SPEAKER of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman ruled yesterday that the Parliamentary Committee of Privileges will not be convened to address issues relating to the no-confidence motion tabled by the Opposition against Home Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee.

alt

Attorney General Anil Nandlall in the National Assembly

Trotman stated that he had asked the court to interpret the limits to extend responsibilities, rights and the relationship among the National Assembly, the Executive and the Judiciary and has subsequently chosen not to extend the Committee of Privileges.
At the November 22 sitting of the National Assembly, Trotman had ruled that while the issues surrounding the no-confidence motion would be sent to the Committee, the minister would be barred from presenting or debating any legislation in the House in his name.

alt

Speaker Raphael Trotman

Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, subsequently moved to the High Court seeking to have the ruling declared, “unlawful, unconstitutional, ultra vires and without any legal or factual base, and therefore the Privileges Committee has no jurisdiction to deal with or determine any issue remitted to it”.
The AG’s motion to the court also seeks to have an order directing the Speaker to permit Minister Rohee to, not only perform his functions as an elected member of the National Assembly, but also as an appointed Minister of the Government of Guyana pursuant to the Constitution and the Laws of Guyana.

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Minister Rohee is an elected Member of Parliament, its ludicrous for the opposition members attempting to remove or silence him!!!

LIke Trotty finally read and understand the Rules of Parliament???? I cant imaging why he did not do so before.

The goons of the jagdeo/Ramu cabal, usually don't contribute constructively to the discussion but instead, tries to throw a red herring in the discussion.

Need any more help old chap Consee?

Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, subsequently moved to the High Court seeking to have the ruling declared, “unlawful, unconstitutional, ultra vires and without any legal or factual base, and therefore the Privileges Committee has no jurisdiction to deal with or determine any issue remitted to it

Oh hell Old chap, you using some big words on me deh  - ultra vires.

Nice, I like when you come out with an original thought rather than goteeing the dhall over and over.

Nice one, keep it up old chap Counsee.

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

Nice, I like when you come out with an original thought rather than goteeing the dhall over and over.

sUH NOW YOU AH DEH STUDENT AND YUH BAXSIDE WANT TO TEACH ME. gWAN SUH YUH dUNCE.

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

sUH NOW YOU AH DEH STUDENT AND YUH BAXSIDE WANT TO TEACH ME. gWAN SUH YUH dUNCE.

Old boy Nehru, you clear have air in your head and cannot understand context. 

The highest form of ignorance is when you reject something you don't know anything about.

Why are you rejecting my complement of the old chap Counsee?

The opposition goon is desperately trying to derail the thread, he/she has nothing constructive to contribute, as usual.....pity on that goon soul

The PPP goon, Counsee is desperately trying to derail the thread, he/she has nothing constructive to contribute, as usual.....pity on that goon soul.

That is the difference between gentlemen and dogs of war.

As i said before, Mr. Trotman is entitled to his opinion.

A Trotman will never survive in the PPP.

Remember old chap Ralph Ramkarran?

When he was in, he was most compliant.  Once he was out, his true feeling start tumbling out.

Well Trotty can speak his true feeling now and nothing will happen to him since he is valued for his experience, his integrity and his willingness to serve the people.

The party should be the least of Trotty's concern!

Lawd, how can we re-educate these communist!