Coalition in danger of falling apart

President David Granger

Violation of Cummingsburg Accord

…Ramkarran believes Granger under pressure from PNC

Former Speaker of the National Assembly, Ralph Ramkarran has hinted at a possible breakup of the A Partnership for National Unity- Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition government due to the several violations of the Cummingsburg Accord and alleged internal pressure on President David Granger from his party People’s National Congress Reform.

This is even as the APNU and the AFC appear anxious to amend the Cummingsburg Accord allegedly on the grounds that the reality of political office has clashed with the Accord’s constitutionality. “There is no doubt that President Granger is facing enormous pressures from within his own party. All the signs are there. But he has to lead from the front. He cannot succumb to the political culture of dominance spawned by a history of ethnic politics, which the coalition has promised to destroy by the very Accord that it now seeks to defang because it disallows the perpetuation of the culture,” Ramkarran penned on his blog- Conversation Tree.

According to Ramkarran, the violation of the Cummingsburg Accord, which brought the parties together has been blatantly disrespected and if it not addressed quickly and appropriately, the parties can expect to lose the support of its electorates, particularly the AFC.

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo

“Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo has not been given the responsibilities of chairing the Cabinet or of exercising responsibility for domestic affairs. The contents of Minister Joseph Harmon’s regular engagements with the press suggest that domestic affairs reside with him and/or the President. In excusing the failure to observe the terms of the Accord, both President Granger and Prime Minister Nagamootoo indicate that there is no dispute arising from the failure to implement the Accord. They pointed to potential violation of the Constitution if the terms of the Accord are fully implemented,” he said.

According to the February 14th Accord, the President shall, among other things, delegate the responsibilities of domestic national affairs and the chairing of Cabinet to the Prime Minister. Other responsibilities delegated to the Prime Minister should have included recommending ministerial appointments and providing the organisational structures of Ministries for the approval of the President; appointment of heads of agencies and non-constitutional commissions, with the required and agreed democratic mechanisms of consultation, and domestic security (Home Affairs). The parties had also agreed that Cabinet positions would be allocated on a 60/40 basis between APNU and the AFC, respectively.

President Granger when asked to comment on the violation of the accord had expressed that the coalition was presently working on a review of the document. He admitted that to persist with some of the stipulations of the Accord will be unconstitutional and as such, he will be awaiting the constitutional reform so that the agreement can be followed. “To the extent that some things are in collision with the Constitution they will await constitutional change…we cannot be expected to do unconstitutional things,” Granger told reporters.

When questioned on the matter Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo had nonchalantly said that he was not bothered or in any way affected by President Granger reneging on that agreement and chairing the proceedings of the Cabinet. Nagamootoo had further stated that the Accord was not worth more than the country and, as such, those were minor things. “We have an active President and we have to make this Accord work; make this coalition work; and for me the things that are minor irritancies I won’t elevate to any importance,” he had said.

Bad omen

However, Ramkarran noted that the explanation which has been put forth by the President that the Constitution will have to be amended in order for the Cummingsburg Accord to be followed is inaccurate. He further added that the fact that the AFC seemed to be tolerating the digress would only seem like a bad omen. “There is and would be no violation of the Constitution if the terms of the Accord are implemented. Various articles of the Constitution allow the President to appoint others to execute his responsibilities. The President can delegate the purely nominal function of chairing the Cabinet while he is present. The Prime Minister can take charge of domestic affairs in an advisory capacity to the President. The flimsy excuse of constitutional violation is an attempt at a power play by APNU. Supported by a surprisingly subservient AFC, it is not a good sign… Five years from now there would be no coalition victory without the AFC, if the AFC loses its identity and individuality in the governance structure and operations, an individuality which it would never be able to retrieve as a political party with a distinct voice and appeal,” Ramkarran pointed out.

This view was later supported by prominent social commentator, Ramon Gaskin, who told this publication that it would indeed appear that all was not well in the new government’s camp. Gaskin said that the excuse put forward on the violation of the Cummingsburg Accord was not to be accepted since the Constitution makes clear provisions for such. “Nothing prevents him from doing so. If he wants to delegate it and give it to Nagamootoo, he can and will do so,” Gaskin opined.

He said that it was his belief that such a clause in the agreement was agreed upon only because the APNU wanted the deal to ensure there was a victory and a new government in place. In the meantime however, Ramkarran has pointed out that in any event, APNU and AFC are not free to amend the Accord since they are only but two parties to the Accord and any changes can result in a drop of confidence in the electorate.

“The electorate is the third party. It contains the basic terms of their post elections collaboration on the basis of which the electorate supported the coalition. The electorate understood that the AFC would have a distinct, decisive and visible management role in the affairs of governance through the Prime Minister. If the parties now wish to unilaterally tamper with this and consign the AFC, even with its unwise consent, to a vague and amorphous, consultative position, the parties should not be surprised if bitter fruits are harvested five years down the road from the same electorate, their third partner, that they have deceived. If that happens, this is where it would have all begun,” he explicitly stated.

This is even as the APNU and the AFC appear anxious to amend the Cummingsburg Accord allegedly on the grounds that the reality of political office has clashed with the Accord’s constitutionality.

Cummingsburg Accord is a private matter between the PNC and AFC and it absolutely has no influence or relationship to the Constitution.

So if for whatever reason, if the AFC decides to pull out of the Coalition, then it means maybe a new Election will be lingering on the horizon?

The PPP/C will have a chance to get back into power.

Originally Posted by asj:
President Granger when asked to comment on the violation of the accord had expressed that the coalition was presently working on a review of the document. He admitted that to persist with some of the stipulations of the Accord will be unconstitutional and as such, he will be awaiting the constitutional reform so that the agreement can be followed. “To the extent that some things are in collision with the Constitution they will await constitutional change … we cannot be expected to do unconstitutional things,” Granger told reporters.

Coalition in danger of falling apart, June 29, 2015  By

Should the AFC depart from the coalition, they in effect will be relinquishing their seats, which are a part of that which was presented by Granger.

It becomes a simple matter for Granger to then appoint members to fill the vacancies.

This is not a situation where a coalition government is formed after the elections; hence the parties can then decide to go in different directins and still maintain their positions in parliament.

Should the AFC leaves the government, the composition of parliament will be ...

33 seats -- PNCR

32 seats -- PPP/C

What will become of the AFC?

The Cummingsburg Accord is a big farce

Dear Editor,

There are a few issues that I want to address. The first one is the witch hunt that is going on in Guyana since the APNU/AFC administration got into office.

Everyone is afraid to speak out. When the PPP/C won landmark elections in 1992, the Jagan government did not go after anyone. Adam Harris mentioned that Jimmy Carter was behind this decision.

Yet Harris, Freddie Kissoon and many others are calling for more dismissals. Isn›t this hypocrisy?

Of significant note is the fact that it has now been approximately seven weeks since elections and knowing the PNC’s dubious track record with respect to honesty with elections, what guarantee will we have, that the ballots and records of the SOPs and other crucial election records will not be tampered with?

The circus continues with Goolsarran and Ram, two vocal critics of the PPP/C being given the task of doing the auditing of various ministries. This definitely is a conflict of interest. The former never did an auditing of any government ministry when he was Auditor General (during the rule of the PNC), while Ram has a personal vendetta against the PPP/C, especially, former President Jagdeo.

In fact, it was reported that Ram apologized for trying to make contact with the presiding Magistrate in the frivolous case that he brought against the former President. How can Ram and Goolsarran be considered fair and impartial?

The Cummingsburg Accord is a big farce. Nagamootoo is being pushed aside by Granger. There was no intention of APNU honouring this agreement. Nagamootoo was used to help the PNC get into government and now he cannot pretend that everything is okay.

The AFC supporters voted for the AFC based on the agreements outlined in the accord. Now they are holding ‘Larwah’! Soon it will be Nagamootoo’s turn!

Another grave injustice was perpetuated on long standing AFC Member of Parliament Dr Veerasammy «Edgar” Ramayah, who was overlooked as the Region Six (East Berbice/Corentyne) representative for newcomer Charrandas Persaud.

Ramayah did fundraising and spent a lot of money on party work, especially on television, but Persaud was selected instead. The AFC owes their supporters an explanation.

Freddie Kissoon is now redundant more than ever. Almost two months after elections, he still attacks the PPP/C. For him the new administration is perfect. This is a microcosm is what is happening in Guyana! People will move out of Guyana in droves just like what happened under the PNC.

My letters are only published by Guyana Times. The others – Kaieteur News, Stabroek News and Chronicle – do not publish letters critical of the government, unlike what they did when the PPP/C was in power.

Rakesh Singh

33 seats -- PNCR

32 seats -- PPP/C

No representation/representatives, should the AFC leave the merger with the PNCR.

In 1964, PNC used the United Force to become the government and a few years later they took complete control of the government.

In 2015, PNCR used the AFC to secure a purported position as the government.

It will be a matter of time when the AFC will be in the same position as the United Force.

This is even as the APNU and the AFC appear anxious to amend the Cummingsburg Accord allegedly on the grounds that the reality of political office has clashed with the Accord’s constitutionality.

Cummingsburg Accord is a private matter between the PNC and AFC and it absolutely has no influence or relationship to the Constitution.

Please rethink this statement. This degree of certainty is not credible.

Z

33 seats -- PNCR

32 seats -- PPP/C

Interesting, given that APNU AFC ran as one party and not as two separate parties.

I truly doubt that the AFC will at this stage want new elections as a separate entity as they will be stomped.

On the one side by those who will blame them for the return of the PPP.  And on the other side those who will blame them for enabling a PNC dominated gov't.

Where will the AFC be in all of this?  No where.

So the AFC is not leaving, as they know full well that they brought few Indo votes, and there is no way that the non Indo votes that they brought will want to see the PPP back in power.

Unless Granger becomes blatantly arrogant and disrespectful to the point of alienating the G/town faction (Hughes, Trotman, Patterson, Gaskin) the AFC will remain.  They now have more power than they will EVER have!

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

What if they remain in the National Assembly and vote for the PPP on specific policies. That should be allowed, shouldn't it?

May be the only right option they would have if they think they got screwed by the PNC. But they first have to come to that realization. The question is how long they will remain in denial.

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

The Coalition must succeed.  Granger must keep all promises.

We all would like that for the same of our country, but the reality is different. This happened before and history is repeating itself.

Carib said:

So the AFC is not leaving, as they know full well that they brought few Indo votes, and there is no way that the non Indo votes that they brought will want to see the PPP back in power.

Will Carib ever concede that without AFC, PNC cannot win an election?

Carib apparently  likes the current situation of the marginalization of the AFC and is so gleeful about it.

If Granger does not honor agreement, give them a 3-year run then use the nuclear option of no confidence.

The AFC is in bed with the PNC principally because of PPP hardheadedness. Them PPP morons as under the impression that they can survive a split even a small one in the Indian vote.

A deal is a deal. If APNU and AFC made a deal before the elections, then both parties must keep it. Did they not knew what was constitutional or what at the time? Both parties have legal minds and should know better. Let us wait and see where this is going. But as of now, what I am hearing is pissing me off. 

Originally Posted by Bourdaboy:

A deal is a deal. If APNU and AFC made a deal before the elections, then both parties must keep it. Did they not knew what was constitutional or what at the time? Both parties have legal minds and should know better. Let us wait and see where this is going. But as of now, what I am hearing is pissing me off. 

Can't say I didn't warn yuh.

Originally Posted by Zed:

Again, Cummingsburg Accord is solely a private matter between the PNC and AFC.

It is also their personal issues to resolve between themselves.

You have more experience an knowledge that I have in this area, but I will argue that there is nothing private in politics. They involved the voters in this agreement by making it public and holding it out as a new way of doing business And politics. Certainly, it for them to decide how to resolve it, but the resolution of that disagreement if it exist becomes a public matter. Have a good evening.

Z

Carib said:

Will Carib ever concede that without AFC, PNC cannot win an election?

Carib apparently  likes the current situation of the marginalization of the AFC and is so gleeful about it.

If Granger does not honor agreement, give them a 3-year run then use the nuclear option of no confidence.

Jay discuss what would have happened to the AFC had Granger said no...

APNU would have remained a strong opposition party.

Where would they AFC have been with a 3rd consecutive bashing at the polls.

Moses couldn't even get decent numbers of Indos to attend campaign events in PPP STRONGHOLDS. 

Why don't you show campaign events in heavily Indo areas in Essequibo and the Corentyne and show that most of the crowds were Indian?

Tell you what Jay.  Linden probably delivered as many votes as Nagamootoo did. 

Had Lindeners voted as they did in 2006 the PPP would have beaten the coalition by 1,500 votes! 

Jay are you telling me that Trotman, Gaskin, Hughes, Patterson and Holder are marginalized?

Why don't you come clean and admit that you wailing is that Indos aren't 60% of the leadership as they were under the PPP?

.. They involved the voters.

Voters had many reasons to vote.  The vast majority of Indians supported the PPP, as it not only won back a large part of the votes which it lost to the AFC, but also got many alienated Indians out to vote.

The coalition similarly did the same with the African and mixed voters.

So don't assume that most coalition voters care one whit about the Cummingsburg Accord, especially as there is no evidence that the AFC leadership have a major problem with it.

The only wailing that we hear comes from racists like Jay who thought that he could take over the PNC through the back door.  Its just amazing how alike the PPP they sound with their screaming.

Where was Jay when the PPP was marginalizing blacks and crushing them in that "slow holocaust" that many Afro Guyanese are no glad to be free of?

In a country where 90% of the decision makers under the PPP rule (public and private sector leadership) were Indians, he screams that the little starving black clerks CONTROLLED Guyana.

That alone removes any credibility of Jay to complain about lack of diversity!

You have more experience an knowledge that I have in this area, but I will argue that there is nothing private in politics. They involved the voters in this agreement by making it public and holding it out as a new way of doing business And politics. Certainly, it for them to decide how to resolve it, but the resolution of that disagreement if it exist becomes a public matter. Have a good evening.

There are always private issues in politics.

.. They involved the voters.

Voters had many reasons to vote.  The vast majority of Indians supported the PPP, as it not only won back a large part of the votes which it lost to the AFC, but also got many alienated Indians out to vote.

The coalition similarly did the same with the African and mixed voters.

So don't assume that most coalition voters care one whit about the Cummingsburg Accord, especially as there is no evidence that the AFC leadership have a major problem with it.

The only wailing that we hear comes from racists like Jay who thought that he could take over the PNC through the back door.  Its just amazing how alike the PPP they sound with their screaming.

Where was Jay when the PPP was marginalizing blacks and crushing them in that "slow holocaust" that many Afro Guyanese are no glad to be free of?

In a country where 90% of the decision makers under the PPP rule (public and private sector leadership) were Indians, he screams that the little starving black clerks CONTROLLED Guyana.

That alone removes any credibility of Jay to complain about lack of diversity!

Please supply evidence that 90 percent of decision makers under the PPP rule (public and private sector leadership) were Indians. Do not divert by name calling now. Back up what you just posted.

Z

Please supply evidence that 90 percent of decision makers under the PPP rule (public and private sector leadership) were Indians. Do not divert by name calling now. Back up what you just posted.

Why don't you tell me who the black decision makers were.

Only two blacks led state corporations, commissions, and committees during the PPP regime.  Only three blacks had any clout within the PPP (Hinds, Benn and Luncheon).

The private sector is very Indian dominated.

So what is there to prove?

I just find it interesting that the same racists who refused to concede that there was lack of diversity under the PPP now pretend that they "care" about diversity.

No what folks like you now care about is that Guyana's leadership no longer ethnically resembles that of Mumbai.

Those who didn't care about Indian ethnic domination under the PPP aren't qualified to make comments on this topic now that the PPP era is over!

Why don't you tell me who the black decision makers were.

Only two blacks led state corporations, commissions, and committees during the PPP regime.  Only three blacks had any clout within the PPP (Hinds, Benn and Luncheon).

The private sector is very Indian dominated.

So what is there to prove?

I just find it interesting that the same racists who refused to concede that there was lack of diversity under the PPP now pretend that they "care" about diversity.

No what folks like you now care about is that Guyana's leadership no longer ethnically resembles that of Mumbai.

Those who didn't care about Indian ethnic domination under the PPP aren't qualified to make comments on this topic now that the PPP era is over!

When I make statements as you did, I would back it up with irrefutable data. You posting your assertions do not make it so. When I have no hard data source, I will generally say something to the effect that I think this is so based on anecdotal evidence or on my perception. I am still awaiting your data source. I am not responsible for what others post and if you can show that I have posted anything related to your charge, please remind me of it. Have a good evening.

Z

When I make statements as you did, I would back it up with irrefutable data. .

What irrefutable data did you provide on anything.

I told you about the 2 blacks heading state corporations/committees/commissions, and the fact that only 3 blacks in PPP leadership had any clout.

And please don't make yourself look ridiculous by claiming that the private sector wasn't thoroughly Indo dominated, many/most of these being cronies of the PPP.

So who do you think the other leaders were?  Amerindians!

Under the PPP Guyana was led by a cabal of cronies from the public and private sector.  Even you know that the vast majority of these were INDIANS!  Basically people coming from 20% of the population (male Indians) had disproportionate control over the remaining 80% of the population.

I challenge you to prove me wrong, and please don't whine about the little customs officers at GEO.  Describe who led the Guyana Revenue Authority under the PPP.

33 seats -- PNCR

32 seats -- PPP/C

No representation/representatives, should the AFC leave the merger with the PNCR.

Fredie Kisoon is not redundant he is afraid to talk less he is visited by the PNC goon squad in the night.He is afraid of the physical beating that he would get if he does not toe the PNC line now. He and all during the PPP administration spoke about freedom of the press etc.Now things are the same ,you can write what you want ,there are no new laws against press freedom but know that you will be found dead or maimed if a word against the APNU government (recognised by less than 50% of the population) is written.That is why Chamar Kisoon has run back in his rat hole. All of them coolie crabs who jumped up and down against the PPP are now quiet like a mouse. All of them coolie crab dogs and Madrasis who voted for the APNU and Granger (recognised by less than 50% of the population) are now regretting it,but it is too late.Let them feel the whip on their backs everyday and do not let them back among East Indians.They are the nimakarams that should not be tolerated in East Indian society any longer. Negromotoo would sign away even his mother in return for a post of Prime Minister (cut ribbon and wearing suit and tie).The nimakaram Negromotoo appointment to the post of PM is a sad day in that the sugar estate has lost a good shovel man. I see some of the PNC folks talking about AFC leaving the "coalition" that they will loose their seat.That may be so but they can still ruin this military junta by staying in the coalition but voting against them or not voting in parliament. Even that has its dangers because of the PNC goon squad,they will beaten up,house broken into,family harassed and even death. Negromotoo in his personal ambition has joined with the devils and their servants all because he wanted PM work.He did not care about East Indians and their families,the rape torture and murder against Indians during the Burnham days.It seems like this side of the PNC/APNU is now raising its ugly head again. East Indiand have to leave the country so that they can build the negroes can build their new Jerusalem I mean Haiti 2.

Carib asked:

My take:

1.  PPP would be in power with a majority.

2. AFC would increase seats considerably (possibly winning).

3. PNC would have lost seats.

4. Possible PPP/AFC Coalition.

5. PNC planning how to burn and loot because they lost.

Carib asked:

My take:

1.  PPP would be in power with a majority.

2. AFC would increase seats considerably (possibly winning).

3. PNC would have lost seats.

4. Possible PPP/AFC Coalition.

5. PNC planning how to burn and loot because they lost.

OK Jay I know that you are drinking, but seriously, based on the composition of the crowds on what basis do you think that the AFC would have added more votes? Where did the AFC account for the bulk of the crowds showing up at events?

What did the AFC have to offer the PPP? The PPP already had 95% of the Indian vote and the AFC was not going to bring any non Indian votes to the PPP.  Those blacks/mixed would have voted for the PPP if they wanted them. 

Jay face it.  With no AFC APNU would have gotten its usual votes.  The PPP would have won.  And the AFC would be engaging in the same internal warfare which destroyed the UF.  No one wants to support a loser, and with the AFC dashed to being a minor factor for the THIRD time, its future would be OVER>