“Drugs economy”: Jordan fails to provide evidence to substantiate remarks

Finance Minister Winston Jordan

While maintaining that the economy today is proof that it was, in fact, being run by drug proceeds, Finance Minister Winston Jordan failed to provide the media with the evidence to substantiate his statement.

Since his Government came to power in 2015, the minister has made outlandish accusations, without proof, that the People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Administration before him was able to reflect growth in the economy because it proliferated the trade of drugs.

The Minister’s statement was rejected by various individuals and groups, as many believe it is just a cover up for the poor performance of the economy.

The Private Sector Commission (PSC) has even written the Minister asking him to provide the evidence, but he has since failed to do so.

Today, during a press conference at Parliament Jordan was faced with the same question by the media, but still didn’t have the evidence.

“I was amazed to be quite honest when I got a letter from the gentleman asking me to provide proof to the private sector, I was amazed at such a letter so I am doing budgets and all kinds of different things and I really don’t have time to waste essentially” Jordon said.

In an interview in 2016, the Finance Minister attributed the reduction in consumer spending to a decrease in illegal activities, including narco-trafficking, which he said had created a parallel economy.

Most recently in a response to an editorial done by one of the leading dailies that waded into Minister Jordan’s handling of the financial sector, Jordan referred to the same issue in defense of Guyana’s poor economic performance.

“I will tell you this much where the economy is at today is proof positive that the it was being run by drugs, by a significant input from drugs” Jordan disclosed.

People’s Progressive Party (PPP) General Secretary Dr Bharrat Jagdeo had said at one of his recent press conferences that he is of the firm view that the Minister would not be able to give such an explanation because he has no such evidence.

He said the buoyancy of the economy had to do with several things, a growing set of economic activities, a growing tax base, larger deposits and more people borrowing and investing.

https://www.inewsguyana.com/dr...ubstantiate-remarks/

Jackass Kanwa Ramjattan was blowing bubble from his rear yesterday repeating the same nonsense. They duck and hide when asked for proof.

KANWA eh ! I hope you don't become disabled in wheelchair and when you fall down, have stray dogs piss in you mouth, with no one around to help.   

antabanta posted:

Do you people not have any friends and relatives in Guyana? Even so, go to GT and ask anyone in the street if there was a lot of drugs money around during PPP reign.

This is your evidence, hearsay? People in Guyana say the economy went down because of loss of investor confidence and draconian taxes against Indos.  Your jackasses in power stifled the economy and now blame the boogie man "drugs" to cover up their incompetence. 

1. Tola posted:

Jackass Kanwa Ramjattan was blowing bubble from his rear yesterday repeating the same nonsense. They duck and hide when asked for proof.

KANWA eh ! I hope you don't become disabled in wheelchair and when you fall down, have stray dogs piss in you mouth, with no one around to help.   

You like rolling in the mud, I will not stoop to that level. How’s the Charitable work going ? People said that they never heard of you or any charitable efforts in Guyana. Dem said dat you blowing smoke.

It is a fact that Ramjattan is Kanwa.

antabanta posted:

Do you people not have any friends and relatives in Guyana? Even so, go to GT and ask anyone in the street if there was a lot of drugs money around during PPP reign.

How about getting them to ask if there is a lot of drug money at present. Why not ask in the us. In New York, or Miami?

Z
Tola posted:

Ramjattan acts like a jackass. Look at him saying that he did not know what to do about prison conditions. Harmon had to point him in the right direction.

Z

Any school child doing CXC economics will explain what happens to the economy when the government takes approx. 50 billion dollars in taxes from tax payers pocket, shut down estates, mishandled the forestry and rice sectors, reduced concessions to small miners and businesses.

Z
Zed posted:
Tola posted:

Ramjattan acts like a jackass. Look at him saying that he did not know what to do about prison conditions. Harmon had to point him in the right direction.

Do you know any better? 

Zed posted:
Tola posted:

Kanwa Ramjattan should resign.

Zed posted:
Tola posted:

Kanwa Ramjattan should resign.

Jagdeo built his millions on the backs of the poor, while the people who voted for him continue to eat grass to survive. But he career coming to an end soon.  But wha  he gun do, but plant rice  at Unity.  

What a Dr. Dr. Dr. Hypocrite.