back. Ramjattan's attempt to Frame up Charrandas for high crimes angered many.

Talk about a bunch of stupid AFC/PNC politicians. They could have driven the PPP into extinction had they seen the big picture. Their greed got the better of them.

Absolute Rubbish!!

LOL

Day dreaming by the lake !!!

No, wet dreaming!!  Suh wach out!