It is not a bad idea to have a third party but right now there is no credible third force. The ones showing up are just recycled PPP or PNC. I predict that we will see a credible third party in ten years. We are left with PPP and PNC for now. Blame third party fatigue and mistrust on the AFC. This is the harsh reality in Guyana today. 

AFC could have been looking real good right now had they not sold their virginity to the PNC. 

Amral posted:

Best way to rid the country of these dogs is not to vote for either the APNU or the PPP, but to put the majority of votes to a third party. 

Any thoughts? 

It’s the only formula which will ensure change.  I had hoped the AFC would do that.  But dem sellout and collate.  Now it’s only ANUG as a viable 3rd!

I still remember telling the former AFC banna now running behind BJ we should use the swing to get the PPP to address things we want in exchange for Amelia.  Di banna seh # 1 is to see the back of BJ!

There was hope in the past when the AFC clearly stated that it-AFC will not merge with neither the PNCR or the PPPC

At that time the AFC was clear that it may vote for with either party based on issues ... but it will always be an independent political unit.

Well where is the AFC now ???

It will take a very long time for a third party to emerge and remain always as an independent unit.

Amral posted:

Best way to rid the country of these dogs is not to vote for either the APNU or the PPP, but to put the majority of votes to a third party. 

Any thoughts? 

OK...let me give this a shot (with help from my Uncle).

The history of third party influence in Guyana is not a reassuring one, for a number of reasons. Part of the problem is demonstrated by the experience of the UF and, more recently, by the AFC, which incidentally had a good chance of changing the dynamics, only if they had shown some level of independence. Both the UF and AFC started out with sizable support but their actions and those of their leadership, rendered them useless.

I was hoping Shuman and his party could make a positive impact but his party face an uphill battle in terms of lack of funds and the geographical isolation and dispersion of its likely supporters (Amerindians).

Chris Ram offered some good reasons today why Third Parties will not make a serious impact, although a Third Party, with sizable support can force some changes by denying the winning party total control of the Legislative Branch. 

Aside from the egoism of the leadership of the small parties (all of them mistakenly believe they are going to win a few seats by going it alone and they can have an impact), but the real reasons include the following:

1. They dont have the financial resource to compete in all regions and nationally

2. They dont have the manpower and organizational structure it takes to mobilize a large section of the population to make a serious impact

3. The small parties are new entrants into the political arena and people tend to go with the known commodity.

4. Voters are not stupid. If they believe their votes will count, they will support a winning ticket...meaning the coalition or the PPP/C.

Look at it this way: CHANGE GUYANA with its focus on the economy will not get many businessmen to support the party, SHUMAN party will not be able to effectively mobilize Amerindians, ANUG is GT based and their meetings are not pulling crowds and they do not have good speakers (although they have smart lawyers), FED-UP is located in Berbice, a PPP stronghold, and the others are led by Johnny Come Lately with no significant loyalty, etc.

Hope this helps.

Long story short: You stuck with the two "dogs".

Amral posted:

Any thoughts? 

It may take some time for Guyanese to change course and vote for a third party. AFC made it worse for them. The two major parties dominated Guyana's politics and that's what they are betting on. APNU has done a wise job to recruit all the smaller parties. Most third parties are in the business to feed off the bigger party if given a chance to join. The smaller parties are wild cards and they too want a piece of the pie. 

Amral posted:

Any thoughts? 

The history of third party influence in Guyana is not a reassuring one, for a number of reasons. Part of the problem is demonstrated by the experience of the UF and, more recently, by the AFC, which incidentally had a good chance of changing the dynamics, only if they had shown some level of independence. Both the UF and AFC started out with sizable support but their actions and those of their leadership, rendered them useless.

I was hoping Shuman and his party could make a positive impact but his party face an uphill battle in terms of lack of funds and the geographical isolation and dispersion of its likely supporters (Amerindians).

Chris Ram offered some good reasons today why Third Parties will not make a serious impact, although a Third Party, with sizable support can force some changes by denying the winning party total control of the Legislative Branch. 

Aside from the egoism of the leadership of the small parties (all of them mistakenly believe they are going to win a few seats by going it alone and they can have an impact), but the real reasons include the following:

1. They dont have the financial resource to compete in all regions and nationally

2. They dont have the manpower and organizational structure it takes to mobilize a large section of the population to make a serious impact

3. The small parties are new entrants into the political arena and people tend to go with the known commodity.

4. Voters are not stupid. If they believe their votes will count, they will support a winning ticket...meaning the coalition or the PPP/C.

Look at it this way: CHANGE GUYANA with its focus on the economy will not get many businessmen to support the party, SHUMAN party will not be able to effectively mobilize Amerindians, ANUG is GT based and their meetings are not pulling crowds and they do not have good speakers (although they have smart lawyers), FED-UP is located in Berbice, a PPP stronghold, and the others are led by Johnny Come Lately with no significant loyalty, etc.

Hope this helps.

Must admit ,you uncle thought you well.

Had a talk this morning with a friend [former PPP member]  from the homeland ,he said CHANGE GUYANA will pull some votes ,APNU-AFC will be a minority gov't. Told him i wait to see the list on nomination day , to see how strong is party.

How can CHANGE GUYANA pull votes when they have two big enemies - PPP and PNC?  Badal is a poor strategist.  In politics you create friends, not enemies.

Had a talk this morning with a friend [former PPP member]  from the homeland ,he said CHANGE GUYANA will pull some votes ,APNU-AFC will be a minority gov't. Told him i wait to see the list on nomination day , to see how strong is party.

How can CHANGE GUYANA pull votes when they have two big enemies - PPP and PNC?  Badal is a poor strategist.  In politics you create friends, not enemies.

That's why i said will wait and see.

I don't know about mekking frens or enemies to pull votes!  However, I have not seen any ground game to attract votes and deprive anyone significantly.  ANUG seem to have a strategy of bringing together a coalition of small parties.  In the end they have to appeal to people to attract them to their platform. 

Unless they have a secret potion, I don't see anything from Change Guyana that will do the trick.  If anyone has any hope of a seat or two, it's ANUG but who they take from, not sure.

It is not a bad idea to have a third party but right now there is no credible third force. The ones showing up are just recycled PPP or PNC. I predict that we will see a credible third party in ten years. We are left with PPP and PNC for now. Blame third party fatigue and mistrust on the AFC. This is the harsh reality in Guyana today. 

AFC could have been looking real good right now had they not sold their virginity to the PNC. 

They didn't sell it. They give it up fuh free.

Quite right about a 3rd party having a tough time.

(a) The Guyanese population have long been brainwashed by the two majors.

(b) Businesses do not want to get involved in backing a 3rd party probably because they have a lot to lose with tax cuts etc that the majors may have promised them.

(c) Individual rich people in Guyana will not risk losing their powerful friends in the high political office.

(d) The 3rd party has limited funds to go it alone and solicit donations and organize fund raising events.

(e) Outsiders are content to stay on the sidelines where they feel safe an not get too deeply involved.

Bottom line is Guyana is screwed for at least another 20 years, which by that time the old generations will be wiped out.

Amral

A third Party will harm the Country because of inexperience and history tells us that new politicians are just like the old ones: power corrupts.

So not a good idea. I say evaluate the 2 main parties, look at which one is more Democratic, Respect the ROL, Constitution, behaves like humans and then vote your conscience.

For the PPP. 

Amral posted:

Any thoughts? 

Hope this helps.

Banna, it looks like yuh uncle does be sober sometimes. 

Then the AFC prostituted themselves to the PNC. 

If Anil, Vindy, and Frank join ANUG at the 11th hour we got an election on our hands. Even Naga man might jump in with them.  ANUG has the silent voters.

Is that true ,when is the campaign launch ? Jan 10 is nomination day.

Then the AFC prostituted themselves to the PNC. 

Wust dam prostituted. 

Hey hey hey...is a good tought. De prablem is third party dead. ANUG go get two seat. Badal is top notch business man. Dem bais cyant bruck trough when coolie vote foh coolie because dem na sure blackman go split dem vote. Blackman vote foh blackman because dem na sure coolie go split dem vote. We bai Mr TK gat wan fancy name foh dis. Prisoners dilemma trap...hey hey hey. 

You mean third party dead because of this traitor in the middle .... 

Images (2)
  • mceclip1
  • mceclip0

You mean third party dead because of this traitor in the middle .... 

Hey hey hey...we red shut bai using he fourth handle...meh see yuh was scare Django sniff out all de IP yuh using...hey hey hey.