2014 tourism budget disappointing – Gouveia

Posted By Staff Writer On April 4, 2014 @ 5:05 am In Business | No Comments

The provisions in the country’s 2014 budget for the tourism sector do not reflect the various  official public pronouncements regarding government’s commitment to moving the industry to “an enhanced level of prominence,” Chief Executive Officer of Roraima Airways   and former Head of the Tourism and Hospitality Association of Guyana, Gerry Gouveia told Stabroek Business in an interview on Wednesday.

Frankly I’m disappointed and I would be very surprised if my disappointment isn’t shared by other operators in the sector,” Gouveia said.

The entire sector is still waiting for government to invest meaningfully in a marketing initiative designed to aggressively promote Guyana around the world as a viable visitor destination. This is not the first time I’m making this comment. It is for the private sector to invest in creating the tourism infrastructure to cause thevisitors to .have a worthwhile stay once they get here. On the other hand it is for government to invest the larger sums in creating global awareness of Guyana as a visitor destination, Gouveia said.

Ogle International Airport a positive for the tourism sector

Asked to elaborate on his envisioned official initiative to market Guyana abroad, Gouveia said that apart from a carefully designed marketing plan he believed that the execution could cost as much as US$5 million. “I know that it sounds like a lot of money but we need to look at the returns that we can get from that kind of investment. If we are serious about tourism – and we say we are – we simply must find a way of bringing an end to the gradual, incremental attention that the sector is receiving,” Gouveia told Stabroek Business.

And the   Roraima Airways Chief Executive Officer told Stabroek Business that the Guyana     Tourism Authority “is long overdue for a comprehensive overhaul. Until we start committing real resources to the GTA to cause it to function at a level that positions it to manage an expanding sector… the institution will continue to reflect the underdevelopment of the sector.

Gouveia told Stabroek Business that while the completion of the Ogle International Airport and the commencement of flights from the region to        Ogle “amount to a significant boost for visitor arrivals”,  Guyana continues to have challenges linked to attracting  major airlines to Guyana from North America and Europe. “Once we begin to target visitor markets in Europe and North America seriously we are definitely going to have to attract a major international airline to Guyana,” Gouveia said.

Meanwhile, Gouveia said that efforts to boost the tourism sector must be attended by initiatives designed to enhance training in the aviation  sector. “I believe that recent events in the aviation sector point to the need to enhance training for staff at the Guyana Civil Aviation Authority and in my view there is need for ongoing security-oriented training and sensitization centred around airports,” Gouveia said.

Article printed from Stabroek News: http://www.stabroeknews.com

URL to article: http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...sappointing-gouveia/

Copyright © 2010 Stabroek News. All rights reserved.

Wither the relevance and influence of jagdeo.  Way to go Danald.

Time for you to fiya Priaya that snout!

Priya guh outlast you.

Dream, once Lunchman out of hospital  - Danald unleashing the plan  - Priya I was advised will be replace by Dr. Vidya Persaud at Education - daughter of Reepu.

Priya guh outlast you.

Dream, once Lunchman out of hospital  - Danald unleashing the plan  - Priya I was advised will be replace by Dr. Vidya Persaud at Education - daughter of Reepu.

What's your opinion of Dr. Persaud?

Then they want to bring in another technocrat called Rajendra Rampersaud at Ministry of Trade Industry and Commerce and Clinton Urling at Tourism, while Irfaan will concentrate at Housing to bring more votes in.

Priya guh outlast you.

I think she would make AN EXCELLENT Minister of Education, she is qualified, she has the pedigree, she has the talent, the interpersonal skills, likable, SINGLE (means she can wuk 12 hours for the children of Guyana).

She is HOT with the HINDUS of Guyana, they love her.

She is a vote getter; she has a constituency.

She is much superior to Priya.

Priya guh outlast you.

I think she would make AN EXCELLENT Minister of Education, she is qualified, she has the pedigree, she has the talent, the interpersonal skills, likable, SINGLE (means she can wuk 12 hours for the children of Guyana).

But she is a PPP die hard PPP! You just don't like Priya because she is over weight? 

Priya guh outlast you.

But she is a PPP die hard PPP! You just don't like Priya because she is over weight? 

I have no problem with Priya looks or weight.

I have a major problem with her character; she is a nasty woman who has NO principles.

Priya guh outlast you.

I have a major problem with her character; she is a nasty woman who has NO principles.

Priya will be the undoing of the PPP if they do not get rid of her.

Jagdeo cause them to lose the majority with his character.

Priya will cause them to lose the Government with all her character.

Priya guh outlast you.

Priya will be the undoing of the PPP if they do not get rid of her.

Jagdeo cause them to lose the majority with his character.

Priya will cause them to lose the Government with all her character.

There is not a shorage of proper women in the PPP.

Bring Indra Chanderpaul back into the Minister of Womaen's Affairs.  They got a good woman in Sadie Amin, former personal assistant to Janet Jagan.

Priya guh outlast you.

Isn't politics dirty? Even in the great America, we see dirty politics. Most politicians in US have no principles; the exception being former president Jimmy Carter.

Priya guh outlast you.

Isn't politics dirty? Even in the great America, we see dirty politics. Most politicians in US have no principles; the exception being former president Jimmy Carter.

Well if that is how we most roll, let us roll with priya and let the chips fall where they have to.

Ask yourself this question, If Cheddi was alive - would he have picked a Priya in his Cabinet??

Danald want to fiya them I was told but he does not have the testicular fortitude to do the jab.

So he waiting on Lunchman to tun up at OP.

Long time gone, short time left for the "porcus, porca".

Priya guh outlast you.

EH, Eh, Kishan, you got news.  You got family in the PPP or what?

Ramotar needs to hurry up and promote his daughter as junior finance Minister and Dr Vidnya as Minister of Ediucation.

His cabinet is dying, it needs fresh blood and woman power.

Priya guh outlast you.

Heard about the switch of Education Ministry going to Dr Vidya Persaud, today and there seems to be much truth in this, even in her budget presentation, her topic was on Education.

The man who said to jagdeo-owe that "the Manshion and the penshion cause we the electshion - Dharam Kumar Seeraj will be replace Leslie at Agriculture.

Yes, just re-confimed, the new Minister of Agriculture will be 

Dharam Kumar Seeraj.

Well done Ramutar.