Cultural centre, deep water harbour, $20B for sugar industry - President tells massive Albion Rally

Written by , Published in News, Georgetown, GINA, April 19, 2015, Source

A cultural centre, a development fund, a deep water harbour, massive investments in sugar, more markets for rice and investments in Information Technology to create jobs and modernise Guyana are some of the key developments on the card for Berbicians.

These plans, aimed at improving the quality of life for every Berbician and Guyanese as a whole, were revealed by President Donald Ramotar at Albion today when he addressed a mammoth crowd, which gathered to hear from him, the incumbent PPP/C’s Presidential Candidate, and others slated to contest the May 11 elections.

President Donald Ramotar speaking to supporters at the PPPC Rally at Albion, Region Six

“We are on the eve of making history. On May 11, our country will go to the poll, and we want to record the biggest victory ever for the PPP/C, and we have every reason to expect that we will have a massive victory because we stand on a very proud record. Our party fought from the very beginning for the welfare of the people…and now in government we have a very good record and you the people have achieved the most under the PPP/C in Government,” he said.

“We want to create a special development fund for Regions Two and Six to ensure we provide employment for the very brilliant students leaving school now…we will build in this region a cultural centre,” the President added.

The evidence of government’s record  include Guyana having the best housing policy in the entire Caribbean, a standard of health care to boast of and many achievements in education. These successeswere recorded after his party inherited a bankrupt country, he added.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) and the World Bank had indicated that Guyana had sunk to a bottomless pit in 1992 and even Finance Minister at that time Carl Greenidge attested to this dire economic state. Greenidge, he said, indicated that the country’s debt was 925 percent of its Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and it took 153 percent of the country’s revenue to repay the debt. “We changed that,” he said, and added that now the debt is only 60 percent of the GDP.

The President said after the elections, his government will continue the efforts to transform Guyana’s economy to a modern one that will see people’s quality of living being improved.

Speaking about sugar, one of the largest sources of employment for Berbicians, President Ramotar acknowledged that “sugar is the grandfather of all the industries in Guyana. Every other industry benefitted from this industry directly and indirectly…but sugar is going through some difficult times.”

Supporters cheering at the PPPC Rally, Estate Road, Albion, Region Six.

He said among the responsible factors is the decision by the European Union (EU) to end the sugar protocol which afforded African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries preferential prices. “The end of the protocol saw Guyana losing more than US$40 million per year, but the resilience and strength of the industry has allowed it to go on, but today it needs to be restructured to be more efficient and viable,” he said.

He also explained that the industry is now plagued by the dearth of skilled labour, as people gravitate to other industries as the economy diversifies “and therefore to compensate for that we have to do more mechanisation in the industry, make the fields more friendly to the machines... we have to retrain our workers and plant more varieties of cane…we also have to do more investments in our factories to make them more efficient.

Reiterating his government’s commitment to ensure sugar survives and people’s jobs remain secure, the President indicated that “sugar has always been close to the heart of the PPP,” and that he has sought financial and technical assistance from India during a recent visit and he has received assurances in this regard.

“I am committing that when we win the elections on May 11, we will invest a minimum of $20 billion over the next five years to ensure that the industry survives…I have every reason to believe that the best days of sugar is still ahead of it, (and) that it has tremendous contributions to make.”

However, government has recognised the need to ensure the industry is flexible and hence, efforts are aimed at producing ethanol for sale so that sugar and ethanol could be produced interchangeably, and the quota of sugar produced could be significantly increased.

“For decades we have been producing raw sugar,” he said, and added that Cheddi Jagan's dream was to diversify, and that dream is being realised with Guysuco and GPL (Guyana Power and Light) teaming up to produce electricity from bagasse. Albion also has the capacity for co-generation… Our goal is not only to produce the raw sugar… we will work towards building a refinery right in this industry. In the meantime we will do more packaging of sugar to export,” he said.

The President said the opposition, led by David Granger in the National Assembly consistently voted against monies for sugar, and now they have made a turn around and are shouting support for sugar.

The huge crowd spilled over the other side of the canal at the PPPC Rally, Estate Road, Albion, Region Six

Speaking about rice, he noted that Government will continue to create an environment conducive to growth, and will continuously explore new markets. He noted that he has already initiated discussions with Panama for new markets. Value added is also key to the success of rice, he said, noting that this has started in Essequibo with the production of the breakfast  cereal made from rice.

Significant to Guyana’s development also is Information Communication Technology and a wave of development has begun in this regard. He noted that recently Qualfon (call centre) embarked on a project that will initially create 900 jobs and 6000 jobs later. Several other information centres are also being created in Region Five and Six as well.

The President is also confident that his government will build a deep water harbour in Berbice because of the enormous economic potential therein for Guyana. “One of the most important infrastructure we need to modernise our country and take it forward is a deep water harbour, and as we speak we have people studying to put a deep water harbour right in Berbice…” he said. This will make Guyana  a hub for international trade and a gateway for Brazil and the rest of South America.

Such infrastructure will significantly impact the tourism sector, which is on its way in Guyana with recent additions such as the country’s first five-star hotel, the Marriott.

“That facility will allow us to hold more mega conferences in Guyana, to develop tourism, to develop sports tourism because we have now the stadium, the aquatic centre and we just opened the synthetic track, all world class centres.”

He added that a world class indoor sports facility will be opened in Berbice, as well.

These developmental projects are seriously challenged and “the biggest obstacle is the opposition. It shows you the nature of the beast we are dealing with…Over the last three years they have shown what they are…and how dishonest they are, that the elections are here and they are changing their tune…They voted against the welfare of the Guyanese people...,” he said, referring to the opposition's non-support for the Anti-Money Laundering Bill in the National Assembly.

There were several other national projects that did not receive support such as the Cheddi Jagan International Airport expansion, Amaila Falls Hydro electricity project, the specialty hospital, the Amerindian Development Fund and student loans at the University of Guyana.

The massive turn out at Estate Road, Albion, Berbice for the PPPC Rally.

Referring to his shortened term in office, as Parliament was prorogued in February and elections called ahead of the 2016 date, the president said those were “very difficult and frustrating years. The opposition tried in every way to block the developmental projects of the country…they want to destroy the economy and that is why they cut $89 billion from the budget. Never one day did the opposition use their one - seat majority to do more for the Guyanese people, tell you to build more schools, roads, bridges or more money in agriculture, they only sought to cut the foundation we have laid over the years,” he said.

He noted that these cuts targeted initiatives aimed at developing the lives of people such as the $10,000 cash grant for each school child and loans for students to attend the University of Guyana.

“When we put it back in it was precisely the time they went to the Parliament with the no - confidence motion…"

He underscored that the upcoming elections are very important because they are about the future of the people.

Speaking about his government’s credibility, as against that of the PNC, the President said, “It’s the same old PNC. We have to look at characters when we look at our leaders in government. We know Elisabeth Harper, We can’t say the same about Nagamootoo [APNU+AFC Prime Ministerial Candidate]… They are trying to fool us. You know what you have you know where we came from you know what we have achieved. The biggest impediment for development in this country has always been the PNC,” he said

He alluded to the women's  conference held by the Coalition on Saturday, but reminded thatwhen they presented their list of candidates  to the elections commission they came up short in terms of the required number of women that should be on the list.

He said the coalition cannot be trusted because of their obsession with political power instead of policies to develop Guyana.

“A lot is at stake. We can’t afford to be outdone by a coalition. You will remember in 1964 they used a coalition to try to get rid of Cheddi Jagan… When we made the point that they [APNU+AFC] are getting together previously they said we slandered them, before the cock crowed twice them men turned around… The PPP always stood by you through thick and thin, through good times and bad times, the PPP has always been close to you.

Today I ask you on May 11 to stand with the PPP/Civic, to stand with me and let us have the biggest victory, the biggest victory in this country.”

Berbice on the verge of bigger, better things - Ramotar … 23-pomit plan outlined

By Vanessa Narine, April 20, 2015, Source

President Donald Ramotar addresses the huge crowd at Albion

A KALEIDOSCOPIC montage of reds, black and yellows coloured what is the largest crowd that has gathered in support of the People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C), which took its campaign to Albion, Region 6, yesterday.And the tangible energy that sounded along the Albion Estate Road was bolstered when the party’s presidential candidate, Donald Ramotar, took to the platform.

His message, tailored for Region 6, was clear: Berbice is on the verge of bigger and better things, the deep water harbour at the mouth of the Berbice River being one of many initiatives envisioned for the region.

Last month, Guyana moved a step closer to the realisation of this vision, with the inking of an agreement for a preliminary study on the Berbice River estuary. The study is a follow-up on a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) entered between the Government of Guyana and the Chinese State Construction Engineering Company (Latin American and Caribbean).

The ruling party’s leadership also detailed 23-point plan of other initiatives for Region 6, which form part of its five-year plan going forward.
According to Mr. Ramotar, while the political Opposition has been bent on its ‘politics of no’, the PPP/C vision is one that will advance a prosperous and progressive Guyana.

“They have deliberately set out to harm our country and this election will determine if we go forward or go backward…we want to build a modern, prosperous and progressive country to improve the lives of all our people,” he said.

The ruling party’s presidential candidate added that the progress to date is a record of struggle.

“We are on the eve of making history…on this election we want to record the biggest victory ever for the PPP/C. We have every reason to expect a massive victory, because we stand on a record of struggles for the people,” he said.

STRUGGLE FOR GUYANA
Mr. Ramotar highlighted the fact that the PPP/C history and that of progress in Guyana have always been intertwined.

“We led the struggle against the dictatorship of the PNC (People’s National Congress) and the people of this country have achieved the most under the PPP/C… Guyana was not always like this. It was described as an abyss… we have changed that. The PPP/C has changed that,” he said.

He noted too that the last three years have been an uphill battle to ensure that positive changes continue.

“The last three years were not easy years. They were difficult and frustrating years…the Opposition want to stop development from continuing. They want to destroy our nation…never one day did they use their one-seat majority to say we need to do more, no… they only sought to cut and destroy the foundation that we have laid over the years,” he said.

IMPORTANT INDUSTRIES
The incumbent President also addressed an issue that is close to the heart of Berbicians – the future of the sugar industry.

“Sugar is important…it is not only an emotional subject…it has been responsible for all of us being in this country after our fore parents came to work in Guyana….sugar is the grandfather of a lot of industries,” he said.

However, he acknowledged that sugar is faced with challenges, which were worsened by the European Union (EU) price cuts.

“Any other industry in this country would have closed down, but the resilience kept it alive and sugar today needs to be restructured to make it viable and for it to continue making a contribution to development,” Mr. Ramotar said.

The PPP/C presidential candidate touted the commitment of India’s Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, to offer his country’s support to the sugar industry, in technical and financial areas.

Earlier this year, the leaders of the two countries met in India, where President Ramotar held bilateral discussions with Indian Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, and sugar which serves as one of Guyana’s economic pillars, was on the agenda. He also visited Valsad (Gujarat) where there is a very active cooperative sector focused on sugar cane.

“The sugar industry was high on our agenda, because sugar has always been close to the heart of the PPP/C,” Mr. Ramotar assured Berbicians yesterday.

Moving forward, he noted that the industry will move to refined sugar, a refinery, ethanol production and cogeneration of electricity from bagasse, among other undertakings.

“The industry must be a complex…we want to make the industry more flexible…so when price is low we can do more,” the PPP/C presidential candidate said, adding that $20B will be invested in the industry over the next five years.

He said, “We want to ensure that the industry survives and thrives in the future…the best days of sugar are still ahead.”

MORE TO DO
According to President Ramotar, there are many more plans to ensure that Guyana advances.

Information Communication and Technology (ICT), the party’s flagship projects, including the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project (AFHP), more jobs, improvements in education and the other social sectors were all areas mentioned by Mr. Ramotar.

“These are the dreams and the plans we have…the Opposition, however, have shown their cloven hooves, they are anti-development,” he lamented.
The flip-flopping on major issues, such as the Anti-Money Laundering and the Countering of the Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) Bill, was also cited as a negative on the part of the political Opposition.

“This is the nature of the people we are dealing with… it is the same old PNC…we have to look at character. We know Elisabeth has character, Nagamootoo does not…. they are trying to fool us, but you know what we have and what we have achieved,” Mr. Ramotar said.

Drawing a parallel with the ruling party, he added, “We have a proud record as builders of our society…they coming with a three-card trick to us…Cathy Hughes says if they don’t deliver in five years we can throw them out, but we remember the past and rigged elections.”

On that note, the PPP/C presidential candidate recalled the coalition of 1964 and contended that the coalition between A Partnership for National Unity and the Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) is not that different.

“This is the character of the people who want Government. They don’t want Government to build…they want Government for power…we cannot trust them,” he stressed.

To this end, he underscored the fact that there is much at stake, come May 11.

“We have to protect this country from unscrupulous persons…the PPP/C has always stood with you through thick and thin and been close to you…on May 11, I ask you to stand with the PPP/C and stand with me,” Mr. Ramotar concluded, with what has become his swansong appeal to the Guyanese people. --- By Vanessa Narine

For 65 years the people on the Corentyne have been neglected, then suddenly Ramotar/Jagdeo Clique wants to do good by them. I say thanks to the APNU+AFC. It is their challenge that those graciousness have a promise of bestow. But will Ramotar do it? Or is it just rhetoric?

I doan think Ramotar is going keep his word.

But the people on the Corentyne knows that they have the power.

So, Vote the APNU+AFC. A strategic alliance to outs the cabal of Ramotar/Jagdeo.

It would be interesting see the crowd the APNU+AFC draws when they come to Albion.

For 65 years the people on the Corentyne have been neglected, ----

Sixty five years - 65 - , that is from from about 1950.

So, the people from Corentyne were neglected by the PNC government from 1964 to 1992.

Cheddie had some of them killed during the years HE FAVOURED THE PNC REGIME. For every year he failed to denounce communism he gave life to the PNC. STUBBORN man, he was. 

As STUPID as STUPID can get. Only here on GNI!!!!!!

Goh wipe yuh wite keera mout.