Comprehensive efforts to be maintained to constrain post-elections violence PDF Print E-mail
Written by
Friday, 23 December 2011 02:08
- Luncheon
THE ghost of post-elections political violence has been resurrected since the declaration in favour of the ruling Party, according to Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr. Roger Luncheon. “The ante is slowly being raised by APNU’s protests and the media organised diatribe against government’s personalities in the executive and supporters of the PPP/C administration,” Dr. Luncheon told reporters on Wednesday.
He noted that this matter was reflected on by President Donald Ramotar during Cabinet’s meeting, this week, where some manifestation of the challenges and the way in which they were evolving were discussed.
Luncheon said particular attention was paid to the street protests and the night vigils and the recognition that comprehensive efforts would have to be maintained to constrain rising anticipation with regards to the advent of the historic PNCR, now APNU, post-elections behaviour.
As it relates to the call for boycott and the open racist appeal, the HPS said Cabinet recognised that efforts have to effectively and unambiguously maintain a distance from this perverse form of political behaviour.
With regards to the role of the media, he said Cabinet is of the view that there is need for focusing and preserving professionalism among media practitioners and enhancing the role of the regulatory bodies that oversee the sector.
Issues relating to the parliamentary political parties in dealing with matters of mutual interest and governance were also discussed at Cabinet’s meeting. Additionally, Luncheon alluded to the meetings held by President Ramotar with leaders and representatives of the political parties.
“Cabinet recognised the imperative of thoughtful engagements and the important role of Parliament, civil society and other forward thinking personalities,” the HPS said.

Excerpts from the Guyana Chronicle

Albert let us know when this post election viollence occurred. Who was injured (old ladies, kids, etc by the actions of the police force). Property damaged. NONE.

Should Luncheon not be talking about the PPPs reaction to PEACEFUL protest.

The PPP really needs to accept the fact that New Days have come, and those who they malign will be needed if the PPP is going to get anything done.

So why is the PPP not practising a new ideology of inclusion?
Originally posted by albert:
The few misguided supporters of A.P.N.U needs to go home....

Albert,how long will the PNC keep this name (APNU)for? It rhymes with Sapnu and sound very much like the name of a Bollywood movie.
Originally posted by caribj:
Albert let us know when this post election viollence occurred. Who was injured (old ladies, kids, etc by the actions of the police force). Property damaged. NONE.

The PPP really needs to accept the fact that New Days have come, and those who they malign will be needed if the PPP is going to get anything done.

Fighting within the PPP resulted in the party losing its majority. The elections must not be interpreted as an endorsement of the PNC whose performance at the poll is no better than it was in 1992. Guyana remains a free and democratic country under the PPP. We must not lose sight of this.
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
Fighting within the PPP resulted in the party losing its majority. s.

blablablablablabla....65% of Guyanese registered voters DID NOT VOTE PPP!
Governments who repeatedly win free and fair elections consecutively, normally be victims of their successes, the populace tend to have a sense that victory is assured, thus complacency steps in.....nevertheless the P.P.P/C administration will continue to be at full throttle, as it relates to address the issue of all Guyanese, especially those of the working class...
Fighting within the PPP resulted in the party losing its majority. s.

blablablablablabla....65% of Guyanese registered voters DID NOT VOTE PPP!

Be brave enought to tell us what percentage of the Guyanese registered voters who DID NOT VOTE APNU.
Despite provacation by some, Granger showed leadership and call for calm. So far there has been NO rioting under Granger leadership.

Ramotar has recognized that they would not be dealing with dumbwit, race insticator and classless Robert Corbin. He has to deal with a smart,tactical and a man with class, Granger.

Champion Cuss-man is gone and so is Corbin.
ppp is just crying wolf,i think this is they last term.after this term not much people will be voting race base.the crime will get worse under rohee and the indians will call it a day
quote"The APNU list of Parliamentarians raises eyebrows for the startling omissions and reinforces the call by OneVoice News for the abolition of the closed list system by all political parties in Guyana.

It is clear just by a cursory look at this list that several of those selected are mere political hacks and hangers-on with connections to the King Maker .. .unquote

quote...The recent exclusion of Mr. Aubrey Norton, Nicole Telford and others from the APNU list of representatives is a glaring example of all that is wrong with the system. It is a well known fact that Norton has not had a stellar relationship with PNC leadership and sources close to the selection process have told OVNN that it was this fact that resulted in his disrespectful and unceremonious omission from the list of representatives. Nicole Telford would have easily been a more effective pick to represent NFA than the ailing Keith Scott who is still recovering from a recent stroke. Mr. Scott is simply unable to perform at the very high level required of this parliament and the fact that he was chosen further reinforces that merit was not a major criteria in the male dominated, closed door, selection process.

It was also brought to our attention that one female candidate held a significant advantage because of her close relationship with a very influential party big-shot. If these allegations are true then what example does this set for Guyanese women, for our daughters? The APNU must take a long hard look in the mirror and cleanse itself from elements that bring such shame and dishonor to the partnership".unquote

Source:OneVoiceCanWin
quote"The APNU list of Parliamentarians raises eyebrows for the startling omissions and reinforces the call by OneVoice News for the abolition of the closed list system by all political parties in Guyana.

It is clear just by a cursory look at this list that several of those selected are mere political hacks and hangers-on with connections to the King Maker .. .unquote

quote...The recent exclusion of Mr. Aubrey Norton, Nicole Telford and others from the APNU list of representatives is a glaring example of all that is wrong with the system. It is a well known fact that Norton has not had a stellar relationship with PNC leadership and sources close to the selection process have told OVNN that it was this fact that resulted in his disrespectful and unceremonious omission from the list of representatives. Nicole Telford would have easily been a more effective pick to represent NFA than the ailing Keith Scott who is still recovering from a recent stroke. Mr. Scott is simply unable to perform at the very high level required of this parliament and the fact that he was chosen further reinforces that merit was not a major criteria in the male dominated, closed door, selection process.

It was also brought to our attention that one female candidate held a significant advantage because of her close relationship with a very influential party big-shot. If these allegations are true then what example does this set for Guyanese women, for our daughters? The APNU must take a long hard look in the mirror and cleanse itself from elements that bring such shame and dishonor to the partnership".unquote

talking about protecting our daughters,how about jailing green for raping our daughter
Two things occurred in the last elections...

Afro-Guyanese voters who fled the PNC returned home and Indos who favored Moses fled to the AFC. The PNC did not gain any grounds on the PPP. The AFC digged in a little bit but most analysts think their limited success will be short-lived. Nothing else changed.

The PPP is back in office.
its only time before a certain political party realize they have a dead weight candidate...

I never thought you would ever speak of the PPP/C dinoczars as being fossilized. panman yippie
Governments who repeatedly win free and fair elections consecutively,.

The PPP won becasue the Indians were the largest. Now that many have fled PPP rule and others are less willing to vote PPP the PPP now has faced a humiliating loss. APNU and AFC can block the PPP if they so chose.
Be brave enought to tell us what percentage of the Guyanese registered voters who DID NOT VOTE APNU.

I am not making claims of excellency about APNU. You are claiming great things about the PPP. 65% of Guyanese do not agree with you.

the only thing great about the ppp,is they are the biggest thief.and a bunch of shameless antiman
quote"The APNU list of Parliamentarians raises eyebrows for the startling omissions and reinforces [size=3]the call by OneVoice News for the abolition of the closed list system by all political parties in Guyana.
[/size]

It is written in the winds of change that these deficits of democracy will rise the ire of people as they begin to question the patristic system we have. The call for the process that selected Ramator will take center stage or should take center stage here as well The PPP cannot cherry pick their what to complain about from among what is habitual to them as well.
its only time before a certain political party realize they have a dead weight candidate...
I agree, the PPP will see their choice of Ramator was ill advised.
Governments who repeatedly win free and fair elections consecutively, normally be victims of their successes, the populace tend to have a sense that victory is assured, thus complacency steps in.....nevertheless the P.P.P/C administration will continue to be at full throttle, as it relates to address the issue of all Guyanese, especially those of the working class...
Getting trounced has little to d o with complacency and more to the habit of brazen autocratic and corrupt practices in the PPP. For them to be rehabilitated demands a purging of all of their old guard and that demands a generational time frame for the making and contingent on concurrent philosophical and ideological transformation from within
Originally posted by D2:
Getting trounced has little to d o with complacency and more to the habit of brazen autocratic and corrupt practices in the PPP. For them to be rehabilitated demands a purging of all of their old guard and that demands a generational time frame for the making and contingent on concurrent philosophical and ideological transformation from within

send me yu resume...geta wuk and ezee the state lil cheers
Originally posted by SuperMike:
Originally posted by D2:

Hire your damn self. Pretending you can hire or even afford my to pay me will not make you an employer. You low life scum bags are just a waste of time.
Originally posted by D2:

Hire your damn self. Pretending you can hire or even afford my to pay me will not make you an employer. You low life scum bags are just a waste of time.

i still have a job, whiles you sucking aff the state...come on give us a break lil bit and go find a job naa.
Originally posted by D2:

i still have a job, whiles you sucking aff the state...come on give us a break lil bit and go find a job naa.
I know you want to believe your own fantasy so let that fictive belief stick it in you craw if it gives you consolation.
Originally posted by D2:

I know you want to believe your own fantasy so let that fictive belief stick it in you craw if it gives you consolation.

you parasite
Originally posted by D2:

you parasite
As I said, you under achievers need to placate yourselves with the thought. Alas, you are still under achievers whatever your mind would care to delude itself it is.
Originally posted by D2:

you parasite
As I said, you under achievers need to placate yourselves with the thought. Alas, you are still under achievers whatever your mind would care to delude itself it is.

yes resident bumm..go geta damm wuk and stop sucking the state cheers
Originally posted by D2:

you parasite

yes resident bumm..go geta damm wuk and stop sucking the state cheers
boo hoo hoo, sorry, pray that you can skim some more cash off poor people like your friend Ed. You folks never had an ethical upbringing so you think as you do. Well, I raise three preppy kids; sent two to ivy league colleges and have one taking a rest at a local school until he can decide what he wants to do. You dream about welfare and pretend you have those pretty little ones you have secure and can indeed avoid that fate. I do not have to worry about that ever and pretending otherwise wont make it so. Even my dogs can be assured of a cushy life.
[yes resident bumm..go geta damm wuk and stop sucking the state cheers[/QUOTE]boo hoo hoo, sorry, pray that you can skim some more cash off poor people like your friend Ed. You folks never had an ethical upbringing so you think as you do. Well, I raise three preppy kids; sent two to ivy league colleges and have one taking a rest at a local school until he can decide what he wants to do. You dream about welfare and pretend you have those pretty little ones you have secure and can indeed avoid that fate. I do not have to worry about that ever and pretending otherwise wont make it so. Even my dogs can be assured of a cushy life.[/QUOTE]

are they pretty like you...i know your kind is normally pretty lol partybanana yippie cheers
The few misguided supporters of A.P.N.U needs to go home....

Albert,how long will the PNC keep this name (APNU)for? It rhymes with Sapnu and sound very much like the name of a Bollywood movie.

I was thinking the same. Even Apnu rhymes with Nagamootoo, Satnoo, Budhu...

Apnu...who who..??

Don't be surprised though that this re-branding of the PNC will catch on and eventually, the PNC supporters will have only APNU on their brain and they will forget the PNC. They will have this transformation of mind over matter and before you know it, the youths will not remember who is PNC. Granger wants to shake the past, and he may very well succeed. Changing strips like a snake.

It is for the PPP to do its work and continue to let Guyanese know that they don't have to change stripes, but to be the competent governing body for the nation.

They still have to clean up some real incompetents in the machinery.... inherited from the PNC days and still there...

Fortynine percent of MPs are non indians. Isn't that enough for you.? Do you want all the top jobs to go to afros? They had them for 28 years and ran the country bankrupt.
Not a single project was done in an Indian area during the PNC reign. Instead they bled the coolies dry. Took all their money and foced them to support black culture. They raped Indian girls and chased the men out of the country.

Well! I say to! never again. be content with Mitwah and Bruddman. They bend over well.