Come back home – Govt. Ministers urge diaspora in Canada

August 9, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 
 Pic filed as Canada celebrations2 A section of the participants during the business session at the Crown Plaza in Toronto Pic filed as Canada celebrations1 The mammoth crowd listening to Minister Harmon in Canada.

The mammoth crowd listening to Minister Harmon in Canada.

Minister of State Joseph Harmon and Tourism Minister Cathy Hughes, recently led a small delegation to Canada, in order to update Guyanese in the diaspora of the plans and objectives of the new administration.

The delegation which also included a tourism official and representatives from the 50th Independence Anniversary Commission, “received loud praises for their decision to visit Canada during “Last Lap Lime”, an event in Canada” which attracts the largest number of Guyanese.

A Government release on the visit yesterday said that the delegation visited Toronto to engage the diaspora at the 20th anniversary of the annual event which is put on by several alumni associations linked to schools in Guyana.

Prior to their attendance at the event which attracted some 3,000 plus patrons, the Ministers hosted a meeting with business persons at the Crown Plaza Hotel in Toronto.

The meeting focused on the business community’s interest in the new Government’s approach to stem various issues which were of concern to them with regard to investing in Guyana. Minister Hughes outlined the steps that are currently being taken in the Tourism sector, as well as the Government’s commitment to reducing crime, an issue which the attendees expressed grave concern over. She outlined the administration’s confidence in its Minister of Public Security and emphasized to the group that every effort was being made to curb the current crime situation in Guyana.

Minister Harmon, for his part, welcomed the fact that the attendees took time out on a Sunday to engage with him and his colleagues in matters of interest to them.

He outlined the Government’s focus on creating a level playing field for all prospective and current investors, and extended an invitation for the interested parties to visit Guyana and meet with the appropriate authorities within the specific areas of their interest.

Minister Harmon further stated that the Government, even though it is only a few months old, was already putting systems in place to ensure transparency and accountability in every sector. The Minister emphasized the fact that while the Opposition may be uttering instances of victimization and character assassination of former Government officials and operatives, there is clear evidence of mismanagement and abuse of the treasury by a number of former officials.

In further responding to the question of witch hunting, Harmon assured those concerned that the Government was not out to put anyone in any particular embarrassing situation. He, however, stressed that once the State Assets Recovery Unit found that there was abuse in the disbursement of public equipment and assets, the perpetrators will be challenged and if found guilty, will face the full brunt of the law.

At the “Last Lap Lime”, the team also managed to set up an information booth displaying banners, flyers, brochures and other tourism and investment information.

Minister Hughes, who was assisted by Senior Tourism Development Officer, Sanchia Persaud, manned the booth along with Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Toronto, Sattie Sawh.

Meanwhile, both Ministers took the opportunity to address the large Guyanese audience about their various concerns and the opportunities which now exist. Minister Hughes first thanked the diaspora for their support in working to bring change in Governance, as well as their contributions in whichever shape or form that helped to create that change. She urged the thousands present to remember they are still welcome to Guyana despite their reluctance in the past because of some significant or minor experience. She urged those present to remember that Guyana is their homeland and highlighted Government’s commitment to reducing the red-tapes people faced when trying to do business in Guyana in the past.

Hughes invited them to come home and experience a new shift in Guyana’s hospitality with the establishment of the many resorts and visitor attractions which are available nationwide. She also praised the carriers serving Guyana currently, and singled out Fly Jamaica, which apart from providing air services, was putting systems in place to establish reduced fares and additional opportunities for Guyanese to experience both Jamaica and Guyana in a two-hop vacation package.

Minister Harmon praised the Guyanese-Canadians for their continuous support of the Government’s programmes and objectives, and their willingness to embrace the changes now taking place. He noted that while rubbing shoulders with the wide cross section of the Diaspora, he continuously felt the warmth and admiration Guyanese still hold for their country. He thanked the promoters of the event for inviting the delegation, and urged them to continue the good work of keeping Guyanese in the social loop even though the event is a once yearly activity.

The Minister was also loud in praise for the many persons who expressed interest in returning home, and assured them that his Government was waiting with open arms to welcome them. While responding to shouts from the audience about the sloth in Government not bringing persons who misused public trust and confidence to quick justice, the Minister appealed to the audience to have patience as investigations and audits were underway, and very careful assessments were to be done to ensure compliance to the objectives of the process.

The audience was also appraised on the expectations and programmes planned for the 50th Anniversary of Guyana’s Independence by Commission member Bobby Vieira.

Also forming part of the delegation were Col Larry London (Ret/d) and Political Affairs Head in the Ministry of the Presidency, Fredrick McWilfred. The group returned to Guyana on Tuesday last.

Should we listen to these Politician and go back to Guyana with all the criminals running amok? and APNU/AFC being clueless of how to control crimes.

Our lives are important, so when these Politicians APNU/AFC and even their supporters on GNI do see it fit to condemn the criminal activities that are stalking Guyana and Guyanese, then it is high time to tell these scumbags to go fvuck off.

When you have control to the criminals and Canadians can live without fear in Guyana then we will listen to you.

Originally Posted by asj:

Should we listen to these Politician and go back to Guyana with all the criminals running amok? and APNU/AFC being clueless of how to control crimes.

Our lives are important, so when these Politicians APNU/AFC and even their supporters on GNI do see it fit to condemn the criminal activities that are stalking Guyana and Guyanese, then it is high time to tell these scumbags to go fvuck off.

When you have control to the criminals and Canadians can live without fear in Guyana then we will listen to you.

I find it funny not for those reasons...I know in the current coalition cabinet many hold the position that the diaspora are traitors. This was a decision made in a cabinet meeting. The likes of folks like Freddie take that position. It is also a pervasive viewpoint of the leftist WPA.

Originally Posted by TK:

I find it funny not for those reasons...I know in the current coalition cabinet many hold the position that the diaspora are traitors. This was a decision made in a cabinet meeting. The likes of folks like Freddie take that position. It is also a pervasive viewpoint of the leftist WPA.

I attended a meeting recently and they are asking for professionals to volunteer their services while at the same time they are considering topping up their pay checks to match or supercede their likes in NA.

Originally Posted by TK:

I attended a meeting recently and they are asking for professionals to volunteer their services while at the same time they are considering topping up their pay checks to match or supercede their likes in NA.

Where are they going to get all this money when the PPP left the country bankrupt? Comedians in the making?

After the 1992 PPP election victory, President Cheddi Jagan appealed to Guyanese in North America to return home and serve. Some persons responded positively to his call but almost all of them rued the day they gave up their jobs and homes and remigrated. One major problem was the bureaucratic hassle to settle. The other more troubling problem was the suspicion and unwilling cooperation they received from their Guyanese co-workers who felt that their own positions were threatened. Then, they had to listen to unkind remarks like: "Wheh yuh bin all de time? Yuh cut and run and we stay and struggle."

So, I don't think Joe Harmon's call will yield results. The mindset of Guyanese at home hasn't changed towards those of us living overseas.

Originally Posted by TK:

Mits Bhai, you cannot pay less heed to your life, you have to think carefully,

God forbid that you are sleeping peacefully in your home in Guyana, and then calamity should strile............with the current crime situation where every morning there is one added to count.

Bai, it is not worth my life, your life and anybody's life. If you want to be nice to them, I would suggest that you tell them nicely......to control their crime situation...............this is what happens when Granger release over one hundred criminals from the Jails.

After the 1992 PPP election victory, President Cheddi Jagan appealed to Guyanese in North America to return home and serve. Some persons responded positively to his call but almost all of them rued the day they gave up their jobs and homes and remigrated. One major problem was the bureaucratic hassle to settle. The other more troubling problem was the suspicion and unwilling cooperation they received from their Guyanese co-workers who felt that their own positions were threatened. Then, they had to listen to unkind remarks like: "Wheh yuh bin all de time? Yuh cut and run and we stay and struggle."

So, I don't think Joe Harmon's call will yield results. The mindset of Guyanese at home hasn't changed towards those of us living overseas.

If you could, would you go back?

Originally Posted by TK:

I feel it involves a lot more than asking people to volunteer.

Suffice to say that if you feel that way, then call a spade a spade and let it be known that they are wasting time..........let them embark on some other project which is not so much controversial.

If you could, would you go back?

Truthfully, Skelly, I would, but let's be realistic. I'm 64 years old and not in good health. What contribution could I make down in Guyana where young people are ready to put folks like me to pasture? Here in Toronto, even with my limited mobility, I was asked to volunteer in a small but meaningful project in my community. I've just completed my first week and everyone was full of praise Friday afternoon. The cooperation I got was fantastic. For now I'm okay here.

From personal experience. I had a problem with an investment I made under the previous government. US$300,000.00 according to my accountant. Since the new government and before, I had listened to Granger speeches on investment.

I think they would be quick to investigate my dilemma with NICIL.

Unfortunately, just as the previous government, dey doan reply to e-mails in a timely manner.

So far, the Ministry of the Presidency sent me acknowledgement of my e-mail-after 2 months. The Ministry of Investment (Dominic Gaskin) was active in a solution. But, it appears as if I have to keep after him. It all went dormant.

Guyanese politicians are not interested in the diaspora-dey lying most of the time. Indio or Afro governments-same dam thing. 

I hope dey read this. And be active in their pursuits and not idle words. 

Last edited by seignet

. . .would suggest that you tell them nicely......to control their crime situation...............this is what happens when Granger release over one hundred criminals from the Jails.

seriously?

this is what passes as rational discussion with the folks u pal around with?

smfh

Originally Posted by TK:

Mits Bhai, you cannot pay less heed to your life, you have to think carefully,

God forbid that you are sleeping peacefully in your home in Guyana, and then calamity should strile............with the current crime situation where every morning there is one added to count.

Bai, it is not worth my life, your life and anybody's life. If you want to be nice to them, I would suggest that you tell them nicely......to control their crime situation...............this is what happens when Granger release over one hundred criminals from the Jails.

That exactly is the primary concern as well as medical care.

Gilbakka

there was also some who had

personal contact with Jagdeo and the PPP

and went back undercover

as Guyanese Returning home to Invest....

but ended up being big time DRUG SMUGGLERS.

Protected under PPP Govt

http://gtmosquito.com/mozzy-ne...venezuela-shipments/

PPP empty the treasury & the Petro Caribe fund

to finance some of these

(PPP) Foreign Guyanese Investors......

IMAGINE GETTING PAID IN ADVANCE,

AND DOUBLE THE WORLD MARKET PRICE FOR RICE....

FOR THE RICE FARMERS PADDY....

AND TURN AROUND AND ROBBING

THE POOR RICE FARMERS IN GUYANA

AND YOUR NARCO BUSINESS 

SAILING SMOOTH UNDER JAGDEO & RAMOTAR.

Originally Posted by TK:

Yuh shitting me!  I was on vacation during Christmas one year and my friend took me to a PPP christmas party.  My friend introduced me to one of the PPP stalwart and mentioned that I was from overseas...the maan promptly asked me "whe yuh been" and walked away 

So I had a discussion with Freedie in SN way back when they were changing the constitution to make overseas based Guyanese second class citizens.  In one of his replies Freedie asked me "so you want to return to Guyana when there is smooth sailing."  I replied and asked him "sail up which creek"...SN did not publish the reply 

Gil that mentality has to be stopped from the top.  

Originally Posted by VVP:

There is a reason to invest in Guyana, but it is not because the government seys so. The only President I know of, serious about investments by diaspora Guyanese was Desmond Hoyte-his drive was sincere. Since 1989, I have not been able to get off the initial stages. My investment is in manufacturing. Jagan was totally against anyone who had dealings with a PNC government. They killed every effort initiated by Hoyte.

Investments should not be linked to helping the country or the citizens. It must be because there are opportunities to bring products to a market place using Guyana's resources. If as Guyanese, we do not seize the opportunities, foreigners will rape the country resources. I am not confident politicians understands what investments is all about. I doan think Granger has any grasp of it. I am a believer that a President must have the vision and know how to. Otherwise, he will only talk.

TELL THOSE TWO fools CALLING THEMSELVES MINISTERS to go to hell. Only last week, relatives were coming from Guyana on Vacation, while clearing Immigration at CBJ Airport CANU officials searched one piece of luggage and told the person, they have too much cooked Katahar but she can take it if she leave 4000, then he said, 20 US will be better, I prefer US. 

Who want go back to SHIT go right ahead!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

TELL THOSE TWO fools CALLING THEMSELVES MINISTERS to go to hell. Only last week, relatives were coming from Guyana on Vacation, while clearing Immigration at CBJ Airport CANU officials searched one piece of luggage and told the person, they have too much cooked Katahar but she can take it if she leave 4000, then he said, 20 US will be better, I prefer US. 

Was US$20 given??? I would have given the Katahar to he/she.

Nehru what did your relative do?

Pay the Bribe?

Give them the Cooked Katahar?

Or ask to see a Supervisor?

Originally Posted by Django:

Was US$20 given??? I would have given the Katahar to he/she.

No, they finally accepted the 4000 Guy. I blame them for at least not getting the name. I would have mention it here!!!

One of them tried to shake me down for having a sealed tin of milk powder.  I basically told her to f-off.  They did steal some stuff out of my family luggage. Customs in Guyana need to be thrown in a deep cycle wash.  It is the most embarrassing entity in Guyana because they deal with so many people.

I hear you. Imagine this was a CANU Officer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  No wonder Drugs on all Flights!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Originally Posted by TK:

I agree. A friend of mine close to the government think that this is all talk. Freddie Kissoon has certainly been wailing against the diaspora.

But who wants to return to Guyana in the middle of all this crime??? I am told that this government is also discriminating against Indians, and I am not talking about the suspected corrupt individuals. 

Last edited by VishMahabir
Originally Posted by TK:

"decision" . . . what does that mean?

serious

Originally Posted by TK:

serious

TK answer the man question else them bias will seh yuh arguing wid yuhself 

Minister of Business and Investments Hon. Dominic Gaskin, MP, 3 Quotesfrom June 20, 2015 Guyana Chronicle.
 1. “One of the things I want with Go-Invest and the ministry is to have data that is reliable and regularly made available to the public that would indicate performance and inform investors and the business community”
2. “To increase and promote investment here, Guyana will be moving to ensure Go-Invest has a vibrant presence in all the major countries where it has diplomatic representation. It will also establish investment desks at all its foreign missions.”
3. “It should not matter if you are investing in the extractive mineral, banking or manufacturing sector and you are looking for an investment agreement and if you want certain concessions, Go-Invest needs to be your first stop,”

August 7, 2015 : Guyana > GO-Invest needs new direction …says Minister Dominic Gaskin -confident new Board would deliver on mandate
http://guyanachronicle.com/go-invest-needs-new-direction-says-minister-dominic-gaskin-confident-new-board-would-deliver-on-mandate/
  1. MINISTER of Business, Dominic Gaskin, has expressed discontent in the performance of GO-Invest, but optimism in the new leadership of the agency to adopt a more purposeful approach in discharge of its mandate.Speaking with the Guyana Chronicle yesterday, Mr Gaskin expressed his dissatisfaction with the work done by the entity. “I think that there is a lot that GO-Invest should be doing. I think GO-Invest should be playing a lead role in investment promotion and investment-related activities in Guyana, and I don’t think that it has been doing that up to now,” the minister said.

2. GO-Invest needs to do what it was designed to do; and to that extent, it must be given the authority to do so, and it must be allowed to act without political interference,” Minister Gaskin said.

3. In a previous interview, he had said that GO-Invest would be reformed and strong attention will be placed on fairness, transparency, good governance, and aggressive promotion of the agency, both locally and abroad.

4. “The thinking is (that) if people have information, people can know what we are doing,” a confident Gaskin has said.

5. The Ministry of Business is currently looking at its five-year strategic plan, which includes GO-Invest; and, according to Gaskin, expanded capacity is one of the areas of focus for the investment agency.

6. A decision was made recently to not continue with Keith Burrowes as Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of GO-Investand the new Board will soon begin looking for his replacement.

7. “The replacement, identification of a new CEO for GO-Invest, has to come out of a process that is open, transparent and fairSo it is not simply a question of replacing Mr Burrowes by picking somebody whom we like,” Gaskin told this publication, as he noted that Go-Invest would have to be more aggressive, strategic, and fair in promoting investments in Guyana and abroad.

8. GO-Invest is divided into two divisions: one responsible for investment facilitation and promotion, and the other for export promotion. With these divisions, GO-Invest offers a full complement of services to local and foreign investors and exporters.

9. The Government has recently appointed a new Board of Directors for GO-Invest. The Board is being chaired by Minister Gaskin, and the other members are Mr Rajendra Singh, Mr Michael Hutson, Mr Neville Totaram, Ms Patricia Bacchus, Professor Shamir Ally and Mr Basil Blackman. The Board would also include a member of the Opposition in Parliament.

10. Gaskin yesterday expressed confidence that the new Board will take GO-Invest forward

I am not confident politicians understands what investments is all about. I doan think Granger has any grasp of it. I am a believer that a President must have the vision and know how to. Otherwise, he will only talk.

Very true.  I sometime wonder if the reason why Granger is not more in the public is if he cannot understand the implications of though decisions that have to be made at the President level.  I don't think his history degrees will cut it.  He seems to be a nice guy but, he needs to have to ability to understand complicated matters and to ask tough questions.

Originally Posted by TK:

serious

A conscious decision was made not to engage the diaspora. Surprisingly the AFC went along with it. This was a curious decision given that the diaspora kept AFC floating in 2011.

Originally Posted by TK:

serious

A conscious decision was made not to engage the diaspora. Surprisingly the AFC went along with it. This was a curious decision given that the diaspora kept AFC floating in 2011.

Interesting!!  I'll inbox you something.

Come bach home and be rich, and you will never go hungry again. My disciples will track you from the airport, take away your wealth and send you back in a body bag.

So you have disciples in crime eh Cobra. Approved by Freedom House ?  

Now we know where the escalation in crime comes from to make the government look bad.

Who in your party is nasty and vindictive enough to finance this venture at the mercy of ordinary people, who voted for them.       

We are not talking about the government.

You admitted to having disciples who would track people from the airport and send them home in body bags.

Is this a program  approved by Freedom House, since its obvious you support the PPP, or is this a gang  led by Cobra ?   

.: "Wheh yuh bin all de time? Yuh cut and run and we stay and struggle."

That is not unique to Guyanese. Speak to any 3rd world immigrant and you will hear this.

These gov'ts need to accept the fact that most of us aren't returning.  They need to figure out how to engage the diaspora beyond remittances, and appeals for charity.  There are many things that we can do, while remaining right here in North America.

But I also blame us, and other members of the Caribbean Diaspora.  Do we have institutions which can be used to mobilize ourselves, and to engage the gov't(s), and other entities in our respective countries?  Not to my knowledge.

We have our own homework to do as well.