New procedures for issuance of visas to Guyana
February 4, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News

The Home Affairs Ministry has instituted new procedures governing the issuance of visas for persons desirous of entering Guyana.
Minister of Home Affairs, Clement Rohee at a press conference at the Police Training Center at Carifesta Avenue and Young Street said that this decision was taken by Cabinet based on recommendations made by his Ministry.
Guyana has several agreements with foreign countries, which are reciprocal in nature that allows for certain categories of visitors to enter the country without visas.
“In keeping with the global trends and the need for Guyana to accelerate its development, we have decided to further liberalise our immigration policies by putting in place certain new procedures…our visa on arrival policy would now mean that we have instituted four categories of visas for persons desirous of entering the country,” Minister Rohee explained.
A GINA release said these categories are: visitor, employment, student, and business visas.
With regards to visitors, they are now required to pay US $25 for a visa for a period of one month in the first instance and an additional US $25 for every extension that is granted. A visitor is given a maximum of three months to stay.
As it relates to employment, this category of visa now cost the person who is bringing an employee to Guyana US $140 for a period of three years in the first instance and a similar sum for every time that visa is renewed.
Likewise, student visas now cost US $140 for a three-year period in the first instance and a similar sum every time that stay is extended.
Meanwhile, persons who are desirous of coming to Guyana to engage in business activities are now required to pay US $140 for a period of five years and a similar sum to extend their stay in the country.
The immigration authorities have been informed of this new policy, which came into effect in May 2011. It has been working very smoothly from all indications at both the level of the immigration authorities and the Foreign Affairs Ministry, which have embassies and consulates abroad authorised to issue visas.
There are certain conditions attached to the granting of the visas; these can be found on the websites of the Ministries of Home Affairs and Foreign Affairs and the Guyana Police Force.
In July 2010, a workshop was held by Trevor Hamilton and Associates, who were contracted by Government through the Citizen’s Security Programme (CSP) to undertake the consultancy to review and enhance the country’s immigration policies to be on par with the evolving demands of globalisation.
While the existing immigration laws and procedures have served the country well, the demands of globalisation and its many implications such as increase in movement of people across national borders, new initiatives like the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME), and emerging social issues such as Trafficking In Persons (TIP), drugs, fugitives from other countries and terrorists.

Govt needs to clearly state the policy as it pertains to expats. I wouldn't mind paying $25 if it goes to worthwhile causes such as promoting tourism, developing the airport and such.
You would have no choice, either you visit and pay or dont visit.
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Govt needs to clearly state the policy as it pertains to expats. I wouldn't mind paying $25 if it goes to worthwhile causes such as promoting tourism, developing the airport and such.
Originally posted by Nehru:

With the arrogance from PPP soupies like yourself, no wonder the AFC is creeping up your anus.
Guyana has several agreements with foreign countries, which are reciprocal in nature that allows for certain categories of visitors to enter the country without visas.

USA and Canada are two of these countries.
Originally posted by Dondadda:
The question I have to ask is how is a "Visitor" defined under the Act. Is a Citizen of Guyana(unless he/she have given up their Citizenship) a visitor?

If you are Guyanese you have a right to come back home. So you are not a visitor.
I am not surprise at your arguement since you are seen regularly with Elton John Oscar De La Hoya. headbanging heart yippie yippie yippie

With the arrogance from PPP soupies like yourself, no wonder the AFC is creeping up your anus.

I like Da Gurdsta's post, yessss!
Originally posted by cain:

I like Da Gurdsta's post, yessss!

He sounds like an AFCite. Big Grin
Chief could afford to give 10% of his salary to his Mosque, that appeased radical islamist, but he complains about paying $25.00 to his own country. Can anyone make sense out of this nonsense?
Dem bai seh dem people up deh ga nuff money fa gi people fa overthro abie coolies donk hay but dem cyant pay da $25 dalla fee. Mi hear some bais up bin gi $25,000 dalla out dem paket an' all dat skites juss fa feed abie coolies to a daggs. Alyuh complain bout airport and all datt shyte, ah weh alyuh tink da money ga come fram.
Originally posted by TI:
Imposing visa charges does not encourage tourism.
How much visa charges does Mexico and Bahamas charge?
Isn't the visa charges waived for US and Canada visitors?

Yeh, but dem should put am pon alyuh. Alyuh ah come an' use abie airport and a complain wenn ting nah regula. Wenn alyuh travel adda c.u.ntry, ayuh dozz happily pay up and stan easy wenn dem strip search alyuh. But come donk hay nah, alyuh waan da rayale treatment an' tink abie muss bow donk cazz alyuh senn lil remittance and soa.
Originally posted by Cobra:
Chief could afford to give 10% of his salary to his Mosque, that appeased radical islamist, but he complains about paying $25.00 to his own country. Can anyone make sense out of this nonsense?

Cobra,
You seem to find every opportunity to implicate the mosque with terrorists.
How much money did Homeland Security pay you to infiltrate and report?
Rumor has it that the tax business is just a front for spying on Guyanese. Is this true?
TI
My Suriname Girl Friend complained about visitors and Surinamee Nationals who have taken up foreign citizenship having to pay US$100 entry fee when visiting. I suspect the Guyana gov't feels if Suriname can do it then they can too.
Originally posted by TI:
People have to pay $25 and then go there to shit in a latrine? Maybe it's the fee for improving toilet facilities! Big Grin

Bai abie aaport gatt tylet but sometime people natt know how fa sit and sh1t, so dem a squat near da carna so abie clean peeple gafa hose out da sh1t. Alyuh gafa teach alyuh kids for sit and sh1t.
Originally posted by Chief:
The problem is when you arrive at Corriverton then you have to travel back to GT to obtain the Suriname visa.

And wah da gafa do with abie? Complain to da Surinaam bout datt.
Suriname need to open a visa office in Corriverton.
At one time when Guyanese qwere flocking Suriname the Guyana Embassy had to set up a small office in Nickeri, thwe border Town.

I will raise this up with the big man Bro Chief...this is indeed something that will help so many people...how R U Bro?? wavey
Originally posted by SuperMike:
At one time when Guyanese qwere flocking Suriname the Guyana Embassy had to set up a small office in Nickeri, thwe border Town.

I will raise this up with the big man Bro Chief...this is indeed something that will help so many people...how R U Bro?? wavey

Ah wah alyuh tink up deh, datt only alyuh a see an' gah mout and brain fa taak. Abie know bout datt prablim and dem a disucss wit da bais in Surinaam. Me a goa ovva deh leees evry mont and abie know da visa issue.

Alyuh leff abie fa salve abie problims nah, natt juss taalk and complane. Dem bais seh da Chief man nah geh lil ambassada wuk soa he gaan bak up deh an' a complane bout abie.
Originally posted by Daren David:

USA and Canada are two of these countries.

But you still have to pay $25 exit tax when you leave.

Now you rass cn't go back to guyana.
Originally posted by SuperMike:

I am doing good my brother and you?