EAB aborts voters’ list test

Posted By Staff Writer On April 25, 2015 In Local News |

The Electoral Assistance Bureau (EAB) yesterday announced the cancellation of its planned testing of the 2015 voters’ list, saying needed information to conduct the exercise was not provided.

On April 7th, the EAB announced plans to test the list, while noting that given the limited time available, it would need the support of the two main contesting groups—the PPP/C and the APNU+AFC coalition—as well as the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) to do so quickly and proficiently.

“Unfortunately, the needed information was not provided in sufficient time to permit the announced test to be completed,” the EAB said in a statement issued yesterday, while noting that each passing day reduces the quality of an exercise as complex as a voters’ list test. General elections will be held on May 11th.

“The missed opportunity to independently test the voters list deprives the electorate and political parties of added assurance regarding the level of integrity within this critical element of the electoral process,” it added.

As a result, the EAB advised that institutions that suspect that there are discrepancies with the list should provide their evidence to GECOM so that the appropriate actions could be taken by the Commission and concerns could be addressed.

“It is essential for all political parties and GECOM to remain vigilant and observe all protocols for the integrity of the elections process,” it emphasised.

In the face of allegations that the list is padded, the EAB said GECOM would have conducted an exercise where fingerprints are electronically cross-checked to ensure that no set of prints is on the list more than once. “GECOM can usefully disclose to the public the results of the fingerprint matching exercise for 2015,” it said.

The EAB also reminded that the registration process included the participation of scrutineers from the political parties, whose role was to ensure that everyone who registered was verified. It added that further vigilance is required to ensure that no one person can vote twice or the information for dead or migrated people are not used to vote in their stead.

It added that it is the duty of polling officials to comply with the polling regulations and for party agents to ensure that they do so. “Adherence to polling day procedures is the best defence against any attempt to abuse the voters list,” it said, while noting that the onus is on political parties to recruit and train their agents early and to the highest standards, sufficient to cover 100% of the polling stations, so that the potential for impersonation, multiple voting and other electoral crimes are minimised.

The EAB pointed out that all parties, GECOM and stakeholders are aware of allegations that the list appears bloated with the names of persons who have either died or migrated. GECOM, it noted, has been working to improve its methodology to easily remove persons who have died from the list but the difficulty lies with those who are no longer resident in Guyana. As a result, it recommended that GECOM and the parties in the National Assembly should commit to solving this challenge after the elections.

3 years to prepare . . .

same stupid problems with party observers as in 2011

2300 polling stations (an obscenity with less than 1/2 million voters); 166 in people's houses (betcha there's a shitload, again, in Region 4)

no proper explanations or rationales provided by GECOM

now this . . . Surujbally frustraing every credible effort to scrutinize/verify  the bloody bloated list

the kind of shyte designed to facilitate fraud!

i'm sorry, this is bullshit! . . . big money pass

The EAB didn't say which political party failed to provide information in time.

APNU+AFC had expressed support and cooperation for the EAB test.

the EAB is being diplomatic

ALL critical information has to come from GECOM . . . this is a statistical sampling exercise

The data was supposed to be turned over by GECOM.  That knucklehead there refuses any input/advice/question to his process. It is absolutely statistically anomalous that we should have so high a percentage of our population as eligible voters. It points to the census being flawed or his data flawed.

Region 1 has almost 50 percentage increase these past three years. The same goes for  1, 8 and 9.  This data is easily testable.

Originally Posted by Spontaneous emission:

The trailer for the PNC action at the end of May the 11th started to play…..a script the world is expected….  

wtf does this have to do with PNC u illiterate jackass . . . is Fr Rodrigues "PNC"?

The trailer for the PNC action at the end of May the 11th started to play…..a script the world is expected….  

wtf does this have to do with PNC u illiterate jackass . . . is Fr Rodrigues "PNC"?

Shut you crap face....Now the PNC did not offer you minista wuk....

Don’t get angry and commit suicide now ….

The Guy is too ILLITERATE to understand his own post.!!!!!!!!!!!!!

answer my question u dumb f**k

The data was supposed to be turned over by GECOM.  That knucklehead there refuses any input/advice/question to his process. It is absolutely statistically anomalous that we should have so high a percentage of our population as eligible voters. It points to the census being flawed or his data flawed.

Region 1 has almost 50 percentage increase these past three years. The same goes for  1, 8 and 9.  This data is easily testable.

I'm sure no one except D2 knows how de f*** to do his job except upon D2's advice and consent.

This bloated list is perfectly NORMAL for an Anglo Caribbean state. Trinidad has the same problem as well as other states with a significant migrant population.

Lemme repeat this. It is ILLEGAL to remove the name of someone from the List on the grounds that they have moved to another country. ILLEGAL!

As in the Guyana Constitution AND UN Conventions of which Guyana is a state party to forbid this.

In America, we do the same thing. Moving to France does not remove you from the voter list.

I'm sure no one except D2 knows how de f*** to do his job except upon D2's advice and consent.

This bloated list is perfectly NORMAL for an Anglo Caribbean state. Trinidad has the same problem as well as other states with a significant migrant population.

Lemme repeat this. It is ILLEGAL to remove the name of someone from the List on the grounds that they have moved to another country. ILLEGAL!

As in the Guyana Constitution AND UN Conventions of which Guyana is a state party to forbid this.

In America, we do the same thing. Moving to France does not remove you from the voter list.

YUh gun mek Brite laka Tide Redux start to cuss like the Fish vendor he is.

frustrating a verification of the bloated list is the problem . . . it is important to know whether it's the dead, non-resident, double registered, or other causing the problem

makes me freakin wonder why the cross check of fingerprints was not done at an earlier stage of this process . . . the database is actually quite small

3 years to prepare . . .

same stupid problems with party observers as in 2011

2300 polling stations (an obscenity with less than 1/2 million voters); 166 in people's houses (betcha there's a shitload, again, in Region 4)

no proper explanations or rationales provided by GECOM

now this . . . Surujbally frustraing every credible effort to scrutinize/verify  the bloody bloated list

the kind of shyte designed to facilitate fraud!

i'm sorry, this is bullshit! . . . big money pass

The PPP has developed a well orchestrated plan to rig the election.  It involves bribery, buying ID cards in PNC strongholds, intimidating poor people who received house lots (for which they paid for), giving under age voters ID cards, and plans to stuff fake ballots in places where supervision by the opposition isn't effective.

I hope that the opposition has plans to counteract these plans. It is no point that the coalition loses by 5k votes, and then cries that this is only because the PPP rigged. We all know that they plan to rig, so it is hoped that there will be an effective plan to deal with it.

And this will NOT be the crude rigging of the Burnham era.  Issuing ID cards to 17 y/o and bribing opposition officials to sign inaccurate statement of polls will pass muster.  I can well imagine that people will be told to take pictures of their ballots, as evidence of how they voted. and show to PPP officials to collect their bribes.

IMHO opinion, unless the coalition wins at least 55% of the votes, they will lose, based upon PPP rigging plans.

Looks like the PNC is preparing for excuses to do what they do best.

Of course the opposition should have been checking this out since they planned the MONC.

This is why the PPP might well win, even though most Guyanese seem tired of them.  They remain smarter and hungrier than the PPP.  There are too many Moses cultists in the AFC, and I am not sure that many in APNU haven't accepted their fate as a permanent opposition.  This is why people like Urling and Africo rush to drink PPP soup.

Shaitaan

Looks like dem boys in the de PNC are preparing for riots by using lame excuses.

makes me freakin wonder why the cross check of fingerprints was not done at an earlier stage of this process . . . the database is actually quite small

I remember being concerned about APNU and the AFC and their degree of organization to deal with this very problem.

Folks like you called me "negative". 

Well as we get closer to the election and see more evidence of the vulnerability of the results to assorted forms of PPP manipulation, do people plan t0 mount the moral high horse if the PPP squeaks in a win, because they manufactured 20k "votes?"   We all knew the desperation of the PPP so why the shock.

I would have thought that Nagamootoo would have moved to ascertain the accuracy of the lists BEFORE he moved to MONC.  In any case there have been several months since parliament was prorogued, and so that should have been time enough to demand a test the list.  If GECOM wasn't up to the task then the opposition should have demanded the list and done their own checks.

But I already hear the wails if the PPP wins.  Short of furnishing irrefutable PROOF of rigging, the results will be certified and the observers will claim that there any irregularities were insufficient to change the results. 

All they can do is observe the voting process.  Just as how the PPP hides its bribes so they aren't fully obvious their attempts to rig will also be harder to detect on the day of the poll.

Sorry a 50% increase in the list in a particular constituency is NOT normal in the Anglophone Caribbean.

How did the numbers increase so much in 3 years?  DEAD people should NOT be on the list.  The only increase in the list should be people coming of age.  How many people became 18 in 2012 to the present time?  Guyana is NOT a country of tremendous IMMIGRATION.  We have temporary migrants from China and Brazil, but they shouldn't be allowed to vote because they aren't Commonwealth citizens, nor do they live in Guyana long enough to earn Guyana citizenship.

So where did this tremendous increase in voters come from?

I am SHOCKED that the opposition only began to raise this as an issue within the last month or so!

Dont you think close to 75 percent of a population being above 18 is an anomaly?  Don't you think a region showing 50 percent increase in 3 years is anomalous?

Ha Ha !

Listen to the sore losers cry.

The PPP will govern Guyana for another 100 years. The PNC is stuck a 40 percent.

Of course you will wonder how the PPP will actually rule Guyana if large numbers of Guyanese, and the world at large thinks that the gov;t lacks credibility due to rigging the elections.

Don't boast because the PPP won by rigging, because that looks like this is the ONLY way that they can guarantee victory.

There just aren't enough Indian votes left to guarantee victory. Quite a few Indians will NOT vote PPP, and the racist campaigning by the PPP is scaring away non Indians.

But you are right.  If the opposition twiddles their thumbs and lets the PPP rig, they will be sore losers if the PPP wins as a result of this, unless they can furnish irrefutable proof of rigging!

Ha Ha !

The PPP will govern Guyana for another 100 years. The PNC is stuck a 40 percent.

Dummy, this is mathematics. Defend it with a reasonable explanation. No one said anything about fraud. The point is one can determine that from the vote count in specific areas with more definitively after the election.

think close to 75 percent of a population being above 18 is an anomaly?  Don't you think a region showing 50 percent increase in 3 years is anomalous?

Apparently you just discovered this problem.  When I told you that the voting age population has a different demographic from the overall population, and also that it wasn't certain as to how many young people in PNC strongholds had ID cards, or were on the list, you cited this increase in voters to refute.

think close to 75 percent of a population being above 18 is an anomaly?  Don't you think a region showing 50 percent increase in 3 years is anomalous?

Apparently you just discovered this problem.  When I told you that the voting age population has a different demographic from the overall population, and also that it wasn't certain as to how many young people in PNC strongholds had ID cards, or were on the list, you cited this increase in voters to refute.

I commented on this when it first came out.

Ha Ha !

Dummy, this is mathematics. Defend it with a reasonable explanation. No one said anything about fraud. The point is one can determine that from the vote count in specific areas with more definitively after the election.

The only reason why we are concerned about the list is because we are concerned about fraud.  If the list is padded merely because it includes people who died 20 years ago no one would care.  We care because we fear that people known to have died 20 years ago will have ballots cast on their behalf on May 11th.  It is rumored that 17 y/0 are being issued fake ID cards with the names of dead people.

Of course the opposition should have been checking this out since they planned the MONC.

This is why the PPP might well win, even though most Guyanese seem tired of them.  They remain smarter and hungrier than the PPP.  There are too many Moses cultists in the AFC, and I am not sure that many in APNU haven't accepted their fate as a permanent opposition.  This is why people like Urling and Africo rush to drink PPP soup.

dude, GECOM published the PLE in February of this year . . . stop yuh stupidness

GECOM's fingerprint cross match was supposed to have been completed before publishing of the PLE

could it be that Surujbally & Co are concerned that the EAB verification exercise would reveal so much embarrassing shyte . . . making the cross-match (supposedly done) a joke?

just off the top of my head . . .

 . . . I am SHOCKED that the opposition only began to raise this as an issue within the last month or so!

you're SHOCKED . . . really?

the PLE came out in February

smfh

GECOM's fingerprint cross match was supposed to have been completed before publishing of the PLE

could it be that Surujbally & Co are concerned that the EAB verification exercise would reveal so much embarrassing shyte . . . making the cross-match (supposedly done) a joke?

just off the top of my head . . .

And of course the opposition is supposed to wait passively not making demands to ensure that the system is transparent.

Understand something.  If the PPP wins due to subtle fraud, which they can disguise, the coalition doesn't win any moral high points.

 . . . I am SHOCKED that the opposition only began to raise this as an issue within the last month or so!

smfh

And we have had March and April since then.  plus shouldn't the MONC not have been coordinated to ensure that an ensuing election would have occurred when the opposition was confident about the lists/

If fraud occurs, but the opposition cannot prove it, making accusations of rigging comes off like sour grapes, and especially given the PNCs track record on this.

PPP rigging this election there is no question about that.

When you have bottom house polling stations in very densely populated areas like georgetown and a voter list that is heavily flawed and padded like dis one......

Nuff prablems ahead.

I would have thought that Nagamootoo would have moved to ascertain the accuracy of the lists BEFORE he moved to MONC.  In any case there have been several months since parliament was prorogued, and so that should have been time enough to demand a test the list.  If GECOM wasn't up to the task then the opposition should have demanded the list and done their own checks . . .

such anti-knowledge claptrap . . . give it a rest u Cassandra wannabe fraud

smfh

he “dirty list”: Jagdeo says “APNU/AFC already making excuses for failure”

March 29, 2015 6:36 am Category: Politics A+ / A-

By Jomo Paul

Presidential Candidate of the APNU+AFC, David Granger

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Former President Bharat Jagdeo says recent concerns raised by the A Partnership For National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) coalition about the list of electors is a façade, noting that it is an excuse should the coalition lose the elections come May 11.

This is despite APNU/AFC coalition saying it will proceed with the Guyana Elections Commission’s list of voters for elections, despite the fact that its Presidential Candidate, David Granger raised some concerns about the list being “dirty” and padded.

It must be noted that the issue of the list of electors being bloated has arisen before and GECOM in response to previous concerns had noted that it is illegal for the Body to take off names of persons from the National List of Electors without proper documentation from the General Registrar’s Office (GRO) which falls under the auspices of Home Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee.

Jagdeo at a press conference on Saturday, March 28 said that Granger is “divorced from reality” and would need to get himself sorted as he pointed out some flaws in the policies of the APNU/AFC Presidential Candidate.

Former President, Bharrat Jagdeo.

As it relates to the “dirty list”, Jagdeo said “clearly every right thinking Guyanese must be saying ‘what is wrong with Granger? You have had so many years and so many cycles of continuous registration to do so…there were claims and objections…you didn’t challenge the integrity of the list. So why are you doing it now?”

Jagdeo believes the coalition has an inkling that it might lose the elections and hence has begun to strategize a possible excuse in that regard.

“The motive is fear. Fear of losing…and trying to make excuses already for that failure,” he noted.

Meanwhile, Jagdeo lashed out at the coalition’s Prime Ministerial Candidate, Moses Nagamootoo who has been very vocal about the tenure of the Former President and his accumulated wealth.

Jagdeo said that he finds it very hard to respond to the ad hominem attacks against him by Nagamootoo, noting that he would rather respond to policies.

Prime Ministerial Candidate for the APNU+AFC, Moses Nagamootoo

“He [Nagamootoo] does not deal with polices…he makes good rah rah speeches – nice speeches…I find it very hard to deal with somebody who doesn’t deal with principle…he loves to make these meaningless rah rah speeches,” Jagdeo said in reprimanding Nagamootoo.

He accused the former PPP politician of being power hungry saying that his lust for power is what led him to leave the PPP several years ago.

“He still needs to explain to people his lack of principle – the lust for power…he left the PPP only after losing the bid to be our Presidential candidate. He wanted to be President at any costs….it is a power lust,” the Former President underscored, later adding that Nagamootoo is a “rabble rouser.”

http://www.inewsguyana.com/the...excuses-for-failure/

I will remind you of this comment if the PPP wins, and you start screaming that its because they rigged the election.

smfh

And we have had March and April since then.  plus shouldn't the MONC not have been coordinated to ensure that an ensuing election would have occurred when the opposition was confident about the lists/

If fraud occurs, but the opposition cannot prove it, making accusations of rigging comes off like sour grapes, and especially given the PNCs track record on this.

what exactly about "March" and "April" sir?

the EAB has been working with GECOM on the verification exercise ever since the PLE came out in mid February

the MONC by its very nature is an emergency measure . . . this foolish babble of yours about "coordinat[ing]" with GECOM is jackass posturing

I will remind you of this comment if the PPP wins, and you start screaming that its because they rigged the election.

i won't be "screaming" if that happens . . . then what will you do?

poor u

what exactly about "March" and "April" sir?

the EAB has been working with GECOM on the verification exercise ever since the PLE came out in mid February

the MONC by its very nature is an emergency measure . . . this foolish babble of yours about "coordinat[ing]" with GECOM is jackass posturing

Say what you will but don't blame the PPP if they win by rigging, and have it so cleverly disguised that it cannot be proved.

People will do what it takes if they are allowed to do so.