COVID-19 testing machine left on wharf for months

– Minister Dr. Frank Anthony

Aug 14, 2020 News 0 , Source - Kaieteur News Online - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...for-months-minister/

A Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) machine which was given to Government to increase the country’s COVID-19 testing capacity was neglected for months.

This was disclosed by the Minster of Health, Dr. Frank Anthony, when he appeared on Kaieteur Radio’s Room 592 on Monday.

According to the Minister, the PCR machine was donated by the National Atomic Agency and was left lying on the wharf for a long period of time amid the raging global pandemic. This, the Minister noted, would have provided the much needed assistance to the Ministry in the execution of its COVID-19 response.

During his interview, the Minister revealed that the country’s current testing capacity at the National Public Health Reference Laboratory is limited due to the lack of medical personnel as well as sufficient PCR testing machines.

“The machines that we have at the National Public Health Reference Laboratory can probably do about 80 tests or so per day… we’re trying to add more capacity and hopefully I can lift that capacity to about 300 tests per day and that’s one of the things we are working on,” Dr. Anthony said.

Moreover, Dr. Anthony stated that in an effort to increase the testing capacity, the Ministry has procured an additional (PCR) testing machine. This new machine, he added will increase the number of tests samples processed daily as well as decrease the amount of time it takes for test results to return.

He revealed that “…with these machines, we are going to try to scale up our response, but machine alone is not going to help us. We need technical personnel to be trained. As it is, we only have two persons at the lab who were doing these PCR tests and as you can imagine, they are being overworked. So as of this week, in collaboration with PAHO, we are going to be training medical technologists who already exist within the system.”

According to Dr. Anthony, the training will be conducted by a PAHO consultant from Washington D.C. and will target 20 to 30 medical technologists from both the public and private health sectors in an effort to increase the country’s ability to effectively monitor and treat the country’s COVID-19 cases.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline.com/images/2020/08/Anthony-1.jpg

Minister of Health, Dr. Frank Anthony

The Coalition didn't care about the health and safety of Guyanese. They were too busy trying desperately to steal the elections.

Why were there more birth death [mother and/or child] during the PPP government, including one of our own ?  

@Tola posted:

Why were there more birth death [mother and/or child] during the PPP government, including one of our own ?  

COVID-19 officially began in Guyana in March while the Coalition was the government. That government officially ended on April when the PPP was declared the winner of the elections. There are still many ministries where the PPP has not fully taken over because some Coalition people are refusing to leave. When did your relative died as a result of the current COVID-19 pandemic?

Previous PPP government. We wait to see if this PPP government will do any better.

Previously, they might have provided the facilities, but you have to be there to see the fighting between patients and Cuban doctors/Guyanese nurses. People from out of town had to sleep on the ground when they are unable to see the doctor that day.   

@Tola posted:

Previous PPP government. We wait to see if this PPP government will do any better.

Previously, they might have provided the facilities, but you have to be there to see the fighting between patients and Cuban doctors/Guyanese nurses. People from out of town had to sleep on the ground when they are unable to see the doctor that day.   

That is a different story. We tallking about this particular testing machine left on a wharf while it could have been in use the past 5 months to help deal with this deadly pandemic.

@Tola posted:

Were you in Guyana during that period? Perhaps you can answer your own question.

That is a different story. We talking about this particular testing machine left on a wharf while it could have been in use the past 5 months to help deal with this deadly pandemic.

There might be different stories, but it is the same PPP government with many of the same people as the previous PPP government. This story is not about testing machines, but medical services offered between the PNC and previous PPP governments. Why were there more child/mother deaths during the previous PPP government, than the last PNC government ? 

The PPP provided the medical facilities [maybe for a kickback], but what was the quality of the service offered to their voters ?  

@Tola posted:

There might be different stories, but it is the same PPP government with many of the same people as the previous PPP government. This story is not about testing machines, but medical services offered between the PNC and previous PPP governments. Why were there more child/mother deaths during the previous PPP government, than the last PNC government ? 

The PPP provided the medical facilities [maybe for a kickback], but what was the quality of the service offered to their voters ?  

Do you have a MEDICAL back ground?  Stop peddling LIES.

@kp posted:

Were you in Guyana during that period? Perhaps you can answer your own question.

You want to come to Guyana to see the changes made by the last government, that the PPP left behind ? Quit sitting behind your computer, come and see.   

The Coalition didn't care about the health and safety of Guyanese. They were too busy trying desperately to steal the elections.

The biasness is reeking.  Dr.Anthony scoring cookie points by disparaging the coalition efforts of handling COVID-19 ,one of his statement said the current testing equipment takes a week for results ,suddenly results on the recent few cases was available within 2days.

@Tola posted:

You want to come to Guyana to see the changes made by the last government, that the PPP left behind ? Quit sitting behind your computer, come and see.   

Don't lie, you are not in Guyana.

@Django posted:

The biasness is reeking.  Dr.Anthony scoring cookie points by disparaging the coalition efforts of handling COVID-19 ,one of his statement said the current testing equipment takes a week for results ,suddenly results on the recent few cases was available within 2days.

The elite reaps the benefits, while the lowly voters suffers the consequences. Inequality gun play rass, jus like the previous PPP government.  

@Mitwah posted:

You don't have a Medical back ground. Stay in your basement apartment.

Today is Friday, you are DRUNK already. Go and see, I am in your basement, ah, don't come as yet, I will text you.

@Tola posted:

The elite reaps the benefits, while the lowly voters suffers the consequences. Inequality gun play rass, jus like the previous PPP government.  

What happened the last FIVE, were you asleep or blinded by deftness to the PNC corruption.  That is expected from you guys.

@kp posted:

Today is Friday, you are DRUNK already. Go and see, I am in your basement, ah, don't come as yet, I will text you.

Eh eh You are posting like yuh drunk. How come, you missed Errol's party in the garage?

@Tola posted:

With all due respect this story is about that testing machine mentioned in the original post.

Secondly, the administration sworn in on August 2, 2020 has never been a previous administration. 

@kp posted:

You have a rotten mind. I hope you don't teach your kids your bad deeds. Why are some PPP supporters so vulgar ?   

@kp posted:

Someone attempted to break into my garage, I am giving the name Krishna Persaud to the authorities as a self confessed suspect as well as your address and phone number. 

Is wuh yuh gonna do when dem come fuh yuh. 

Last edited by Mitwah
@Tola posted:

You have a rotten mind. I hope you don't teach your kids your bad deeds. Why are some PPP supporters so vulgar ?   

What role model are you? full of lies.  At least I don't take advantage of the poor in Guyana.

Good Ting PNC LOST!!!!

@Mitwah posted:

Someone attempted to break into my garage, I am giving the Krishna Persaud to the authorities as a self confessed suspect as well as your address and phone number. 

Is wuh yuh gonna do when dem come fuh yuh. 

You mean there is another man in your home?

Last edited by kp
@kp posted:

You mean the is another man in your home?

Oh you mean Krish Prashad. Thanks for letting me know and confirmed what the authorities told me. 

Would you like me to post his picture?

Last edited by Mitwah

With all due respect this story is about that testing machine mentioned in the original post.

Secondly, the administration sworn in on August 2, 2020 has never been a previous administration. 

But individuals in an administration don't change overnight. Plus, its a medical story for ALL Guyanese. The elite [for test results] should not be any better than the ordinary voters, if that is what the PPP stands for in their election campaign.    

@Tola posted:

But individuals in an administration don't change overnight. Plus, its a medical story for ALL Guyanese. The elite [for test results] should not be any better than the ordinary voters, if that is what the PPP stands for in their election campaign.    

Unfortunately I cannot comment on a matter that I have no information on.

@Tola posted:

May I remind you, me and my kids are way ahead of you, we don't beg for hand outs. I never go begging the government for favors, I am sure the PNC gave  you nothing, so why must the PPP.

Unfortunately I cannot comment on a matter that I have no information on.

Thank you Ilum, I wish others can understand the same. You experienced  certain things in Guyana and so did us during a very trying time, when some people die. I believe this influences our discussion on this forum, with different levels of experiences about Guyana.  

@kp posted:

May I remind you, me and my kids are way ahead of you, we don't beg for hand outs. I never go begging the government for favors, I am sure the PNC gave  you nothing, so why must the PPP.

But as a PNC goon, you stated how you demanded fried rice for you and your family during the Kabaka times.

@Mitwah posted:

You are full of shit.

Mitwah ...

You were advised not to use vulgar words on the forum.  Hopefully, you can stop with such activities.

Final advice on this matter.

Demerara_Guy == Moderator

@Mitwah posted:

But as a PNC goon, you stated how you demanded fried rice for you and your family during the Kabaka times.

When you were working at the Ministry of Agriculture, Burnham sent you to the Indian villages to Hustle  them for BRIBES. You used to Shake Down your own poor people to feed your family. You used to cook for Forbes. Do you still have the PNC CARD?