Decade of Dictatorship

Instead of the much-touted decade of development, Guyana, it seems, is headed for a decade of dictatorship. Unless the naked grab to hold on to power by the ruling APNU+AFC is diffused, Guyana will return to the days of dictatorship.
Those who had promised the Guyanese people change are now on the verge of delivering a return to the old discredited and backward political culture of rigged elections. The APNU+AFC has taken a thirty-five year leap backwards into political degeneracy.
The last rigged elections was in 1985, before most of the young people of the country were born. They have never tasted the bitter medicine of dictatorship. They may soon do so compliments of the APNU+AFC.
The young people of this country, whose future seemed bright because of the oil find, now have ominous reasons to despair. Even though there can be economic growth in the absence of democracy, there can hardly be human development with an unaccountable government in place.
The experience of countries in South-east Asia, where dictatorial and authoritarian regimes led to economic growth and high levels of industrialization is deceptive. It masks the grave human rights abuses, extreme economic exploitation of workers and sadistic human regimentation which took place. Success came at a horrid price.
Democracy is not perfect, indeed it is far from perfect. But it is still the best system available, far more superior to any of the political options which have been tried or are being proposed.
A democratic rupture is taking place in Guyana. An election is being stolen in the crudest fashion possible. The rigging has lacked sophistication and finesse. The rigging has taken place bald-facedly in full view of the eyes of the international community, and it has been defended and justified shamelessly by the APNU+AFC and a small minority of its supporters.
The rigging has abused the system of due process. Specious court actions have been filed, aimed not at upholding the law and citizens’ fundamental rights, but of frustrating the democratic will of the people. Even when the courts have ruled, there were attempts to circumvent and offer ingenious interpretations to the court’s rulings, as is now the case in which once political activist saying that the CCJ decision was political.
The riggers have turned around and artlessly blamed the victims. The riggers have had the temerity to accuse the winners of electoral malpractice even though the only fraud which has been substantiated was done with a bed sheet and a spreadsheet and done in front of the eyes of world. No good can come from this act of brazenness.
All of this does not augur well for this country’s future. The possibility of a rogue government is too frightening to contemplate. But it is a real possibility considering the attempts which have been made, even at this late stage, to frustrate the final declaration of the elections’ results.
Guyana is heading down the path to a return to political dictatorship which everyone thought was banished 28 years ago. Guyana has had experience with this before. No one, not even the supporters of the rigging, should find pleasure in a return to this degenerate past
Dictatorship is deadly. It is characterized by discrimination, dispossession and depressed living and working conditions.
Development becomes its first victim. An immediate loss of investor confidence and massive capital flight takes place. All the oil revenues in the world cannot compensate for the high political and personal risks which are triggered by a return to dictatorship.
In the case of Guyana, it is not expected to see any significant oil revenues until 2026. The pandemic is only partly to blame for this Exxon is not yet producing at the 120,000 barrels per day. Even the anticipated US$300M may be elusive.
If an illegitimate government is put in place, there is likely to be immediate international sanctions which would mean that Guyana will not see a cent of this revenue. Even the trickle which Guyana should have received will dry-up, and with the hopes of our young people.
A government which is not politically accountable is not likely to be financially or economically accountable. The stealing and misallocation of resources will only get worse. Favouritism and nepotism will be the order of the day. It will be jobs for friends and family and there will be widespread mismanagement, incompetence and corruption.
At the political level, dictatorship employs methods of brute force, repression, and suppression. Human rights will become the first causality. Persons will find it hard to secure justice at any level of society.
Persons would not be able to speak; the press will be muzzled. Critics of the government will be victimized and no recourse will be available since the hands of justice will become tight-fisted. A ‘wrong and strong political culture’ will reign supreme.
All of this will lead to mass migration to the West, the Caribbean and neighbouring states. People will want to get out regardless of what it takes.
The international community now remains Guyana’s only hope. If they fail Guyana, then the young people should make a decision to get out of the country it will be no place in which they would want any longer to call home.
If the international community is implicated in negotiating a medium-term exit strategy for an illegitimate government, it would be complicit in the denial of democracy. It would result in the international community reaping its own bitter harvest because young and old will flock to the West, East and North to escape the decade of dictatorship.

Source:

The governmental choices Guyanese had/has since the awakenings to be  independent was never democratic. First, we elected a combination of communists, socialists, marxist and anarchist under the guise of a class struggle. Bad behavior towards the Queen gave rise to anarchy (Sydney King gang) resulted in no government. 

We start off as rebels and continue on to this day.

I am hoping these present attempts of the Afroes brings to a table of discussions on the future of the country.

There is no plan to develop a country, so far we juss flow wid the strongman, either Granger or Jagdeo.

The PPP gave the PNC no choice in the current matter. The PPP has to change its image and its structure. Wah we have is two rotten political systems, one has to change for the better. The PNC gat the show, the PPP has to do better.   

@seignet posted:

The governmental choices Guyanese had/has since the awakenings to be  independent was never democratic. First, we elected a combination of communists, socialists, marxist and anarchist under the guise of a class struggle. Bad behavior towards the Queen gave rise to anarchy (Sydney King gang) resulted in no government. 

We start off as rebels and continue on to this day.

I am hoping these present attempts of the Afroes brings to a table of discussions on the future of the country.

There is no plan to develop a country, so far we juss flow wid the strongman, either Granger or Jagdeo.

The PPP gave the PNC no choice in the current matter. The PPP has to change its image and its structure. Wah we have is two rotten political systems, one has to change for the better. The PNC gat the show, the PPP has to do better.   

The people have to tighten their belts for the hard times ahead.  Food shortages, long lines at the grocery stores, soldiers patrolling the streets,  and it is deja vu ( the feeling that one has lived through the present situation before) all over again.

@Ramakant-P posted:

The people have to tighten their belts for the hard times ahead.  Food shortages, long lines at the grocery stores, soldiers patrolling the streets,  and it is deja vu ( the feeling that one has lived through the present situation before) all over again.

It looks like the Afroes are dealing with things as it falls. I think they have a detailed plan, they know what they are doing. Interesting, it never was leaked. Sort of like the Demerara Slave Rebellion. 

My concern is about the poor Guyana East Indian men and women who don't have access to guns/ammo, explosives or armed private security to protect them from anti-koolie hate. They are the ones who will have to pay the bill of anti-koolies hate with blood. There is only so much a 22 cutlass can do to stop anti koolie hate. Guyana is a failed racist shit hole finger banana Republic. it is not worth fighting over. Struggle peacefully for an inpedendant democratic sovereign country for East Indians of Guyana, Douglas who love their East Indian heritage and allies of the East Indian people of Guyana regardless of race or religion.

While it is true that when for 28 years the PNC Dictatorship was ruining Guyana, there were never crimes of this magnitude, it is because of only one reason, and that is Blacks never go against Blacks. The Dictatorial Regime had the Army & the Police Force on their side, and as long as there was a Black President it was enough to satisfy the simple-minded ignorants on the street in spite of what was happening to the country. The Jagdeo government did not enjoy the support of the Army nor the Police Force and as such was powerless to do anything to stop what was being promoted by the PNC because a Black would not arrest Black. It was only the Indians who had to lose so it was only the Indians who continue to die. Deja vu all over again.

@Ramakant-P posted:

While it is true that when for 28 years the PNC Dictatorship was ruining Guyana, there were never crimes of this magnitude, it is because of only one reason, and that is Blacks never go against Blacks. The Dictatorial Regime had the Army & the Police Force on their side, and as long as there was a Black President it was enough to satisfy the simple-minded ignorants on the street in spite of what was happening to the country. The Jagdeo government did not enjoy the support of the Army nor the Police Force and as such was powerless to do anything to stop what was being promoted by the PNC because a Black would not arrest Black. It was only the Indians who had to lose so it was only the Indians who continue to die. Deja vu all over again.

Here we are early Sunday morning and you are in full racist mode.  Isn't Sunday a day of prayer for you?  

@Prashad posted:

My concern is about the poor Guyana East Indian men and women who don't have access to guns/ammo, explosives or armed private security to protect them from anti-koolie hate. They are the ones who will have to pay the bill of anti-koolies hate with blood. There is only so much a 22 cutlass can do to stop anti koolie hate. Guyana is a failed racist shit hole finger banana Republic. it is not worth fighting over. Struggle peacefully for an inpedendant democratic sovereign country for East Indians of Guyana, Douglas who love their East Indian heritage and allies of the East Indian people of Guyana regardless of race or religion.

Keep on dreaming and stop the delusion of East Indians as an innocent race.  

@Ramakant-P posted:

It is the sum of your actions in this and previous states of mind, viewed as the deciding factor in your future life as a racist.

If you need me to explain I wouldn't hold it against you for being dumb.

I have refrained from calling you names but you are tempting me.  I have told you before that ad hominem attacks are the refuge of the intellectually bankrupt.  Now go look that up on Google, from which you copy liberally.

@Totaram posted:

I have refrained from calling you names but you are tempting me.  I have told you before that ad hominem attacks are the refuge of the intellectually bankrupt.  Now go look that up on Google, from which you copy liberally.

I told you I only speak the truth.   You can call me names that you fabricate and it would be true.  Your ignorance can only be exceeded by your own ignorance.  Let me give you some advice.  Stop replying to my post unless you are constructive.  I will continue to call out the hooligans in the PNC and there isn't anything anyone can do about it.

@Ramakant-P posted:

I told you I only speak the truth.   You can call me names that you fabricate and it would be true.  Your ignorance can only be exceeded by your own ignorance.  Let me give you some advice.  Stop replying to my post unless you are constructive.  I will continue to call out the hooligans in the PNC and there isn't anything anyone can do about it.

You can continue to be a jackass because that's what you are.  It seems as if nastiness is now part of the IndoGuyanese DNA.  Everywhere on social media, this forum included, they resort to downright nastiness when commenting on Guyanese politics and other issues.  Now that they are getting the response from the other side they are crying foul.  

@Totaram posted:

You can continue to be a jackass because that's what you are.  It seems as if nastiness is now part of the IndoGuyanese DNA.  Everywhere on social media, this forum included, they resort to downright nastiness when commenting on Guyanese politics and other issues.  Now that they are getting the response from the other side they are crying foul.  

Hardy har har. 

@Totaram posted:

Toats, is not only them. Afros on FB doing exactly the same. Is nah wan daag name pampy bai. We've seen this over and over again.

@Sheik101 posted:

Toats, is not only them. Afros on FB doing exactly the same. Is nah wan daag name pampy bai. We've seen this over and over again.

My impression is that the nastiness is mainly from the Indian side.  Moreover, the Indians write as if they are superior to the Blacks.  For them, the Blacks can't run cake shap, dem backward and stuff like that.  They are quick to assign ulterior motives to people for their honest opinions etc.  Right here on this forum I was told that my opposition to the Jagdeo led PPP was motivated by benefits I am getting from the PNC.  And it goes on and on.  

@Totaram posted:

My impression is that the nastiness is mainly from the Indian side.  Moreover, the Indians write as if they are superior to the Blacks.  For them, the Blacks can't run cake shap, dem backward and stuff like that.  They are quick to assign ulterior motives to people for their honest opinions etc.  Right here on this forum I was told that my opposition to the Jagdeo led PPP was motivated by benefits I am getting from the PNC.  And it goes on and on.  

You never denied the inconsistencies of the PNC and from your own stinking mouth, you said you support them. Your opposition to Jagdeo stemmed from the fact that you couldn't get a job with him. You blamed him for the degrading way the PNC ran the Country from 2015 to 2020 although the man was not in power since 2011. Lowenfield and the PNC is trying to steal the election but you again are denying it but instead, you criticized the PPP for winning.

@Ramakant-P posted:

You never denied the inconsistencies of the PNC and from your own stinking mouth, you said you support them. Your opposition to Jagdeo stemmed from the fact that you couldn't get a job with him. You blamed him for the degrading way the PNC ran the Country from 2015 to 2020 although the man was not in power since 2011. Lowenfield and the PNC is trying to steal the election but you again are denying it but instead, you criticized the PPP for winning.

Your rambling has now degenerated into utter rubbish.  What job could Jagdeo have given me?  Where in your nasty mind did you get the idea that I wanted a job with the corrupt Jagdeo government? However, your rambling is useful as it illustrates the nasty-mindedness of PPP supporters in ascribing to anyone that doesn't see the world their way opportunistic motives. BTW, most of what you have written about me is completely false.  You just make things up and write nonsense.