Women's rights activist, Sherlina Nageer filed a complaint against the former Minister after he threatened to slap and strip her "for fun" when she confronted him outside the Whim Magistrates' Court back in April.

Former Health Minister Dr. Bheri Ramsarran who was fired by former President Donald Ramotar just before the May 11 elections, is expected to appear in the Whim Magistrates Court in Berbice before the end of the week to face criminal charges in relation to his threats to slap and strip a women’s rights activist. He could appear in court as early as tomorrow.

The Director of Public Prosecutions advised the Police yesterday that charges be laid against Dr. Ramsarran.

Women’s rights activist, Sherlina Nageer filed a complaint against the former Minister after he threatened to slap and strip her “for fun” when she confronted him outside the Whim Magistrates’ Court back in April.

Ramsarran was the Health Minister at the time and Nageer was questioning him about the high number of maternal deaths.

During the confrontation, Ramsarran could be heard calling Nageer an idiot after she interrupted his media interview. The two got into an exchange of words and the Health Minister called for police back up after he berated the activist.

As Nageer was being led away by the police, Ramsarran could be heard telling the reporters that “I would slap her ass you know just for the fun and I can have some of my women strip her”.

Nageer has been very outspoken about domestic violence and abuses against women for years. She has also been leading several protests against the former government of Guyana over “poor health care” for women and attacks on freedom of speech.

Originally Posted by Django:

Women's rights activist, Sherlina Nageer filed a complaint against the former Minister after he threatened to slap and strip her "for fun" when she confronted him outside the Whim Magistrates' Court back in April.

Former Health Minister Dr. Bheri Ramsarran who was fired by former President Donald Ramotar just before the May 11 elections, is expected to appear in the Whim Magistrates Court in Berbice before the end of the week to face criminal charges in relation to his threats to slap and strip a women’s rights activist. He could appear in court as early as tomorrow.

The Director of Public Prosecutions advised the Police yesterday that charges be laid against Dr. Ramsarran.

Women’s rights activist, Sherlina Nageer filed a complaint against the former Minister after he threatened to slap and strip her “for fun” when she confronted him outside the Whim Magistrates’ Court back in April.

Ramsarran was the Health Minister at the time and Nageer was questioning him about the high number of maternal deaths.

During the confrontation, Ramsarran could be heard calling Nageer an idiot after she interrupted his media interview. The two got into an exchange of words and the Health Minister called for police back up after he berated the activist.

As Nageer was being led away by the police, Ramsarran could be heard telling the reporters that “I would slap her ass you know just for the fun and I can have some of my women strip her”.

Nageer has been very outspoken about domestic violence and abuses against women for years. She has also been leading several protests against the former government of Guyana over “poor health care” for women and attacks on freedom of speech.

Charge Him, Jail him and Ban Him from entering Parliament.

The DPP suddenly have balls. Pity, she didn't have the guts to prosecute the PNC criminals and the so called freedom fighters.

These PNC criminals and so called freedom fighters have the protection of the PPP/C and are provided a sanctuary at Freedom House. Sober up.

So, Mr. 'slap and strip'  finally  geh pull in fuh fitness. He better hope and pray he doan have to do no time. Dem bais at camp house gon be doing a lot of slapping and stripping pon his ass.

The DPP suddenly have balls. Pity, she didn't have the guts to prosecute the PNC criminals and the so called freedom fighters.

These PNC criminals and so called freedom fighters have the protection of the PPP/C and are provided a sanctuary at Freedom House. Sober up.

Hello P.U.S.S.Y. Get a life.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

So, Mr. 'slap and strip'  finally  geh pull in fuh fitness. He better hope and pray he doan have to do no time. Dem bais at camp house gon be doing a lot of slapping and stripping pon his ass.

You should find out what the confrontation was about.  You will find it very interesting.

Bhai Rama,

As a Minister, Behri should have exercised better judgement. 

Bhai Rama,

Correct.  Especially in the context of the campaign.  He should apologize.

Bhai Rama,

Berry should be kicked out of the PPP and not be part of the parliamentary list of MP's.

Bhai Rama,

Berry should be kicked out of the PPP and not be part of the parliamentary list of MP's.

The lady is not without fault. 

Bhai Rama,

Bhai Rama

Regardless of what the lady said, the slap and strip statement by a minister was unacceptable especially in the middle of a campaign, it caused the PPP great harm.

Bhai Rama,

Bhai Rama

Regardless of what the lady said, the slap and strip statement by a minister was unacceptable especially in the middle of a campaign, it caused the PPP great harm.

Do you know what the law on Provacation is?

Bhai Rama,

Bhai Rama

Listen banna, there is nothing you can say to justify his outburst.  I speak to many females who support the PPP and they are very unhappy with Ramsaran regardless of what the provocation was.  Politician don't behave like that, it sends the wrong message.

Bhai Rama,

Bhai Rama

For certain, you lack common sense.

Bhai Rama,

Observer,  what do you think about this Berry's behaviour towards women?