BJ_VP

Two and half term Former President Bharat Jagdeo ,sworn in as Vice President on August 2,2020 .Guyana Constitution allows for an individual to service two terms as president.These are the people who claims to be defenders of Democracy and Dictatorship. Jagdeo will be the head of the transition team for the new government.

From left at the swearing in yesterday are Indian High Commissioner to Guyana, Dr. K. J. Srinivasa; Canadian High Commissioner, Lilian Chatterjee; US Ambassador, Sarah-Ann Lynch; UK High Commissioner, Greg Quinn and UN Resident Co-ordinator, Mikiko Tanaka.

Witnesses to the swear in.

• BJ_VP

Western envoys congratulate Ali on presidency

-look forward to β€˜meaningful progress on constitutional reform and reconciliation’

August 3, 2020

The envoys of the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada and the European Union yesterday congratulated Irfaan Ali on his swearing in as the President of Guyana and said they looked forward to β€œmeaningful progress on constitutional reform and reconciliation”.

The Ambassador of the United States of America, Sarah-Ann Lynch, the British High Commissioner,  Greg Quinn, the Canadian High Commissioner,  Lilian Chatterjee, and the Ambassador of the European Union, Fernando Ponz-Canto, in a joint statement congratulated the people of Guyana and the Guyana Elections Commission for bringing the March 2nd elections to a peaceful and orderly conclusion.  β€œWe congratulate the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) on its electoral success and Mohamed Irfaan Ali on his swearing in as President of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana. We thank President David Granger for accepting the results as befits the dignity of his office. We thank all the political parties, technical advisors and all observers – international and domestic – who participated in the electoral process. We thank GECOM Chairwoman Claudette Singh for having the courage of her convictions to uphold Guyana’s Constitution.

β€œWe look forward to working with President Ali and his government as it confronts many immediate challenges, including the need to address the social and economic fallout from the COVID-19 pandemic and the development needs of Guyana’s people.  We also look forward to seeing this government at its outset reach across political divisions to unite Guyanese of all ethnicities, races, and regions, around meaningful progress on constitutional reform and reconciliation.  

β€œAs friends of Guyana, we look forward to working with all to continue to support Guyana’s development for the benefit of all its people”, the statement said.

The quartet of envoys played a major role in ensuring that the Guyana Government and GECOM were made aware of the repercussions of the thwarting of the will of the people.

Frequent statements were issued by the four separately and together since the elections crisis brewed. They focused particularly on the acceptance of the result of the recount. They had also early on in the process identified irregularities in the District Four count. Those irregularities led to the recount.

2020_Election Results_Declaration

CEO Recount Report.

• 2020_Election Results_Declaration
@Django posted:

BJ_VP

Two and half term Former President Bharat Jagdeo ,sworn in as Vice President on August 2,2020 .Guyana Constitution allows for an individual to service two terms as president.These are the people who claims to be defenders of Democracy and Dictatorship. Jagdeo will be the head of the transition team for the new government.

Jango bai, it was always about Jagdeo. Ali is just pen and paper.  Just a mere face. Jagdeo will be calling the shots. I want to see what course of action he will take leading the country forward.

@Sheik101 posted:

If this is what will happen as Jango predicted, then the PPP will be called to account.

At Inaguration, just as Granger, Jagdeo made his first mistake. By naming himself Vice-President he has marginalized the Prime Minister's position. Granger in effect made Harmon the Vice-President with power. Jagdeo made sure he is not too far away from Ali. Jagdeo is the power. 

@Sheik101 posted:

If this is what will happen as Jango predicted, then the PPP will be called to account.

No disrespect to Django but he has not made one single correct call for nearly the past two years. Actually even before the NCM he has been saying that LGE voting is not the same as GRE voting in gauging the voters' sentiments.

Jagdeo is a seasoned politician who has to be credited with orchestrating the very quick demise of the Coalition as well as their disgraceful exit out of office. The PPP was left in charge of Ramotar and he was not strong enough to withstand the abuse of the PNC and AFC. Jagdeo must have seen that and reentered the party's leadership and in less than one year brought it back to relevancy. Ali has no pride in asserting that Jagdeo's leadership is invaluable to the party and Guyana's progress and there is no reason he cannot serve in a meaningful role. I have no problem with him being in a VP role but I am certain that it will be Phillips and not Jagdeo who will be filling the role of President in Ali's absence. Afterall, it was Jagdeo whose pen remove anyone from being president for more than two terms.

That said, CONGRATULATIONS TO THE PPP/C, GUYANA AND GUYANESE.

Appropriate selection.

@Django posted:

BJ_VP

Thank you very much for posting the above. Indeed the leading western Democracies, whose combined experience in representative democracy spans centuries, have endorsed the election of the PPP/C. THEY know what democracy is about.

@Rochelle posted:

Django - remember what you told me a few months back? For them to hear they must feel. Let them have at it. They wanted a third Jagdeo presidency and got it.

My party and Afro-Guyanese people will regroup and refocus. And file our petition 

A blessing good morning and good day to you ahead!

Rochelle, you are bitter at the outcome of the elections. Don't be despondent.  Wake up and smell the coffee.  Jagdeo is a resourceful person, he will develop the country beyond your expectation. He will make Guyana a Paradise which everyone dreams about.

Have a nicer day!

@seignet posted:

The electorate are not educated ppl on policies and issues, no motivation needed. Being a fully fledged Indo or Afro is enough for decision making at the polls. Seasoned politicians Guyana does not have. We have CULT worship, Cheddie and Burnham. Voting for dead men.

Are you one of those educated people who are above reproach?

Last edited by Ramakant-P

While voters should make themselves informed on who are seeking public office education is not a requirement to voting. Secondly, no one has the right to assail another for how they vote. That is their inalienable right to chose their representative. One person, one vote.

While it will be interesting to see the makeup of the PPP/C parliamentarians it will also be interesting to see the makeup of the Coalition parliamentarians. My guess is that Jonas will represent the Joiner Party but we have to wait and see.

While voters should make themselves informed on who are seeking public office education is not a requirement to voting. Secondly, no one has the right to assail another for how they vote. That is their inalienable right to chose their representative. One person, one vote.

While it will be interesting to see the makeup of the PPP/C parliamentarians it will also be interesting to see the makeup of the Coalition parliamentarians. My guess is that Jonas will represent the Joiner Party but we have to wait and see.

The PPP/C parliamentarians will have 48% non-Indians. Unlike the APNU/AFC which had a 10% non-black.

Hypocrite Django, how does your heading reflect the content you posted.  You persecuted posters like Dave and others and changed their headings to reflect the lead article claiming that’s the new standard under Kabaka Django, then you blatantly violated your own standard. 

You are typical PNC gangster mindset, not even sanctimonious!

@Rochelle posted:

Django - remember what you told me a few months back? For them to hear they must feel. Let them have at it. They wanted a third Jagdeo presidency and got it.

My party and Afro-Guyanese people will regroup and refocus. And file our petition 

Dawling don’t make it a race issue. The APNU have other races too.

@Django posted:

Soon it will be revealed the lining up of folks , to fill their pockets ,while the poor will pick up crumbs at the bottom of the table.

You are so negative.  You cannot come to the grips that the PNC lost because they couldn't run a country. You already assume that the PPP boys will rob the treasury, but you never gave a thought that the PNC cannot account for $US 93 million. They wasted $US 5 billion in the last 5 years. You cannot admit that the AFC/APNU did nothing to improve the lives of afro_guyanese for the last 5 years.  

Shanti!

@Baseman posted:

Hypocrite Django, how does your heading reflect the content you posted.  You persecuted posters like Dave and others and changed their headings to reflect the lead article claiming that’s the new standard under Kabaka Django, then you blatantly violated your own standard. 

You are typical PNC gangster mindset, not even sanctimonious!

Bai Django says he don’t belong to any party but his dictating behavior is a total give away he favor the PNC....

@Rochelle posted:

Isn't your party an Afro-Guyanese party? You and "our" petition will fail.
The world does not look well upon bullies. All the courts have endorsed the RECOUNT.

What are you going to do with your green dress and the plantain chips you prepared for Granger's inauguration? You better start a garage sale.

Democracy is a multi-views system with respect. That was a native ppl system that Columbus took back to Europe. Since the time of Marcus Garvy, Afro peoples feel secure in their own sphere. I am certain the PNC will be around for hundreds of years, they may not be inclusive. That is their right to being an Ethnic Party. Forbes will always be a domineering figure in their lives, he will always be remembered. They even tried to indoctrinate Nagamootoo.

Nagamootoo goes to parliament on a PNC ticket. 

@seignet posted:

Democracy is a multi-views system with respect. That was a native ppl system that Columbus took back to Europe. Since the time of Marcus Garvy, Afro peoples feel secure in their own sphere. I am certain the PNC will be around for hundreds of years, they may not be inclusive. That is their right to being an Ethnic Party. Forbes will always be a domineering figure in their lives, he will always be remembered. They even tried to indoctrinate Nagamootoo.

Nagamootoo goes to parliament on a PNC ticket. 

I thought the is retiring. The PNC holds its party paramount to anything else. The party comes before the country, hence the reason for sidelining Ramjattan. he could not have been the president if Granger died. It means black people comes before any other race.

@Django posted:

Leopards don't change their stripes ,lot's of people will have to be paid .Hopefully the opposition keep a sharp eye like hawks.

PNC seh dem had hawk eyes looking at the voting to mek sure PPP don’t cheat.  Then dem seh den hawk eyes didn’t see 20,000 dead people came and voted. Now you say they must keep same hawk eye on the PPP?

PNC hawk eye more like cockeye!

You rass is a full out joker. 

@Baseman posted:

PNC seh dem had hawk eyes looking at the voting to mek sure PPP don’t cheat.  Then dem seh den hawk eyes didn’t see 20,000 dead people came and voted. Now you say they must keep same hawk eye on the PPP?

PNC hawk eye more like cockeye!

You rass is a full out joker. 

The PNC had one cock eye and the rest hawk eyed, them busy looking at each other.

I thought the is retiring. The PNC holds its party paramount to anything else. The party comes before the country, hence the reason for sidelining Ramjattan. he could not have been the president if Granger died. It means black people comes before any other race.

Bro, so is Mark Philips, there is no chance of him being President if Ali dies tomorrow or tonight.

The last time Sam Hinds was moved around to accomadate the Indoes mafioli.

Jagdeo made sure this time that no afro challenges discontent. He immediately swore himself in as the Vice-President. Did the PPP ever had a Vice-President, CBJ was against that system.

@seignet posted:

Bro, so is Mark Philips, there is no chance of him being President if Ali dies tomorrow or tonight.

Jagdeo made sure this time that no afro challenges discontent. He immediately swore himself in as the Vice-President. Did the PPP ever had a Vice-President, CBJ was against that system.

Jagdeo cannot be president again. He had his second term already. If it happens, he will be challenged in court and will lose. He has seen the world stood behind him honoring the constitution and I doubt if he will do the contrary. I spoke to Sam Hinds twice and he made it clear that he did not want to be President. Jagdeo has more black friends than you can imagine. PNC had like 45 VPs.

@seignet posted:

CBJ is dead and gone. He was replaced by Bharat Jagdeo who is a giant among men. The PPP has its own set of rules that governs the Party. It so happens that one of them is the PM cannot become the President because he is from the CIVIC side of the PPP/C inclusive Party.