Congrats to the young lady. Glad she got to take these subjects before Roopnarine cut the total number of subjects to 8.

Maybe they should go back to GCE and see how many these kids can handle. Did anyone inquire how this CXC is being viewed by the schools in NA?

Back in the 70s U of Oxford reduced the GCE standard because the British kids were struggling with it so I wouldn't underestimate the quality of the CXC exams. Island people are usually tough with their education standards.

congratulations little sister...hope they do not anonymize you further with a full burqua!....what a shame...the Saudi truly fu...cked up our world together with  stupid muslims bringing that arab crap. I do not know what in the world does this stupid garb has to do with religion. If only men were force to wear it also.

And St. Roses is a staunch catholic school.  Their morning prayers begin with, "Dear Mary, Mother of God........................." 

Did anyone inquire how this CXC is being viewed by the schools in NA?

It is recognized by NA schools, even the very prestigious ones.

Now whether all 23 subjects that these kids take is taken serious I very much doubt, but nutters like you think that good education is only obtained with 22 passes, and with no extra curricular activity.

Despite how well these kids do unless they can demonstrate that they are fully rounded individuals they will not be sought after by the best schools.

The Guyanese girl, who was featured in the US media, and who was accepted to every Ivy School that she applied to, was very active in various extra curricular activities, and yet still had excellent grades.

Congrats to her.  Pity that Guyana most likely scraped the bottom due to its abominable educational system.

Of course the PPP nuts like you will claim that its poor average performance in Math and English only began this year.  Recall that this is the first CXC under APNU AFC and that those who sat it began their education under the PPP, which accounted for but one year of their tenure at school.  So their poor performance will have to be blamed on the PPPs 23 years of office.

what a shame...the Saudi truly fu...cked up our world together with  stupid muslims bringing that arab crap. .

This is why Kari and Chief cannot claim that honor killings, semi enslavement of women, etc., aren't integral to Islam when Islam increasingly takes on an Arab shape.

Islam is very strong in the Sahel regions of Africa, and in nations like Guinea.  The women don't dress any different from those in predominantly Christian or traditional regions of Nigeria, or Ghana.  So why does this girl have to dress like an Arab?  And in Guyana high humidity at that, she must really suffer.

And St. Roses is a staunch catholic school.  Their morning prayers begin with, "Dear Mary, Mother of God........................." 

Most of my cousins went to roses and bishop. I know it. I am not speaking of that. I am speaking of the manner of dress that is alien to everyone here in their child hood experience. That is the arab import I referenced.

We getting there Bibi!

Stormy shut your poke!

We getting there Bibi!

Stormy shut your poke!

You mean that is what you have for a mouth you big belly sloth?

what a shame...the Saudi truly fu...cked up our world together with  stupid muslims bringing that arab crap. .

This is why Kari and Chief cannot claim that honor killings, semi enslavement of women, etc., aren't integral to Islam when Islam increasingly takes on an Arab shape.

Islam is very strong in the Sahel regions of Africa, and in nations like Guinea.  The women don't dress any different from those in predominantly Christian or traditional regions of Nigeria, or Ghana.  So why does this girl have to dress like an Arab?  And in Guyana high humidity at that, she must really suffer.

You and D2 are two people that I respect with your views and for the most part we have many things in common.

Where we part company( Kari included with you two) is  when  you guys start with the foolishness about Islam needed transformation.

Firstly the Hijab is not compulsory, secondly the women all over the MODERN  world who choose to wear  it including my wife, mother and two sisters, did it on their own free will. It is their belief that a woman should be covered accordingly. In last SATURDAY NY Times, there was a master piece of a photograph of two  Olympic Volleyball players standing opposite sides of the net, one fully covered and one in a bikini and the writer went on to ask who is to question which woman is liberated.

Congratulations to Fatima. Both Hindus and Muslims in Guyana are stupid to imitate people who don't give a rat's ass about them. Trash the garb. If you go to their country and it is required, then confirm with their laws.

You and D2 are two people that I respect with your views and for the most part we have many things in common.

Where we part company( Kari included with you two) is  when  you guys start with the foolishness about Islam needed transformation.

Firstly the Hijab is not compulsory, secondly the women all over the MODERN  world who choose to wear  it including my wife, mother and two sisters, did it on their own free will. It is their belief that a woman should be covered accordingly. In last SATURDAY NY Times, there was a master piece of a photograph of two  Olympic Volleyball players standing opposite sides of the net, one fully covered and one in a bikini and the writer went on to ask who is to question which woman is liberated.

Congratulations to Fatima. Both Hindus and Muslims in Guyana are stupid to imitate people who don't give a rat's ass about them. Trash the garb. If you go to their country and it is required, then confirm with their laws.

So now the focus has shift from the young lady believe to thrashing her religious beliefs.

ba$eman posted:

Congrats to the young lady.  And yes, at least she can still show her face in dignity rather than forced to hide behind some medevial garb. Let's hope this Global evil ideology is espunged to the dust bin [like Nazism] where it belongs.

Some all you moder skonts cannot help yourself but to find every opportunity to bash Islam.

They wear it because they know that the prophet recommended licks if they don't obey the man.

We getting there Bibi!

Stormy shut your poke!

Who are you to  question the young lady for her choice?

Will you ask a young teenage girl who declares that she is a Gay such a question, or will you echo similar sentiment?

You  are saying that the millions of Muslim who wear the head covering are stupid.

Come on D2 accept that your comments on this thread was uncalled for. 

You place yourself in the company of bigots.

ba$eman posted:

Congrats to the young lady.  And yes, at least she can still show her face in dignity rather than forced to hide behind some medevial garb. Let's hope this Global evil ideology is espunged to the dust bin [like Nazism] where it belongs.

Some all you moder skonts cannot help yourself but to find every opportunity to bash Islam.

Radical Islam deserves all the bashing it get and then some.

ba$eman posted:

Radical Islam deserves all the bashing it get and then some.

Trump has you in his back and front pocket!

What is Radical Islam?

Firstly the Hijab is not compulsory, secondly the women all over the MODERN  world who choose to wear  it including my wife, mother and two sisters, did it on their own free will

So they must dress like Arabs in order true Muslims?. Well if Islam is Arabic then when Arabs claim that their are religious justifications for honor killings or FORCING women to cover themselves up then don't complain.

And yes in many Muslims spaces women are harassed if they chose NOT to dress like a Bedouin.

Thank God for this majority Christian land that your female members have a choice.  Too bad you disrespect Muslim women who live in lands where they don't.

We getting there Bibi!

Stormy shut your poke!

Who are you to  question the young lady for her choice?

Will you ask a young teenage girl who declares that she is a Gay such a question, or will you echo similar sentiment?

You  are saying that the millions of Muslim who wear the head covering are stupid.

Come on D2 accept that your comments on this thread was uncalled for. 

You place yourself in the company of bigots.

Cyar yu rass da side! Why should I apologize? How come our women never wore th at before the 90s when all those Saudi Islamist purist begin to redefine Muslim for our local people. I never saw a Hijab in my entire growing up in Guyana. Anyone else who said they went to school with some Muslim girls with their head covered or in full burqua would be lying. To say that is voluntary is telling tales. It is uniform, it is dogma, it is recent and it is from those so called saudi scholars who bought into the wahabi revivalist islamic message.

I cannot believe that the success  of this young lady is used as an excuse to berate her for  herr choice to as to  how she wants to dress and what religion she follows. 

This thread should be published in National Newspapers in America to prove that bigotry and prejudice is alive in Immigrant communities.

The  attack on this  young lady  who top her country in academic excellence is so disgusting. Will these posters who made these disparaging remarks say  the same thing about a US Senator  who wears a Yamulk,  or a Sikh Premier in Canada  who wears his turban , or a Gay athlethe or Gay CEO? No they will not , because they will not want their children, Co workers and close friends to know that they are holding prejudices in their hearts.

Today is indeed a sad day on GNI , I have seen all kinds of bigotry but this one takes the cake!

I pray that God cause all of us to see right as right and to stay far from evil

I pray for this young lady and her daily and may God continue to bless her with many more sucesses!

Kudos to our Indo Brothers and Sisters:

Here is the truth:

Region Six top CSEC students satisfied with performance

By Royan Abrams
Region Six copped three of the top 15 performers in the country at this year’s Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) Examination.

17-year-old Jushua Indarjit of Skeldon Line Path Secondary School secured 17 grade ones, Vanessa Ramnarain of Berbice High School secured 14 grade ones and 1 grade two while Jose Cumming, also of the Berbice High School obtained 13 grade ones, 3 grade twos and 2 grade threes at this year’s CSEC.
17-year-old Jushua Indarjit

News Room spoke to Indarjit who noted that he knew he will perform well but didn’t expect to top candidate in the region.

He added that, given the number of subjects he wanted to pursue at the examination, he had to invest more time and effort into his studies but is satisfied that the hard work paid off.

Noting that his next move is to further his studies in physics and engineering, he said if he finds that adequate opportunities are not available locally in his line of study, intends to study abroad.

Indarjit has been on top of his class throughout the five years at Skeldon Line Path Secondary. He had also topped the Skeldon Primary School when he wrote the National Grade Six Assessments (NGSA).

Coming in second, Vanessa Ramnarain of Berbice High School said she is very pleased to be among the top 15 in the country and to make her parents and teachers proud. Ramnarain is also celebrating her 17th birthday today.
Vanessa Ramnarain

“I’m doing it for me but also of doing it for them because it good to see the people you love smile but it feels better to know that you are the one making them smile” she added

Ramnarain was among the top ten students when she wrote the National Grade Six Assessment (NGSA) and was awarded a spot at Bishops High School but transferred to Berbice High School. She also topped the region at the Grade Nine Examination.

She urges those who are preparing to write CSEC next year to chose their friends wisely and focus on their goals and don’t be distracted by negativities.

Jose Cummings also of Berbice High was shy to speak with the media but said he is satisfied with his results.

Others among the top performers in region six are Tavesh Mohabir of Tagore Memorial Secondary School with 12 grade ones and 3 grade twos, Rea Harris of the New Amsterdam Multilateral Secondary School with 11 grade ones and 2 grade twos and Yevnie Sukdra also of the New Amsterdam Multilateral Secondary School with 11 grade ones and 1 grade two.
Share967

WhatsApp-Image-2016-08-17-at-5.08.13-PM-300x300WhatsApp-Image-2016-08-17-at-5.11.40-PM-212x300

Images (2)
  • WhatsApp-Image-2016-08-17-at-5.08.13-PM-300x300
  • WhatsApp-Image-2016-08-17-at-5.11.40-PM-212x300

@ Cain

Listen you racist Indo hater,

I am proud of who I am and even more proud of our people's achievements.

That should apply to ALL races too.

I sympathize with you because of your envy and hate towards Indos. After all, it appears as if you also drank the racist Carib/PNC cool aid.

"Skeldon Line Path Secondary School's the Best, the Best,

We will sing it's praise and never ever rest."

Who from SLPSS remember this school song ?

Gilbakka never attended SLPSS, but he knows that yuji22 was the school's star stage actor in his splendid Shakespearean role of Mark Antony in "Julius Caesar". These days yuji22 is playing another role. But I can't think of an actor to compare.