Education Minister schools MPs on poor conduct

Feb 26, 2021 News, Source - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...ent-on-poor-conduct/

Kaieteur News – In her introduction to her budget presentation, Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand, admonished the House, but particularly the A Partnership for National Unity + Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) opposition for its poor conduct in Parliament.

Minister Manickchand’s schooling comes on the heels of a Kaieteur News article published on February 23, which exposed the hurling of racist, homophobic, and sexist insults from one Member of Parliament (MP) to the other during the opening of budget debates.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2021/02/manickchand-1.jpg

Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand

In that article, Kaieteur News had highlighted various cases of the verbal mudslinging. In one case, it was the Opposition Leader, Joseph Harmon, who had shouted to Minister within the Office of the Prime Minister Kwame McCoy, “I have a ‘lil’ boy for you.”

Shortly after, MP Catherine Hughes had shouted to Minister McCoy, “Rainbow! Rainbow! Rainbow!” This is a known reference to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) flag.

Against this background, the Education Minister said to the National Assembly yesterday, “In 2021, we cannot use people’s sexuality or sexual orientation, or what we believe it is or ought to be to disparage people. We cannot in this house. And it must be condemned and it must be rejected… I say here and now, to any person of the LGBTQ community, you have a friend in us. We will not tolerate disparaging any member, putting down any member of that community, or using the idea that someone could be to disparage that person.”

Kaieteur News, in that same February 23 article, had exposed how MPs would insult other MPs for their infertility, as was done by coalition MP, Geeta Chandan-Edmond. At the beginning of that MP’s speech, the Attorney-at-Law had wished belated birthday greetings to Attorney General (AG) and Minister of Legal Affairs, Anil Nandlall. But she did not stop there, as the coalition MP took a jab at the childless AG by saying, “I am a proud mother of two children. All the credit goes to my husband.”

With this, Manickchand wished “to condemn in the strongest language” the disparaging of those suffering from infertility complications. She said, “People are struggling with fertility issues. On both sides of this House, you have them. For people to use their own children as a reference point to hurt others in this House is reprehensible, and it speaks of a calibre that is not worthy of being in this House. And it must not happen again!”

The Education Minister, before moving onto the crux of her presentation, reminded the House that the conversation should not be about a MPs weight, hair or their style of dressing. “We are better than that!” she says, “This country requires and deserves more!”

Five universities identified for scholarships

Feb 26, 2021 News, Source - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...olarships-this-year/

Kaieteur News – The Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand yesterday identified five universities where 4,500 Guyanese will receive online scholarships to obtain their university education.

Manickchand made the revelation during her heated debate of the allocation towards the education sector in the 2021 Budget on day three of the Budget Debate yesterday.

The universities were identified as the Indira Gandhi National Open University, the Jain Deemed-to-be-University, the University of the West Indies (UWI) Open Campus and the UWI Open Campus (Vocational), and the International University of Applied Sciences in Germany. “It will benefit 4,500 students just this year. We serve the people of this country and we do it without apology,” Manickchand said.

Further, the initiative falls under the National Online Learning Institute (NOL), which the government intends to use to ensure Guyanese get their undergraduate degrees, Master’s programme and Doctors of Philosophy (PhDs).

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2021/02/manickchand.jpg

Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand

In this year’s National Budget, the government sought to allocate $1 billion towards the NOL. The disclosure was made by Senior Minister with responsibility for Finance, Dr. Ashni Singh. Dr. Singh had said that the government is hoping to deliver an online learning institute with the vision of having a top-tier education system for Guyana. The institute will deliver 20,000 scholarships over the next five years in keeping with the PPP administration’s manifesto.

“In 2021, we plan to begin execution of this initiative, catering for the provision of over 4,500 scholarships through a multi-agency formulation including the Ministry of Education, the Ministry of Public Service and the Ministry of Labour,” Dr. Singh had announced.

The scholarships will be extended to persons in all ten administrative regions of Guyana.

Ow man doan say that, you should know by now PPP people doan have big mouth and do anything bad, is only PNC people who does heckle an be firerass an cuss up ambassadors an' yell, "Rape Rape" in the House even though no one touched the patax.

@Totaram posted:

Well look who is talking about good conduct, Ms. Firerass.  Wasn't she just last week heckling people in the House and telling lies about smart classrooms?

She is also sensitive about her weight.

This nasty, abrasive woman devoid of any etiquette is "schooling" people on "proper conduct"? She is a national disgrace after what she did at the ambassador's residence. I think she has a screw loose.

I say here and now, to any person of the LGBTQ community, you have a friend in us.

This statement from Priya and the PPP explains Kaka Poopoo's rabid support of the PPP. They are his friend.

This nasty, abrasive woman devoid of any etiquette is "schooling" people on "proper conduct"? She is a national disgrace after what she did at the ambassador's residence. I think she has a screw loose.

Or is it  loose screw?

@Mitwah posted:

She is also sensitive about her weight.

I'm.not attracted to fat women but.in her case. I would make an exception! She's beautiful!

@cain posted:

Oh rant Shelly, I got to agree lil bit an by the way, fat people need lovings too.

It can be difficult in.finding the part you want under a mountain of fat! And what's worse, you dare.not let them.do any work above you or sitonyourface! Geez, one nearly gave me a heart attack.when.she entered heaven!

@cain posted:

You gaffa roll dem in flour.

I don't want any coating! I like them slim and agile! No big or.flat breasts, size of a tangerine, nice rounded rear, slim waist, know how to contract hidden muscles for mutual pleasure, and wildly passionate, not an I'mdoingyouafavouramuseyourself!

You must be insane.

@kp posted:

She is the MINISTER and What are YOU???

Oi man, what nonsense you getting on with now?  In that same vein how about Volda Lawrence is a MINISTER and what are you? See how much sense that makes? None.

@cain posted:

Oi man, what nonsense you getting on with now?  In that same vein how about Volda Lawrence is a MINISTER and what are you? See how much sense that makes? None.

Volda USED to be and will never be again.

When you point yuh finger, you have four other point at you.

@Mitwah posted:

It was in 2014. Here is one of many posts.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/p...ndence-day-reception

She wasn't feeling well, Mits! She was frustrated sexually because no man wanted to take a chance they might be hurt under her! I know! One nearly gave me a heart attack when she started to come because of my agile tongue! She became wild with.her movements! I was nearly smothered, too! And she wasn't even fat!

@Mitwah posted:

It was in 2014. Here is one of many posts.

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/p...ndence-day-reception

That was fake news by Chabrol. She called out the diplomatic community and she had alright to do that.  Where did the article state that she lifted up her skirt?  You guys are hypocrites and unpatriotic.  I am glad you don't live in Guyana or you would have been a national disgrace. 

Speaker finds his voice, sends memo to MPs listing expressions unfit for Parliament

Feb 28, 2021 News, Source - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...g-unfit-expressions/

Kaieteur News – Following reports of vulgar heckling in the National Assembly and newspapers’ letter pages filled with condemnation of the behaviour of Parliamentarians, Kaieteur News observed a significant uptick in reprimands by Speaker of the House, Manzoor Nadir, during the budget debates last week.

One instance of this was during the budget presentation of the Opposition Member of Parliament, Annette Ferguson, on Friday evening. Ferguson attributed a statement to Minister of Housing and Water, Colin Croal, who almost immediately rose up and demanded that her claim be rescinded as he did not say it. While handling this matter, the Speaker quelled the noise, saying “Honourable Members, I am speaking, and I see the Honourable Member, Vinceroy Jordan, is shouting at the presenter. That is total disrespect!”

On the same day, a memorandum was circulated to MPs and other persons in the dome of the Arthur Chung Conference Centre, which outlined a series of unparliamentary expressions which should not be used. Words such as “monkeys,” “senile,” “idiot,” “jackass,” “stool-pigeons” and “swine” were included in the list.

It stated “If the Speaker is of the opinion that words used in a debate are defamatory or indecent or unparliamentary or undignified, he may, in his discretion, order that such words be expunged from the proceedings of the House. When a member, on being asked to withdraw objectionable remarks held to be not relevant to the debate, refuses to do so, the Chair may order expunction thereof.”

Kaieteur News had reported on Tuesday that the last Monday’s opening of the budget debates were vulgar and distasteful, with one MP even waving a vibrator, a sexy toy, in the House. Others made sexist and homophobic remarks. On the following day, the Speaker had cautioned the media against reporting on heckling, opining that they opened themselves to being sued.

On Thursday, Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand, reprimanded MPs for their poor conduct.

@Django posted:

On Thursday, Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand, reprimanded MPs for their poor conduct.

The Minister said "she" is a proposition ,you stupidee !!!

These Ex-Teachers, KP and Rama agree with her.

@Mitwah posted:

Where is the vibrator?!

Axe de Minisstur! cain seh evun fat wimmen.need lovin! Shih int tekin no chanse shih mite gro.ole widout enny luvin.so shih dun hyde it in de mos propeeate playse! Shih ting-a-ling-a-ling!