A crew member of the M.S. Serenissima –a UK cruise ship which is visiting Guyana for three days – was on Saturday morning robbed of his cellphone and a quantity of cash after ignoring the advice of tour operators and venturing out on his own.

News Room understands that the 40-year-old crew member was dropped off by a taxi in the vicinity of Mohamed’s Enterprise at Lombard Street, Georgetown in the wee hours of Saturday, when he was attacked by two males who took his Iphone, valued US$900 and US$120 cash along with his Master Card and his room card.

He received injuries to his left and right elbows which were treated by a doctor onboard the vessel.

According to a statement from Wilderness Explorers, systems were put in place to have an evening tour to allow individuals the opportunity to experience Guyana’s nightlife, so there would be no need for guests to go out on their own.

However, the tour operator said it is doing everything necessary to ensure that a similar incident does not occur.

“It is a reality that [the Guyana National Shipping Corporation Wharf where the ship is docked] is the only port that is equipped with the infrastructure to accommodate a cruise ship is located in a less than ‘tourist friendly’ area, the statement noted.

Wilderness Explorers expressed regret that the incident occurred and noted that the actions of the perpetrators should not be seen as a representation of the people of Guyana.

• mceclip0

Banna, this was posted before.  And wah he doing pon Lombard street?

Shame on him... As the Cruise Director, he will be able to brief other potential visitors of his first hand experience visiting Guyana. 

Look how the pnc bais mekking excuse. People don't want to patronize a country where you can't walk about. You believe dem white folks will come back again? No the pnc supporters will cut their nose to spite their face by robbing the golden goose so they can sport for a day. 

Guyana, the land of choke and rob. What a disgrace. Regardless where he was walking, you do not rob a foreign visitor. A big black eye on Guyana. Where is Prakash? Guyana is a visitor paradise? Could be the man's first and last trip to Guyana.

Cruise ship Director robbed after late night outing

Cruise Director Neil Horrocks, who was robbed.

The Cruise Director of the visiting cruise ship MV Serenissima was attacked and robbed early yesterday morning on Lombard Street, Georgetown, as he was returning to the ship following an outing.

Sunday Stabroek understands that Neil Horrocks was relieved of his iPhone, US$120 and a bank card during the attack, which took place around 1.05 am.

Horrocks sustained injuries to his hands and was treated by a doctor on board his vessel, this newspaper was told…..

That was the red light district, Neeru can confirm.

Bai, how would the man know this? Were there Guyanese as passengers on the ship?

That's a lame defense, first and last  time tourist . The tourist tend to go sight seeing during the day then in the evening some staff would venture out not knowing the good and bad areas of the country. On this maiden visit the tour director and staff would like to see much of the country in a short period of time so they can arrange future visits.

1.05am may seem very late or early morning, that ship coming from England there is a 6hours time difference, so that could be 7.05 am in the morning. Anyway, it's ashamed what happened to the director, can you imagine the bandits fought with him to get the loot and the scars of hate to be in Guyana, NEVER AGAIN.

That's a lame defense, first and last  time tourist . The tourist tend to go sight seeing during the day then in the evening some staff would venture out not knowing the good and bad areas of the country. On this maiden visit the tour director and staff would like to see much of the country in a short period of time so they can arrange future visits.

1.05am may seem very late or early morning, that ship coming from England there is a 6hours time difference, so that could be 7.05 am in the morning. Anyway, it's ashamed what happened to the director, can you imagine the bandits fought with him to get the loot and the scars of hate to be in Guyana, NEVER AGAIN.

r@ss  banna where is the defence ??

SHITHOLE COUNTRY!!!! UNDR THE PNC. THEY ENCOURAGE THEIR SUPPORTERS TO ROB AND LOOT!!

Easy deh bai. U know lombard street is a hot spot Being a member of white coconut tree and all. Nevertheless, this act sends a bad message to future tourists. Then again, this guy should have known better. Or at least ask some advice before venturing out and returning at that time.

Nehru, dont blame the Govt. Regardless who is in charge of the country we all know this is the order of things in Giyana.

Cruise ship Director robbed after late night outing

Cruise Director Neil Horrocks, who was robbed.

The Cruise Director of the visiting cruise ship MV Serenissima was attacked and robbed early yesterday morning on Lombard Street, Georgetown, as he was returning to the ship following an outing.

Sunday Stabroek understands that Neil Horrocks was relieved of his iPhone, US$120 and a bank card during the attack, which took place around 1.05 am.

Horrocks sustained injuries to his hands and was treated by a doctor on board his vessel, this newspaper was told…..

New and improved approach.

Izz whe dee Minista ah Publik Seekureety deh ???

Oh skites, this is not a passenger, but the Cruise Director who was robbed.

ADDED POLICE PRESENCE SHOULD HAVE BEEN  NEAR THE WHARF, where the cruise ship was docked.

As a seasoned cruiser I can imagine what  the Director  said on Sunday morning to his guests " Good morning , this is your Cruise Director who was robbed last night here  in Georgetown.  Never sailing to this port again"

In Mexico, there are heavily armed soldiers at the entrance to resorts in Porto Vallarta. There should have been a military presence by the cruise ship.

That sort of behavior only happens when you have military Rule.  I visited Mexico several times and never saw soldiers guarding resorts, the resorts have their own security that are very discreet.  You never want the tourists feel insecure by posting uniform police and soldiers all over the place. In Havana Cuba you don't see police or soldiers walking around but yet they have very low crime rate. Monaco Monte Carlo there are security cameras all over the place but if you go as far as litter the place someone will paper and caution you.

We need to encourage tourism and those bandits if caught should be made an example with stiff penalties. 

In Mexico, there are heavily armed soldiers at the entrance to resorts in Porto Vallarta. There should have been a military presence by the cruise ship.

Not possible right now. They and the GPS are on specific orders to be on alert regarding the NCV.

Read, it did not happen on the ship or warf.  He went wandering on Lombard Street looking for fast food!

Why would anyone have the need to leave a cruise ship looking  for food when food is available there 24-7?

When I travel I look for the native food . I would leave the resort and go to the rural areas and partake the  everyday food.

That sort of behavior only happens when you have military Rule.  I visited Mexico several times and never saw soldiers guarding resorts, the resorts have their own security that are very discreet.  You never want the tourists feel insecure by posting uniform police and soldiers all over the place. In Havana Cuba you don't see police or soldiers walking around but yet they have very low crime rate. Monaco Monte Carlo there are security cameras all over the place but if you go as far as litter the place someone will paper and caution you.

We need to encourage tourism and those bandits if caught should be made an example with stiff penalties. 

When you are driving into the resort area of Purto Vallarta from the city your vehicle have to enter via a check stop. At the check stop is a guard hut with heavily armed police there. That is in addition to the resort guards. Downtown Purto Vallarta and old Purto Vallarta have Policemen in cars who carry assault rifles in addition to side arms.

Guyana is new to this.  I believe the will clean up a part of the city and allow local restaurants, shops, etc and have good security.  I can imagine the police devising a plan for better policing when ships arrive. 

When I travel I look for the native food . I would leave the resort and go to the rural areas and partake the  everyday food.

Not a wise idea when it comes to Guyana, KP. This cruise Director should count his lucky stars he didn't get some native bullets in his ass.

When the ship arrived the tourists were greeted with pan music, rum and food. It was stated that they received the warmest welcome in Guyana, then the director ventured out and got robbed. The government would never give warning to tourist not to visit Tiger Bay etc but you and I know the bad spots. On the other hand , where is safe in Guyana? 

In Cuba if a man can get 5 years in jail for buying stolen beef then a man who rob a tourist may get a much worse penalty and unlike Guyana they put you to work in prison.

The only man who goes to Tiger bay restaurants  late at night from this board is Sir Gilbakka

First it was Dac Bang Chinese-Vietnamese Restaurant. Later I moved on to German's. Long time ago.

Cheap Chinese cook shops in GT are not restaurants. German is a dhal soup with meat Shack Shack eating house.

Between 1970 and 1995 I patronized cheap and dear eating houses in Georgetown, depending on the thickness of my wallet at any given moment. Stabroek Market cookshops, Nauth's Cookshop, DEMICO House, IDIHO, Brown Betty, Oasis, Salt & Pepper, Asia Chinese Restaurant, Rendezvous, Bamboo Garden, Chinese Garden, Double Happiness, Rice Bowl, Coalpot, Arapaima, Palm Court, Belvedere, Shanta's, National Chinese Restaurant, Farm Fresh, Far East Chinese Restaurant, Wagon Wheel, Bookers snack bar, Poinsettia, People's Chinese Restaurant, Dac Bang's, German's, Pegasus and others I can't remember now. 

Those were some good restaurants. Coldpot was on the top floor of a building. I remember the food was good. I also remember eating Shepherds Pie at Bookers Cafe.

Cheap Chinese cook shops in GT are not restaurants. German is a dhal soup with meat Shack Shack eating house.

Between 1970 and 1995 I patronized cheap and dear eating houses in Georgetown, depending on the thickness of my wallet at any given moment. Stabroek Market cookshops, Nauth's Cookshop, DEMICO House, IDIHO, Brown Betty, Oasis, Salt & Pepper, Asia Chinese Restaurant, Rendezvous, Bamboo Garden, Chinese Garden, Double Happiness, Rice Bowl, Coalpot, Arapaima, Palm Court, Belvedere, Shanta's, National Chinese Restaurant, Farm Fresh, Far East Chinese Restaurant, Wagon Wheel, Bookers snack bar, Poinsettia, People's Chinese Restaurant, Dac Bang's, German's, Pegasus and others I can't remember now. 

National on Robb st had the best tasting Chinese food to me followed by KY Chow in 5th street Alberttown. What were you eating at Wagon Wheel? Sushi?

What about Doc’s Creole Corner and Power’s roadside cookup?

National on Robb st had the best tasting Chinese food to me followed by KY Chow in 5th street Alberttown. What were you eating at Wagon Wheel? Sushi?

Chicken chowmein and beer. Around 1972.