Clowncaribny posted:

By the way Sugar Levy Act was repealed in 2003.

The post may be too long for you to read and analyze,ask  kp, for some assistance.

Also give the final cost for the Skeldon Sugar Factory. The god and East Indian savior killed the Sugar Industry.

The point being that between 1993 and 2003 the PPP continued the sugar levy.

Dave go and scream at the PPP.    Now what is noteworthy about the long article is that in 2005 Guyana sugar was considered potentially viable.  Thanks to the Jagdeo idiot and his Skeldon project a mere few years later it was flat on its back.  This when he removed the Bookers management and put in place his cast of PPP clowns and thieves.

Clown, the sugar levy imposed on Indians was not spend in Indians dominated areas where it should be, but instead was spend in Blacks neighbourhood.. Yo BLCAK hero Burnham thief from Indians to support Afro including you who survived off the sweat and blood from Indians... our tears will not go invain... ever wonder why ayo continue to suffer and Indians can go to any part of the world and build a successful life for their families. 

Sugar Levy money built National Cultural Center when It should have been THE INDIAN CULTURAL CENTER. Now tek dat and fill yuh pipe and smoke it!!! Sugar money supported the Bauxite Ind and so on and so on.

And why should have been limited to one race.

1. Indians aren't the only people working in the sugar industry.

2. Guyana is a multi ethnic nation and gov't revenues should be spent in ways which benefit ALL.

3.  Did the Indian cultural center foster the development of Indo GUYANESE performance culture, or just radiate that produced in India?  Whether you accept it or not the fact that Indians (as in India) and Indo GUYANESE are two separate peoples.

Sugar Levy money built National Cultural Center when It should have been THE INDIAN CULTURAL CENTER. Now tek dat and fill yuh pipe and smoke it!!! Sugar money supported the Bauxite Ind and so on and so on.

Unclaimed remittances of the indentured used to build National Cultural Centre

It wasn't remittances.  It was the passage back to India that most of the indentures didn't use because they preferred life in Guyana.  Pity many of their descendants now want to behave as if they live in India.

These funds were raised by taxes levied on the non sugar sectors in Guyana and on those who didn't work in sugar.  A fancy way of saying that black people paid for this.

So it was appropriate that the funds should be used for the benefit of all Guyanese and it is also appropriate for Indo Guyanese to demand that the Center be inclusive to their cultural needs.  We can indeed debate about the degree to which Indo Guyanese were involved, but I do recall a PPP inspired boycott of the National Cultural Center.

It wasn't remittances.  It was the passage back to India that most of the indentures didn't use because they preferred life in Guyana.  Pity many of their descendants now want to behave as if they live in India.

These funds were raised by taxes levied on the non sugar sectors in Guyana and on those who didn't work in sugar.  A fancy way of saying that black people paid for this.

So it was appropriate that the funds should be used for the benefit of all Guyanese and it is also appropriate for Indo Guyanese to demand that the Center be inclusive to their cultural needs.  We can indeed debate about the degree to which Indo Guyanese were involved, but I do recall a PPP inspired boycott of the National Cultural Center.

Banna, these are some nasty, hardcore racist Indians posting hay. Regarding the National Cultural Center, Burnham wanted it to be all inclusive. There were shows by Afro Guyanese, Caribbean stars like Sparrow and Byron Lee, as well as INDIAN performers from overseas and Guyana.

There was an Indo Guyanese woman in a wheelchair (I think last name Singh) who was instrumental in bringing Indian arts, culture and dance to the Cultural Center. She had a son who was a performer also. I think they lived in Lamaha street. Not sure if Burnham gave her a title or she was a minister or not. But all kinds of nasty, racist invectives were hurled upon this Indian woman by her fellow INDIANS simply because she and her family sought to represent and bring Indian culture and art to the National Cultural Center.

Yes, people like these same nasty racist DOGS like KP, Nehru, Seignet, Ramgoat, "Dave", and others who post their racist shit with impunity hay, maligned this INDIAN woman, calling her all kinda names, accusing her of being a "traitor" to Indians and of sordid deeds wid "black man".

This is what we got posting hay. Nasty, RACIST, Indians who believe Guyana is dem patrimony and that no other race, especially black people, have a place in Guyana! And if an Indian (like this lady), undertake ANY effort to associate with other races in Guyana it immediately provokes their ire.

Sadly, the ones posting hay are not alone. Huge numbers of them in Guyana also.

There was an Indo Guyanese woman in a wheelchair (I think last name Singh) who was instrumental in bringing Indian arts, culture and dance to the Cultural Center. She had a son who was a performer also. I think they lived in Lamaha street. Not sure if Burnham gave her a title or she was a minister or not. 

That's Rajkumarie Singh, her son was Gora Singh.

Rajkumari Singh (1923 - 1979)
A new offering on racial conflict resolution

http://www.landofsixpeoples.com/news402/ns4053013.htm

Rajkumari Singh surmounted many challenges during her life. At the age of six, she contracted polio, but this did not confine her. She rose above this challenge and made significant contributions to Guyana's political and cultural life. Her children have expanded on her work, and today her legacy thrives through the Rajkumari Cultural Center in Richmond Hill, New York.

She grew up in an activist home in Georgetown. Her mother, Alice Bhagwandai Singh (nee Persad), was born in Suriname. Alice's grandfather was a Kshatriya from Bengal who came to the Caribbean region as a Christian interpreter. He served in Grenada, British Guiana, and finally in Nickerie, Suriname where he became Chief Interpreter of Indian Languages.

Rajkumari's father was Dr Jung Bahadur Singh who was born at Goed Fortuin, West Bank Demerara. Rajkumarie's parents had met on a ship that had transported indentured immigrants from India to the Caribbean. They were both dispensers and got married on February 23, 1912. There were three ceremonies: a civil ceremony, a Christian ceremony and a Hindu ceremony.

In 1929, after the successful production of Savitri, Rajkumari's mother founded the British Guiana Dramatic Society. For almost two decades, the British Guiana Dramatic Society was "a cradle of Indian culture" in British Guiana. In addition to her work with the performing arts, Alice Singh was actively engaged in social welfare projects. She was a member of the Red Cross, the YWCA and the Dharm Shala, and served as a prison visitor. In 1936 she founded the Balak Sahaita Mandalee - a child welfare organization that provided education and training for needy East Indian children. She was awarded the MBE.

After completing his medical education at Edinburgh University in 1919, Rajkumari's father started a career as a medical practitioner on the ships that transported indentured immigrants to the Caribbean and back to India at the end of their contacts of indentureship. In 1920, he was the medical superintendent on the SS Madian. In 1938 he was the surgeon superintendent on SS Ganges. This career permitted him to see the construction of the global Indian diaspora as he travelled to Fiji, Natal, Jamaica, Suriname and Trinidad, and to appreciate the challenges associated with settling in new spaces.

In between their professional careers, the Singhs were actively involved in political activities. Between 1920 and 1949, Dr Jung Bahadur Singh served as President of the British Guiana East Indian Association six times.

According to A J Seymour, "In 1929, he became a member of the Legislature for Demerara-Essequibo and in his long legislative service served on many committees and boards."

He founded the Maha Sabha and served as its president from 1935 to 1955. In 1944, he was awarded the CBE.

This environment influenced Rajkumari, who established a reputation as an innovative and multi-talented broadcaster, producer, director, playwright, poet, songwriter and cultural activist.

Rajkumari was an announcer and presenter of Indian cultural programmes on Radio Demerara. She was a member of the British Guiana Dramatic Society and is remembered for her play Gitangali. In 1960, she published six short stories in A Garland of Stories.

Rajkumari also participated in the political environment. In the 1960s, she was engaged by the People's Progressive Party and was appointed to serve on the Commission of Inquiry into the racial violence at Wismar.

In the 1970s, Rajkumari returned to the cultural sphere. She went back to broadcasting and literary activities and has been described as "one of the first Indo-Guyanese women writers to speak to both the ethnic and gender issues facing Indo-Caribbean women." (Peepal Tree release)

Rajkumari became the editor of Heritage, a literary booklet. She also became the leader of the Messenger Group and served as the mentor for some of Guyana's most talented personalities in the post-independence era - Gora Singh, Mahadai Das, Rooplal Monar, and Gushka Kissoon.

I remember visiting her home in Lamaha Street during the early 1970s, and finding it to be a cultural oasis. At that home, I would meet Martin Carter, Marc Matthews, Gordon Carreaga, Ivan Forrester, Doris Harper-Wills, Sheik Sadeek, Phillip Moore, Victor Forsythe and many others from all racial, religious and colour communities, and we would visualize a new Guyana now that the "Days of the Sahib were over."

Rajkumari was very passionate about the place of the arts in the creation of post-independence Guyana society. She clearly understood that one of the challenges facing the new nation was the mutual ignorance of our collective histories. She held the view that the arts provided a vehicle to find the similarities and the opportunities to explore new possibilities. So, it was not surprising when she joined the Guyana National Service at its start in 1972.

She was severely criticized for doing this. For some members of the Indo-Guyanese community, this was a betrayal of her race. Some argued that joining the GNS led to "the stagnation of her creativity." I wish to suggest that such positions were harsh.

Under Rajkumari's leadership, the GNS Culture Corps helped Guyanese of African ancestry to demystify the aesthetics of Guyanese of Indian ancestry. No longer were the dhantal, dolak, sitar and harmonium the instruments of the 'other.' They were instruments that could be incorporated in the nation's musical pantheon to make a glorious sound.

Through barrack-room conversations and other educational moments, pioneers, staff, and officers explored the similarities among Kali, Cumfa, and Novenas. Explorations of Guyanese history brought to our attention the solidarity that had existed between recently emancipated Africans and newly arrived indentured Indians on the Essequibo Coast during the 1840s.

Under Rajkumari's leadership, a wave of exciting creativity emerged from the Guyana National Service. Music spoke about aspiration and demonstrated fusion.

Rajkumari was a tireless defender of the members of the Culture Corps. She fought to make the GNS a better place and to have it live up to its founding ideals.

Rajkumari's creativity soared to new heights. She demonstrated the importance of participatory organization for social change. She demonstrated that internal criticism was a valid strategy for bringing about social change. Rajkumari was also aware that being an internal critic could bring tough sanctions. She understood this and faced the challenge.

Like so much of Guyana's history, there is need for much more work on Rajkumari's legacy.

As Marina Taitt is keeping the flame of Dorothy Taitt alive, so is Pritha Singh, the Executive and Artistic Director of the Rajkumari Cultural Center, located in Richmond Hill, New York, performing the same service for Rajkumari. The centre integrates the performing arts and service. Like the visions of her grandparents and her mother, the centre executes a wider vision catering for the Indo-Caribbean populations in New York. What Pritha and her siblings are doing in New York is clearly attributable to what their mother instilled in them.

Rajkumari Singh is a Guyanese cultural hero. She called to our attention the mutual ignorance we have of our collective histories. So, although it is necessary and important to understand and celebrate the histories of the individual racial and ethnic communities that comprise Guyana, it is necessary to begin to explore the history of solidarity and fusion.

For her contribution to Guyanese cultural life, Rajkumari Singh was one of the first Guyanese to receive the Wordsworth McAndrew Award when it was introduced in 2002. She received Guyana's Arrow of Achievement in 1970.

For more information on the Rajkumari Cultural Center visit, http://www.rajkumari.org/

KAKAHOLE PUTTY DAT MAKING EXCUSE AFTER EXCUSE FOR HIS MASTERS. I WONDER IF HE IS IN THE HOUSE OR OUT ON THE FIELDS!!!

GO PLAY WITH LIL CHIRREN.

This conversation above your faculty.

Thank you.

Don't tell Uncle pervy to go play with lil children, better to tell him go play with himself.

I am sure you gat plenty I can play with!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jackass posting C music now, hehehehe

He is allowed to shit on every thread and fk it up, detracting from the nonsensical posts of his fellow retards. Nothing to say about Guyana's NCC,  suh he post Indian videos and start screaming. He has impunity hay bai. True Guyanese stylee....iz all about who yuh kno.

KAKAHOLE PUTTY DAT MAKING EXCUSE AFTER EXCUSE FOR HIS MASTERS. I WONDER IF HE IS IN THE HOUSE OR OUT ON THE FIELDS!!!

GO PLAY WITH LIL CHIRREN.

This conversation above your faculty.

Thank you.

Don't tell Uncle pervy to go play with lil children, better to tell him go play with himself.

I am sure you gat plenty I can play with!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offering to play with the man's children. Disgusting behavior and allowed by GNI.

That's Rajkumarie Singh, her son was Gora Singh.

Rajkumari Singh (1923 - 1979)
A new offering on racial conflict resolution

http://www.landofsixpeoples.com/news402/ns4053013.htm

She held the view that the arts provided a vehicle to find the similarities and the opportunities to explore new possibilities. So, it was not surprising when she joined the Guyana National Service at its start in 1972.

She was severely criticized for doing this. For some members of the Indo-Guyanese community, this was a betrayal of her race. Some argued that joining the GNS led to "the stagnation of her creativity." I wish to suggest that such positions were harsh.

Under Rajkumari's leadership, the GNS Culture Corps helped Guyanese of African ancestry to demystify the aesthetics of Guyanese of Indian ancestry. No longer were the dhantal, dolak, sitar and harmonium the instruments of the 'other.' They were instruments that could be incorporated in the nation's musical pantheon to make a glorious sound.

Yes, that's her. Dem Indian anti man posting hay who bytch and whine daily about "lack of representation in the military and police" would be well served to read how INDIANS treated this INDIAN WOMAN for engaging the national service and military, attempting to bring Indian culture and help create a "Guyanese" cultural context that included Indian culture. These nasty Indians like the ones posting hay didn't like that, they wanted to remain tied to India and Guyana to be Indian ONLY.

Interesting that this woman's roots were much more sophisticated and more "indian" than any of the fake "indian patriots" posting hay like de bramanananananananan man and he clown posse like professa youtube who posting videos of songs dat he doant even undastand what dem sehing. I bet this woman and her family spoke fluent Hindi, but she wasn't "indian" enuff fuh dese clowns posting hay.

Laang time I am nah eat Guana curry

Me see Amral bonjee he rass on the other thread. 

It’s Full Moon, he was put in the paddock. 

Amral has a lot of patience and tolerance but Guana was pushing the envelope. I can see Ronan getting the sledge hammer with his cussing and vulgarity if he doesn't  tone it down.

Those fools like to pretend that they are so intelligent. Yet they don't know when they are being baited. I always say that what I write is never provoked by any other poster. I write niceties but I also write stuff that would shock readers. But in every instance, they are all what I intend to write and for the effect that I intend. I can not be baited into dancing to anyone tune. Surprisingly, these self proclaimed intelligent ones can't see the bait.

Rajkumari was very passionate about the place of the arts in the creation of post-independence Guyana society. She clearly understood that one of the challenges facing the new nation was the mutual ignorance of our collective histories. She held the view that the arts provided a vehicle to find the similarities and the opportunities to explore new possibilities. So, it was not surprising when she joined the Guyana National Service at its start in 1972.

So this shyte that I see on this site by ignorant backward racist fkers has been ongoing for many years. This woman was a decent person unlike those here, Sad, very sad!

I can see Ronan getting the sledge hammer with his cussing and vulgarity if he doesn't tone it down.

watch this pitiful character beggin like a lil girl for admin to ban me

word . . . there will be no "tone it down" for you, especially when you out and about here prancing in platform shoes flashing cheap 'gold' rotten teeth 

lash for the ignorant continues unabated

You are full of "..it" Just because somebody black and they go against your sleazy way of thinking don't make them ripe for being suspended.

Iguana was suspended for speaking the truth. He spoke of the many posts of buggery coming from you ..ahem..."guys" and he is correct. I ALSO SEE A LOT OF ASININE POSTS COMING FROM NEHRU WHICH ADDS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO A DISCUSSION but make the intelligent posters pissed off... and it is tolerated. I don't see any of you PPP guys speaking out on this, WHY?

I know why but would like to hear it from one of you.

You are full of "..it" Just because somebody black and they go against your sleazy way of thinking don't make them ripe for being suspended.

Iguana was suspended for speaking the truth. He spoke of the many posts of buggery coming from you ..ahem..."guys" and he is correct. I ALSO SEE A LOT OF ASININE POSTS COMING FROM NEHRU WHICH ADDS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO A DISCUSSION but make the intelligent posters pissed off... and it is tolerated. I don't see any of you PPP guys speaking out on this, WHY?

This not a serious place and your associates feels that they can curse out Indians on here. They are so determined to be downright nasty that they doan realize the vulgarity of their comments. Perhaps, dem Indian boys got their number on provocation and are deliberate.

The admins do not take sides, atleast they know poor taste and act on it.

Anyone who knows of the race relations in Guyana, knows that the putagees always sides with the Blacks. Join up to hate the Indians.

Not surprised.

The indian labour produced a commodity saleable to europe from the time of their arrival, right up to Granger doing them out of their livelyhood. Sugar was always taxed to the benefit of the colony. And the indian labour paid for their passage back to India along with revenues for education and infra=structure.

Doan tell us that Blacks were taxed to pay for Indians passages back to India. You meking coolie ppl cursing yuh up real bad.

Where you get that shit from? The passage money was a colonial matter, how Burnham got it from the British is a mistry.

This not a serious place and your associates feels that they can curse out Indians on here. They are so determined to be downright nasty that they doan realize the vulgarity of their comments. Perhaps, dem Indian boys got their number on provocation and are deliberate.

The admins do not take sides, atleast they know poor taste and act on it.

Anyone who knows of the race relations in Guyana, knows that the putagees always sides with the Blacks. Join up to hate the Indians.

Not surprised.

You are full of ..it also, the hate you see is imbedded in you and for someone who claims to be a christian you are being a foolish man.

I leave Amral out because he is hardly on here but have you seen any of us put Django down? How about Sheik, Ray, Tola? These fellas are all Indian guys.... yeah Siggy we hate them ohhh so much. These are the few here who have morals unlike the others who cling onto each other regardless of the shit they spew.

DG does come out with some real stupidness at times but I respect him, he ole. Oh yeh and I do respect Kaz because he does not speak down to those against his beliefs...plus he likes the big boob women dem.

You are full of ..it also, the hate you see is imbedded in you and for someone who claims to be a christian you are being a foolish man.

I leave Amral out because he is hardly on here but have you seen any of us put Django down? How about Sheik, Ray, Tola? These fellas are all Indian guys.... yeah Siggy we hate them ohhh so much. These are the few here who have morals unlike the others who cling onto each other regardless of the shit they spew.

DG does come out with some real stupidness at times but I respect him, he ole. Oh yeh and I do respect Kaz because he does not speak down to those against his beliefs...plus he likes the big boob women dem.

Respect from a indo hating dirtbag like you is no compliment. Yall putageeGs people don't like indosG's one minute, that is why you side up with blacksG when they beat, rob and kill us. What is strange is that people from portugal are much different than you putagee out of Guyana. 

So this shyte that I see on this site by ignorant backward racist fkers has been ongoing for many years. This woman was a decent person unlike those here, Sad, very sad!

Bullcrap. NS was an arm of the pnc. What good did it serve in the end? Nothing but a communist tool. Did you join NS?