City streets a spectacle to behold – as thousands witness costume and float parade

Certain sections of the city were transformed today, as thousands of people thronged the streets of the capital to witness the highly anticipated Mashramani costume and float parade, culminating activities to commemorate Guyana’s 44th Republic anniversary.

Spectators in their numbers witnessing the Mashramani costume and float parade

Spectators in their numbers witnessing the Mashramani

costume and float parade

From early, people began occupying spots on the Merriman’s mall and along the  parade route to have a vantage position to view the floats.

It was very evident that there were harmony and camaraderie among the many people of varying walks of life.

Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand leading the Education Ministry's band

Minister of Education, Priya Manickchand leading the

Education Ministry’s band

The colourful, glittering floats and energetic revellers began the parade at Church Street and made their way along several streets before culminating at the National Park for judging.

Spectators from many regions across the country, and a fair number of foreigners, lined Church Street and Vlissengen Road, full of excitement as they witnessed the parade.

Some of the companies and ministries  in the parade included Banks DIH, Digicel,  Progressive Youth Organisation (PYO), Burrowes School of Art, Carib, Ministries of Culture, Youth and Sport, Agriculture, Education, Natural Resources and the Environment, Health, Human Services and Labour, and Amerindian Affairs, E Governance Unit, Digicel, and HJTV among others.

Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment showcasing their costume under the theme “Legends of the Wild”

Ministry of Natural Resources and the Environment showcasing

their costume under the theme “Legends of the Wild”

Some of the folklore characters showcased today were the Water Mama, Old Higue, Massacuraman, and Baccoo, in keeping with the theme for Mashramani, ” Cultural folklore; celebrating 44″.

Minister of Education Priya Manickchand who lead her ministry’s float,  said that the atmosphere for this year’s event was incredible and the energy level, high among Guyanese as they showcased their creativity.

Digicel showing their costume

Minister of Finance Dr. Ashni Singh told the Government Information Agency (GINA) that Mashramani is an event of great national significance, because, ” as we look back on those 44 years, we see the history of our country full of lessons, lessons that derive from the many successes that we have achieved from the country together, a unified country, a country drawn from many diverse parts of the world”.

Another costume showcased at the parade

Meanwhile Minister of Human, Services and Social Security Jennifer Webster, also with her ministry’s band, explained that their float depicted getting rid of the social ills in Guyana by burning them out and, restoring the social values.

Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport Alfred King pointed out that this year Mash has seen a tremendous turn out. “The Ministry itself is out here, 300 -strong of course depicting what the theme suggested, some cultural folklore”.

Ministry of Health depicting a healthy lifestyle

Tourists, many of whom were seen on the party trucks, told GINA that they were excited to be experiencing Mashramani because it is an event which truly defines a country’s culture, allowing them to learn about the Guyanese culture and traditions.

A party truck

Many Guyanese spoken to were excited about the festival. They said they were out to be part of the excitement and to have a fun day with their friends and family.

Ow Meh God, look Abee Guyana, Sweet, Sweet Guyana. To the Mountain Top we go then to the Moon. Leh we Mash, Leh we Mash to the Mountain Top. Guyana sweet laka Sumutoo. BIG UP OUR BEAUTIFUL AND WONDERFUL GUYANA.

What are you mashing to the top, Nehru?

when people drunk they can act stupid cheap white rum and water

What are you mashing to the top, Nehru?

yERTERDAY AND TODAY WE mashing uP ALL rEGIONS WITH Soca, Cookup Rice, fry plantain, curry goat and dhal Puri. Oh and yes BANKS

Protect Priya when you mashing, Nehru.

I man gat Priya back Bannas. Leh we Mash, Leh we Masl to PROGRESS and PROSPERITY, Sweet, Swwet Guyana, BIG UP SWEET GUYANA.

still drunk

Danyael coulda been partying wid he friend Priya

i have to give you credit for being a die hard ppp always having your people back you have kwame back,bar-rat back,brain young back you is the star

Wha yuh fuh see yuh nah see.

Nehru there are now enough black Guyanese in Nevis to have a Mashramani there.

http://www.sknvibes.com/news/newsdetails.cfm/85748

https://www.facebook.com/pages...evis/107725765918473

Note that there are even more IndoGuyanese who likely were minimally involved.

Why is it if "Guyana so sweet", because Nevis definitely hasn't been over the past 5 years?

<a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/The

Black, Green, yellow or brown all are FREE to go where they want TO JUST LIKE US.

Originally Posted by raymond:

Danyael coulda been partying wid he friend Priya

I would be nice to see Danyael loosen up a bit with Priya at Mash.

<a href="https://www.facebook.com/pages/The

Black, Green, yellow or brown all are FREE to go where they want TO JUST LIKE US.

Yes nehru.  Apparently all these Guyanese dont think that Guyana is sweet, so they remain in a small island which is going through tough economic times.