‘Dem Ah Watch Me’ singer accuses police of victimization

July 29, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

Local Chutney Star Mahendra Ramkellawan believes that he is being unduly harassed by the police, who he is blaming for intervening in a private matter between him and two international “investors”. The police are insisting that the ‘Dem Ah Watch Me” singer turn himself in after the “investors” reported that he owed them money.

Mahendra Ramkellawan

But Ramkellawan has flatly denied the allegation and is adamant that the police force is victimizing him for actions he recently took against the Commissioner of Police. Ramkellawan has sued the Commissioner for wrongfully arresting him, a matter that stemmed from another private arrangement between the popular singer/promoter and another party. The new controversy has its origins in this year’s ‘Clash of the Titans’ show at the National Stadium, which is promoted by Firefest Productions, a company run by Ramkellawan. In an interview with this newspaper yesterday, Ramkellawan, who had been out of Guyana for more than a year, explained that upon his return, he was approached by the two investors, who happened to be Guyanese living abroad.  They wanted to invest some money into the show which was making a comeback after a two-year absence. According to the promoter, the deal was that they would get back their investment and a portion of the profits if the show was successful. It was not! Ramkellawan said that he suffered tremendous loss at the show which took place on March 14. “It did not come off as we expected. It was close to elections and our overhead expenses were very high,” he said. He added that the two investors were at the show and would have seen what had taken place. However, they demanded that Ramkellawan pay them back the money they had invested. Ramkellawan said he invited the men to examine his books to see the expenses that the show had incurred and that it had produced no profits. In fact, he claimed that he is still indebted to a number of other entities who had provided him with credit for the show. The men insisted that they be repaid, and according to Ramkellawan, they even threatened him and his wife. The threats were reported to the police at the Providence Station, but it is now three weeks later and nothing has been done about it. “Up to now the police have done nothing,” Ramkellawan stressed. He said that since then he has refused to meet with the men since he fears for his life. This led to the investors becoming angry and they went to the same Providence Police Station where they reported that Ramkellawan owed them money and was refusing to pay them back. According to Ramkellawan, he was reliably informed that the men were advised that the matter is a private one and they should seek legal advice. The men were apparently not satisfied with the advice and they took the matter further by going to the Brickdam Station. Ramkellawan said he received a telephone call yesterday from a detective stationed at the Criminal Investigations Department at Brickdam, informing him that he was wanted there. He believes that the matter is not one for the police since he has committed no crime. “I had filed a lawsuit against the Commissioner and I believe that this is the result. They (police) did not do anything when I reported that I was threatened,  but now they are telling me that I am wanted,” Ramkellawan said. This newspaper will examine the lawsuit in a subsequent edition. Ramkellawan however stated that he will be presenting himself to the police with his lawyer today.

They wanted to invest some money into the show which was making a comeback after a two-year absence. According to the promoter, the deal was that they would get back their investment and a portion of the profits if the show was successful.

GUYANA IS NOW A POLICE STATE. WE SHOULD REALLY CHANGE THE NAME NOW TO GHANA.  CHANGE:  TERRORIZE THE CITIZEN!!  WHERE ARE THE GUN IDIOTS???

Ghana is not a police state . . . it is actually one of the few properly functioning democracies in West Africa

pls do not advertise your ignorance and bigotry at such a decibel level . . . it makes GNI look bad

GUYANA IS NOW A POLICE STATE. WE SHOULD REALLY CHANGE THE NAME NOW TO GHANA.  CHANGE:  TERRORIZE THE CITIZEN!!  WHERE ARE THE GUN IDIOTS???

Ghana is not a police state . . . it is actually one of the few properly functioning democracies in West Africa

pls do not advertise your ignorance and bigotry at such a decibel level . . . it makes GNI look bad

WELL GO LIVE THERE fool!!!  You too STUPID to understand Ghana is a Dictatorship.  DUNCE PROF!!!

Ghana is not a dictatorship either. You are so ignorant of the facts that I recommend that you are put down to spare the rest of us the pain of watching an old senile man make fool of himself.

http://www.theguardian.com/glo...ess-health-education

for what ails u, there is no cure

Originally Posted by Mr.T:
Ghana is not a dictatorship either. You are so ignorant of the facts that I recommend that you are put down to spare the rest of us the pain of watching an old senile man make fool of himself.

He's not old or senile. 

For a RACIST DAAG like you, the PPP govt was a Dictatorship!!!  BLOODY RACIST!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally Posted by Observer:

He's not old or senile. 

We kno. He's just DUMB and plain STUPID!!! This thread is yet another example of what an ignorant, low IQ, oaf he is.

Originally Posted by Itaname:

He's not old or senile. 

We kno. He's just DUMB and plain STUPID!!! This thread is yet another example of what an ignorant, low IQ, oaf he is.

Did I not explain to the World what an ILLITERATE JACKASS you are.  Jackass haad ears no wonder yuh coming for more DUMMY!!!

Originally Posted by Itaname:

He's not old or senile. 

Did I not explain to the World what an ILLITERATE JACKASS you are.  Jackass haad ears no wonder yuh coming for more DUMMY!!!

Don't you have a murder investigation to conduct on a victim who is still alive?   LMFAO

Some of us trying to break the news to him gently. But like the loss of the PPP and his loss of his buddy Bharat to buy him some free drinks is weighing down heavily on his wallet. If Nehru was a dog he would have been taken to the vet to be put down, or sold to the local Chinese restaurant. Instead we have to put up with him.

Lord Sewel bought you any Likka lately???