From around 2015, i started to do a study on the the new fearless East Indian Leader Bharat Jagdeo. My search to find information was difficult, due to no writings, not a piece of paper with his name as author, unlike C.B.Jagan there are couple of books and papers can be found written by him.

Found are information in his political career in news papers and other medias, such as videos of his one man press conferences.From observation of his body language and continuous ramblings, he is no smart ass, people who does that are cons.His conman-ship have derailed the PPP from what the party stands for, no one  currently in the party have the guts to stand to him.The ones with guts who stood up to him was expelled and some resigned.

With that said the  "wannabee smart ass" has been hoodwinked, President Granger got his gal , the newly appointed GECOM Chairman Former Justice Honorable Claudette Singh.

Dondadda

I have my day, although was late for the announcement.

My jine family

and

Dave

take a peek at this thread

Ralph Ramkarran Passed Over For Speakership. PNC Loyalist Justice Claudette Singh Is the New Speaker

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/r...h-is-the-new-speaker

Welcome aboard Justice Claudette Singh

July 27 2019

Dear Editor,

Whatever transpired during the meeting between former President Jagdeo and President Granger behind closed doors and deciding on a new head for GECOM, I am happy like they both are that we have finally gotten over that hurdle towards elections 2019.

Welcome aboard Justice Claudette Singh.

Come August 1, 2019 for the Emancipation celebration at the National Park, it is my expectation that both major party members and all other contesting parties for the general elections grace the occasion  as well behaved politicians in front of the international representatives/community based in Guyana.

This occasion is more or less the last one where the general public would meet and gather as one people, one nation, one destiny and an opportunity for a public interaction with all contesting candidates for elections.

I dare say to the general public, we will all be part of the mother of all elections in 2019 and let us exercise our right in going to the polls and live as decent neighbours. Don’t allow politicians to confuse our mindsets with their campaigning messages of half truths, lies, deceit etc.

Allow them to talk, listen, observe, smile and return home safely and respect whichever party becomes the elected government of the day.

Yours faithfully,

T. Pemberton

Welcome to this most gruelling and watched job

July 27 2019

Dear Editor,

After the tumultuous and troubling, a much-needed first step has been achieved and is now official: There is a chairperson.  I suppose that many of us will have to get used to addressing the new leader of Gecom by this gender neutral title, in view of this unprecedented development of a woman as chair.  As I congratulate and welcome the new chair and wish her the very best in this most gruelling and watched job in Guyana, a few final thoughts come as I close out my interest in this position and all the alarms that came with getting to this point.

First, I am writing this without even looking at the official announcement of retired Justice Claudette Singh’s appointment.  I don’t need to go there to analyze for meanings and signals and hidden interpretations on her sudden and surprising arrival at Gecom.  It was for me.  But we certainly do things the hard way in this country; nothing is ever easy.  I do hope that there was some learning by both sides from what had to be a tortured and draining process; perhaps some maturity and wisdom.  Now all Guyanese will resort to what they do best: figure out the how and why, and dissect all the nuances in between.  That is none of my business; I am content that there is a chair, and have already moved past that once red stoplight.  That is history.

Second, without reading anything, I am inclined to believe that there was some, shall I say, Adam Smith hand involved in getting past that thorny, intractable flashpoint.  I am glad, and not interested in who was that influencer; the result is all that matters.  But there did have to be some compromising by both sides; a political quid pro quo had to be worked out to get from no sharing, no meeting, no talking to this bolt from the blue of a done deal in a single afternoon.  This is said with regard to movements behind the scenes.  Still, the real world of political Guyana just does not work like that, at any level.  And certainly not for Gecom chair.

Third, having dangled that over the table, I think that there will be some indication in the comments and postures of both sides going forward.  The proof will be in the pudding where all interests and roads and priorities now congregate (not collide, hopefully): that would be the almost just as (if not even more) confrontational matter involving lists.  The contention is going to be: my list or yours; with the latter still in the developing.  The way I see it is that there is going to have to be some give on the lists.  Keen listening as what follows in the aftermath of this chair settlement will set the stage for going forward.  I expect to see some adjustments; part of the give and take.  As an aside, I share that the house to house registration people from Gecom just paid a visit to the homestead and the honours were duly completed.  After processing, and all things being equal, I should be voting for the second time.

Fourth, now that a chair is in place, I am not particularly concerned about a date for elections being identified, as I think that that will hinge on what is finalized about the existing list and the just commenced registration process.  I don’t understand how what I am thinking might be practical, but I foresee that some sort of meeting of the minds is going to have to occur here.  Again.

Fifth, and finally, the work of the chair now boils down to two major decisions.  Consult, decide and roll out the process for the list of eligible voters, which is the first order of business.  And then, after the actual voting is closed, then Guyana starts over again from where it has just been.  What I mean by that is that the result of the count is the final responsibility of the new chair.  Good luck.  I think she needs more than luck.  I suggest prayers and appeals to the force(s) above for guidance.  For strength.  For courage.

Yours faithfully,

GHK Lall

Justice of Appeal Claudette Singh resigns

November 1, 2007

Justice of Appeal Claudette Singh resigned from her judicial post at the Court of Appeal and as a High Court judge effective from yesterday after months of speculation surrounding her departure.

Justice Singh will take up a position within the chambers of the Attorney General spearheading an Inter-American Development Bank project aimed at improving the local justice system.

The Court of Appeal will continue to function in her absence with Acting Chancellor and Chief Justice Carl Singh, who is a member of the court, filling the vacant position of third sitting Justice of Appeal.

No new appointments to the court are expected soon since the life of the Judicial Service Commission, which has the responsibility of appointing judges, expired in February and the body has since been non-existent.

Responding to Justice Singh’s resignation yesterday, the Acting Chancellor told Stabroek News that she was undoubtedly an asset to the judiciary and the legal system, adding that Guyana is poorer with her departure. He noted that she was a distinguished judge who was assiduous and dedicated in performing the functions of Appeal and Supreme Court judge.

β€œJustice Claudette Singh and I were able to hold our head above the political wrangling surrounding the appointment of Chancellor. Our relationship has been cordial and pleasant and I will miss her,” Justice Singh added.

The Chief Justice pointed out that the Judicial Service Commission should have been reconstituted and performing its functions but has instead been non-existent given the current political situation in the country.

Responding to a letter written by former Chief Magistrate K. A. Juman-Yassin and published in Stabroek News’ edition yesterday, Justice Singh said the former magistrate’s statement faulting him over the situation at the Court of Appeal was precipitate and unfortunate since it is not within his power to fill the vacancy that will be created by Justice Claudette Singh’s departure.

In the letter, Juman-Yassin pointed out that the complement in the Court of Appeal should be five judges – the Chancellor and four other judges but the local court has only had an acting Chancellor and three judges for some three years now.

Justice Singh said this is correct but noted that three judges can sit in civil and criminal matters. However if a matter of critical importance comes up before the court the full complement is required. (Iana Seales)

Little historical background of the New GECOM Chairman.

Zed posted:

I have read what some of the talking heads have written on the selection of the GECOM Shamir.

I am certain that I do not understand this selection. Time will tell what it means for the future of democracy in Guyana and whether our nation will unite over or time remain apart together for for a long time.

That's true !!! i am a bit surprised at the quick nomination, although said i have my day. Noticed on social media all them Indo-Guyanese happy like their fearless leader , hopefully when the elections results are declared, they won't  become dejected.

Justice Claudette Singh is new GECOM Chair

July 26 2019

Retired Justice Claudette Singh is the new Chairperson of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), government and the opposition confirmed.

β€œWe’re very, very happy with this development. The process was consensual.  The names on the list enjoy my confidence and enjoy the confidence of the President. They were found not unacceptable to him and, therefore, he chose from a list not unacceptable to him so there was no question of a unilateral appointment being done here and that’s a great development for Guyana, ” said Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo.

He said Justice Singh, who had previously declined his invitation to be on a previous list, on Friday agreed to be a nominee.

Jagdeo expressed confidence in the retired judge’s competence for the job. β€œWe believe that she will deliver fair elections and that’s all that the PPP ( People’s Progressive Party) wants from any chairperson,” said Jagdeo who is also the PPP’s General Secretary.

Jagdeo said he was pleased that the appointment of Singh emerged out of a consensual process.

Jagdeo’s six nominees were

Justice B.S. Roy

Justice Claudette Singh

Lawrence Lachmansingh

Attorney-at-Law Ronald Burch-Smith

Attorney-at-Law Kashir Khan

Justice William Ramlall

In his reply to Jagdeo’s formal submission, President Granger said, β€œI acknowledge receipt of your letter dated 2018.07.26. in which you submitted six names to be considered for the appointment to the position of Chairman of the Elections Commission. I have selected from that list Justice Claudette Singh, S.C; C.C.H. to be appointed Chairman.”

Justice Singh had vitiated the 1997 general elections on the ground that voter identification cards are unconstitutional.

President David Granger, this afternoon, met Leader of the Opposition Bharrat Jagdeo at the Ministry of the Presidency where they continued a series of meetings aimed at β€˜hammering out’ a list of nominees β€œnot unacceptable” to the President.

The Leader of the Opposition agreed to submit such a list.

The President received and reviewed the list of nominees later this afternoon in an effort to bring the selection process to a speedy and favourable conclusion. This was aimed at ensuring that the Elections Commission could resume its normal functions with the aim of conducting General and Regional Elections in the shortest possible time.

The President, in that regard, swiftly made a selection from the list of nominees and approved Justice Claudette Singh, SC, CCH. Justice Singh satisfies the criteria for the appointment and also satisfies the ruling of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) for a consensual appointment supported by both the President and the Leader of the Opposition.

We are happy it was an Indian!

I notice even Cain is ok although it’s an Indian!

Check  the post , the list of six names consensual between Granger and Jagdeo.

One Afro-Guyanese made the list.

Claudette Singh is also Afro Guyanese.

Me thinks she is Mixed (Dougla)

Claudette related to J.P. Latchmansingh

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...is-a-special-person/

Dr. Rambharat Singh, alumnus of Berbice High School, was the nephew of Babu Lachhmansingh being the son of his brother Ramdhan Singh, owner of Plantation Phoenix, west coast Berbice,  who was the grandfather of Dr. Halvidar Singh of QC and UG and Indar Singh if Plantation Phoenix, who was the father of Madame Justice Claudette Singh.

I am not getting into race/colour issue of Claudette Singh  because I see it as irrelevant. This is what I believed happen. BJ said that in 2017 he had asked Claudette Singh if she would serve as GECOM chair. She declined. So when Bible Boy - DAG, insisted that there will be a gridlock if his two names including Claudette Singh are not on BJs list.

BJ then met the DAG  and both of DAGs nominees are not there, Jagdeo voluntarily provided reasons to DAG (which the Constitution does not for). I am sure that BJ reason was that in 2017 he had asked her and she declined. DAG used that reason, approached Claudette Singh and gave her BJs reasoning. Claudette Singh confirmed that fact but indicated to DAG that she is interested in the position. DAG communicated this to BJ and  BJ approached Claudette who confirmed her interest. BJ then added her name to the list. DAG immediately appointed her. 

Dondadda posted:

I am not getting into race/colour issue of Claudette Singh  because I see it as irrelevant. This is what I believed happen. BJ said that in 2017 he had asked Claudette Singh if she would serve as GECOM chair. She declined. So when Bible Boy - DAG, insisted that there will be a gridlock if his two names including Claudette Singh are not on BJs list.

BJ then met the DAG  and both of DAGs nominees are not there, Jagdeo voluntarily provided reasons to DAG (which the Constitution does not for). I am sure that BJ reason was that in 2017 he had asked her and she declined. DAG used that reason, approached Claudette Singh and gave her BJs reasoning. Claudette Singh confirmed that fact but indicated to DAG that she is interested in the position. DAG communicated this to BJ and  BJ approached Claudette who confirmed her interest. BJ then added her name to the list. DAG immediately appointed her. 

Sounds plausible !!! 

Mentioned the military man shouldn't be taken lightly.

Dondadda posted:

Sounds plausible !!! 

BJ had to give in to DG.

Dondadda posted:

Sounds plausible !!! 

BJ had to give in to DG.

Agreed, as stated earlier.

Zara posted:

Thanks to the hard work and vision of Cde Granger with support from Cde Nagamootoo, the opposition saw the wisdom is settling this matter. Now our nation can move for elections in 2020.  Cde Granger and Cde Nagamootoo will be re-elected with a large majority.  

That can only be achieved by rigging.

I am not going to doubt you since you have inside information on this from 2015.

Zara posted:

Thanks to the hard work and vision of Cde Granger with support from Cde Nagamootoo, the opposition saw the wisdom is settling this matter. Now our nation can move for elections in 2020.  Cde Granger and Cde Nagamootoo will be re-elected with a large majority.  

Mits, not true !!!  the Multi Party Coalition will win,  PPP with Irfaan Ali as  their Presidential Candidate can't cut it.

Now that the shouting is over with the selection of GECOM's Chairwoman, I would advise PPPites/PNCites not to put their eggs in one basket.

An election has to be won fair and square.

It means fair to all sides and let the Guyanese voters decide who they chose to be the next president of Guyana.  

We can share our views,  at the least the Country is close to some of us hearts, especially those that have family members there.

Now that the shouting is over with the selection of GECOM's Chairwoman, I would advise PPPites/PNCites not to put their eggs in one basket.

An election has to be won fair and square.

It means fair to all sides and let the Guyanese voters decide who they chose to be the next president of Guyana.  

We can share our views,  at the least the Country is close to our hearts, some of us have family members there.

Our fellow Indians are stubborn and hold different beliefs in Guyana's complex politics. They bear false witness to the PPP & PNC. They always embrace division by appeasing with the political dividers. They are rooting for abee pun top. Dango, I am happy to say that you are one of the level headed individuals on GNI.  At present, no one should ever question your love for your country over who is ruling it.  

Dr. Rambharat Singh, alumnus of Berbice High School, was the nephew of Babu Lachhmansingh being the son of his brother Ramdhan Singh, owner of Plantation Phoenix, west coast Berbice,  who was the grandfather of Dr. Halvidar Singh of QC and UG and Indar Singh if Plantation Phoenix, who was the father of Madame Justice Claudette Singh.

The Lachmansinghs were a prominent family in my village and built the Primary School. Maybe this is what Granger was referring to when he said he wanted to place a female Indo in a high position.

JR Lachmansingh was the influential  headmaster at Albion school during my entire school life. He was very strict, but an excellent educator, being very fussy about hand writing. 'Up strokes light, down strokes heavy'.  

After graduating, we stayed in touch with his beautiful garden and chicken feed we got from milling rice.

Three teachers that highlight all others during my primary school years were : Lachmansingh, Harold Appadoo and David Latchana.

Latchmansingh passed on a few years ago and I was told Harold recently passed on, but David still lives in Ontario.

During our graduating year, David took the entire class for evening lessons at his home, at no cost.

President Granger recently visited Albion school, during a tour of the sugar estate.

On the road to Albion primary school : 'The pavement end, where white privilege begins'.  

Zara posted:

Mits, not true !!!  the Multi Party Coalition will win,  PPP with Irfaan Ali as  their Presidential Candidate can't cut it.

He is an insider. Note he mentioned "elections in 2020" and I was referring to "with a large majority". Nagamootoo  has lost support his support base. 2,500  to 5,000 votes can be very critical.

Nagamootoo  has lost support his support base. 2,500  to 5,000 votes can be very critical.

Yes a comparison of the 2011 and 2015 results for Region 6 will show that he lost his support base in 2015. 

Unless you suggest that he has a support base in G/T I will suggest that his ship sailed over 3 years ago.  Joining with APNU guaranteed that.

Yes there is a rule that no black man/woman is allowed for this job unless its a PPP criminal like Norman McLean.

Of the 7 GECOM Chairmen so far 4 were Afro or mixed with Afro.  There was Harry Bollers.  1992 Chairman was Rudy Collins. 1994 Hopkinson.  Most recently James Patterson.  The three Indians were Joe Singh, Doodnauth Singh, and Surajbally.

Yes there is a rule that no black man/woman is allowed for this job unless its a PPP criminal like Norman McLean.

Of the 7 GECOM Chairmen so far 4 were Afro or mixed with Afro.  1992 Chairman was Rudy Collins.  1994 Hopkinson.  Most recently James Patterson.  The three Indians were Joe Singh, Doodnauth Singh, and Surajbally.

Even 1 Indian is too much for Cribby. 3 is giving him heartburns. πŸ˜€

Has this woman fallen asleep like Patterson? Doesn’t she realize that time is of the essence? When is she going to put on her big girl’s drawze and start cleaning up Granger and Patterson mess?

She is at GECOM office as we speak conducting meetings.  Let’s give her a chance and see what happens.  H2H will be her defining moment.  

Of the 7 GECOM Chairmen so far 4 were Afro or mixed with Afro.  There was Harry Bollers.  1992 Chairman was Rudy Collins. 1994 Hopkinson.  Most recently James Patterson.  The three Indians were Joe Singh, Doodnauth Singh, and Surajbally.

Bibi, yuh like talk to DUMMIES nah

I thought that Dr. Martin Boodhoo was also GECOM Chair. I can’t tell which year, but I thought it was just after Jagan won.

Dondadda posted:

I thought that Dr. Martin Boodhoo was also GECOM Chair. I can’t tell which year, but I thought it was just after Jagan won.

Dr. Boodhoo was not GECOM Chairman.  But indeed a fine gentleman with an illustrious career and proud son of Leonora.