Found some documents that says the PL480 Title 1 Program ,was shutdown due to trade with Cuba.

http://wikileaks.org/plusd/cab...74GEORGE00725_b.html

(C) STATE 226952 OF 11/19/73
GUYANA NO LONGER ELIGIBLE FOR PL-480 TITLE I SALES. SEE
REFS (B) AND (C). KREBS
UNCLASSIFIED

http://wikileaks.org/plusd/cab...73GEORGE01256_b.html

GUYANA-CUBA TRADE-EFFECT ON PL 480 TITLE I SALES

B. STATE 164064
1. EMBASSY APPRECIATES DEPTS RESPONSE TO OUR QUERY CONCERNING GUYANA-CUBA AIR LINK AND POSSIBLE AIR SHIPMENT TRADED GOODS
(REF B).
2. OTHER SIDE THIS COIN, HOWEVER, MOREOVER INVOLVES EFFECT ON PL-480 TITLE I SALES AS SOON AS GUYANA BEGINS ANY RPT ANY TRADE WITH CUBA REGARDLESS OF MODE OF TRANSPORT. SUCH TRADE TO BEGIN NEXT MONTH (REF A). AS WE INTERPRET SECTION 103 (D) (3) OF
PL 480 THERE IS NO EXECUTIVE LEEWAY. 3. ALTHOUGH NO TITLE I REQUEST HAS BEEN MADE THIS YEAR BY

PAGE 02 GEORGE 01256 231441Z
GOG, PROBABLY BECAUSE OF FULL AWARENESS EFFECT ON CUBAN
TRADE, EMB SHOULD HAVE DEPT STATEMENT ON EFFECT ANY FUTURE
TITLE I SALES OF GUYANA TRADE WITH CUBA.
SHERRY

http://wikileaks.org/plusd/cab...73GEORGE01658_b.html

1973 November 8, 19:59 (Thursday)
1. CUBAN SHIP M. V. MATANZAS ARRIVED GEORGETOWN OCTOBER 23
CARRYING 4,000 TONS CEMENT FOR GUYANA. VESSEL CURRENTLY
LOADING TIMBER FOR SHIPMENT TO CUBA. SHIPMENT OF RAILWAY
SLEEPERS SCHEDULED FOR SEPTEMBER (REF A) DID NOT MATERIALIZE.
SOURCES INDICATE SLEEPERS INCLUDED IN CONSIGNMENT NOW BEING
LOADED.
2. THIS MARKS BEGINING OF TWO WAY GUYANA-CUBA TRADE AND
CONSTITUTES ACTION MAKING GUYANA INELIGIBLE FOR PL 480
TITLE I ASSISTANCE (REF B). DEPT PLEASE ADVISE WHETHER ANY
FORMAL NOTIFICATIN TO GOG NECESSARY, TO PUT ON RECORD
EFFECTS THIS ACTION. KING

PL 480 was/is a US program to provide goods to other countries on concessionary terms. The US termination of PL 480 to Guyana in 1973 coincided with the Arab-Israeli war and consequent cut in oil exports by OPEC Arab states, resulting in higher oil prices internationally. Burnham stressed that Guyana was spending exorbitant amounts for imported fuel and consumer goods. His government made up a list prohibiting the importation of a slew of goods including wheat flour which had to be sourced from the world market on non-concessionary terms and required plenty foreign exchange which Burnham claimed the nation couldn't afford.

PL 480 was/is a US program to provide goods to other countries on concessionary terms.

The US termination of PL 480 to Guyana in 1973 coincided with the Arab-Israeli war and consequent cut in oil exports by OPEC Arab states, resulting in higher oil prices internationally.Burnham stressed that Guyana was spending exorbitant amounts for imported fuel and consumer goods.

His government made up a list prohibiting the importation of a slew of goods including wheat flour which had to be sourced from the world market on non-concessionary terms and required plenty foreign exchange which Burnham claimed the nation couldn't afford.

Well if he didn't started trade with Cuba , there was no need to find foreign exchange for flour. The trade below didn't help much.

http://wikileaks.org/plusd/cab...74GEORGE00101_b.html

1974 January 23

1. GOG'S TIMBER EXPORT BOARD WHICH CONTROLS EXPORT OF
COUNTRY'S LUMBER AND ROUGH TIMBER, SIGNED CONTRACT ON
JANUARY 19 TO SUPPLY CUBA SOME $450,000(US) WALLABA POLES
(USED FOR TELEPHONE POLES) DURING 1974. THIS WOULD MAKE CUBA
LARGEST SINGLE PURCHASER GUYANA HARDWOODS.

2. CUBAN VESSEL REPORTEDLY WILL ARRIVE HERE LAST WEEK IN
JANUARY BRINGING CEMENT AND PICKING UP TIMBER. PROBABLY
WILL LOAD RAILROAD TIES (SEE REFTEL) OQICH GUYANA IS FIVE
MONTHS LATE IN DELIVERING. CUBA OBVIOUSLY WILLING PUT UP
WITH LONG DELAYS GIVEN WORLD SHORTAGE FOREST PRODUCTS, AS
WELL AS FOR UOLITIC L REASONS. KING

http://wikileaks.org/plusd/cab...73GEORGE00357_b.html

PL 480 TITLE II- PROGRAM JUSTIFICATION

1973 March 9

1. THE FINAL REPORT OF THE NATIONAL FOOD AND NUTRITION SURVEY
CARRIED OUT IN MID-1971 BY THE CARIBBEAN FOOD ANDNUTRITION
INSTITUTE CONCLUDES THAT 18.2 PERCENT OF CHILDREN UNDER FIVE
SUFFER FROM EITHER MODERATE OR SEVERE PROTEIN CALORIC MALNUTRITION ACCORDING TO THE GOMEZ CLASSIFICAION.

THIS PERCENTAGE IS EX-CLUSVIE OF THE NATIVE AMERINDIAN POPULATION WHICH INHABITS THE SAVANNAH AND JUNGLE AREAS. IN THE ABSENCE OF ANY FIRM DATA, IT IS WIDELY ASSUMED THA THE PREVALENCE OF MALNUTRITION AMONG THEM IS FAR HIGHER. IT IS TO THIS GROUP THAT THE MISSION' S PROPOSED PROGRAMS ARE INCREASINGLY TARGETED AS COMPARED WITH RECENT YEARS.

2. ADDITIONALLY, A KEY ELEMENT OF THE RATIONALE FOR HE CON-
TINUATION OF TITLE II PROGRAMS HAS BEEN THAT THESE PROGRAMS ARE
SEEN BY THE COUNTRY TEAM AS AN IMPORTANT TOOL IN

FURTHERING U. S.OBJECTIVES IN GUYANA. THIS IS PARTICULARLY TRUE TODAY, IN VIEW OF RECENT STRESSES AND STRAINS THAT HAVE OCCURED WITH RESPECT TO OUR RELATIONS, E. G., THE RECENT RECOGNITION BY THE GOG OF CUBA.

3. WITH REGARD TO THE POSSIBILITY OF THE GOG INCREASING ITS FOOD
INPUTS INTO TITLE II, PROSPECTS CURRENTLY ARE NOT TOO BRIGHT.
WHILE THE GOG HAS EXPERIMENTED WITH A RICE- SOY BLEND, IT IS NOT 
EXPECTED THAT IT WILL BE ABLE TO PROVIDE THIS AS A SUBSTITUTE FOOD

I knew someone who worked at the flour mill in the late 70’s.  The US ambassador wanted to appeal for some relief and Burnham refused citing fledgling domestic suppliers of alternatives!

Django trying to put lipstick on burnham!

Actually one US Diplomat tried hard to get the PL 480 Title 1 program , restarted , he was faced with oppostion from higher authorities.

it was banned....for whatever reason....ban is ban

Burnham was no angel...

I haven't claimed he is an angel .

Do you think was a bad policy move to trade with Cuba during that era ?

Bai, if flour wasn't a contraband item all dem cars that ended up in that burial dump at Brickdam Police Station was illegal. Yes, flour was indeed banned.

Burnham made several illogical trade maneuvers when he was still being graced with oxygen. He singlehandedly destroyed a potentially triving country because of his highhandedness.

Burnham was no angel...

Bai, if flour wasn't a contraband item all dem cars that ended up in that burial dump at Brickdam Police Station was illegal.

Yes, flour was indeed banned.

Burnham made several illogical trade maneuvers when he was still being graced with oxygen. He singlehandedly destroyed a potentially triving country because of his highhandedness.

Disagree , the word banned was use for Political Purposes.

We’re you living in Guyana at that time?

Bhai while living there , heard Flour banned , recently heard it wasn't , due to financial constraints during that period.

So i decided , to do my own research.

Django, don't know if I'm reading u right, but u said while living there u heard flour banned. U din eat not roti, bread or anything to know if it was true or not?

Burnham was no angel...

Bai, if flour wasn't a contraband item all dem cars that ended up in that burial dump at Brickdam Police Station was illegal.

Bai, try selling that to all those people who watched their vehicles sit and rot in the Brickdam Police station compound.

I am reading between your lines and sensing that when you stated that "the word banned was use for Political Purposes" you are imputing it on the PPP. Like always, yuh find a way to dab PNC shit pun de PPP. 

Burnham was no angel...

Bai, try selling that to all those people who watched their vehicles sit and rot in the Brickdam Police station compound.

I am reading between your lines and sensing that when you stated that "the word banned was use for Political Purposes" you are imputing it on the PPP. Like always, yuh find a way to dab PNC shit pun de PPP. 

Django gatt no shame!!

I am reading between your lines and sensing that when you stated that "the word banned was use for Political Purposes" you are imputing it on the PPP.

Like always, yuh find a way to dab PNC shit pun de PPP. 

LOL

Same as how PPP trying to daub on PNC.

trying hard to revive Burnham...yuh don't have to look far, check out Granger

Since when seeking truth , is reviving ?

do people have to believe everything they are told ?

We live deh bai. We don't have to rely on what people say. Especially now, several decades later when some are seeking revisionist history. 

We live deh bai. We don't have to rely on what people say.

Especially now, several decades later when some are seeking revisionist history. 

We were too gullible then , well don't think it changed much for some.

I am reading between your lines and sensing that when you stated that "the word banned was use for Political Purposes" you are imputing it on the PPP.

Like always, yuh find a way to dab PNC shit pun de PPP. 

LOL

Same as how PPP trying to daub on PNC.

PNC doesn't need any help with having shit pun dem. Ramotar used an element of the constitution to avoid an NCM. Maybe he has some kind of pride and didn't want to deal with the indignation of the NCM. The PNC dominated Coalition has no such shame. They proclaimed, "bring it on". Then it was brought on and they shamelessly went into shit minded PNC mode to do everything to violate the law. Even today, Granger has not indicated that he will dissolve parliament which is the first step in readying for elections. Repeat, the PNC doesn't need any help with having shit pun dem. 

Especially now, several decades later when some are seeking revisionist history. 

Actually methinks you are gullible now bai. You are not willing to believe your own eyes. 

Yall rass run outta stuff to fight over now is fight over something that happened donkey years ago, yall try deh.

I should bring up story about who killed Christ, see if we can disagree an fite likea rass.

Two things. First Django appeared to be trying to put lipstick pun Burnham's pig lips. Secondly, if Jesus was killed, then he is not alive like many believe. 

A history of the PNC: Part 2

Burnham was essentially driven by narcissism, self-awareness of his exceptional qualities, and was a serious embracer of authoritarian philosophy. The PNC knew Burnham was its problem, but he was the maximum leader and he tolerated no challenge. He would listen, applaud your dissent, but he would never adhere to anything he didn’t believe in, even if he was wrong. The most spine-chilling example of this was a special meeting of the general council of the party, called to examine the dimensions of the flour ban.

Persuasive arguments were put forward that the ban was an abysmal failure. It was corrupting the security forces and Transport and Harbours officials, and enriching areas where PPP constituencies lived. All in the room were against its continuation, including a surprise to Burnham – Hamilton Green. In the end, the maximum leader refused to be moved.

Burnham’s attitude in that meeting caused a serious split between himself and his party. The PNC was at odds with its founder-leader. But even before the flour ban debacle, many PNC leaders were revolted at the assassination of Walter Rodney. They felt Burnham had gone too far. Even before his death in 1985, the PNC knew that its future was without Burnham.

Here is quote from Freddie in his article today , the Guyana Political historian , mentioning flour ban.

Burnham was no angel...

Django gatt no shame!!

I wouldn't say that Django has no shame. I do think he is misguided. 

Everyone who had to try making flour based foods with rice flour and seeing it falling apart knows that flour was banned.

Actually methinks you are gullible now bai. You are not willing to believe your own eyes. 

Naah , not so easily fooled.

Bai, we lived through dem days. We don't need people to come tell abee now dat it was not true dat we couldn't get roti because flour was banned. We don't need people to tell we now dat we neighbors' vehicles being rotted away at Brickdam was because Brickdam just had a hugh open space dat de police thought would be well filled wid vehicles. 

@ Django, did you remember posting this .

Gill,

Thanks,for highlighting the Food import restriction,we are aware what caused that.

There was a KSI in our village, an Indian Dispenser rented his premises to the outlet,of course there were long lines,there was no preferences given to Indian or Blacks,my wifey used to join the line to purchase scarce items for resale as i mentioned for minimum profits,we befriended one of the salesman and was able to get in increased in volume than the amount that was allowed

Django with due respect to you Indians were treated as inferiors during the Burnham era.  The only problem that I have with the Indo KKK on this topic is that blacks were treated as badly under the Jagdeo/Ramotar regime. While Cheddi had his Indian bias at least he wasn't as oppressive towards blacks as the brutes who followed him, starting with his wife.

Thanks Carib,fair response.

The poor suffered,the rich was respected,I hang around with quite a few.

Somebody is instructing DJ to write crap , he knows it's all lies, but for a small favor you are bought for cheap. 

I have said it before, I believe he is rewarded by Congress Place for what he’s doing. 

Someone mentioned about his visit to Guyana recently and he visit office of the president, Django also acknowledged a photo was taken with him and Ramjattan. 

the banna got more desperate recently in posting crap about PPP and it’s leaders, he also attacking PPP supporters by calling them β€œ Blind Followers” 

@ Django, did you remember posting this .

Gill,

Thanks,for highlighting the Food import restriction,we are aware what caused that.

There was a KSI in our village, an Indian Dispenser rented his premises to the outlet,of course there were long lines,there was no preferences given to Indian or Blacks,my wifey used to join the line to purchase scarce items for resale as i mentioned for minimum profits,we befriended one of the salesman and was able to get in increased in volume than the amount that was allowed

What's your point , with the reference post ?

Somebody is instructing DJ to write crap , he knows it's all lies, but for a small favor you are bought for cheap. 

I have said it before, I believe he is rewarded by Congress Place for what he’s doing.

Someone mentioned about his visit to Guyana recently and he visit office of the president, Django also acknowledged a photo was taken with him and Ramjattan.

the banna got more desperate recently in posting crap about PPP and it’s leaders, he also attacking PPP supporters by calling them β€œ Blind Followers "

Believing in too much hearsay , i met Khemraj in N.Y.