Minister of Finance Winston Jordan speaking yesterday.

February 20 2020

Guyana’s economy grew by 4.7% last year surpassing the 4.4% projection, Minister of Finance Winston Jordan yesterday announced.

“We were true to our diversifying this economy. I am happy to report that last year, we recorded a 4.7% growth in the economy; the highest since 2014,” Jordan said at a turning of the sod event for two hotels  at Ogle, East Coast Demerara (ECD).

Further, he added, “The 4.7 percent growth we had last year was in spite of the challenges we had in sugar and bauxite. You know what pulled us through? Among them were rice, construction and tourism. If that doesn’t speak to the economy weaning itself off of its traditional products and veering into a new direction, I don’t know what else will be a lead.”

Jordan said that Guyana’s “unique” makeup with its vast natural resources offers much opportunity and potential for diversification plans to work and it is what he has been doing.

“So we have been building the economy while we are attempting to diversify and correct it and we have tried to put in place a regime that will be attractive enough to encourage and attract both local and foreign investors…we are in that unique position that we can blend with services,” he said.

The Minister of Finance said that the economy’s growth was personally significant for him because heading a ministry where sometimes negative news dominates the strides his ministry has been making leaves him questioning if it will impact foreign investors’ views. He said he believes that “too much” negative news is given prominence in the press by “too few persons who seem to have tremendous access to the traditional and non-traditional press.”

To the investors who have committed to financially partnering with this country, Jordan expressed thanks saying that it was only a percentage of what is to be seen in the future.

“I am supremely happy that we are attracting investors in spite of the conditions that exist today. Investors like political stability, and in the past investors would have shied away from sod turning 10 days before an election. They would come gaff and thing and gone and investors would have been running out of Guyana. The exchange rate would have started dancing. But as you look around, all of those features, ten days before the elections, are not there,” he added.

Last year’s mid-year report  had said that the outcome of the December 21, 2018  no-confidence vote in the National Assembly could result in further downward revision of the originally envisaged 4.6% growth projection for 2019.

It was why the projection had been changed to 4.4% and which Jordan had disclosed that in the wake of the prevailing political climate, a further downward adjustment could have been anticipated.

However, mindful of the combative political climate that will almost certainly persist through to general elections, the 2019 Mid-Year report went to some trouble to make the point that the performance outcomes  under the current political administration had reflected consecutive years of economic growth. “Between 2015 and 2019, every year, this economy grew,” Jordan had told the media.

He had said that Guyana’s economy grew by 4% in the first six months of 2019. According to the report, growth figures for the respective years were 3.2% (2015), 3.4% (2016), 2.1% (2017) and 4.1% (2018).

And seemingly not unmindful of an anticipated combative elections campaign likely to be directed on the opposition side by former president Bharrat Jagdeo, Jordan had  compared government’s 2015 to 2018 figures with those of 2001 to 2005, a period during which Jagdeo held office.  He stated that the country’s economy grew 1.9% in 2001, 1.1% in 2002, -0.6% in 2003; 1.6% in 2004 and -5.5% in 2005.

Much of the credit for the economy’s growth performance during the first half of the year was given to the private sector, particularly in the area of gold production, which has been spearheading the country’s export earnings; rice, which has gradually been fighting back from exacting market challenges; and forestry, despite difficulties associated chiefly with transporting logs from far-flung interior locations over roads that are frequently impassable on account of a combination of weather-related challenges and less than reliable road repairs and maintenance regimes. The country’s manufacturing, construction, wholesale and retail trade and financial and insurance services are also credited in the half year report with contributing to growth.

Yesterday, he echoed much of what he had said last year as he boasted of a government that will continue to press to ensure that the growth trajectory continues. “Our manifesto speaks to continuing improve the environment …” he said.

Comrade Granger comrade Nagamootoo and all coalition comrades make good work with Guyana economics. All peoples make better living under coalition and must go on after March 2 to fix mess PPP give over.

Zara posted:

Comrade Granger comrade Nagamootoo and all coalition comrades make good work with Guyana economics. All peoples make better living under coalition and must go on after March 2 to fix mess PPP give over.

I think there was a mistake printing the percentage. It was 47.7%. Zara, You better call Granger and complain.

Zara posted:

Your "better living" seems to be in the rum shop... you started of the day a little better, watch how you skont will start mumble jumble with your words as the day progress. 

Zara posted:

They did nothing to make the economy move. If money is coming in in spite of their failures to launch, there will definitely be growth...like the kind the PPP experienced given their hapless management of our industries. The PPP was bad but these in office are nauseatingly uncreative and air headed

Zara posted:

Your "better living" seems to be in the rum shop... you started of the day a little better, watch how you skont will start mumble jumble with your words as the day progress. 

Dave  like the man tek you spot a rum shap

Totaram posted:
Zara posted:

Direct from Berbice Mad House, now collecting Welfare in America.

Amral posted:

Amral were you the one who let in the last three semi-literate posters on GNI?  

yeah, their credentials looked ok. Recognized Institution, BMH

Next time can you give them a lil test to make sure they can read and write. Foreigners reading this board are asking me if English is Guyana’s first language.  

Totaram posted:
Zara posted:

Don’t need your spot, that empty seat you left is still there . 

Zara posted:

Comrade Cuffy fite we get freedoms and comrade Burnham fite make we contry. Now oil come plenty is we contry.

The Dog catchers are looking for you. "Oil come plenty from your cont". Why are you wasting time here, I think you are getting oiled for being here.

Amral posted:

Amral were you the one who let in the last three semi-literate posters on GNI?  

yeah, their credentials looked ok. Recognized Institution, BMH

Next time can you give them a lil test to make sure they can read and write. Foreigners reading this board are asking me if English is Guyana’s first language.  

Comrade Bibi why no ask why hate Blackman but want we contry. Comrade Burnham tell England is not we language.

Zara posted:

Comrade Cuffy fite we get freedoms and comrade Burnham fite make we contry. Now oil come plenty is we contry.

Heh heh .. oil come plenty in you con ny —— my oh my 

Zara posted:

Zara is a Batty Man, Cuffy is he idol, because of the thing in Cuffy hand. 

Buxton reject, got lost and end up on GNI, he is a Django recruit. 

It's OK the have new members but don't attract stray dogs to bring road kill. You noticed, all Gays.

Suddenly, the PNC is promising the nation the moon and the stars. They even talked about the "city of Ogle".   When did Ogle become a city?  It's election time and they're promising and promising hoping to get votes, but they know they do not have the votes to win, so they are desperately trying to rig. 

Zara posted:

It's OK the have new members but don't attract stray dogs to bring road kill. You noticed, all Gays.

Comrade KP Zara strang man with strang mind.  Me neva tek free fry rice rum or man wife. No Buxton man. You weak comrade use power get food and woman. No goodness in so man.

Suddenly, the PNC is promising the nation the moon and the stars. They even talked about the "city of Ogle".   When did Ogle become a city?  It's election time and they're promising and promising hoping to get votes, but they know they do not have the votes to win, so they are desperately trying to rig. 

Comrade Silly Ram. Comrade Granger comrade Nagamootoo, coalition promise wid plenty oil mony.

Zara posted:

Comrade KP Zara strang man with strang mind.  Me neva tek free fry rice rum or man wife. No Buxton man. You weak comrade use power get food and woman. No goodness in so man.

Buxton Jackass you are on the wrong forum.  Yes I went to your house looking for food and woman but ayuh ah starve white mouth big belly I don't know if you have animals but all I see is monkeys. 

You sound as though you are still enslaved tied with chains and balling for help Granger nor Naga can't help you , the zoo is overflowing with wild animals. Ask Guana he escaped recently.

Zara posted:

Buxton Jackass you are on the wrong forum.  Yes I went to your house looking for food and woman but ayuh ah starve white mouth big belly I don't know if you have animals but all I see is monkeys. 

You sound as though you are still enslaved tied with chains and balling for help Granger nor Naga can't help you , the zoo is overflowing with wild animals. Ask Guana he escaped recently.

No comrade KP never we house you come. You takes advantage on India comrades because scares of Blackman. We house you leff with lolo in hand.

Zara posted:

No comrade KP never we house you come. You takes advantage on India comrades because scares of Blackman. We house you leff with lolo in hand.

WTF! 

Zara posted:

What!! Now you want kack. I don't play that game. I suggest you play with your own kind, bloody ape. It's feeding time get in the cage.

Zara posted:

What!! Now you want kack. I don't play that game. I suggest you play with your own kind, bloody ape. It's feeding time get in the cage.

Share free fry rices taking.  Good comrade.

Django, this is a thread you should take control of and ban the idiots who cannot carry on normal discussions.

Good comrade D2 people like trouble wit people. Comrade Zara speak for we Coalition contry and invite comrade lady after March 2 an all PPP comrades make attack go mad.  Mi is peace full Blackman.

Election silly season ,KP and Zara ,tone down the insulting language. Republic day coming soon ,you guys don't to party  ?

Comrade Django writing like comrade Zara.  "You guys don't to party"  one wonder if DJ is Zara???

Django, this is a thread you should take control of and ban the idiots who cannot carry on normal discussions.

Agree. Ban them for swearing. School children are reading this board for their research projects. Too much personal attacks lately. It has nothing to do with election season.

actually, COmrade Zara is the one who seems to have a cool head..the other COmrades attacking the man/woman for no reason...

So, he does not have command of de English...maybe he is one ah dem foreigners living in Guyana

Allyuh comrades need to behave with the personal attacks