Somebody is instructing DJ to write crap , he knows it's all lies, but for a small favor you are bought for cheap. 

I have said it before, I believe he is rewarded by Congress Place for what he’s doing.

Someone mentioned about his visit to Guyana recently and he visit office of the president, Django also acknowledged a photo was taken with him and Ramjattan.

the banna got more desperate recently in posting crap about PPP and it’s leaders, he also attacking PPP supporters by calling them β€œ Blind Followers "

Believing in too much hearsay , i met Khemraj in N.Y.

So you are proud to say your affiliation with the PNC/AFC. I would be ashamed to be associated with Rumjaat. TURNCOAT!!!

@ Django, did you remember posting this .

Gill,

Thanks,for highlighting the Food import restriction,we are aware what caused that.

There was a KSI in our village, an Indian Dispenser rented his premises to the outlet,of course there were long lines,there was no preferences given to Indian or Blacks,my wifey used to join the line to purchase scarce items for resale as i mentioned for minimum profits,we befriended one of the salesman and was able to get in increased in volume than the amount that was allowed

What's your point , with the reference post ?

I know the subject is about Ban Flour, however, you seems to glorified Burnham, some of the comments are not only on the ban flour, but Burnham as a whole... read and analyze. 

So posting such comments you made, is to highlight your acknowledgement how your family profit from scarce items during Burnham days 

Amral posted:

He restricted the importation of flour into Guyana. But you were not jailed if caught using it at home. Flour was not illegal to have. 

Not sure if i am wrong. 

Yes you are wrong. 

Burnham’s banning of food items was classic cart before the horse thinking

Dear Editor,
Every nation wants to achieve self-sufficiency. It is a reality that should be pushed for where possible. But self-sufficiency requires not just political will, but markets, logistical support, roads, transportation, support of the citizenry, understanding of dietary, cultural and other preferences, the underlying capacity to produce the replaced product and most critically to ensure delivery to market is consistent and punctual.
Without these underlying realities addressed, any campaign that radically affects something as fundamental as the food on a nation’s table will have drastic consequences and raise momentous ire.
On a purely utilitarian and theoretical basis, the Feed the Nation campaign was an excellent idea. Same goes for the PPP’s update on the old model with its Grow More Food campaign. But such a concept was badly misapplied and poorly executed by Burnham. The PPP’s current campaign suffers from some of the frailties of Burnham’s programme.
Banning food first and then seeking to grow later is plain stupidity. Before any ban on foodstuffs is implemented policy-making 101 dictates: (1) that replacement quantity is guaranteed; (2) replacement quality is guaranteed and the substitute must be similar and liked by the populace; (3) the dietary habits and patterns of the populace are fully considered; (4) economic landscape locally and internationally; (4) reaction of the people.
Dictatorships don’t make good policy. Unilateral imposition of failed policies can result in terrible starvation and hardship. People eat several times every day. A ban creates immediate deprivation of a daily meal if no proper replacement exists. The most critical item banned by Burnham was wheat flour. Guyanese consumed anywhere from 350,000 to 400,000 lbs of flour daily before the ban. Replacement quantity from rice flour, ground provisions, etc. could never be enough.
In fact, contraband wheat flour was at times more readily available than the infamous rice flour. The quality of the substitute was laughable. Guyanese people have been eating wheat flour from since at least the 1800s. Burnham knew Guyanese ate bread and roti religiously for breakfast and dinner. And they loved pastries and cakes. And they use flour at Christian, Hindu and Muslim religious festivals. And that they would resist this change to their diet.
The blackmarket trade and the fact that wheat flour was readily available to those in power confirmed the importance of wheat flour to the Guyanese people. Burnham did not consider or blatantly ignored the dietary truths of the nation in his brutal quest to impose his idealism.
Some indigenous producers expanded production in Guyana in reaction to the ban and made profits, but the ban never catapulted local businesses into any sustained agricultural or industrial development and expansionism. Local producers simply could not produce these items or at the scale required by the nation.
The local economy was in tatters. They simply could not supply 350,000 to 400,000 lbs of a substitute for wheat flour, more so provide a proper substitute. Plus, the quality of produce could never compete with some foreign items. Heavy price cuts by Western nations due to dumping and anti-communist trade strategies, plunging commodity prices from the late 1970s to the mid-1980s and the push to export for desperately needed foreign exchange meant severe shortages at home and cheaper imports from abroad was the reality.
Since 1964 tens of thousands of Africans left commercial activities and went into public service. Similarly, throngs of Indian producers were shutting businesses, downsizing and fleeing the country. There is no way a broken production model devastated by decades of economic decline could deliver 350,000 to 400,000 lbs of a substitute to wheat flour or anything for that matter.
Producers faced the plummeting value of the Guyanese dollar. Markets were bare. This model could not compete on price and quantity with foreign products realised from efficient production models.
Burnham’s plan was due to die a painful death for these myriad reasons. The thinking that locals will pay inflated or uncompetitive local prices from local producers with these bans was flawed. The Guyanese consumer was grappling with depressing poverty, where every dollar had to be stretched beyond imagination to barely stay alive and price was paramount.
In this market reality the consumer is better off getting value for its extremely limited resources by buying cheaper good as this creates savings for the consumer, more disposable income and possibly more income for investment. If imports are cheaper then no premium should be paid to local producers, who cannot deliver consistently. Further, the use of scarce personal resources to buy contraband items at inflated prices thereby deepening their poverty should have signaled to any conscionable government that it is better to allow the product to be imported freely and sold cheaply rather than witness the entrenchment of impoverishment of poor people, who are killing themselves paying more of the nothing they have for the product they need.
These manifestations are outright condemnation of Burnham’s failed cart before the horse mentality in almost everything he did. Ban first and that will force people to grow more. Well, crops just don’t sprout from fields overnight. Pilot projects should have been run. It is absolutely clear that flour had no substitute. That is one item that should never have been banned, as it dominates two of the primary meals of every Guyanese in breakfast and dinner.
The possibility certainly existed to consider mixed flour with a local substitute such as rice (properly grounded) or corn flour mixed with wheat flour creating profits for local industry. Burnham was a master of grand ideas, poor planning, failed execution and blatant disregard for the people that lived under his draconian hand.
Michael Maxwell

Somebody is instructing DJ to write crap , he knows it's all lies, but for a small favor you are bought for cheap. 

I have said it before, I believe he is rewarded by Congress Place for what he’s doing.

Someone mentioned about his visit to Guyana recently and he visit office of the president, Django also acknowledged a photo was taken with him and Ramjattan.

the banna got more desperate recently in posting crap about PPP and it’s leaders, he also attacking PPP supporters by calling them β€œ Blind Followers "

So you are proud to say your affiliation with the PNC/AFC. I would be ashamed to be associated with Rumjaat. TURNCOAT!!!

I am not affiliated to either party. I had my reasons to meet Ramjattan , not for personal benefits , but to highlight some concerns of the political situation in Guyana.

Amral posted:

He restricted the importation of flour into Guyana. But you were not jailed if caught using it at home. Flour was not illegal to have. 

Not sure if i am wrong. 

You were allowed to have a certain quantity, beyond that it was classified as hoarding then can be charged. Indians were scared to make OIL roti since that requires clapping and if heard , neighbours can report to the authorities.I remember my parents went to Brazil and did some shopping, after eating sardines my father would go to the far end of the back yard and bury the empty tins.

I am not affiliated to either party. I had my reasons to meet Ramjattan , not for personal benefits , but to highlight some concerns of the political situation in Guyana.

So the meeting was for a "benefit"but not Personal.

President Forbes Burnham: a Legacy with β€œFood For Thought” – by Francis Quamina Farrier – Guyanese Online

President Forbes Burnham: a Legacy with β€œFood For Thought” β€“ by Francis Quamina Farrier

Burnham 33 Death Anniversary Feature of August 6, 2018

Some say β€œBurnham”. Some say β€œForbes Burnham”. Others say β€œLinden Forbes Sampson Burnham”, while there are those who say β€œThe Founder Leader”. Of course, there are some who say, β€œThe Dictator”.

Last Monday, August 6, 2018, dozens of individuals and groups converged at sunrise, at The Place of the Seven Ponds in the Botanical Gardens in Georgetown, where they payed homage to the memory of a man who, along with others, including Dr. Cheddi Jagan and Stephen Campbell, laid the foundations for an Independent Guyana. It was the occasion of the thirty third anniversary of the sudden passing, on August 6, 1985, of President Forbes Burnham; Guyana’s first executive President.

Prayers were said by representatives of Guyana’s three main Religions; Christian, Hindu and Muslim, which is one of the legacies of the late president. Verbal Tributes were paid. Floral Tributes were also be laid. Those attending exchanged pleasantries and some of their memories of a man they loved. Not present, were those who hate Burnham with a passion. Some who were already born and old enough at the time of his death on August 6, 1985, celebrated his passing with drinking and song and dance. Those who loved him, mourned his passing with prayers and tears and lamentations and thought of what Guyana would become without him as the Leader. Such is the reaction to strong National Leaders on their passing.

Last Sunday, the National Congress of Women (NCW), the women’s arm of the PNCR, held a Wreath Laying Ceremony at the Bust of their Founder Leader, President Burnham, in the compound of their Headquarters at 44 Public Road Kitty. Addressing the gathering were Party General Secretary Basil Williams and First Vice Chairperson Volda Lawrence.

Since my own writing career commenced with my winning First Prize at a schools National Essay-Writing Competition some seventy years ago, I’ve recently thought of the idea of an Essay Writing Competition, in which the Burnham admirers and the Burnham haters are invited to enter; two First Prizes of ten million dollars for the best essay submitted about Burnham. My idea is that the competition will be in two categories; Those who love Burnham to a fault, will write what they think was his worst mistakes. Those who hate Burnham to the core, will be invited to write a few things which they consider were his best achievements. The submissions will not be identified by the names or gender of the authors, but only by some other identification method.

Although I consider myself a Guyanese Patriot, I will recommend that all the adjudicators should be non-Guyanese. For example, President Jimmy Carter as the Chief Adjudicator, with Prime Minister Basdeo Panday, Prime Minister P.J. Patterson, Prime Minister Lester Bird, Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissesser, Caricom Secretary-General Dr Edwin Carrington and Prime Minister Dr Ralph Gonsalves, as the other adjudicators.

Last year, my article on the death anniversary of late President Forbes Burnham, was embellished with photographs in which I was seen with the President, one in which I was presenting him with my first published play. Another in which he was interacting with members of the Public Service Union Drama Group of which I was the Director. This year, I am including photographs in which President Burnham is seen with other Heads of State from three different geographical regions of the globe; the Caribbean, Africa and Asia.

One of the most controversial acts by President Forbes Burnham, was his banning of certain foreign food items; wheat flour, for example. Some Guyanese welcomed such banning, even referring to it as a good economic policy. Others were in stark objection to what was taking place, and even referred to the President as β€œBanam”. On Monday July 23, 2018, while looking at the American TV Food Show, THE CHEW, on Channel 4, the Chefs were making a dish and one of the ingredients they were using was Rice Flour. On Saturday July 28, 2018, while looking at the American TV Show β€œFamily Feud” with Host Steve Harvey on Channel 5, I noticed that one of the answers was β€œRice Cake”.

Forty years ago, the introduction of rice flour in rice producing Guyana by President Forbes Burnham, was extremely controversial, and met with fierce opposition by many citizens. Some citizens even migrated to the USA, a country which now promotes Rice Flour on popular Food Shows, on National Television. That certainly is β€œFood for thought”, and could be one of the issues included in my proposed National Essay-Writing Competition about Guyana’s first executive President.

Forbes Burnham (third from left) with Janet Jagan and Cheddi Jagan (at his immediate left), in Pre-Independence British Guiana

President Fidel Castro of Cuba with President Forbes Burnham

President Kenneth Kaunda of Zambia, (at left) with President Burnham

Prime Minister Indira Gandhi of India presents a gift to President Burnham

Gill,

Thanks,for highlighting the Food import restriction,we are aware what caused that.

There was a KSI in our village, an Indian Dispenser rented his premises to the outlet,of course there were long lines,there was no preferences given to Indian or Blacks,my wifey used to join the line to purchase scarce items for resale as i mentioned for minimum profits,we befriended one of the salesman and was able to get in increased in volume than the amount that was allowed

I know the subject is about Ban Flour, however, you seems to glorified Burnham, some of the comments are not only on the ban flour, but Burnham as a whole... read and analyze. 

So posting such comments you made, is to highlight your acknowledgement how your family profit from scarce items during Burnham days 

Bai, back in those despotic PNC days, people had to do what they need to, to survive. The PNC had turned the country into a shithole place and while some people abused the system for greed other had to work it to survive. Django stated in that post that he did so for small profits. I had an office job straight out of high school and there were opportunities where I could have fell into the bribery and crooked system but thankfully I never needed to do so. I was also brought up to think that only what is mine is mine. My mom taught us from a very early age to see things and don't see them. Even today, I am quite contented with what I got the right way. While there are many loopholes in completing tax returns, my tax returns looks like a single person with a W2. I don't even list things like contributions/donations or other allowable deductions. I keep it simple and clean.

But back to Django. He did what was necessary in a country fvcked up by the PNC.

Gill,

Bai, back in those despotic PNC days, people had to do what they need to, to survive. The PNC had turned the country into a shithole place and while some people abused the system for greed other had to work it to survive. Django stated in that post that he did so for small profits. I had an office job straight out of high school and there were opportunities where I could have fell into the bribery and crooked system but thankfully I never needed to do so. I was also brought up to think that only what is mine is mine. My mom taught us from a very early age to see things and don't see them. Even today, I am quite contented with what I got the right way. While there are many loopholes in completing tax returns, my tax returns looks like a single person with a W2. I don't even list things like contributions/donations or other allowable deductions. I keep it simple and clean.

But back to Django. He did what was necessary in a country fvcked up by the PNC.

He’s now trying to put lipstick on Burnham😊

Amral posted:

Not sure if i am wrong. 

You were allowed to have a certain quantity, beyond that it was classified as hoarding then can be charged. Indians were scared to make OIL roti since that requires clapping and if heard , neighbours can report to the authorities.I remember my parents went to Brazil and did some shopping, after eating sardines my father would go to the far end of the back yard and bury the empty tins.

Burnham was the biggest skont ever born.

Gill,

He’s now trying to put lipstick on Burnham😊

He wrang fuh do dah. 

Gill,

Did you see "minimum profits" the reason the business was started was for the community to have access to food stuff without hassle.I had no part in managing , that was my ex business.

The Regional Chairman who owned a rice mill , will drop of rice on credit terms , he even helped to get the shop license.

The business almost went bankrupt , due to too much credit to customers. I bailed it out with funds from my repair business.

We didn't need that grocery business to survive , i told you before about the other business with Dennis M.

Gill,

Did you see "minimum profits" the reason the business was started was for the community to have access to food stuff without hassle.I had no part in managing , that was my ex business.

The Regional Chairman who owned a rice mill , will drop of rice on credit terms , he even helped to get the shop license.

The business almost went bankrupt , due to too much credit to customers. I bailed it out with funds from my repair business.

We didn't need that grocery business to survive , i told you before about the other business with Dennis M.

Dude don’t take things personal, we does hammer it out hay is just a pass time to blow some steam off .

I have the greatest respect for you. 

I hope you told him to get his shit together.

I ain't gat no time to meet any Guyanese politician or tell dem anything.

I did , my main concern was the people welfare.

Well if he didn't started trade with Cuba , there was no need to find foreign exchange for flour. The trade below didn't help much.

http://wikileaks.org/plusd/cab...74GEORGE00101_b.html

1974 January 23

1. GOG'S TIMBER EXPORT BOARD WHICH CONTROLS EXPORT OF
COUNTRY'S LUMBER AND ROUGH TIMBER, SIGNED CONTRACT ON
JANUARY 19 TO SUPPLY CUBA SOME $450,000(US) WALLABA POLES
(USED FOR TELEPHONE POLES) DURING 1974. THIS WOULD MAKE CUBA
LARGEST SINGLE PURCHASER GUYANA HARDWOODS.

2. CUBAN VESSEL REPORTEDLY WILL ARRIVE HERE LAST WEEK IN
JANUARY BRINGING CEMENT AND PICKING UP TIMBER. PROBABLY
WILL LOAD RAILROAD TIES (SEE REFTEL) OQICH GUYANA IS FIVE
MONTHS LATE IN DELIVERING. CUBA OBVIOUSLY WILLING PUT UP
WITH LONG DELAYS GIVEN WORLD SHORTAGE FOREST PRODUCTS, AS
WELL AS FOR UOLITIC L REASONS. KING

Comrade Frenno, Guyana's trade with Cuba wasn't based on financial considerations only but also on fraternal relations and solidarity.

To date, I believe, Guyana has accrued a net gain in its socio-economic ties to Cuba. From the 1970s to the present Cuba awarded free university scholarships to thousands of Guyana's youths to uplift themselves not only in medicine but also in engineering, agri science and other fields. 

Comrade Frenno, your hero Granger is alive and strong enough to fight for a second presidential term because Cuba rendered him cancer treatment virtually free of cost.

Amral posted:

Not sure if i am wrong. 

Incorrect!!  If you were caught with flour, it was criminal!  He banned it, outright!

I don't know what you all trying to accomplish re-writing history!

Amral posted:

Not sure if i am wrong. 

Incorrect!!  If you were caught with flour, it was criminal!  He banned it, outright!

[[Quote from article]]

But the abruptness with which the economic crisis has overtaken day-to-day life here has left many people frustrated and fuming. The Government has banned the importation of dozens of items that have long been a part of Guyanese life. These include preserved foods such as canned fish, fruit and split peas. Other staples, such as wheat used for flour, have simply disappeared because the Government cannot afford the foreign exchange to buy them.

[[Unquote from article]]

Source and rest of article -- GUYANA'S ECONOMY IN A SEVERE CRISIS,  By Richard J. Meislin, Special To the New York Times, , https://www.nytimes.com/1982/1...a-severe-crisis.html

Amral posted:

Not sure if i am wrong. 

You are wrong. Flour was considered a contraband item.  All contraband items were illegal.  People smuggling contraband goods from Suriname were hunted down and jailed with boatloads of their food seized.  On the East coast Demerara there was a collie name Cecil Ram who was assigned to spy on collie peekle and report them.  The police then showed up at their homes and seized their food.  There was one woman who was cooking Roti for her family and when they showed up she hurriedly threw it away in a pond in the backyard.

There are many stories of survival.  Those who continue to ignore the truth are still supporters of the PNC and the wicked ways.

I grew up in an an area on the corentyne close to Suriname where the contraband made some people very rich. Young guys made a lot of money unloading boats when they arrived. Yes, wheat  flour was a contraband item and anyone caught with wheat flour was thrown in jail or charged. 
The police also profited from the smuggling trade by accepting bribes from smugglers and showing a blind eye in return for the bribes. 
I remember GrNger’s administration promoting rice flour during  the first year of them governing. Looks like they had plans of bringing back KSI. 

it was banned....for whatever reason....ban is ban

Burnham was no angel...

I haven't claimed he is an angel .

Do you think was a bad policy move to trade with Cuba during that era ?

Why are you trying to rewrite history? Trying to be a revisionist? Flour was banned. Many remember the police going around looking for people having flour. Many will recount having to get up early, cook their roti, eat and tthen go back to sleep. I have heard of wedding houses being raided.

Z

it was banned....for whatever reason....ban is ban

Burnham was no angel...

I haven't claimed he is an angel .

Do you think was a bad policy move to trade with Cuba during that era ?

Bai, if flour wasn't a contraband item all dem cars that ended up in that burial dump at Brickdam Police Station was illegal.

Yes, flour was indeed banned.

Burnham made several illogical trade maneuvers when he was still being graced with oxygen. He singlehandedly destroyed a potentially triving country because of his highhandedness.

Disagree , the word banned was use for Political Purposes.

Putting lipstick on an ass does not change it from being an ass.

Z
Amral posted:

Not sure if i am wrong. 

You are wrong. Flour was considered a contraband item.  All contraband items were illegal.  People smuggling contraband goods from Suriname were hunted down and jailed with boatloads of their food seized.  On the East coast Demerara there was a collie name Cecil Ram who was assigned to spy on collie peekle and report them.  The police then showed up at their homes and seized their food.  There was one woman who was cooking Roti for her family and when they showed up she hurriedly threw it away in a pond in the backyard.

There are many stories of survival.  Those who continue to ignore the truth are still supporters of the PNC and the wicked ways.

Are  you that old to know the stories ? seems your childhood was messed up with struggles.

Amral posted:

Not sure if i am wrong. 

[[Quote from article]]

But the abruptness with which the economic crisis has overtaken day-to-day life here has left many people frustrated and fuming. The Government has banned the importation of dozens of items that have long been a part of Guyanese life. These include preserved foods such as canned fish, fruit and split peas.

Other staples, such as wheat used for flour, have simply disappeared because the Government cannot afford the foreign exchange to buy them.

[[Unquote from article]]

Source and rest of article -- GUYANA'S ECONOMY IN A SEVERE CRISIS,  By Richard J. Meislin, Special To the New York Times, , https://www.nytimes.com/1982/1...a-severe-crisis.html

Pay attention to the highlighted .

Bai DJ. Burnham made some Indians richer with contraband and exposure to a wider range of foods after items were restricted or banned. It's history now and it doesn't matter if it was banned or not. Most of us left Guyana and are enjoying a good life abroad.

Guyanese should contribute money and make a statue in honouring him cause look how much better off we are now !

Amral posted:

Not sure if i am wrong. 

[[Quote from article]]

But the abruptness with which the economic crisis has overtaken day-to-day life here has left many people frustrated and fuming. The Government has banned the importation of dozens of items that have long been a part of Guyanese life. These include preserved foods such as canned fish, fruit and split peas.

Other staples, such as wheat used for flour, have simply disappeared because the Government cannot afford the foreign exchange to buy them.

[[Unquote from article]]

Pay attention to the highlighted .

Banna, stop behaving like you talking to Marsians!

That was the time when Guyana just made a huge windfall on Sugar.  It was the times when Guyana was awash with Galants, Lancers, Austins etc, ever PNC with 3 GCEs got a job and a car!  But Guyana had no money for basic food. 

And if the Government has no forex and was a simple case of money, why were people being prosecuted for having 1 pound of flour?  Why they raided private homes!

Flour was banned, but to ease the criticism they said forex, but cars were being imported by the boatload!

Django, you making yourself a fool!

Banna, stop behaving like you talking to Marsians!

That was the time when Guyana just made a huge windfall on Sugar.  It was the times when Guyana was awash with Galants, Lancers, Austins etc, ever PNC with 3 GCEs got a job and a car!  But Guyana had no money for basic food. 

And if the Government has no forex and was a simple case of money, why were people being prosecuted for having 1 pound of flour?  Why they raided private homes!

Flour was banned, but to ease the criticism they said forex, but cars were being imported by the boatload!

Django, you making yourself a fool!

Let me explain a few things to you , the people in the country didn't know what was happening, some took the words of politicians as concrete proof.

In searches for information on what really occurred in Guyana , stumbled on lots of documents with details of how the government was operating. Some are from American Diplomats who was stationed in Guyana.

Some of the operations i have seen and known because of connections.

Please i will prefer a conversation without invective's , leave that for some of the other posters , we are not fighting for any top spot who know more than who.