Stormy, you have it wrong. Those people who bought properties are laughing all the way to the Bank. The worst 1 family House in RH is going for 500000US.

I know what they go for. I also know what it is for a family earning 25k to pay the mortgage. I live in an area where the median income is 150k and where the streets are clean, where there are open spaces and biking trails and good schools and lots of play grounds and were homes are 450k for 1600 sq feet on average and who do you think is living the better life?  Add to that every name brand store is here and shopping for anything is a walk away....and I am not talking of vegetable seconds from the Chinese vegetable market. It is a problem of knowing when to laugh and what you are banking..your misery or your happy life. BTW we do have the multi million dollar mansions as well. Here are our neighborhoods

Clearly a person on a dollar store clerk salary cannot afford to live in these neighborhoods unless their spouse is a sugar mammy. 

Hey D2, Discovery Channel moved from their huge bldg. in downtown Silver Spring. The bldg. was built for them and they were there about 20 years. Do you know who will occupy the bldg. now?

I really do not know. Silver Springs used to be my old stomping grounds but now I am by where you work...a mile away. It is paradise here...no crime...everything local

Stormy, you have it wrong. Those people who bought properties are laughing all the way to the Bank. The worst 1 family House in RH is going for 500000US.

I know what they go for. I also know what it is for a family earning 25k to pay the mortgage. I live in an area where the median income is 150k and where the streets are clean, where there are open spaces and biking trails and good schools and lots of play grounds and were homes are 450k for 1600 sq feet on average and who do you think is living the better life?  Add to that every name brand store is here and shopping for anything is a walk away....and I am not talking of vegetable seconds from the Chinese vegetable market. It is a problem of knowing when to laugh and what you are banking..your misery or your happy life. BTW we do have the multi million dollar mansions as well. Here are our neighborhoods

Clearly a person on a dollar store clerk salary cannot afford to live in these neighborhoods unless their spouse is a sugar mammy. 

She cannot be much of a sugar mammy if I am supposedly working at a dollar store! I also bet you wish that poor kindergarten teacher was into the big bucks so you can ease up on chasing the green - nine to five! Sorry for your misfortune 

Budday...Meh Fren...everybady know SAT and Ivy doan always seh who is good and who is lemon. Yuh miss de point. Me give wan on de ground example of peopkle owning property in discrimination. Tek 7 guyanese example me know. 7 brothers. Dem come Merika from 1966 to 1973. Dem bais face discriminate. Two want be teacha...two want wuk bank and finance..two want office wuk. Dem man face face discriminate. But nothing. Dem mek de choice dem will wuk factory. Dem save and band dem belly and buy few property a Jamaica and Richmon Hill. Dem white Irish and Italian who flighting from de area sell cheap and dem black skin bais from Guyana buy. Today some of dem bais livin on rent. Only one brother mek it to CPA. All de other was labor but dem each own few property in de face of discriminate. 60% choice, 40% social. 

There are some fundamental issues in this country that are difficult for some people to grasp. I was once good friends with an Afro American co-worker who grew up in the projects in Jamaica, Queens. He confided to me once that he was like a rock-star to his family for being a network engineer because the ultimate ambition of most of his relatives is to get a job at the post office. Can you imagine the biggest thing you can aspire to is get a job at the post office? Superficially, it may seem like choice but the reality of centuries of enslavement, prejudice, discrimination, marginalization, red-lining, unequal opportunity, all the accompanying violence, and basically being beaten into believing your own inferiority is devastating. Do you really believe the discrimination the seven brothers faced can compare to anything that blacks face in America?

antabanta posted:

Budday...Meh Fren...everybady know SAT and Ivy doan always seh who is good and who is lemon. Yuh miss de point. Me give wan on de ground example of peopkle owning property in discrimination. Tek 7 guyanese example me know. 7 brothers. Dem come Merika from 1966 to 1973. Dem bais face discriminate. Two want be teacha...two want wuk bank and finance..two want office wuk. Dem man face face discriminate. But nothing. Dem mek de choice dem will wuk factory. Dem save and band dem belly and buy few property a Jamaica and Richmon Hill. Dem white Irish and Italian who flighting from de area sell cheap and dem black skin bais from Guyana buy. Today some of dem bais livin on rent. Only one brother mek it to CPA. All de other was labor but dem each own few property in de face of discriminate. 60% choice, 40% social. 

There are some fundamental issues in this country that are difficult for some people to grasp. I was once good friends with an Afro American co-worker who grew up in the projects in Jamaica, Queens. He confided to me once that he was like a rock-star to his family for being a network engineer because the ultimate ambition of most of his relatives is to get a job at the post office. Can you imagine the biggest thing you can aspire to is get a job at the post office? Superficially, it may seem like choice but the reality of centuries of enslavement, prejudice, discrimination, marginalization, red-lining, unequal opportunity, all the accompanying violence, and basically being beaten into believing your own inferiority is devastating. Do you really believe the discrimination the seven brothers faced can compare to anything that blacks face in America?

Christ free ppl from bondage. Ever see how Black ppl worship, they knows that better days are ahead. Black Christians really really knows what it is to be a believer in Christ. The world sees wordly things.

antabanta posted:

You are reaching for race related excuses when it may not even be applicable. This to me is a class issue. It could be any race with the same aspiration if they came from the working class.   There is always  first to step out of the box. Don't paint with a broad brush, I suspect ronan and iguana would be on your case, viewing this analysis as an insult, if they were not in the slammer. 

Guyana coolies and Indos doan get affirmative action. Me niece dem get perfect SAT score and UPenn and dem Ivy (like we gurl Miss Ivy) seh how ayoo privilige and brown. Imagine dem wite liberal sk&%^ts telling abie privilege. Hey hey hey. 

Actually some of you all do.  You check "black" or "other" and then add "Guyanese" and so you get added to those who get affirmative action.

Some even get college scholarships from black organizations.

antabanta posted:

You are reaching for race related excuses when it may not even be applicable. This to me is a class issue. It could be any race with the same aspiration if they came from the working class.   There is always  first to step out of the box. Don't paint with a broad brush, I suspect ronan and iguana would be on your case, viewing this analysis as an insult, if they were not in the slammer. 

The class system in USA is primarily race-based. Excuses? The system of race-based repression in the US is not even debatable anymore. On what is your argument based?

antabanta posted:

The class system in USA is primarily race-based. Excuses? The system of race-based repression in the US is not even debatable anymore. On what is your argument based?

Bannas you making erroneous assumptions, playing the race card fuh blacks when they don't need your help. It is a class issue, your one experience with a working class Jamaican does not warrant the claim of slavery and racism to have taken a toll on the entire black folks. You do gooders are actually providing a crutch where it is not needed. I know many whites, indos, hispanics who have similar stories. Their entire ancestry came from poverty and continue to be affected, the one that breaks out of the box and get lil education becomes the superstar. There is one prominent indo who has a similar story, starting with soldering certificate and trickling down to college degrees to offspring.  

Guyana coolies and Indos doan get affirmative action. Me niece dem get perfect SAT score and UPenn and dem Ivy (like we gurl Miss Ivy) seh how ayoo privilige and brown. Imagine dem wite liberal sk&%^ts telling abie privilege. Hey hey hey. 

Actually some of you all do.  You check "black" or "other" and then add "Guyanese" and so you get added to those who get affirmative action.

Some even get college scholarships from black organizations.

Lies, you got confused watching, thinking it was an indo:

Soul Man is a 1986 American comedy film about a white man who takes tanning pills in order to pretend to be black and qualify for a black-only scholarship at Harvard Law School

antabanta posted:

Spare him an answer. Schooling did little for his intellect. 

Bannas you making erroneous assumptions, playing the race card fuh blacks when they don't need your help. It is a class issue, your one experience with a working class Jamaican does not warrant the claim of slavery and racism to have taken a toll on the entire black folks. You do gooders are actually providing a crutch where it is not needed. I know many whites, indos, hispanics who have similar stories. Their entire ancestry came from poverty and continue to be affected, the one that breaks out of the box and get lil education becomes the superstar. There is one prominent indo who has a similar story, starting with soldering certificate and trickling down to college degrees to offspring.  

Jamaica, Queens. Reread my post. Please read a little. Maya Angelou, Toni Morrison, James Baldwin, Ralph Ellison. About class issue. Yes, it is a class issue. There are different ways of establishing classes in society. One is race. The class system in the US is primarily race-based. I'm a realist, not a do-gooder. I already established black people don't need anyone to do anything for them. They just need equal opportunity and less vicious prejudice. The stories of immigrants who came to the US with little or nothing and accumulated much are countless. Those stories do not mitigate the deplorable prejudice that Afro-Americans have been subjected to for centuries in one form or another.

antabanta posted:

Jamaica, Queens. Reread my post. Please read a little. Maya Angelou, Toni Morrison, James Baldwin, Ralph Ellison. About class issue. Yes, it is a class issue. There are different ways of establishing classes in society. One is race. The class system in the US is primarily race-based. I'm a realist, not a do-gooder. I already established black people don't need anyone to do anything for them. They just need equal opportunity and less vicious prejudice. The stories of immigrants who came to the US with little or nothing and accumulated much are countless. Those stories do not mitigate the deplorable prejudice that Afro-Americans have been subjected to for centuries in one form or another.

Dude I am old enough to formulate my own opinions based on life experiences. Don't need to be brainwashed by the writing of others. Instead of using the past as a crutch, people need to forge ahead unrelenting.  There is prejudice against many races not just Afros. In fact in Guyana these days we see Afros being the ones doling out the prejudice against Indos.  Yet you and others are quiet.

antabanta posted:

Look who talking. If class system is race based then I suppose you are the exception, running away from the norm.

Dude I am old enough to formulate my own opinions based on life experiences. Don't need to be brainwashed by the writing of others. Instead of using the past as a crutch, people need to forge ahead unrelenting.  There is prejudice against many races not just Afros. In fact in Guyana these days we see Afros being the ones doling out the prejudice against Indos.  Yet you and others are quiet.

The power of semantics. You are pre-conditioned to label the stories about Afro experience in the US as brainwashing despite the overwhelming evidence of the atrocities committed against them. Yes, you have been successfully brainwashed. The present is the cumulative result of the past. It's not a crutch. It's reality. The prejudice against many races is nothing compared to the prejudice against blacks in the US. The prejudice against Indos in Guyana is no more than the prejudice against blacks in Guyana. Might very well be less.

Not that many people in the world discredits reading. The authors I listed are celebrated for their writing.

Last edited by antabanta
antabanta posted:

The power of semantics. You are pre-conditioned to label the stories about Afro experience in the US as brainwashing despite the overwhelming evidence of the atrocities committed against them. Yes, you have been successfully brainwashed. The present is the cumulative result of the past. It's not a crutch. It's reality. The prejudice against many races is nothing compared to the prejudice against blacks in the US. The prejudice against Indos in Guyana is no more than the prejudice against blacks in Guyana. Might very well be less.

Not that many people in the world discredits reading. The authors I listed are celebrated for their writing.

Let's put it this way, I don't have the patience or time to take on the problems of the entire world. Those of us who work hard for what we have achieved are fatigued by the sociologists who continue to provide a crutch for underachieving people. I got enough problems of my own to worry about Cribby and his excuses for lack of upward mobility.

antabanta posted:

Let's put it this way, I don't have the patience or time to take on the problems of the entire world. Those of us who work hard for what we have achieved are fatigued by the sociologists who continue to provide a crutch for underachieving people. I got enough problems of my own to worry about Cribby and his excuses for lack of upward mobility.

This post doesn't sound like you, usually you will battle to the end to justify views.

antabanta posted:

Actually its not as there is a large and growing impoverished white population who exhibit all of the pathologies of the black poor.  They are conned into think that class in the USA is race based, so they vote for Trump, a man who dines with the wealthy blacks and refuses to pay (or employ) poor whites.

Yes racism exists but many black Americans have over come it and more than 30% now have household earnings higher than that of the median white family.   Classism also exists and a good many whites are trapped by it, and are fooled that their white skin negates this.

The USA is based on race and class.  Not either/or.  BOTH.

How does Indo-Guyanese racism against blacks encompass the problems of the whole world? You seem confused. Again, no one is asking anyone to do anything for Afro-Americans. They can help themselves very well if given equal opportunity. The issue is not about taking on the world's problems. It's die-hard refusal to recognize the deplorable and well-entrenched racism against Afro-Americans.

Bannas you making erroneous assumptions, playing the race card fuh blacks when they don't need your help.

There is the legacy of past extreme racism coming from Jim Crow (de facto and de jure) that has trapped a segment of black America (around 1/3) into self defeating pathologies. 

Racists like you (and snobbish bougie blacks) then keep them there with your implicit biases against people from this group who attempt to escape this.  So it reinforces a belief system that trying to escape is futile.

While all poor face barriers poor blacks face even more because people like you peddle stereotypes about them.

I got enough problems of my own to worry about Cribby and his excuses for lack of upward mobility.

Druggie the only thing I ask of you is to persevere in your search for  big black vegetables so that you can solve your problems instead of engaging in your frustration.  You know you want it so go get it.

I am sure that some ghetto thug will willingly supply you with what you need so that you can continue to imagine that upward mobility isn't a feature of a large part of the black American/immigrant populations.

Its amazing that you think that you are superior when your favorite activity is submitting to black vegetables.

antabanta posted:

Actually its not as there is a large and growing impoverished white population who exhibit all of the pathologies of the black poor.  They are conned into think that class in the USA is race based, so they vote for Trump, a man who dines with the wealthy blacks and refuses to pay (or employ) poor whites.

Yes racism exists but many black Americans have over come it and more than 30% now have household earnings higher than that of the median white family.   Classism also exists and a good many whites are trapped by it, and are fooled that their white skin negates this.

Here we go. The usual rambling, meaningless comment that ends up saying little or nothing. I posted that the class system in the US is primarily race-based. You say it's not but racism exists and the class system exists and the USA is based on both. Doesn't that mean that the class system in the US is primarily race-based?

Soul Man is a 1986 American comedy film about a white man who takes tanning pills in order to pretend to be black and qualify for a black-only scholarship at Harvard Law School

Yes they had to take pills but all folks like you do is to check "black" or check "other" and then write in "Guyanese".  South Americans (without regard to race) also qualify for affirmative action.  Yes loads of blondes from Argentina benefit.

some Indo Guyanese even get black people to help them out with small stipends awarded to "black" kids.  They take full advantage of their dark skin and Caribbean accents.

I guess you didn't hear of the scandals with rich white parents bribing colleges to admit their dunce kids into these Ivy schools because they are champions in skipping or speed basket weaving or whatever "sport" that they can concoct.

antabanta posted:

Jamaica, Queens. Reread my post. Please read a little. Maya Angelou, Toni Morrison, James Baldwin, Ralph Ellison. About class issue. .

All being highly successful and respected American writers so that doesn't quite establish your point. 

The issue cannot be reduced simply to "all blacks are poor".  That is an insult to the many highly successful black Americans and plays into the hands of the racists who think that being black on its own means that people lose.

Its the intersectionality of being both black and poor that creates an issue. The mere fact of being black doesn't trap people into hopelessness.

 In fact in Guyana these days we see Afros being the ones doling out the prejudice against Indos.  Yet you and others are quiet.

I have spoken out numerous times about this.  Your issue is that I also speak about Indo discrimination against Afros in GY.  You think that a coin only has one side when in fact it has two.

antabanta posted:
 Doesn't that mean that the class system in the US is primarily race-based?

You do know that there are more poor whites (non Hispanics) than there are poor blacks, Hispanics and Asians COMBINED.  You do know that a massive increase in white poverty has led to DECLINING white mortality rates.  You do know that the HIGHEST rates of suicide in this country is among white men and the lowest is among black women.

Yes there is a special problem when one is both black and poor, especially if one is distant from sources of economic poverty but you INSULT black people when you portray all of is as being trapped losers because some distant ancestor is a slave.  This is the crap that druggie screams about and then squeals that blacks are at the bottom.

I don't know what your particular problem is but being black on its own is no longer enough to prevent upward mobility.  There are too many highly successful black Americans who derived from the Jim Crow South.

The barriers are steeper for black people, especially those who are both black and poor, but to think that upward mobility is impossible is to do disservice to these people.  I know too many black Americans who were born into welfare, but who now earn 6 figures.  I know others where an entire family (all siblings) were able to escape poverty by trying to make the best lemonade with the dry lemons they got.  Yes not everyone has the fortitude and resiliency, or support systems to do so, but to tell a black kid "oh you are black so you are condemned to be at the bottom" is an insult.  

Young black women are graduating college only at a slightly lower rate than are white men.  This means, adjusting for the socio economic background of their parents, they are actually OUTPERFORMING!  The task now is to get young black men to believe in this, and to tell them that being poor is only because they are black reinforces the belief that too many of them have that to try is futile.

antabanta posted:
They can help themselves very well if given equal opportunity. .

And many of them are SEIZING or creating these opportunities.  Not waiting on someone to give it to them.

Contrary to what many liberals and racists try to portray (yes both love to paint black Americans as losers, though for different reasons), black Americans are the most successful blacks who live in majority non black societies.  They have way more impact than do blacks in Europe, Latin America or the Middle East.  And their successful has even inspired those of us from majority non white societies, even as we didn't face the same barriers that they did.

antabanta posted:

This post doesn't sound like you, usually you will battle to the end to justify views.

In fact you are a poster child for how to improve your chafe in life. You should be on my side in this regard. Hard work and determination should be rewarded, not punished.

Yes they had to take pills but all folks like you do is to check "black" or check "other" and then write in "Guyanese".  South Americans (without regard to race) also qualify for affirmative action.  Yes loads of blondes from Argentina benefit.

some Indo Guyanese even get black people to help them out with small stipends awarded to "black" kids.  They take full advantage of their dark skin and Caribbean accents.

I guess you didn't hear of the scandals with rich white parents bribing colleges to admit their dunce kids into these Ivy schools because they are champions in skipping or speed basket weaving or whatever "sport" that they can concoct.

Where is your evidence of this practice? You really think the college admissions folks can't recognize an Indo name?

I guess you have never of Roxanne Persaud, a very dark skinned black woman. 

Black people can have any name and given that many young blacks have non traditional names this increasingly isn't an issue.   This because most whites cannot tell the difference and black Americans tend to accept anyone who claims to be "black" in fact to be one.  Its only in Queens, where they know better, that this mightn't work.

Plus many of the names that Indo Guyanese have don't correspond to many of the Asian Indian names.  Have you heard of Guyanese Patels?

i truly doubt he was talking about people like Leonora and Django

yuh seem desperate "Dave" bai

not a good look for a wannabe 'stud' like you

Regardless of who he was intentionally was or was not speaking about, it's a generalization and is an insult to all Indo-Guyanese. My grandparents worked on the sugar plantations in labouring capacities and worked barefooted. It's their values, ethics and principles that were instilled in my parents, passed on to me and I hope I'll do the same with my son.

In fact you are a poster child for how to improve your chafe in life. You should be on my side in this regard. Hard work and determination should be rewarded, not punished.

Well sometimes we all need guidance, i was guided by a friend in my early 20's and single, from then on there was nothing stopping to move up the ladder.

Never born with a golden spoon, had my taste of scorn and resentment while growing up from my own ethnic group, due to poverty.From then on always had the motivation to move up in life, will say to my self, will be somebody someday. My friend advice was the first stepping stone to the real deal, after trial with other gobs.

Black people can have any name and given that many young blacks have non traditional names this increasingly isn't an issue.   This because most whites cannot tell the difference and black Americans tend to accept anyone who claims to be "black" in fact to be one.  Its only in Queens, where they know better, that this mightn't work.

Plus many of the names that Indo Guyanese have don't correspond to many of the Asian Indian names.  Have you heard of Guyanese Patels?

Once again, can you point us to the evidence that indos are passing themselves off as blacks and getting admissions and scholarships set aside for blacks.  Once they show up for the interview their bag would buss, I think you pull this shyte out of your kaka hole. 

antabanta posted:

Look who talking. If class system is race based then I suppose you are the exception, running away from the norm.

I do not worry about you. Everyone here can see the fact you are a poser...you did not do well by that Rutgers education. 

I pity your black son knowing you hold those ignorant views. I can see you love the boy and possibly provide the best for him but do you think that is all he will need to get by in life?

He is black....and black skinned and will meet all sorts of prejudicial stereotypes. But he already knows that. You should see with whom he identifies, the music he listens to and the culture he abstracts. Ask him and his mother whether class...ie social stratification by economic status or social stratification by race have similar importance for them.

But you know precisely what it is. You cannot live in this country dark complected as  you are and looking like any  other brother  from the hood and think race does not matter! You are just ashamed to admit it. 

Once again, can you point us to the evidence that indos are passing themselves off as blacks and getting admissions and scholarships set aside for blacks.  Once they show up for the interview their bag would buss, I think you pull this shyte out of your kaka hole. 

Most indian kids appropriate black culture because they instinctively know it locates them somewhere culturally relevant in this society that abstracting white mannerisms and culture cannot take them. It is inaccessible to them. 

They wear baggy pants, listen to hip hop and talk ghetto because it is what the need to belong. They have to live in Iowa to borrow from whites but even there they make sharp distinctions by race!...not class.

antabanta posted:

Note that cribby finally came to his senses and fell in line behind druggies views regarding black Americans.  I feel a sense of pride after teaching him for years and hammering home the truth in his thick skull. If cribby can learn then there is hope for the rest of naysayers.