Coalition no longer enjoys full confidence of its supporters – Dr. Hinds

WPA Executive Member, Dr. David Hinds

By its very actions, the coalition administration has successfully lost the full confidence of its supporters. This is according to Executive Member of the Working People’s Alliance (WPA), Dr. David Hinds.
In his recent writings, the political activist noted that it is by now, no secret that many supporters of the government are unhappy with its stewardship of the country in the last sixteen months. That unhappiness may be surprising to some, but Dr. Hinds insists that it is real.
He said, “It has to be real, because we live in a country and a region, where government represents power. So in the minds of citizens, their quest for the freedom promised at Emancipation in 1838 and Independence in 1966 is largely imagined against the backdrop of who governs.”
The columnist said that the criticism by Government’s supporters must be seen within the context of what they perceive to be the role of the APNU+AFC in contemporary society.
Dr. Hinds said that after living under a government which for 23 years enriched itself from the public purse, Guyanese could not want this new Government to give itself a giant salary increase in its first months in office.
He said, “Clearly, after open plunder of public resources, they do not want to hear that government has the evidence but it can’t prosecute the plunderers. Clearly, they don’t want to see the fat cats who became the mega-rich under the previous government being given prime contracts, prestigious jobs and high status in a government that campaigned against the giveaway of the country to the powerful few…”
The WPA Executive Member admitted that while government has done some good things since coming to office, it is unable to articulate its successes for three major reasons.
Dr. Hinds said that from a purely subjective standpoint, he would not want to see the return of the PPP to power in a one-party government. He believes that such a government would be bad for Guyana since the PPP has been unrepentant largely because they are convinced they did nothing wrong.
He stressed however that this does not lead him to be uncritical of the government, sections of which are extremely hostile to criticisms.
“In the end, I have an obligation to balance support for the government with loyalty to and defence of the people, particularly the poor and the powerless. My critiques are partly meant to get the government to heed the cries of its supporters to change course.”
Dr. Hinds said that a glance across the Caribbean landscape would show that people have low tolerance for governments. He said that the one-term syndrome is commonplace.
He also stated that there may be “a thinking” in Government circles that dislike for the PPP and ethnic loyalty would work in its favor at the next election.
In this regard, Dr, Hinds said, “I caution against that thinking. African Guyanese have traditionally demonstrated a dual political culture of ‘independent-loyalty’ that allows them to vote for their ethnic party and simultaneously search for and empower alternatives to their ethnic status-quo. The WPA and the Trotman-led AFC benefited from this culture.”
The WPA Executive Member said  that the APNU+AFC government was not elected to be CEOs and Managers. He said it must understand that it was elected to lead a renewal of government and politics.
He said that it is time the government realizes that because of its “government as usual” approach; it does not enjoy the full confidence of its supporters and the society at large.
The political activist believes that the Government’s survival depends on its ability to address this growing problem. He said that failure to do so in short order could be disastrous.
“I, for one, would hold the Coalition responsible if it delivers Guyana into the hands of the PPP in 2020.”

The current group of politicians, the PPP, PNC, WPA, AFC and whomever else that constitute APNU are all dunces. They do not have a clue on developing a nation. For that we have to have White People thinking.

Until there is a full blooded Buckman politician in Guyana, we have to settle for either a Blackman or Cooolieman. Dem two people dat spoil the blood mixture of the putagees, the chinee and the buckman. As for the pure blooded putagees, if there are any, dey too hateful.

Suh, the next election, I am certain the WPA will get a Cooolie leader. And believe me, the country goan come good good.

Will Hinds handle a Coolie at the leadership or will he think of the Indian as PPP in disguise.

The PNC constituency allowed the PNC to drag Guyana to the abyss by 1992 and still danced and pranced and supported them at the ballot box.  Do not think for one moment an unhappy PNC constituency will turn their backs on their dysfunctional, hapless kith and kin.  These hapless incompetents leaders know the ways of their supporters.  They will feed them grass and still have their votes.  Their people will instead, expect another highway robbery of Indian wealth to fund their expectations. They will hang in for oil even if it takes 30 years.

ba$eman posted:

Their people will instead, expect another highway robbery of Indian wealth to fund their expectations. They will hang in for oil even if it takes 30 years.

Understand this Indo KKK.

1. The average Indian in Guyana has no wealth to plunder.  In fact so pathetic is the situation that many depend on remittances from their overseas relatives, or are forced to flee to Venezuela, Suriname, Trinidad, Barbados or Nevis.

2.  The Indians who do have wealth have already purchased APNU, much as they did the PPP, and they continue to plunder at will.

I invite you to discuss the mechanisms that your average black in Guyana have to plunder Indians, who aren't much better off.  Note that the average black isn't a criminal, and increasing numbers of Indians are, so let us wipe that nonsense off your tongue right away.

ba$eman posted:

Their people will instead, expect another highway robbery of Indian wealth to fund their expectations. They will hang in for oil even if it takes 30 years.

Understand this Indo KKK.

1. The average Indian in Guyana has no wealth to plunder.  In fact so pathetic is the situation that many depend on remittances from their overseas relatives, or are forced to flee to Venezuela, Suriname, Trinidad, Barbados or Nevis.

2.  The Indians who do have wealth have already purchased APNU, much as they did the PPP, and they continue to plunder at will.

I invite you to discuss the mechanisms that your average black in Guyana have to plunder Indians, who aren't much better off.  Note that the average black isn't a criminal, and increasing numbers of Indians are, so let us wipe that nonsense off your tongue right away.

Wah apen dey bruddah, u loosing yuh zeal. Yuh had more fiah in u.

These anti Koolie jokers need to be kicked to the curb. .

AAAAh. I see. Unable to chat with coherence and facts, so they resort to silliness.

Now go and tell your wife how her family are a bunch of "koolie haters".