Guyana is fast becoming a seventh race nation with interracial relationship and marriages. We should find a suitable name to identify the new breed of race and replace the commonly known name of Douglas. Your suggestions are welcome. Some may be against the racial relationship where our tribal people are contaminated by the main-stream population. Should Guyana protect the indigenous tribes from sexual contamination or not?

Blacks and Indians are the two largest population in Guyana among the other four races. Interracial relationships have broken customary bonds among families with strong cultural and religious beliefs. Today, more and more people are engaged in ethnic relationship without their parent's blessings. Is this right to choose vs traditional beliefs?
Originally posted by Cobra:
Guyana is fast becoming a seventh race nation with interracial relationship and marriages. We should find a suitable name to identify the new breed of race and replace the commonly known name of Douglas. Your suggestions are welcome. Some may be against the racial relationship where our tribal people are contaminated by the main-stream population. Should Guyana protect the indigenous tribes from sexual contamination or not?
There is no such thing as race. That is as biologically absurd concept. There is ethnic allegiance and that is not easily broken down because it is the seat of identity and the foundation of cultural allegiance. If any thing there is hybridity ( per Bhabha) in action as the interstices of Afro centric and Indo centric collide and is merged into a new social ethos that rejects the exclusive zones that exists between their parents. Your last questions established the profundity of your ignorance on these issues. We are not protecting blood lines but our identity from cultural genocide.
Originally posted by D2:
There is no such thing as race. That is as biologically absurd concept. There is ethnic allegiance and that is not easily broken down because it is the seat of identity and the foundation of cultural allegiance. If any thing there is hybridity ( per Bhabha) in action as the interstices of Afro centric and Indo centric collide and is merged into a new social ethos that rejects the exclusive zones that exists between their parents. Your last questions established the profundity of your ignorance on these issues. We are not protecting blood lines but our identity from cultural genocide.

Are you saying that , you are not too happy with inter-racial marriages ?
Originally posted by Kennys:
Originally posted by D2:

Are you saying that , you are not too happy with inter-racial marriages ?
As I said, there is nothing such as blood lines. We are protecting identity not race. I do not pay heed to the biology of such notions.
However by promoting the term " cultural genocide " ; is actually saying that by people inter-marrying , the sense of "purity"in one's culture is greatly affected. Sounds racist to me. To each his own !
No it means they chose their heritage as they see fit. It proposes no such prohibitions. One cannot engineer culture. It grows naturally. One can foster it by inculcating those born in it of its relevance.
Okay , let's be honest , would you give your blessing to one of your kids if , even after years of drumming it in their heads that should marry someone within their own culture ; and they decide to choose differently ?
THey marry who they wish. Hopefully, they will have loved the identity they have.
But you have a beef with that personally !
You can't seperate the two ! And when you say : "hopefully they will have loved their identity they have , what do mean ? He or she will still remain an Indian or a Black or a Chinese etc regardless of whom they marry! You can't try to equate this with someone feeling insecure within themselves or even , confused as to who they are .
It means exactly what it says. I have the blood of dalits, children of the forest and highlanders flowing in my veins. I happen to embrace the one I grew up in.
Originally posted by D2:
It means exactly what it says. I have the blood of dalits, children of the forest and highlanders flowing in my veins. I happen to embrace the one I grew up in.

Okay .My Wife's father was born in India and he became a Christian. Could you claim same seeing that you are speaking about "blood" !

Maybe we can start using the English translation?? dunno

http://en.bab.la/dictionary/hi...97%E0%A4%B2%E0%A4%BE
Gentlemen: Indians and Blacks are losing their identity by producing Douglas as a seventh race of people in Guyana. This is caused by interracial relationship. If this trend goes on for another decade, Guyanese will eventually lose its cultural identity with the Dougla population.

How come this was not a concern when Cheddi chose a non Indo to be his life partner?

In Ramotar wife Indo?
We're about to lose two main cultural identity of Guyana. Cheddi being married to a white woman was a rare opportunity then. Today, it's a major concern of mixed relationship. We want to bridge the racial divide but not to have sex and make Dougla children.

Who is "WE"?

Is is true that Rohee is Cheddi's outside son? A GNI poster made this statement here recently.
You're making this into a racist issue which is not. It's not wrong to support one's identity and still bridge the racial divide. Nothing is said about untouchables and KKK. It's either you agree or disagree with what at stake here. You either support or opposed it. I would hope the contamination doesn't get closer to you or your family then you will sing a different tune. I regret if this statement caused any unnecessary upset to you.
To protect one's identity and to bridge the racial divide at the same time does not support bigotry. We're speaking of two distinctive clause of race relation.

How can you say you are not a bigot when you said that you are "against mixed relationship to safeguard our Indian pride and identity."

What exactly your PPP will put in place as your "safeguard"?

Is this a hidden agenda?
Originally posted by Mitwah:
You are pushing a racial segregation agenda where only people of the same race can have sex and or procreate.

I do not support your bigotry.

Totally agree with you Mitwah !

like u is one a them black man traitors that produced douglas that Cobra writing about
Originally posted by Inqubus:
Originally posted by Mitwah:
You are pushing a racial segregation agenda where only people of the same race can have sex and or procreate.

I do not support your bigotry.

i agree with cobra black and coolies should not get together

Then as a mixed breed you would not be here to write this.
You're making this into a racist issue which is not. It's not wrong to support one's identity and still bridge the racial divide. Nothing is said about untouchables and KKK. It's either you agree or disagree with what at stake here. You either support or opposed it. I would hope the contamination doesn't get closer to you or your family then you will sing a different tune. I regret if this statement caused any unnecessary upset to you.

looks like one of your relatives recently got together with ah black person and yuh lil upset...al awee ah one family

Try not to assume for other then you make an ass of u and me.

One of your family must have, and made you upset. Else why would you ever say something like that to me?

Mitwah, didn't I say I am sorry if my statement caused any unnecessary upset to you? I tried to make my point without any slur. This is not something to spin out of control. We both know where we stand on this issue.
We're about to lose two main cultural identity of Guyana. Cheddi being married to a white woman was a rare opportunity then. Today, it's a major concern of mixed relationship. We want to bridge the racial divide but not to have sex and make Dougla children.

Who is this "we" you always talk about chap? Speak for yourself

What a bunch of racial crap.