Education Minister adopts title of ‘Doctor’, but is yet to be conferred with PhD

Jan 21, 2018 News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-conferred-with-phd/

Minister of Education, Nicolette Henry, has accepted the title of ‘Doctor’, although she is yet to complete her PhD, which is being funded by taxpayers’ dollars.

The Ministry of the Presidency website has listed the Cabinet post of Education Minister as ‘Dr. Nicolette Henry’.

In the academic world, such practice is frowned upon and is seen as a dishonest representation of one’s qualifications.

“My current status is that I am a doctor of scholar and that has been the case for a few years now. When that changes you will be duly notified,” Henry told Kaieteur News.

The Minister explained that everyone knows that she is a doctoral scholar registered at a Laureate University in the United States.

Asked why the Ministry of the President would list her as Dr. Henry, she replied, ‘It wouldn’t be wrong or right to use it’. It is the Minister’s view that in academics, once someone is a doctoral scholar, it is accepted that they are referred to as a doctor.

Henry was among a list of Ministers and Government affiliates who were receiving scholarship funds directly from Government. In late 2016, it was disclosed that the Minister’s studies had racked up $3.3M for a doctorate in public health.

The Minister was told that it is not acceptable to use the title before being conferred.

She said, “I would want to wait after I would have been so conferred to use it appropriately.”

It appears that there was some indication that Henry had already obtained her PhD because in mid-2016 while she served as a Minister within the Ministry of Education with responsibility for Culture, Youth and Sports, official press releases referred to her as Dr. Henry.

Several professionals advised Kaieteur News that some persons tend to use the title PhD candidate to indicate that they are awaiting conferral, which means that one is either a PhD candidate or conferred with PhD, a postgraduate academic degree awarded by universities.

Henry has made a number of gaffes since becoming a Minister of Government when the Coalition came to power in 2015. In December last, the Minister told the House of Assembly that she is not a Kshatriya (Guyanese say Chatree) and so may not know when there is Diwali or Phagwah. Earlier in 2017, Henry repeatedly confused the Hindu holidays, Diwali with Phagwah.

Many found her Kshatriya reference offensive. She never apologised for using the term.

Education Minister adopts title of ‘Doctor’, but is yet to be conferred with PhD

Jan 21, 2018 News, https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...-conferred-with-phd/

Minister of Education, Nicolette Henry, has accepted the title of ‘Doctor’, although she is yet to complete her PhD, which is being funded by taxpayers’ dollars.

The Ministry of the Presidency website has listed the Cabinet post of Education Minister as ‘Dr. Nicolette Henry’.

In the academic world, such practice is frowned upon and is seen as a dishonest representation of one’s qualifications.

“My current status is that I am a doctor of scholar and that has been the case for a few years now. When that changes you will be duly notified,” Henry told Kaieteur News.

The Minister explained that everyone knows that she is a doctoral scholar registered at a Laureate University in the United States.

Asked why the Ministry of the President would list her as Dr. Henry, she replied, ‘It wouldn’t be wrong or right to use it’. It is the Minister’s view that in academics, once someone is a doctoral scholar, it is accepted that they are referred to as a doctor.

Henry was among a list of Ministers and Government affiliates who were receiving scholarship funds directly from Government. In late 2016, it was disclosed that the Minister’s studies had racked up $3.3M for a doctorate in public health.

The Minister was told that it is not acceptable to use the title before being conferred.

She said, “I would want to wait after I would have been so conferred to use it appropriately.”

It appears that there was some indication that Henry had already obtained her PhD because in mid-2016 while she served as a Minister within the Ministry of Education with responsibility for Culture, Youth and Sports, official press releases referred to her as Dr. Henry.

What is a doctor of scholar? Secondly, why bother to complete the class if you are already a Doctor after starting the class? 

By the way, I have to stop referring to myself as a high school dropout. Since I did attend high school, I have upgraded my education status to high school GRADUATE. 

I got six subjects,(Certificate) College of Preceptors Examination.

Suh duh mean i attend college.

By the way, I have to stop referring to myself as a high school dropout. Since I did attend high school, I have upgraded my education status to high school GRADUATE. 

I agree. 

This College of Preceptors Examination is like "School Leaving" examination. I did not write it when I was in high school. The rest of my classmates did and many of them got 8 or 9 distinctions. When these folks wrote GCE, 38 out of 59(forms 5A and 5B) failed to get one subject. So the CP stuff is a waste of time. Not sure what benefit they got from it because GCE was king then.

Ress yuhself Skelly. This isn't about passing exams. It is only about taking it or attending classes. That was enough to make Henry a Dr. The good brother is a college graduate and I am a high school graduate.

That GCE was king is true. CP helped many to build capacity. They were able to find clerical jobs;  attend night school to further their studies to write the GCE exams. I know quite a few who are now practicing as lawyers who never attended HS, and many others who migrated and attended colleges and have done well. I think CP got the same merit points as GCE for Canadian Immigration back in the day.

Last edited by Mitwah

Bhai,

It was one step towards achieving success.The Exam was offered and was taken.

Ress yuhself Skelly. This isn't about passing exams. It is only about taking it or attending classes. That was enough to make Henry a Dr. The good brother is a college graduate and I am a high school graduate.

A waste of their parents' money.

That GCE was king is true. CP helped many to build capacity. They were able to find clerical jobs;  attend night school to further their studies to write the GCE exams. I know quite a few who are now practicing as lawyers who never attended HS, and many others who migrated and attended colleges and have done well. I think CP got the same merit points as GCE for Canadian Immigration back in the day.

One could have started teaching as a "Pupil Teacher"

You have had to pass PTA then. PTA was abolished after 1962. Not sure if this is what Burnham did after 1970.

You have had to pass PTA then.PTA was abolished after 1962. Not sure if this is what Burnham did after 1970.

Wrote exam in 1968.

Suh no PTA required.

my professor friend was the king of all kings me i only went to sunday school you guys think that counts

Now I am more of the type who wasted their parents' money. All that school clothes and books just went fuh channa. 

i guess you can read all those movies name you skull and see so its not a waste

warrior posted:

this women is a rude stupid bitch for a minister this government can do better

Warrior bai, I agree that this woman is stupid. I don't agree that they can do better because they are hapless. 

Now I am more of the type who wasted their parents' money. All that school clothes and books just went fuh channa. 

You lucky,i had to content with one shirt and one pants for the whole term.

warrior posted:

i guess you can read all those movies name you skull and see so its not a waste

At my age, I doubt I can remember much. 

So true. We would wash and let dry overnight. We studied also with bottle lamps.

Did I say that all that clothes were for one term? 

warrior posted:

my professor friend was the king of all kings me i only went to sunday school you guys think that counts

So how you learned to build houses? 

this no joke but when jagan was building his house in belair me and two friends skullt and was help building his house passing up board for the workers and the teachers could see us from the school windows next day was 6 lash each but that is not how i learn to build house i had my own construction company in canada 

So true. We would wash and let dry overnight. We studied also with bottle lamps.

Y'all so old, they didn't have electric yet. Now I am younger. So young I had to live through Burnham's blackouts. 

warrior posted:

this no joke but when jagan was building his house in belair me and two friends skullt and was help building his house passing up board for the workers and the teachers could see us from the school windows next day was 6 lash each but that is not how i learn to build house i had my own construction company in canada 

Did you build houses in Canada or just did renovations?

warrior posted:

So you had to actually build to government codes. We have to update Druggie when he gets back. 

We can count on your sense of humor.

There was an exam before CP ,that was PCE  ,Preliminary Certificate of Education.

warrior posted:

So you had to actually build to government codes. We have to update Druggie when he gets back. 

gruggie have is own problem right now poor fella must be pacing his cell

Y'all so old, they didn't have electric yet. Now I am younger. So young I had to live through Burnham's blackouts. 

And look how you survived to give him praises for the way things turned out for you.  

We can count on your sense of humor.

Bai, Sunday is funday. 

And look how you survived to give him praises for the way things turned out for you.  

Burnham is a bigger skont than Chump. 

Skelly missed National Service. How about you?

warrior posted:

Did you build houses in Canada or just did renovations?

I am sure he can build a ramp according to codes to allow access of your tricycle. 

Skelly missed National Service. How about you?

I was never in the National Service. I was around 10 years when I decided that Burnham is not worthy of my respect.