Parts of streets in Queens, New York will be renamed Little Guyana Avenue

Dear Editor,

In the 1960s when Forbes Burnham imposed the ban on basic foods items and imposed belt tightening measures in his quest to prevent Guyanese from buying foreign products in order to save foreign exchange thousands fled and in the 1970s and 1980s and 1990 more followed taking up residence in various parts of the planet mainly the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and the Caribbean. It seems that a large percentage of them took up residence in New York mainly in Queens. They were attracted to the area of Richmond Hill, and Ozone Park area which they later transformed into a Guyanese community… importing the foodstuff they like from Guyana mainly the Corentyne ….mainly seafoods – hassar, bangamary, catfish, shrimp— and vegetables such as pumpkin, ochro, eggplant, bora etc. Walking or driving through Liberty Avenue one can see dozens of markets and small groceries where one can smell the aroma from curry powder and other Indian spices. The Guyanese community grew rapidly and some of the vibrant ones wanted their voices to be heard since they have made significant financial and other contributions to the city, state and district. A few ran for offices in the District Council and supported Senators and congressmen of their choice. The Guyanese are community minded and wanted their presence to be felt and made representation for an area to be called Guyana.

After years of negotiations the authorities have decided to answer their call. On Sunday May 29 the corner of Liberty Avenue and Lefferts Boulevard will be renamed Little Guyana Avenue … a sign will be unveiled to mark the change and it is expected that hundreds if not thousands of Guyanese in New York will attend the brief ceremony which commences at 10 a.m. The organizers are Adrienne Adams (Councilwoman), Richard David (District Leader) with Dr. Dhanpaul Narine, Ashook Ramsaran, Romeo Hitlall, and Vibert Bernard. Ramsaran described the event as “historic,” a significant milestone of achievement for the Guyanese-American community, reflecting the many remarkable accomplishments and contributions of the vibrant community of Guyanese living in New York. Indeed, it has taken more than 40 years to arrive at this moment for Guyanese and those of Guyanese origin to be recognized as a significant part of the social, cultural and economic fabric of New York. It is truly a moment of jubilation and pride which we share with Guyanese living everywhere, in particular in Guyana where most of them have families and we retain a strong bond and interest in Guyana’s success as well.” In the Richmond Hill area there are Guyanese travel agents, real estate offices, accountants, lawyers, doctors, mechanics, technicians not to mention the numerous restaurants and fast foods outlets.

Sincerely,

Oscar Ramjeet

Parts of streets in Queens, New York will be renamed Little Guyana Avenue - Stabroek News

Tags: Richmond Hill, Guyana Avenue, Liberty, Lefferts

Dem friken Guyanese teef maan,  nuh? Dem wussuhrus dan de I-talyun Maffeeyuh!

Guyanese are in no way as corrupt as Italians. Self dealing and mafias. Guyanese have small time crooks. And I'm not going to be surprised if Guyanese average income level is higher than that of Italians in NY. I often like to make fun of RH, pavlov daag and dem bais, but lots of six figure Guyanese households live there. Many professionals...lawyers, teachers,  accountants, doctors, etc.

Kapa going to richmond hill next week. Who want meet up by Singhs let me know .

Guyanese are in no way as corrupt as Italians. Self dealing and mafias. Guyanese have small time crooks. And I'm not going to be surprised if Guyanese average income level is higher than that of Italians in NY. I often like to make fun of RH, pavlov daag and dem bais, but lots of six figure Guyanese households live there. Many professionals...lawyers, teachers,  accountants, doctors, etc.

We have to meet up some day .

I'm only kidding, Kaka! Uh, ah meen Kaka! Shucks, ah meen.Kapa! Jeezus!

House price was $20-40k in 1977, now they're worth millions. Lucky Guyanese!

Haven't been since 2017 for my nephew's wedding. Everything is done real Guyanese style, that's why I feel so at home whenever I go. I stand on Liberty, gaze at the changed landscape, and chat with country people.

House price was $20-40k in 1977, now they're worth millions. Lucky Guyanese!

Haven't been since 2017 for my nephew's wedding. Everything is done real Guyanese style, that's why I feel so at home whenever I go. I stand on Liberty, gaze at the changed landscape, and chat with country people.

Yes, it's a place to behold . It is the only place where you can find a restaurant named Two Sisters and Shantas. I don't even think they have this in Guyana It does not get more local dan dat. I love it! Their fired shark and dhal puri wid peppah sauce is delicious . I heard our boy Pavlov Daag frequents Cabana and Hibiscus

@Ramakant-P posted:

That's all immigrants are fit for. Fight for street names.  Not so long ago they were fighting to rename Liberty avenue to Gandhi Street. What else do you contribute to the city of New York?

Oh rass! GNI's social conservative is clapping lash pon dem RH people.

Building one bus stop is not enough. I think I am going to send TKbhai to educate those lazy Coolies because Dr.Tara Singh is not helping out.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Building one bus stop is not enough. I think I am going to send TKbhai to educate those lazy Coolies because Dr.Tara Singh is not helping out.

Don't say that. Dr Tara Singh has a deep understanding of the vibes and institutional makeup of RH. He is very knowledgeable.

Yes, it's a place to behold . It is the only place where you can find a restaurant named Two Sisters and Shantas. I don't even think they have this in Guyana It does not get more local dan dat. I love it! Their fired shark and dhal puri wid peppah sauce is delicious . I heard our boy Pavlov Daag frequents Cabana and Hibiscus

Never had fried shark & puri. Just made duck curry & roti.

Pavvy has to return to the college work in September or maybe he retired.

@cain posted:

You people pissin of po Iman here with all dah dam talk bout fry dis an fry dat an here I lucky fo get me some potato an carrots.

Learn to cook.  If you guys have to go to the cockroach-infested roti shop and buy fried fish, then you need some hot lashes on your backside.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Learn to cook.  If you guys have to go to the cockroach-infested roti shop and buy fried fish, then you need some hot lashes on your backside.

Before Covid, I was a busy career woman and lived on restaurant food. Since last March I used the lockdown to learn to cook the delicious foods my Mom made in Guyana.

@Ramakant-P posted:

So leh me see if Iman got dis right. The couple shops around my hood doan carry dem foods, I probably gotta make a six hr trip and yet all I gaffa do is learn to cook to make shark an breadfruit etc show up in de pot?

@cain posted:

So leh me see if Iman got dis right. The couple shops around my hood doan carry dem foods, I probably gotta make a six hr trip and yet all I gaffa do is learn to cook to make shark an breadfruit etc show up in de pot?

That a bit too far-fetched.

Before Covid, I was a busy career woman and lived on restaurant food. Since last March I used the lockdown to learn to cook the delicious foods my Mom made in Guyana.

When I started to cook, I started with Rice, Dholl, Bhounjal chicken, Bhaji, pumpkin, potato curry, potato balls, bigani, bara, channa, and chutney.

Then I learned to cook Chinese food West Indian style, and Italian food.