A lot of what happens on Wall Street is educated guesses. There are situations where investors make gains and there are times when they suffer losses. While Investors carry the full burden for losses, they have to split the gains with their investment brokers. Investment brokers on the other hand gets paid whether investors gain or lose. Nonetheless, investors still need those brokers.

Yuji is a Hindu and he will never change or try to understand the Qu'ran. He started this thread to cause controversy. This anti-muslim prick need a good cutlass broadside around his neck. He has been picking on Muslim since the Sri Lanka attack. 

Perhaps what you wrote above was a terrible attempt at humor. No one need any cutlass around their neck.

While Investors carry the full burden for losses, they have to split the gains with their investment brokers. Investment brokers on the other hand gets paid whether investors gain or lose.

I don't think that's how it works. I think brokers get paid a fee per trade or an annual percentage of the holdings whether the investor gains or not.

antabanta posted:

While Investors carry the full burden for losses, they have to split the gains with their investment brokers. Investment brokers on the other hand gets paid whether investors gain or lose.

I don't think that's how it works. I think brokers get paid a fee per trade or an annual percentage of the holdings whether the investor gains or not.

That is what I meant. I guess using the term 'split' for drama effect was too over the top. 

Bibi, I know you will say it is just a show BUT take a look at Showtime "Billions"

The general public looks at the glamour and the billions of dollars on Wall Street.  What they don’t see is the hard work and dedication that goes into making money.  Some of the most brilliant minds in the world work on Wall Street.  If you don’t have a disciplined work ethic you cannot survive there.  It’s very competitive.  These people are super human.

Wat hard wuk dem does do foh justify dat pay? All dem do is shift money round. Dem does wuk hard like dem middle skool teacha who teach in dem poor peopkle area. 

How many middle skool teacha have MBAs from Harvard Business School and work an average of 18 hours a day throughout the year?  These guys return hundreds of millions to investors who put their trust in them.  This is not child’s play.

Don't waste your time with these folks, first of all they don't comprehend the financial industry and the instrument called money.  This lack of comprehension is what drives most of them to conclude that the financial industry is evil at its core as well as all who work in the industry. I had this discussion many times with relatives, friends and acquaintances to no avail.  But if you can convince our resident uneducated slopster about the merits of the financial industry and its effects on the economy over the past 100+ years, then you would have worked a miracle. 

How many middle skool teacha have MBAs from Harvard Business School and work an average of 18 hours a day throughout the year?  These guys return hundreds of millions to investors who put their trust in them.  This is not child’s play.

No doubt some folks on Wall Street work 100 hours per week but their worth to the masses will never supersede that of teachers who work mostly thanklessly while are paid very poorly.

Teacher Elisabeth Milich, who posted her pay stub, now has classroom benefactor

Bibi, I know you will say it is just a show BUT take a look at Showtime "Billions"

The general public looks at the glamour and the billions of dollars on Wall Street.  What they don’t see is the hard work and dedication that goes into making money.  Some of the most brilliant minds in the world work on Wall Street.  If you don’t have a disciplined work ethic you cannot survive there.  It’s very competitive.  These people are super human.

Wat hard wuk dem does do foh justify dat pay? All dem do is shift money round. Dem does wuk hard like dem middle skool teacha who teach in dem poor peopkle area. 

Don't waste your time with these folks, first of all they don't comprehend the financial industry and the instrument called money.  This lack of comprehension is what drives most of them to conclude that the financial industry is evil at its core as well as all who work in the industry. I had this discussion many times with relatives, friends and acquaintances to no avail.  But if you can convince our resident uneducated slopster about the merits of the financial industry and its effects on the economy over the past 100+ years, then you would have worked a miracle. 

Ah shut up. Bernake, Paulson, and Geitner only recently said that some of these men who were responsible for t he last recession ought to have been in jail for their greed. They had to nationalize the banks, AIG etc and pump a trillion dollars into the economy and when t hey did many of these blood suckers immediately give themselves huge bonuses and golden parachutes. They were not in jail because they knew how to do it right and under the threat of jail and a forgoing much of their bonuses etc were forced to aid in the recover.

You believe because you program for a financial power house you are equipped with the divine understanding and moral fortitude only to speak the truth. You facilitate the lie. You need to look at how these crooks created bogus financial instruments that were concocted as hedges by the new breed of crooks the Quants, ( theoretical physicists not financial mavens schooled in economics ) traded hundreds of time the value of the assets tied to them. They created magical entities supposedly so sound they could not fail because each trade hedged another.  When it come to disentangling them to salvage even good companies they could not as the whole casino quality of the enterprise cascaded to failure with nothing of the conventional economic tools available to stop it. All sunk equally for want of discipline and ethical conduct of these fraudsters. 

Presently, the market is strong but in event of a panic ( and they occur all the time for some reason or not) that produced erratic behavior in the market they Feds have little option to stop it. They hiked intrest rate a bit ( contrary to the idiot trump who only know how to bankrupt companies) so they can hedge against inflation but still have lots of useless paper on their books. The US marked is stronger than Europe and Jappan where interest rates are stuck in 0 but it is not robust enough to survive a big recession without extreme suffering to poor people.

Ah shut up. Bernake, Paulson, and Geitner only recently said that some of these men who were responsible for t he last recession ought to have been in jail for their greed. They had to nationalize the banks, AIG etc and pump a trillion dollars into the economy and when t hey did many of these blood suckers immediately give themselves huge bonuses and golden parachutes. They were not in jail because they knew how to do it right and under the threat of jail and a forgoing much of their bonuses etc were forced to aid in the recover.

hey hey hey...me like Stormy foghorn leghorn greeting: Ahhh Shadup!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?...=9&v=BMaUBeaiHnQ 

A lot of what happens on Wall Street is educated guesses. There are situations where investors make gains and there are times when they suffer losses. While Investors carry the full burden for losses, they have to split the gains with their investment brokers. Investment brokers on the other hand gets paid whether investors gain or lose. Nonetheless, investors still need those brokers.

The melt down was all due to a formula. Some, Jewish guy on Wall Street came up with a formula that the Banks used to make loans available and mortgages on properties. The Jewish fella made tons of money and in the process millions of white Americans lost everything. You remember how many were living in cars in parking lots throughout America? 

You believe because you program for a financial power house you are equipped with the divine understanding and moral fortitude only to speak the truth. You facilitate the lie. You need to look at how these crooks created bogus financial instruments that were concocted as hedges by the new breed of crooks the Quants, ( theoretical physicists not financial mavens schooled in economics ) traded hundreds of time the value of the assets tied to them. They created magical entities supposedly so sound they could not fail because each trade hedged another.  When it come to disentangling them to salvage even good companies they could not as the whole casino quality of the enterprise cascaded to failure with nothing of the conventional economic tools available to stop it. All sunk equally for want of discipline and ethical conduct of these fraudsters. 

Presently, the market is strong but in event of a panic ( and they occur all the time for some reason or not) that produced erratic behavior in the market they Feds have little option to stop it. They hiked intrest rate a bit ( contrary to the idiot trump who only know how to bankrupt companies) so they can hedge against inflation but still have lots of useless paper on their books. The US marked is stronger than Europe and Jappan where interest rates are stuck in 0 but it is not robust enough to survive a big recession without extreme suffering to poor people.

This is where KP Ponzi scheme gain some merit.  It’s not a total Ponzi scheme however, the financial meltdown was due a partial Ponzi scheme model.  Valuations were being pumped up by lose lending and shady leverage derivative instruments sucking in monies from investors expecting high returns.  The supply had to run out at some point and the house of cards came tumbling down.  However, I believe the Govt and regulators are more to blame than the bankers!