India: Two held for killing children for 'defecating in the open'

• 26 September 2019

Representational image an Indian child defecating in the openImage copyrightGETTY IMAGES
Image captionMillions of poor Indians still defecate in the open

Two men in the central Indian state of Madhya Pradesh have been arrested for allegedly killing two Dalit (formerly untouchables) children who were defecating in the open, police say.

Roshni, 12, and Avinash, 10, were attacked on Wednesday while defecating near a village road, they said.

The children's family told BBC Hindi that they have no toilet at home.

Millions of poor Indians defecate in the open, which especially puts women and children at risk.

Dalits are at the bottom of the Hindu caste system and despite laws to protect them, they still face widespread discrimination in India.

"The two children were beaten to death with sticks," police superintendent Rajesh Chandel told BBC Hindi's Shuraih Niazi. "We have registered a murder case against both the accused. They are being questioned."

Within hours of the attack early on Wednesday morning, police arrested two upper-caste men - Rameshwar Yadav and Hakim Yadav.

Roshni and Avinash were cousins, but Roshni had been brought up by Avinash's parents and lived with them.

Avinash's father, Manoj, says that as a daily wage labourer, he cannot afford to build a toilet at his house. He also says he has been unable to access a government subsidy as part of a flagship scheme to build toilets for the poor.

Media captionThe Dalits unblocking India's sewers by hand

The Swachh Bharat Mission or Clean India programme seeks to end open defecation by increasing toilet infrastructure and improving sanitation across the country. When Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched the program in 2014, he vowed to make India "open defecation free" by 2 October 2019.

Manoj's village - Bhavkhedi - has been declared "open defecation free", a tag given by the government to villages and cities have successfully ended open defecation.

Women walking away from camera in Indian field
Image captionWomen who go out at night to defecate are often at risk

Research has shown that while the construction of toilets has increased rapidly, lack of water, poor maintenance and slow change in behaviour have stood in the way of ending open defecation.

But many have praised Mr Modi for highlighting the issue and launching a major scheme to address it - the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation honoured him this week, describing the Swachh Bharat Mission as "a model for other countries around the world that urgently need to improve access to sanitation for the world's poorest."

When it is not Indians vs Blacks who refused to find common ground to coexist in Guyana, it's Indian vs Indian due to different caste system in India. Upper caste can shit and piss anywhere, but a child of a lower caste can't risk taking a shit in public. Where is this neemakaram Persaud with his Indian pride? Which God in on your side for killing children to take shit that is common in public throughout India? India can send a probe on the moon but can't build toilet for children? Not only this, but mandirs in India refused on many occasions to offer food or parsad to Dalits due to the same reason. What is so holy about these dutty skin Indians? 

The issue of a hole to take a dump is not the real issue. One of the first initiatives I was involved in India was building 35 toilets in a small Dalit enclave about 25 miles outside of Bombay. 

One of the mandatory requirements was a closed septic tank pit with a duck-neck pooper.  Due to this it requires flush.  With the scarcity of water and the fact you need to get water from a central well, which is sometimes some distance, taking a shit is a β€œplanned” event.  So, our toilets went unused or hardly used due to water issues!

The type of pit latrine used in Guyana is illegal, in Maharashtra at least. This law was written on the books since the British days to prevent infanticide.

So, in a nutshell, the issue of toilets in rural India, is not so much the toilets, but the issue of water distribution.  

I believe in today’s India, they should revisit this law as even these rural villages now have medical centers and prenatal care.  A person just cannot easily commit infanticide without someone knowing a baby is missing. 

All in all, it’s more difficult an issue than it’s made to be!

Maybe Prince or Nehru have some clever ideas to solve India’s poop πŸ’© problems!

Prince, yuh think that will enrich the soil and increase agri yields???

Bro, I met some Afganistan girls yesterday that I could have fainted. When I heard stories of Afghanis, only Camels, donkeys, and rugged mountains come to mind, but these babes give me a new version of beauty. The entire day I couldn't take my eyes off them. Nehru, they are pretty and shape like coke bottle and dress to provoke. You had to be there to see for yourself. Uh. la la.   Bhai, there is never a dull day in my territory. 

I saw a lot of β€œcoke bottles” in Ross Lounge Saturday night!

When it is not Indians vs Blacks who refused to find common ground to coexist in Guyana, it's Indian vs Indian due to different caste system in India. Upper caste can shit and piss anywhere, but a child of a lower caste can't risk taking a shit in public. Where is this neemakaram Persaud with his Indian pride? Which God in on your side for killing children to take shit that is common in public throughout India? India can send a probe on the moon but can't build toilet for children? Not only this, but mandirs in India refused on many occasions to offer food or parsad to Dalits due to the same reason. What is so holy about these dutty skin Indians? 

You fcking Jackass, what does Indian has to do with Indians and blacks in Guyana. 

Take a read here how blacks are killing their own.

Is the tide turning against the killing of 'cursed' infants in Ethiopia?

• blobid0

You sure? I think maybe you ran into some bacha bazi boys and got infatuated. 

You people need to stop with this Black and Coolie thingy.  This is why Guyana remains shit hole!

Why not when "Black & Coolie" is the DNA of Guyana's problem. Political history is all about what makes us different. Even if we were the same, the caste system kicks in to give one caste superiority over the other. 

You fcking Jackass, what does Indian has to do with Indians and blacks in Guyana.

Haaaa haaaaaa haaaaaaa 

Princess jumping all about without a sense of direction ...

https://cdn.pixabay.com/photo/2016/04/01/08/38/cartoon-1298856__340.png

Those India Indiamen should do what the China Chinamen are doing. They should poop in a bucket and give it to the state. Then the state can use it to grow mushrooms and other such things then export it to the West where it will be used in the local fast food joint to feed the Prince.

I remember meeting up with Ganesh when he just arrived in Bangalore.  The first thing he and his wife said is their surprise at how many people taking a shit in the pasture behind their apartment every morning. His wife said things tough in Guyana but we don’t need to shit in the grass!!

Take a read here how blacks are killing their own.

Is the tide turning against the killing of 'cursed' infants in Ethiopia?

The people in the photo are not Ethiopians.  They are probably Sudanese, Kenyans or Ugandans.